We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please read negative reviews before booking”
Review of Hotel Cielo Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aguadilla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Cielo Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aguadilla
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Please read negative reviews before booking”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Ugh.. Everything said in other TA reviews is dead-on. The entrance grounds are nice, so we were hopeful as we drove in. My husband booked this night stay before I had a chance to read the reviews or we would not have stayed here.

The photos on their web-site are obviously photo-shopped. For example, the “whale slide” has peeling paint and is very faded, despite looking brand-new in the picture. The balconies are rusting and have rebar sticking out of the sides. The room was tiny, musty and dirty. We got 2 small towels, no hand-towels or washcloths. The shower had mold growing in it. I spent the entire time at this hotel in my flip flops.

The view was OK, but nothing spectacular. The entire island is gorgeous, so its hard to get a bad view unless you are looking at another building.

This hotel is very sub-standard to most US motel standards. Think no-name roadside motel in a small town, then make it dirtier.

For the price (90 US/night), this was a huge mistake. However, there are no good options in Aquadilla, in our opinion. We drove around to see if there was something better, figuring we would scrap the $90 and try someplace that was clean, but this town is not the best place on the island to stay. After visiting crash boat beach, the area seems to cater to younger, low budget travelers.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LayKneeTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    68
    57
    139
See reviews for
116
97
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

The view is great, no question there. The food is not so good and the service is awful. Their is no communication among the staff. Our hot water handle came off (luckily after we turned the water off) and they did not fix it. We left the room open for them all day and when we asked them about it when we got back to the hotel they didn't even remember that there had been a problem and all their 'maintenance' staff had gone home. Then we asked to be moved rooms only to be put in the room next door with the ceiling in the bathroom molding and the water pressure almost non existent. Also, we ended up at the Aguadilla Good Samaritan Hospital for ear infections and saw at least 10 people with moderate to severe jellyfish stings. So be careful in the water. There is only wifi in the main lobby despite in room cards saying otherwise. If you want internet bring a cable, but no garuntees.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcitos812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aguadilla hotels

Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Poor general maintenance, Poorly trained employees, except for front desk the rest of employees seems to be not compromised with your stay. Dirty rooms.
Restaurant - does not has soda's, doesn't has deserts.
Expend your money somewhere else

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafaSolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Originally I was disappointed with the appearance of the room that was given to me. I would rate it a 1. The so called queen size bed is a full size here in the States. The bathroom was tiny, just a shower, toilet ran all night and the sink was clogged (room 407). I've posted pics of the first room. The television needed an upgrade, the refrigerator was in front of the closet which made it difficult to open. I requested a room change (416) to a room with double full size beds and plenty of room to move around in, the bathroom was more than double the size of my first room and they did not charge me any additional monies. I rate a 2 and 1/2. I wish I had pics to post on this room but take my word for it, this room was much better with a better looking television and a desk with a chair and a table with two chairs. The food was good but a little pricey if you eat locally the prices are much better. Anyway despite the disappointment at first, it turned out to be a really nice vacation spot. Don't expect luxury as hotels in Puerto Rico are really expensive and for approximately $100 a night what more can you ask for? The staff were extremely nice except for 1 person, a waitress working early shift, never smiled, obviously there to do her job and that was it. By the end of my stay I manage to get a smile out of her but she could have been a little more pleasant. The hotel is close to the main roads and close to crash boat beach, the Marriot Casino, and to Jobos, where you can experience the most beautiful horse rides on the beach and inexpensive ($45 for two hours), and about a hour away from the Camuy Caves (third largest in the world). There is a gorgeous view from the dining area, a must see view. You do not need a room with a view to engage and enjoy in the spectacular view.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealisticNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

first i did not have wifi in my room or in the lobby, the rest. is expensive breakefast and diner was about $100 for too. the a/c had a leek and cable tv was about 15 cannels. its not a hotel its a motel

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank nevels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

The hotels website does not reflect the real condition of this rundown facility whatsoever. They claimed to have great "Romantic Packages" which was far from the truth. When we arrived, they did not have the ocean view room we requested and we were put in a temporary room in the meantime which was a rundown room with a broken shower head and no hot water. We then woke up to the sounds of jackhammers blasting away at 6:30 in the morning - apparently they were in the process of renovating the swimming pool which were not made aware of, so in essence, the pool was out of service. The restaurant which was part of the package was only open in the afternoon and early evening, which meant the free breakfast they said was part of the package was non existant. On the third day we finally moved into our correct room and by the end of the day the A/C went out! We then had to move to ANOTHER room which was maginally OK except no ocean view again. The staff made my stay equally as uncomfortable showing nothing but rudeness and indifference concerning our situation. We finally had enough and moved to another hotel down the road called "EL Pedregal"
which was much nicer and has Jacuzzi tubs included! We wasted 3 days of our honeyroom being needlessly aggravated by the Cielo Mar hotel and its staff. This place should definitely be put out of its misery. I highly suggest you avoid this hotel like the PLAGUE!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank petehz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

The view is without a doubt breathtaking. And that's also without a doubt the only good thing about this place. From the disappointing and unwelcoming staff, the lack of maintenance, smelly rooms (and not good flowery smell), torn fridge in the room to the vase of old dirty water and dead flowers at the Front Desk this whole experience was simply HORRIBLE.
The "tongue" of the whale at the pool is literally black, the stairs leading to the pool are covered with a green moss like crap (slippery) and the pool itself is dirty and full of leaves. The lobby area is very dirty, the floors very dusty. No elevators, and the stairs handrails very rusty and sticky. None of the staff has a uniform, their wear anything they want, any color, any style, and the housekeepers are wearing nurse uniforms. Very unprofessional.

And in fact the musty stench in the rooms was so horrible that we could not stay at all. We ended up having to move to another hotel. So please do not waste your time and money. Do not even consider this place. It looks NOTHING like the internet page!!!

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing!!
  • Disliked — It was all BAD!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Karishna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguadilla
1.1 mi away
Parador El Faro
Parador El Faro
#2 of 3 in Aguadilla
263 reviews
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Aguadilla
Courtyard Aguadilla
#1 of 3 in Aguadilla
405 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Rincon of the Seas Grand Caribbean Hotel
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
10.2 mi away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cielo Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cielo Mar

Property: Hotel Cielo Mar
Address: 84 Ave Montemar, Aguadilla 00603-5573, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Aguadilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Aguadilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Cielo Mar Aguadilla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing