We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Courtyard I've been”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Aguadilla
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aguadilla
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Courtyard I've been”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed for a week for business, totally agree with some of the previous comments here.
1. Arrived with a luggage and a big computer box, waiting for 15 mins to get assistance, none available. I had to hauled my luggage and the box myself to the room.
2. The girl at the counter didn't speak good English. Being 6'5", I was worried I was getting a queen/small bed so I asked 3 times if I was getting a King bed, she said I was getting a premier room, 3 times.
3. As you know, this is a converted Military hospital, the decor is descent, bathroom is small but the worst thing is, the AC is probably from the 70s. SUPER LOUD and next to the bed. On most nights, I pumped up the AC before I went to bed and hurry up and slept while the room was still cool, but quiet. I ended up waking up sweaty in the morning and turned on the AC again around 3am.
4. One day, coming back from work, I saw a plastic (laundry) bag hanging on my door handle, it's a bunch of clean towels. As I went in the bathroom, it turned out that the towel rack is missing a few towels. So, am I supposed to help them hanging those towels I got at the door?

This is definitely not up to Marriott's standard. Luckily, I don't think I'm coming back here (to Aguadilla) ever again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank luvhpux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    135
    81
    41
    20
See reviews for
134
75
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Service standards have been declining at this hotel since its opening. We have stayed at this hotel several times and service has gone downhill fast. With very few notable exceptions the hotel staff is ill-mannered and trained, and have a huge attitude problem when dealing with guests. No one seems to have undergone customer service training at all. The front desk clerks will leave you talking in mid-sentence and move away to either pick up the phone or speak to other customers or answer back with attitude to any of your concerns.

The Guest Services line is a joke. Housekeeping did not make up the room and it took 3 calls to the front desk to get fresh towel, which, by the way have not arrived 1 hr later.

The restaurant food is OK, however, service is very slow and waiters are not properly trained to do their job. We spent over 50 minutes waiting for appetizers and a further 45 to get the food.

If you are staying in the Aguadilla area, this may be your only choice until something better comes along. I will spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jetdriver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This hotel is not in the least bit a place to stay if you are a business professional! The service was below par in all ways. One example I can give is that I was put on hold repetedly while trying to speak with the front desk to shorten my stay by one day. I spent the good part of an hour on hold. As soon as the front desk would pick up again- they would put me on hold. Each time I was on hold it was for 10 to 15 minute increments.
Absolutely unacceptable! This is only on example of the terrible service I received.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captainmarigold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Poor service, poor restaurant.
Old remodeled Air Force hospital, known by the old locals to have some kind of dangerous bacteria.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank yoyo030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. I was there for two nights for business in nearby Montana. The room was clean with no bedbugs as for 1/18/11. Pool looks like it would be a blast for families with kids. Casino looks fun if you are into that, but the bar attached to it is useless as all you have to look at is a noisy casino. The restaurant is fair at best, but you don't have a lot of options within walking distance nearby, as others have mentioned. Just to the North (literally stumbling distance) of the hotel is another hotel called El Faro (the lighthouse) and is owned by the same people as this hotel. There is an outdoor bar/restaurant here that has good food, excellent drinks, and a great staff that speaks English. If it were not for the existence of this nearby bar, my stay would have been far less enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docchilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed here two nights while visting relatives in San German, it is about thirty to forty-five minutes away, but worth it. The room was clean, the staff excellent, but they charge $8.00 per day for parking in a "secure lot". There is a splash park for kids at the pool, it was never on, but after a request at the front desk it was turned on in about ten minutes. My daughter loved it. There is a casino/bar in the hotel that was not noticable from our room. The room had two queens as described, a flat screen HDTV, no refrigarator or microwave (never asked). The onsite restuarant was price for breakfast ($12.95 buffet) but we found descent breakfast less than 2-miles away. We did have Mofongo and Shrimp which was excellent. There are two great beaches near by Crash Boat Beach (Public Beach) and Shack Beach which has limited parking. Shacks beach had great snorkeling.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b25pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We booked this hotel beacause we wanted a place to stay while visitng some attractions located in the island west area and to do some Geocaching. We got a last minute weekend deal for Puerto Rico residents $99/night/room +tax.

The hotel looks like new and is nicely decorated. Front desk reception and service during our stay was excellent. Did not see any personnel helping with luggage, so you will have to carry your own bags to the room. They had carriages available for the guests use.

We got a 1st floor room. It was clean, average size, nice flat screen TV, very confy beds. Notice that the room walls are very thin so we could clearly hear our neighboors. This was not a problem this time but could be for other people. Cheap thin towels in the bathroom. We had a not so beatiful window view to the neighborhood so we had the curtains closed during the whole stay.

Pool: Well, this is this hotel lucky charm, the kids pool with the playground. Our kid loved it!!! The water was clean and there were lots of chairs and umbrellas around the pool. I used my own pool towels because the ones provided by the hotel looked old and over used.

The casino and bar had live music at night. We did not enter that area because children are not allowed in there but from the outside you could see that people were having a good time.

In general this is an excellent hotel for a short stay in the west area of Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR_Vacation_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguadilla
2.9 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
262 reviews
9.8 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
301 reviews
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
14.0 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
787 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Aguadilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Aguadilla

Property: Courtyard Aguadilla
Address: West Parade/Belt Road | Ramey Base, Aguadilla 00603, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Aguadilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Aguadilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Aguadilla 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott is located in the former Ramey Base in Aguadilla. We offer 150 spacious and modern guest rooms, 12 superior rooms and 7 suites. All of our rooms have flexible work desk, ergonomic chair, comfortable sitting area, individual climate control, AM/FM alarm clock radio, remote controlled satellite TV, HBO, WiFi, Telephone with message light and data port, laptop-sized safe box, in-room coffee maker, iron and iron board, cribs and roll-away beds available upon request. We offer over 4,000 sq. ft of meeting spaces where you can celebrate your most special events and business meeting. We have an outdoor pool with aquatic playground for kids and exercise room, golf and tennis nearby. Our RB restaurant offers an International Menu, serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and onsite parking. We also have The Market, is a 24/7 self serve pantry and David's Cookies, our coffee corner. You can also Dance to the rhythm of the music at the B-52 Lobby Bar at Ocean Casino open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Aguadilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Aguadilla Hotel Aguadilla
Aguadilla Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing