We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Frijoles y Chilangas - CLOSED

Frijoles y Chilangas
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casual and cozy ambiance serving the most authentic and fresh food. All Mexican goodies are available at affordable prices: Two persons eat for less than $20 everyday. Fried cheesecake and the mouthwatering Crepes made the perfect closing for your course! You wont find extreme things, but for sure is the place for quality time, good food, great prices and happy mood!
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Recommended”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I'm local and live just 30 minutes from the place. However, it is one of my favorite destinations. The place is clean, the prices are very fair and the food is quite good actually. This is Mexican food like you may expect to find it outside Mexico but which still tastes excellent. I'm not rating the restaurant because how the menu looks like because as long as I can read it, is fine with me. Think about good food, a courteous waiter/waitress and fair price. I'll keep eating here and I recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoseZ5748CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    17
    14
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, average food.”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

In a strip mall on 110, we went to dinner here on a night when most things were closed and they were slammed. They handled the stress really well and the service stayed friendly and as fast as they could make it- these folks know how to hustle. The food was mostly really average, with some odd items on the menu (tacosagne?) Not an inspiring experience, but the wait staff deserve a lot of credit for handling tired, hungry crowds with aplomb.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pineapplepipeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“mediocre to poor meal, save your money”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

had lunch here, we were the only customers, service was slow as was the meal. Very disappointed and won't be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Slow- but good food”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Service was slow, even though they weren't busy. As long as it's prepared fresh, we understand it's not fast food. We thought that the chips and salsa should be complimentary like everywhere else. We loved the green rice-very unique and also the best part of the meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueBassBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“This is not TexMex and was not meant to be”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at Frijoles y Chilangas. The Margarita was very good and the meals were delicious. I don't know why people complain about slow service. It is obviously a family restaurant and if the food comes slower than microwave speed maybe that's because someone in the kitchen is cooking it. The soft tacos and green rice were superb. The rice was a wonder. The burrito was also good. I did wonder why they serve the tri-colour tortilla chips. Is there any need for red and green chips? I say not. We liked the authentic flavours--which are not what those raised on Taco Bell will understand.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frijoles y Chilangas also viewed

Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
 
Aguadilla, Puerto Rico
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing