We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for retreats, conferences, or short term stays.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parador El Faro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador El Faro
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aguadilla
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Good for retreats, conferences, or short term stays.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed there for a marriage retreat, Hotel was already chosen for us. Hotel is plain and simple lodging, no luxuries. Rooms have air conditioning. Some rooms had only cold water. Other rooms had no irons. Hotel rooms do not have hair dryers, but has a beauty salon/spa on site. Cable TV lineup is very limited. Wireless free Internet access is only available in common areas. Grounds are well maintained. Rooms are generally clean. Staff service is prompt and acceptable. Meals we ate was from hotel restaurant, were served cool, and tasted like warmed-up frozen food. Swimming pools (2 large pools) looked nice and inviting, well maintained. Meeting room air conditioning was well set. Recommend only for conferences, retreats and stop-overs. For beach access, you may need to use a car to go to the Crash Boat Beach.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    82
    42
    19
    29
See reviews for
98
71
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

El faro hotel almost ruined my family's vacation.Thank God that we were able to find another hotel that had vacancies an treated us with dignity and respect,all we wanted was a clean room with working air conditioning,amazingly that was not possible at el faro in Aguadilla,P.R.Do yourself a favor and think twice before staying there. When I asked to speak to the manager the response was "he is too busy to talk with you".

Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtrvlrNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguadilla hotels

Apollo Beach FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Faro for four miserable nights. It is a very noisy hotel. We didn't didn't sleep at all for the nights that we were there. The hotel itself is very dirty, the towels weren't the greatest either. The price is cheap but the old saying goes you get what you pay for. A great lesson learned. I would not reccomend this hotel to my worse enemy.

  • Liked — Nothing, Nada
  • Disliked — Rooms were dirty, bathrooms not very clean or desirable
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank e-cruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sky_empress
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2008

Upon arrival to the Faro hotel in Aguadilla, throughtout the 24 hours we were there, we noticed several things that is of concern to us...most of them safety/security related. First, one door to the room did not close completely and only one of the safety latches worked. All three room had doors that did not reach the floor and had large gaps allowing bugs to get in. The two fire detectors in my room had no batteries inside. The others did not check but we suspect they didn't work either. There was no security at all present on premises--only one front desk clerk, two restaurant staff and a few housekeeping staff. With the hotel being set in a wide open outdoor spaces (and heavily wooded areas) and it opening up to random run down shacks, the hotel was not safe. At night, the courtyard areas where one walks back and forth from the front desk and pool/restaurant area to our rooms had little to no lighting--making the whole area dark and susceptible to safety issues. The block of the building we were placed in were in the back corner of the hotel and our doors out of view of any hotel staff or security if there was any (and walking up to the building again was dark and not lit). Aside from those security problems we saw, the rooms themselves were just dirty. The tiles had lots of grime and most specifically mold on them and the bathroom looked like gas station bathrooms with cracks and tiles broken off. At night, there were roach activity as well. The furniture was made of unpolished wood and had many splinters and any metal furniture rusted. The WiFi was non-existent and everyone had issues logging on, and it just didn't work. The staff was indifferent and once it got dark, we felt unsafe to venture out of our rooms so we just stayed in. It felt like we were locked down. No where else have I experience a crew property this dismal and unsafe. It was near the beach.

In addition, the previous review about one towel per room is pretty much true. They do shampoo and soap in truck stop style dispensers mounted on the wall. The sheets being thread-bare was true too. I itched the whole night sleeping there. The pool was clean and had no odor while I was there. The microwave and min-fridge was a nice addition but I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless you have a very tight budget.

  • Liked — near the beach
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sky_empress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We found the place to be totally relaxing, the pool was clean, the towels..well they could give more. The 3 amigo bar/grill
food was excellent very very reasonable. attentivness of the staff was excellent. They could use..some additions of play area for those guest that have children. The bar was closed at 1130 when we arrived there back from a day trip, no noise...quite..and clean.

for the Price one could not ask for more.Now if one is Donald Trump, well then go stay at the caribe Hilton. But considering it all, the place was EXCELLENT

Ramos from New Jersey..and we will defintely recommend the place...to others

  • Liked — The Service from the Bar and Grill attendants...very communicative
  • Disliked — well, that the towels werent replaced nor the rug for the floors
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tranquilidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

My family and I booked a stay at El Faro from July 2008 - August 2008. The rooms were ok. The furniture was pretty old and had stains on them. The bed covers were stained and needed to be replaced. The bathroom in my room was kind of run down. The toilet did not flush correctly. The first day we were there the pool was completely green and had a certain odor to it. In our group of people we had 5 children with us. I do not think this is a kid friendly hotel. They have huge parties on Tuesdays and Thursdays every week. Their bar and restaurant is open to the public. There were so many people there that we did not have any parking space available to us. The party lasted until about 4:00 am. There were people standing next to our room window talking loudly and yelling. There were 5 people staying in our room and we were given (1) towel. I had to repeatedly go down to the office and ask for more towels. The restaurant at the hotel was ok but the service was extremely slow and they were a bit pricey. After 5 days we decided to check out and stay at the Marriott Hotel right across the street from El Faro. I do not think I would recommend this hotel to anyone with children.

  • Liked — The location. It was extremely close to the airport we landed in.
  • Disliked — The parties. To me there was no privacy for the hotel guests.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Stitch28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

This place needs lots of work. The location is good and that's it. Rooms are filthy, need paint, and remodeling. The people working there need to be trained in dealing with guests concerns. The laundry room needs to be less conspicuous particularly the attendants hanging out there and listening to the radio. The interior walls were in bad shape needing paint, doors were scuffed and marked, the bathroom decor was from the 70's and lacked enough shelf space. The walls had stuff on them; we avoided touching anything unless absolutely needed. The bed sheets were unbelievebly worn out to the point you could count the 3 threads left. The window curtains were ridiculous; there is no way to get outside light and privacy at the same time. Room lighting was substandard. No convenient electrical outlets. Others guests were noisy outside in the hall and nothing was done.

The exterior is Ok but needs a good paint. Good things going for it, 2 pools and a basketball court. The restaurant needs attention as well (updating the decor will help). It has good potential but if not taken care off soon, the place will be crap within this year. Not recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank aguacate0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguadilla
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 4 in Aguadilla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.8 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
5.4 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 8 in Rincon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
10.9 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador El Faro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador El Faro

Property: Parador El Faro
Address: Carr. 107 km 2.1 Bo. Borinquen, Aguadilla 00603, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Aguadilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Aguadilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador El Faro 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador El Faro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ihp Hotel Aguadilla
El Faro Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing