We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fufu Afropuertorican International Cuisine - CLOSED

Fufu Afropuertorican International Cuisine
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are a fusion of Afropuertorican cuisine and Delicious Creative dishes from all over the world! Our menu contains recipes from Puerto Rican creole cuisine, all the African continent and Mediterranean countries. Our Sangrias are made with South African wine, rum and brandy and different fruit nectar. Our name FuFu, is an ancient recipe based on roots like casaba or yams originated from Ghana. FuFu Afropuertorican.International Cuisine specializes in Surf and Turfs and Sangria which change every week to maintain variety. Our combination of flavors has made us the number one choice when it comes to try different styles of food.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I'm originally from Aguadilla but live state side with my husband. He does not speak or understand Spanish that well (yet). The chef himself walked us through the menu in English. We ordered black bean croquettes as an appetizer which came with a honey mustard sauce. The appetizer was delicious as was the condiment. A mix of crisp and soft textures. I ordered the trifongo with chicken as my main dish. Traditional mofongo is my absolute favorite dish. This trifongo made of plantain, yuca (casava), and amarillos (sweet plantain) was pretty dynamite. It came with a savory broth flavored with cilantro. The chicken was lightly battered kinda tempura style and was tasty as well. My husband had churrasco steak with vegetables and spicy rice. His dish was rich in flavor and the steak was perfectly cooked and tender. To accompany my meal I had a sangria made with orange, mango, and apple juice which was just as good as the food was. We really enjoyed our experience at Fufu and would highly recommend it. My only complaint would be that they ran out if dessert before we got there.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marisol82m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FuFu Cuisine A, Owner at Fufu Afropuertorican International Cuisine, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
First of all thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We genuinely care about each and every single one of our customers and to read the nice things on your review motivates us even more to continue working at what we love. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    20
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The food here is AMAZING!! I had big expectations of the food here, since it was recommend to me in various occasions. I had trifongo with churrasco, it was perfect, simply perfect. The combination of flavors was amazing. You simply can not describe how perfect it was until you try it. Highly recommend this place!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Noshkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FuFu Cuisine A, Owner at Fufu Afropuertorican International Cuisine, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are very passionate about what we do here at FuFu and are always looking for new ways to improve for our customers. Knowing you we're satisfied our overall service motivates us to continue working in that direction. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabela
2 reviews
“Exellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had the Chef's recommendation ( surf and turf) and a carrot and strawberry sangria. Our server was on point! her knowledge of the menu was extremely helpful. We had a lovely experience and we expect to be back very soon.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fany913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
1 review
“Fabulous FuFu cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Several months have passed since I ate at FuFu but I still think of the exquisite blend of flavors and the beautiful presentations. I was in PR with 2 co-workers for two days. After dining there in the evening, we arranged our schedule the following day so we could have lunch there and experience the fabulous cuisine again …When in Puerto Rico I will absolutely go to FuFu even if I have to drive across the island. A+++++

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Solid Culinary Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

After my first visit to Fufu's Rest, I have been more frequently to taste other choices from their variety and delicious Afropuertorrican menu. The chef's expertise and fusion of flavors makes out of every local cuisine a true culinary experience. I ate the Lobster in Curry sauce with Mamposteao rice and taste one their African's wines. My husband had a "Mar y Tierra" of a fillet Mignon w shrimps served with "papas FuFu'" and had one Tamarindo's sangria. We had the chocolate- strawberry fried cheesecake for dessert. The decor was so beautiful. A wonderful evening, excellent service..always attentive, good ambiance are all a delight, it was an evening of Great pleasure. Thanks to Chef Krystian Adriel and his Staff.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fufu Afropuertorican International Cuisine also viewed

Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
 
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
 
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing