We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best meal in Culebra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbara Rosa's Restaurant - CLOSED

Barbara Rosa's Restaurant
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Cape May, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Culebra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We were at about every restaurant during our week in Culebra. Barbara Rosas was our best dinner. She cooks out of her home and is not open every day. We lucked out and had a great meal. The menu is surprisingly big. I had the chicken parm with pasta, my wife had the crab cakes. Both were delicious! Not the most beautiful setting, eating at tables on the front porch, but the food made up for it! Its BYOB. Prices were very fair. Overall a very good meal and experience!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank j1105tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    34
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willmar, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Place for Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stopped by Barbara Rosa's one evening for dinner. There was a good crowd on the front porch. We went inside to order. I ordered the appetizer of crab cakes (handmade) and tostones (fried plantain cakes) for my meal. Others in our group ordered the fish and chips. Crab cakes were excellent! This was my first time trying tostones and they are neither good nor bad in my opinion. However, they are filling!
A fun place to go for dinner with reasonable prices. You may have a bit of a wait, but just grab a beverage and sit and visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNgirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Barbara has been cooking on island for as long as I can remember, and her food is just plain good home cooking. Fantastic churrasco (local steak) that i dream about all year. BYOB which helps keep her prices very affordable!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank saucycontessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Like Eating At Your Grandma's House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Babara has a big front porch. It's filled with tables and chairs. We walked by it at least four times and never knew it was a restaurant. Molly at Casita Tropicale suggested we try it.

It's all very casual. You walk in and take a look at the list of options for the night. Barbara will jot down your order on a slip of paper. The counter looks directly into her kitchen. There are no waiters, cooks, or dishwashers - Barbara does it all.

When you're food is ready, she'll call out your name and you go pick it up. We even took our dirty dishes back to the counter. The whole dinner was a unique experience.

Oh yeah, the food was great. Just like eating at your Grandma's house - if you Grandma lives on Culebra.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SailRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Food in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Barbara Rosa's is a great place to find some home cooked food on the island of Culebra. You walk into her living room and tell her your order through a window that she has fabricated in her kitchen. After greeting us warmly she informed us that she may not have everything on the menu, but that is too be expected in such a small establishment on a fairly remote island. One must keep their expectations in line with the reality of living and operating a business in Culebra. We went with the grouper filet, fries, rice and beans, and everything was perfect. We were famished from a full day at Zoni beach and the food hit the spot.

Remember, this place is BYOB, so walk down to the store and get yourself some Medallas in preparation for a great meal!

Be aware Barbara Rosa's is generally open Thursday-Monday, 5pm-9pm, but she may close up shop because of insufficient business; so don't arrive too late in the evening if you want to guarantee a taste of her delicious food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tldiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbara Rosa's Restaurant also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing