We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining”
Review of Dinghy Dock

Dinghy Dock
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine dining”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The food here is superb, the new owners use to own mamacita's, dine on the dock and watch Tarpon play in the water next to you . Was very impressed with service and the food . Would highly recommend .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    371
    97
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy vegetarian and fish observer”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went here and we were very happy with it. If you're a vegetarian, they have a creative wrap that was one of the best veggie dishes I've ever had. It came with an amazing bean salad and plantains that were so-so. I really appreciated that. My girlfriend got a fried strawberry grouper. The server was incredible. Nicest server I'd met on the trip. His smile was wide and genuine. I had an amazing drink invented in Culebra. Unfortunately, I don't remember what it was called or what it consisted of. The atmosphere was great. The tarpon were amazing to view. There was also a fish bat that was flying through the lights. It was chilly though with the breeze, so bring a jacket. My other concern is that from what I've read, strawberry grouper is an endangered species. Now, I know that colloquial names of fish vary so I'm not sure that the species of fish that was served was endangered or not, but if it was, that would be a shame. If you get a taxi there, get a number, and arrange to get picked up after the meal. We had a tough time getting back to Flamenco campground at 9pm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fyshlbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

There were honestly not a lot of options on the Island for lunch, and the Dinghy Dock was a reasonably priced restaurant with good food and a nice atmosphere. If you are on the island you must have lunch here at least once just to see the large Tarpon. We ate lunch here twice and all of the food was well prepared, although the menu isn't highly refined. Their french fries were the best I've had in a long time. Service was fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent food and staff”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

As others have noted, the Dinghy Dock is open under new management. It has been cleaned up, repainted and has a totally new menu. We had lunch there a week or two back and it was excellent. Last night we had dinner there and again, it was excellent. I had ribs and there was enough for us to have a second dinner tonight with the left overs. Banana cream pie was perfect for dessert. My wife had the mahi mahi and said that it was the best she's had in Culebra (and we have eaten at many of the restaurants here)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psych_prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, TN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very interesting place on the water. Friendly crowd of folks, many seem like regulars who motor in on their dinghies from their boats just off the dock. Very nice staff and a good selection of food and drinks.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mhcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinghy Dock also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Dinghy Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing