We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”
Review of El Batey - CLOSED

El Batey
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a great lunch on a beautiful day. Professional and efficient service. Two great cheeseburgers some rice and beans and plantain chips. Reasonably priced and relaxing view and location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“delicious food!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The food was great!!! the fresh fish "chillo" was delicious and the chicken breast with sides was super tender and yummy too!! Judith was kind enough to share some of her recipes and I've changed the way I cook pork chops thanks to her!! great place for lunch or dinner!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CarlaMcClelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Cheeseburgers!”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Another TA member recommended the cheeseburgers and they were right! After having been in Culebra fro half a week, we craved a cheeseburger and El Batey did not disappoint! Reasonable prices; BYOB

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“places to eat”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

good food,casual no alcohol ,you can bring your own.eat in or ouside,great rice and been amazing burgers too!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank suz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't be fool by the exterior!!!! need to eat here”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Culebra food is expensive....shoot everything is expensive in culebra. So after $100 at dingy dock and Susie's ( us two don't even spend that much in San Francisco for our dinner), we were on a hunt for Puerto rican food with decent price. We walked by El Batey 2-3 time by the time we went in to eat. We walked into town and everything was shut down and we didn't feel like going to taco loco (repeat I live in SF), so we decided to give El Batey a try. Table outside was full and there was a table on 8 people inside (pool table inside). We sat down ( OH! BYOB) with our whiskey and coke, ordered fried pork, fried grouper both with rice and beans. plates were huge!!! rice and beans delicious ( I even tried to make em' once I got back to sf). Vanilla ice cream was great and coconut berry rum cake which they make was YUM! all cost us $43 including tip. Service was fine, he took our order, gave us our food, asked if we were ok- all good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Batey also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing