We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Trip to the Tryp January 2014!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“2nd Trip to the Tryp January 2014!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

It was our second visit to the Tryp and we had a great time again. The food was as good as last year, the only disappointment being that the BBQ and grill a le carte restaurant was closed and the Cuban a le carte had moved from the quiet, small Cuban type house to the beach front restaurant!

All the staff were very polite most of the time but you were often over looked if a Canadian came storming up to the bar waving a 3 peso note... and being English and having some manners I usually waited for my turn and let the bar staff know who was next. More fool me I suppose and the Canadian and some British rudeness isn't the hotels fault.

Our room was right next to the entertainment stage which meant it could get very noisy but we watched the entertainment most nights and it was quiet again by the time we went to bed.
The room itself was an improvement on last year with new bedding, curtains, kettle, Tv and a new toilet which was being fixed as we got to the room after checking in. The place is going through a make over Cuban style, slowly but getting there.

It was a lot busier this year with a fair few late teen, early twenties Canadians having a great time and the main pool area during the day was loud with music and games as was the beach but if you don't fancy the fun and games then there's always the quiet pool!

We went back to the Tryp because of the troubles in Egypt messed up our plans to go there and for an extra £100 each to fly to the Caribbean compared to Egypt, the Tryp and Cuba in general is an absolute bargain.

I will probably never return to the Tryp because I like to try different places/hotels but would recommend it to my friends and if I get stuck again for a place to go last minute at a bargain price the Tryp will be up there at the top of my list.

Room Tip: Avoid Block 7 if you have children or like early nights! very loud entertainment stage right next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobHslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear RobHslip,

It is excellent to read you comments and find that your second time here was a great time. Thank you for your time and for recommending us. May be you will come back again some day. It will be very nice to have you here again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,932
    2,262
    860
    434
    330
See reviews for
1,587
2,048
279
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We enjoyed our vacation at tryp. This is only my second time to cuba, first was Veradero. The food was excellent, way better than Veradero. Had a great ocean view room, Block 5 room 545.Service was not as good as Veradero, seems you could be standing in line waiting to be served and they just ignore you,but if you leave a nice tip they seem to serve you faster. Beach was great except one day crude oil washed ashore from one of the large cargo or cruise ship that go by there and got on everyones feet, they had someone come along and clean it off with gasoline. Rented scooters one day that was fun, went on the speed boats to go snorkeling in a lagoon....the speed boats were fun but just take a snorkel and mask, there are more fish at the beach with cleaner water, also went horse back riding for 2 hours along the beach, which was fun. Seen many people with bad bug bites,but the bugs didn't bother us much.Maids kept our room nice and clean everyday.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room ask to be moved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcwinters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear jcwinters,

It has been nice to know that you enjoyed your holidays on your second time to Cuba. Your comments are very important for us and give us opportunities for continue working on improvements. Hope to meet you again here some day. Thank you for your time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went to the tryp over spring break, having traveled numerous times over that time of year i know for a fact that it can still be a relaxing vacation.

The rooms were nice but the bathroom was outdated, we were placed in a section away from the action but we still had a few incidents with neighbours coming home hammered and being yelled at by other neighbours. The administration had to intervene numerous times....

The food was just ok, you have to go through a swampy section to get to the buffet which can smell awful depending on the wind...

The day trip to playa pilar was fabulous and we were lucky enough to be able to change our towels at the hotel in kayo guillermo as our was out of dry ones....

You get what you pay for and I would not return to the Tryp or Cayo coco, I like a quieter vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysandy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear sunnysandy8,

Thank you for your comments here. We are sorry about the inconveniences that you had due the behavior of the young guests. We always try to do our best to keep them under control and several measures are taken to guaranty a nice ambiance to all the guests. Hope that you will come back again may be not on spring break season.

Sincere regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Enjoyed this year's visit very much - my first SOLO trip. On arrival was welcomed by Eduardo the porter and William and Jorge in the Guest Services and later by Yanet Mora. It felt like ''Coming Home''! My room was the 'old' style (last year's had new a new floor and bathroom counter plus new bedspreads, curtains etc.) but the sheets and towels were very clean! The beach IS fabulous and very well maintained - plenty of lounges AND helpful staff!! Lunches at the Beach Grill were very enjoyable - thanks - Ronnie! Otherwise the food was plenty and varied - a big 'Thank you' to Borges and William at breakfast time - a good start to the day!!
Hope to continue the tradition 'Next year in Cayo Coco'!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank HildeG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear HildeG29,

Thank you for your time and your loyalty, It is always a pleasure to meet you here every year and hope you will continue your tradition of coming to our Hotel each year. Hope to see you next year.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Got back on Friday after a 2 week stay at the tryp. First time to Cuba and enjoyed our stay overall . Weather the first week was red hot second week was quite changeable. Quite cloudy some days and the odd drop of rain but still really hot. Beach was beautiful and enjoyed the quiet pool as couldn't stand the constant loud music round the other pool!. Most of the staff went out of their way for you but, found one or 2 of them really quite rude!. Got sick of drinking out of plastic cups as they Neva seemed to have glasses and they also ran out of coffee cups!. Found the food just ok. Was barely warm most days although there was quite a selection to choose from.. Mostly used the stations as at least food was served hot!.. Suffered with really severe stomach cramps for 3 days and ended up at the emergency room where I was promptly set up on an intravenous drip and diagnosed with gastroenteritis! Felt awful and quite weak for a few days. Still takin medication now and for the next 3 days!. Not good!!. Cost nearly £100 for treatment and medical bills!. Found the rooms needed updating an modernising and smelt musty!. Wouldn't recommend the Chinese and the Italian was just ok. The international was lovely. Had lobster there and it was delicious. Entertainment was good and enjoyed the singer on a Friday and Monday nite.. Would I go back?? Still undecided to be honest. Maybe?.. The place itself was clean and the gardens were luvly and well tended.. The beach, just perfect but the food really wasn't brilliant and being so poorly am convinced it's something I had eaten as it wasn't even warm most of the time. Don't know if I would return at this present time...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maisydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Maisydo,

Thank you for your time to write your comments. We are glad to know that you like the Hotel and we sincerely regret that you became ill during your stay. Actually our staff is very careful handling food and respect the procedures established for it. We hope that this experience will not interfere on your propose of visiting us again in the future.

Sincere regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new brunswick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

we are going to Tryp next month , we went 8 years ago always wanted to go back , the resort was so nice and beach the best I've seen so far , the staff are so nice , the food is good , the best place to go enjoy yourself and relax ,don't look at the negative go with a positive attitude and have fun in the sun.....

Room Tip: I don't remember the rooms we were in , but as long there is no noise after 12:00 .a.m we are fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Dannippy,

It is excellent to know that you are coming back this moth. Hope that you will enjoyed once again it and that you will continue coming to our resort. Hope to meet you here. Thank you for your time to write these comments.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

All of the entertainment was amazing the English is good easy to understand. Everything is a bit run down but they are in the progress of fixing it. The first room we got was old and gross and the shower did not work well. But it was an amazing view, you could see the ocean and the flamingo pond. In the morning we could see 8 horses just wondering around. And the random chickens woke us up. Not to mention the peacocks everywhere oh and the cats one day we counted 12 cats. The buffet was ok. There was lots there but a little picked over. The a la carts were AMAZING as well.

Room Tip: Try and choose a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhyan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Rhyan S,

It is very nice to read that you had an excellent time in our Hotel and that you like the location, the environment and the entertainment. Hope that you will visit us again in the future. Thank you for your time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,058 reviews
5.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,105 reviews
4.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Property: TRYP Cayo Coco
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Booking.com so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing