We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hole in the wall with great food”
Review of Susie's restaurant

Susie's restaurant
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Culebra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hole in the wall with great food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ate at Susies one night during our recent trip and were pleasantly surprised. When looking from the outside the place looked like an old shack but once we got in and ordered we found the food to be at a reasonable cost with great taste.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    84
    33
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved it and I am from NYC accustomed to good food. The only problem is that the place is small and they do not take reservations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

right across the way from el eden, susies is also incredible food. low key and casual, with outside seating as an option. just very well made and tasty local fare. definitely worth a stop!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Bad decoration, good churrasco”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

You can find good food in weird places, that's how I felt after eating in Susie's. They need someone to help them out with the interior and exterior decoration of the place, it really looks like a shack, no need for that. The food is great and the service amazing. We asked to be changed of table, we changed our our order and we even returned the desert because one if us was allergic to the garnish and the waitress never stopped smiling for a second.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Viudabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

After a full day sailing we anchored in Culebra and took the dinghy into eat dinner. We happened onto Susie's while walking around and was pleasantly greeted and seated. We were lucky to have arrived as soon as they opened as it got crowded quickly. The menu choices, which included the specials, gave us much to choose from with all looking quite delectable. There were some in our group that wanted to try the Caribbean Lobster and were told they were out...however we had seen a fisherman with fresh lobster as we were coming in and relayed this information to our host and he quickly departed the restaurant in search of those lobster. To our surprise he came back with enough lobster to meet the demand at our table. Talking about going all out for your customers. I personally had the egg rolls for an appetizer and they were exquisite, and then followed with the Red Snapper with island mash. I was totally satisfied with my choice. Others in my group got the Tuna tar tar for an appetizer and were equally satisfied with their choice. Adding a few Pain Killer drinks to the mix made a very nice evening. The prices were reasonable compared to other restaurants we visited throughout the USVI. Susie checked in on us and we assured her we were totally satisfied with our experience. Joy, our server, was a very nice and accommodating and made our dining experience quite enjoyable....her brother's Pain Killers were spot on. Give the place a try if you're in Culebra. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SatFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susie's restaurant also viewed

Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Susie's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing