We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRYP Cayo Coco
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
$123
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)(Great Value!)
$192
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$199
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,119)
Filter reviews
6,119 results
Traveler rating
2,051
2,355
910
456
347
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,051
2,355
910
456
347
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet poolfishguest servicesmain poolpizza placea la carte restaurantslobby barbbq grillpastahour barpizza barsmaller poolinternational restaurantocean viewstir frybeautiful beachentertainment staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,468 - 3,473 of 6,119 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2010

My first and only trip to Cuba so far has been to the Tryp Cayo Coco back in July 2004. I chose this location because it offered beautiful beaches, a more relaxed environment than Varadero and lots of outdoor activities to enjoy. Firstly, the trip from the airport took less than 20 minutes, which was great! The resort itself has a nice balance between outdoor and indoor space. The reception desk itself is covered, but technically not indoors. From there, you have access to a patio/bar overlooking the pools, restaurant, stage (for daily shows), rooms and even the ocean. The walk from the entrance to your room will take you through the main pool area and gardens. I was amazed that the landscaping was so well kept. I was lucky enough to stay on a beach side room, 3rd floor. The room itself was typical (double beds, tv, full bath). The only down side to this was the bugs entering through our patio door. After speaking to the hotel, they sent someone up and resolved the issue right away. I found the food to be standard for an all-inclusive resort. I was able to book 3 dinners inside one of the a-la-carte restaurants, and the food there was excellent. The beaches offered little waves, which allowed me to travel far and enjoy some snorkeling. The only down side to this experience is that I love to explore and after a day or two of enjoying the beach, I realized that it was fairly expensive to travel into Havana or other towns. The Cayo Coco Island is isolated so beyond your resort and a few short expeditions, your trip will be restricted to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Invictus_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Dear guest,

We are very glad to know you have enjoyed your stay in our resort. Actually the most beautiful part of our resort is the beach which is loved by all the guests that visit us.
Although Cayo Coco is far away from the main big Cuba island, from here our guests are able to visit different places in Cuba through the excursions organized by the income Travel agencies.

We thank you for your comments and hope you will come back to enjoy our resort and its facilities.

Best regards,

Vito Anselmi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I've finally gotten around to writing this review, better late then never. My boyfriend and I traveled to Tryp in September of 2009 for one week.

LOCATION
Tryp is in a great quiet location, close to the airport. The closest city is Moron, which is quite a bit aways. It's a great area if you're looking for a relaxing beach where you won't be hassled.

ROOMS
The rooms were clean and spacious, we were in one of the furthest buildings, near the scuba hut.

BEACH
The beach is absolutely spectacular! Depending what time of the day it is, you can walk out so far and still see your feet. There is no seaweed or rocks, just an incredibly fine sand that feels like flour under your feet!

POOLS
The pool is awesome, there is a great swim up bar with great service. The water is warmer than the quiet pool, but that's because it's more shallow. Another great thing was that we paid security 5pesos our first night to be able to swim in the pool at night and did so every other night there.

RESTAURANTS
Cuba food is Cuba food. We lived off of ham and cheese sandwiches from the 24 snack bar. We tried the Oriental restaurant, it was pretty yummy but we had a limited menu to choose from that night.

NIGHTLIFE
The disco on site was normally full while we were there. There aren't any other places to go except the Bat Cave (which I highly recommend!) They have a bus that takes you there, I think it was on a Tuesday. The beach parties were my favorite, we had met so many great friends on our trip there and there were three beach parties at night. We would order 50 rum punches at a time and empty out the bar. We would swim in the ocean under the stars! What a blast!

ENTERTAINMENT
The staff here are great and so is the entertainment. Some nights were better than others, one in particular had me laughing in stitches!

OVERALL
Tryp can appeal to everyone, younger, older, middle aged, families. I plan on going back this September, and from what I read from other reviews, I'm not the only returning customer. Our friends recently went to Oasis Cayo Coco and didn't have the same experience we did.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 514tattoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, General Manager at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. It has been very nice to read it and hope to meet you here on September. Hope we can also count on your recommendations to your friends and family.

Best regards,

Vito Anselmi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We as first time travellers to cuba had no preconceived expectations. Tryp Cayo Coco is around 15 years old. Yes the rooms are a little dated and tired, but there are signs of a program of refurbishment and improvements in progress(which did not affect access to any of the facilities).The whole hotel is extremely clean, The service is superb. The choice and standard of food exceptional. And I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We had a problem with the airconditioning which was resolved within 10 minutes from being reported,which we thought was exceptional considering the size of the hotel.The holiday is what you want to make it. You can laze all day on the beach or by the ecological pool,or join in the daily activities at the main pool and surrounding area which is a little more lively. The evening entertainment is a clever mixture of shows and audience participation and of course there is the late night disco for the younger members of the family that still have any excess energy left. We have no reservation in recommending this hotel as an excellent holiday destination. We spent 3 great weeks at Tryp during Feb this year and enjoyed it so much that we are going back for another 3 weeks at the end of November. For brits thinking of going to Tryp I would suggest you take a travel kettle for your morning brew if you can't wait for breakfast. And be aware that the canadian spring term break is feb to march (it is a lot livelier during this period) The Lauder Family from Manchester England

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowboy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Awesome beach. Food and drinks great. Friendly staff. Clean well kept grounds and rooms. Lots of activities. We had a great time and can hardly wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaytime101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This really is the dream holiday! Perfect location and the perfect hotel. We went on a horse ride to visit all the other hotels near us and the Tryp was by far the nicest. The staff were so friendly, the food was amazing, there is something there for everyone but there is so much to chose from so keep looking and you will find something that suits you. The Oriental was amazing and so was the International. The 24 hour bar does the best Chicken Toasties!!! For anyone who loves coffee, ask for a Coffee Latte....they are the best!!! The entertainment varried so there was something for everyone. The main pool was more lively with entertainment on every afternoon so if you prefer there is a quiet pool which is so relaxing, go for a walk around, you will find it!!!! The Beach is out of this world, quite breezy so you burn quite easily and quickly! The sand is like talcum powder and is very clean. There are lots of fun things to do, which we had planned before we left, but when we got there we done none of it as the hotel and the beach really did have enough!! The rooms in our opinion were just right!! The air con is brilliant, they are cleaned EVERYDAY!! Tip the maid and she will repay you!!! As will everyone else who works there, 2-3 Peso's is all you need to tip at anyone time, 5 Peso's pays there electricity for about 2 months....they are very apreciative. Here are a few tips...*Take a Hoody/Jumper as the evenings do get chilly due to the fact you are in the middle of the ocean. *Request that your hotel room is in a quieter block as there is a small night club on the resort which if you were near it would be noisy late at night. *TIP WELL!!. *Beach towels, Iron and hairdryers all inciuded. *They do not sell chocolate or crisps!!!! *Haggle at the little markets on the resort they do drop! And If you walk up the beach you will find a small shack that sells lobster! Hope this helps......there really is nowhere else we would rather go anymore....we are going back in September! Please dont be put off by the poor reviews like we almost were, go and see for yourselves!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews