We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“homemade spanish food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbara Rosa's Restaurant - CLOSED

Barbara Rosa's Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“homemade spanish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This restaurant is open if you see the Christmas lights turned on outside. This is literally Barbara Rosa's house and you walk into her living room to order, then sit on her porch at a table to wait. It is authentic and delicious food. Bring your own wine/beer. This is where the locals eat. Delicious!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank suef2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was just good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

You order at the counter and she calls your name out when it's ready. There was a beautiful cat on the porch. She was out of a lot of stuff on the menu so we ended up getting Tostones and Crab Cakes and splitting Mahi Mahi as an entree. The Tostones were good, the crab cakes a but mushy. The Mahi Mahi was nice but the steak fries were mushy. Maybe not everything was fresh. I liked the service and Barbara Rosa was nice. Just not mind blowing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Magjayran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Only in Culebra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Only in Culebra, will you get a chance to eat a delicious home-cooked meal that was cooked in a homeowner's kitchen. Barbara is a fantastic cook and loves hosting people on her patio. We loved the food, the prices and the overall unique experience. We had fish and chips and two other delicious local fish dishes. Must-visit in Culebra.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thefox111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Meal on the Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We read about Barbara Rosa on Trip Advisor and decided to try it. When we arrived, we were informed that they were out of a few items including some that were repeatedly mentioned on TA and that i was eager to try. I was disappointed. I ordered the grouper which was only offered sauted in butter and garlic. While the preparation sounded good I was trying to eat healthy, which I have found is nearly impossible when eating out in PR. Given the missing menu items and the remaining choices, i did not want to like the food and was ready to just chock it up as typical for Culebra. Boy, was I wrong. Our meals were delicious. My grouper was perfect, not drowning in butter as I feared. My husband had the dorado which was also cooked just right. Both meals came with fries and a salad. I wasn't too thrilled about the fries, but again I was pleasantly surprised how good they were. They actually seemed more baked than fried. Also, the service was better than the other two restaurants we had visited in Culebra. Barbara was very friendly and as we were the only 2 customers for a bit, she came outside and chatted with us for awhile. Her husband did as well. As others have mentioned, the restaurant is BYOB, but there is a grocery right up the street, so you can stop there first and pick up a beverage on your way. For some reason there was no ice available at the restaurant so you may want to either bring some or chill your beverage before going to dinner. We split a piece of Barbara's key lime pie for dessert. The portion was perfect for sharing and the pie was fantastic!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gromeo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a group of 5 people and everyone liked their food from Barbara Rosa. We loved the laid back atmosphere. We ordered chicken parmigiana, fried fish, grilled fish, and the surf and turf and didn't have a complaint about a single item. We will definitely stop in when we come again next year.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dlockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Rosa's Restaurant also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing