We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Formerly Blau Colonial”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Formerly Blau Colonial”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a blast here with my BBF. The club in the cave was awesome, though bug spray is a must. Rainy nights was no problem. The food was typical Cuba but we didn't mind. Bread and drinks were always readily available. This is an old review, going back several years.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenTipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    576
    284
    138
    91
See reviews for
362
495
79
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My cousin and I visited Cuba for the first time May 3-10, 2014. We had done a lot of research and knew what to expect there. We were surprised that things were so much better at this resort than some of the reviews had said.
The staff were fantastic and did everything they could to make our stay more enjoyable. Luis Carlos in the Buffet was always there with our drinks as we sat down. Miguel at the Acua bar introduced us to new drinks that we loved. Ask for a club coco if you want a pretty colourful drink. (blue, orange and red)

The entertainment was different every night. Jena the massage therapist was fantastic and has the pretties little daughter. The a-la-carte dinners were fantastic, international (cuban) night was our favorite dish. The man who ran it (forget his name) was very particular and everything came out hot and looked amazing. The omlettes, bacon, chicken, pasta, potatoes, rice, coffee, orange juice and smoothies were my favorites at the Buffet but there are so many choices that you are bound to find something you like at every setting. Pizza was really good at the Yari beside the fresh water pool (Daly at the Yari is a great waitress and very sweet lady!)

The fresh water pools are amazing. We spent many hours in the pool, sunbathing and resting in the cabana's with our drinks. We spent an afternoon lounging in the salt water pool with Miguel supplying our drinks also.

My cousin Vicki and I were very pleased with our stay and found the resort beautiful with its colour and culture. Alex, the front desk supervisor and his staff always took care of us when we needed anything with big smiles on their faces. We rented the bikes (free first hour and $1. per hour after that) and took a nice long ride around the other resorts taking pictures. We also walked to the market a couple times and took the trolley ($2.00/day) back from the market once.
We took an excursion into Moron and Ciego de Avila and got to see the real Cuba. There was a nice lunch included with lots of food choices at the buffet. We gave candy and toys out to the children whose faces lit up with joy.

There are some challenges, it is Cuba, but all in all we found the resort, the shops, the pools, the beach and especially the people to be FANTASTIC!! I would recommend this resort to anyone who understands Cuba and has realistic expectations. We plan to return!!

To ALL the STAFF at Hotel Colonial - Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. We had fun talking with and getting to know the staff and other guests during our stay. We hope you all enjoyed the bags of gifts we left upon departure.

Til next time,

Darlene Irwin & Vicki Burke

Room Tip: We had ocean view block 31 room 3136 on top floor and it was amazing. The air worked too well... we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darlene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Everything in this resort is almost the same as in any other one in Cuba but I have never seen so many employees hanging around when on and off duty: they just sit or stand doing nothing or chatting with each other. With them at the same time we were having meals, swimming in pool, visiting entertainment area in the evening etc. Reception of course cannot multitask. Management, security and Sunwing rep are not responsive to complaint about tourist being insulted by employee of the hotel and about asking for help to find camera stolen by entertainment team during disco. All these guys move fast only when they dance salsa.

Room Tip: Pick a room in next resort called TRYP
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niknovikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We loved the community feel of the resort. There were so many restaurants, buffets and grills to choose from. Make sure to book your ala carte restaurants right away as they fill up fast. I loved the omelets and smoothies in the morning at the Buffet. The pizza was delicious too. The fried fish was really yummy. We loved our bartender, Miguel at the swim up (Acuabar) and wished it was open later than 5 pm. I actually preferred the food at the buffets, because there was more of a variety. Pick your own toppings for pizza at the lunch buffet. Try the pasta bar at the dinner buffet. The ala carte restaurants had beautiful decor and a lovely food presentation, but food was not stellar. The piano bar was really gorgeous and posh looking. The disco was fun. The beach was beautiful, we had great weather. We had the chance to go horse back riding right into the ocean and that was the best experience I've ever had on horseback. The gardeners, bartenders and chambermaids went that extra mile to make our stay special. We would highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had the seaside view with a balcony and it was beautiful! Some of the pool view rooms could see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeeJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this resort the week of March 22nd. Other than a couple very windy days we had amazing weather. This resort reminded us of a small Spanish village that had some really beautiful structures. However, the resort is in need of some repairs and upgrading. The people are very friendly and the food is typical of Cuba. We made a point of going for our daily cappuccino and visiting with Liber at the Lobby Bar.We tried and enjoyed all three al carts. We especially enjoyed the pasta and pizza bar at the fresh water pool. If we weren't on the beach we spent most of our time at the fresh water pool. The salt water pool is in desperate need of repairs. One towel change per day. The towel hut closed by 4:00pm and was closed an hour over lunch. We enjoyed the view of our ocean front room. Fresh towels and a large bottle of water daily. No pop or beer and also no iron/ironing board. Water pressure was good but the showerhead needed to be replaced. We took a catamaran tour snorkeling and then onto Pillar Beach. The lunch served on the catamaran was wonderful.(lobster, shrimp, rice and carrots) Open bar for the whole trip. Pillar Beach was beautiful. Sand is like powder. Took a horse and buggy ride to the open market just outside the resort. Lots of souvenirs for purchase.
Would we return to this resort? yes. Would we recommend this resort? yes

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed at the Colonial the week of April 17th 2014 We loved it. Room was great, resort is beautiful and peaceful. The staff is friendly. The food is typical of Cuba but there is plenty so you won't starve, just repetitive. The Italian and International A La Carte were very good . One thing I would like to comment on, there are great staff that work hard and give good services at the reception, restaurant, bar, snack bar, at the beach, lifeguard, lady at the cabin for towels and ladies that clean my rooms. Thank to everyone thank you all staff that work at this hotel. Iwill go back again for sure to see you! great time we had!!!

Room Tip: Room view on the beach was quiet and peaceful. great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We picked this resort as we love Cayo Coco and were looking for something a little different. The lay out of this resort, although a little confusing at first, makes you feel like you are in a small village. Once you have explored all the little side areas and found all the grills and bars you can sit back and relax, knowing you are never too far from something to eat and drink. A majority of the staff here are great, right throughout the resort. Liber at the Lobby Bar and Franny on many grills around the resort were exceptional to deal with, always smiling.

As many have mentioned, the infrastructure could sure use some attention, credit to the team that maintains the resort as its unique features must keep them going 24/7.

This was our first trip with all 5 in the family, a little late in the year to accommodate the 2 university students. All in all a memorable family vacation and a great spot to take our 3 children for their first trip down south.

Room Tip: 15, 16 and 17 Block are nice and close to the pool, ocean and many of the other services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
5.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
5.3 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,822 reviews
1.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
3.8 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco

Property: Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Cayo Coco, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Hotel is located in the exclusive Cayo Coco to the east of Cuba. Our luxury hotel in Cuba has been completely renovated and reopened in 2011 as a four star hotel with new services and luxurious facilities. Colonial Hotel is the perfect place for a romantic get away or exciting family holiday. Enjoy some of the best beaches in Cuba while enjoying the excellent facilities of our colonial style Cayo Coco hotel.Discover our beach with its expanses of white sand and clear turquoise waters. Colonial Hotel offers a large variety of restaurants, mixed grills, bars and beer Gardenn. Our guarantee of top quality service makes us stand out.the hotel are invaitin to celebration the 20th aniversiti next year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Colonial Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blau Colonial
Blau Colonial Cuba
Blau Colonial Hotel
Blau Colonial Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing