We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fifth visit to Tryp”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed October 7, 2013

As a return visitor, you know that I always enjoy my stay at the Tryp Have always got good service every time I have been there. The staff have become like family and good friends that I look forward to seeing when there, The rooms are getting a little aged, and could do with re decorating.That said, the rooms are kept spotless by the maids. One thing which would enhance the hotel would be to have more than one disability room in the whole complex.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antonyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear antonyee,

It is very nice to now that you have always found a dood service in our staff has become your family. Tahnk you for your time and loyalty. Actually we have two disability rooms and we are working to add two more in the future. Hope to meet you here back very soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,957 - 1,963 of 6,052 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Went to Cayo-Coco to relax & rest , bought the trip 1 week before leaving , was highly recomended by a travel agent ... Well the hotel is ok Nothing to die for like the Travel agent said , even though i told her i wanted a nice quite place , well found out that the Tryp is a party place !!! The hotel was filled with young party people , loud and drunk , the beach buffet takes forever to be served , not much choice and for the salad bar well it was mostly empty , the rooms are ok but need some refreshing , unfortunatly for us i did not no that in may & June there a lot more Mosquitos ... It was so bad even though they sprayed , the main buffet is very big but not much choice in food , the beach there is beautifull , the people that work there are mostly nice , if you want a nice massage you can have one for really cheap , the Italian a la carte restaurant was really good , service there was excellent ! They have Flamingos on the site wich is very nice to see , the pools are very nice also , the main lobby bar was real nice also , the tryp was ok , but was expecting more .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear karen2002martin,

Thank you for your comments on this site. We sincerely regret have not been able to fully fulfil your exèctations and you kept waiting for more. Your comments are useful and give us opportunities for improvements. Thank you once again and hope you can visit us in the future and you can see the improvements that we are working on now.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sunshine, decent food, friendly staff, good entertainment, clean with good facilities including a quiet pool with a jacuzzi, free bike hire, flamingoes, peacocks, specialist restaurants and a good range of products on sale at fair prices in the on site shops. Unfortunately, like all the resorts on Cayo Coco, it is out on an isolated island fifty miles away from the real Cuba.

Room Tip: If you're going to be there during Canadian college breaks and don't enjoy noise at night ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil&Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Phil&Lynne,

Thank you for your time to write your opinion. It is not a shame the location, some people like the place and have the experience of going in a tour to the main land. Here you can fine the relax far from the polution, experience virging beaches and land scapes but also you have the opportunitie of several excursions to share the real Cuban live on the main island.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My Family ,friends and I stayed here 19/9/13 - 3/10/13 and had an amazing time. Flying from Gatwick 10.5 hours due to routing around storms.
Check in too, was very quick and friendly with our room ready straight away. We stayed in block 12 which near the quiet pool and quite a walk from the Bars and buffet.

Room,air con not great and very noisy,beds comfortable,fridge with water.

A La carte,Chinese poor,Italian ok,BBQ and grill good,Fish good,International good,Cuban was closed,restaurants just Wine beer and soft drinks.

Buffet,Breakfast good,lunch good,evening meal poor selection,live cooking stations good(fish,pork,steak etc)Fis the egg cook does great omelettes.

Bars only 2 open at night Lobby Bar closed at 11 pm,lower bar 24 hrs with Toastie snacks,Disco opened at 11.30, All bars Always ran out of Havana Club,Plastic cups,hard to get served at lobby bar as people always sitting around it.2 pool bars.

Beach,Excellent.

Gardens,Very well kept.

Day animation ,most staff to lazy to carry out any of the daily events,it took 4 staff sitting around to call bingo,no shooting,archery or the Scuba lesson.

Evening shows,Not to bad ,very good dancers.

Trips,Catamaran V good (89 pesos),Go Cuba V good(75 pesos),sea fishing full day excellent (96 pesos) 3 hour cayo train trip OK (12 pesos) 1.54 pesos to the £.

Rep,Jorge was an Excellent rep would do anything to assist.

Staff ,always happy to help ,Beasley (just "B" to everyone)was great fun and made the best Mojito.

Room Tip: Rooms 10,11,12 near the quiet pool but a long walk to all amenities,most others around the main pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank craig53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear craig53,

Thank you for your comments in which we found opportunities for improvements. It is nice to know that you had an amazing time. Hope to meet you here again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed here 20/9/13 - 4/10/13 and had an amazing time.
Flying from Manchester the flight was around 9.5 hours on the way there and 8 hours on the way back. The transfer was quick and easy, the hotel being around 20 mins away from the airport. Check in too, was very quick and friendly with our room ready straight away.

We stayed in block 7 which is by the main pool and the entertainment. Being a young couple we liked being close to all the activities though I know some people would prefer a quieter room - request to be placed near the quiet pool.

The room itself was large with two double beds that were really comfortable. It was clean with a good strong shower and very cool air con which was great for escaping the heat and humidity at times! There was plenty of space for our clothes and the balcony had a view of the main pool with the beach just behind palm trees.

The grounds are beautiful and lush with plants and trees everywhere that attract wildlife. We saw hummingbirds, massive dragonflies and lizards; crabs and all sorts. There are cats that wander the grounds all very tame and very healthy looking. There are also chickens and peacocks which was fun to see.

The beach is simply stunning, clear water that is soooo warm with white soft sands. You can walk for ages past other hotels along the beach to find areas for snorkelling.

The food in the buffets was really good, there was always lots of choice and lots of live cooking stations at every meal. For those reviews saying the food was boring or bland I can only imagine they ate chips every day and did not try the fresh fish or squid or grilled meats etc that were always on offer- they tasted great and we never got bored of the selection!

The bars and drinks were of good quality, the cocktails were lovely and beer refreshing - beware though, the beer is very strong at 5.4%!

The excursions we took were through our Thomas Cook rep Jorge. We partied in a cave night club which was very different and not for those who are scared of bats! We also took a day snorkelling, speedboating and swimming in Cayo Guillermo about 45mins away. It was fab, and good value. Our fave excursion was the 2nights in Havana. It involved lots of travelling (over 6 hours on coach each way) but it gave us a whole day in Havana with plenty of time around the organised tour to explore the place on our own. It also included the club tropicana night - not to be missed!

Back to the hotel- the staff were very hard working and always friendly and smiling. We never felt obliged to tip at all and when we did it made no difference to the already high level of service we always received.

Due to it being their low season there were a few restoration projects happening during our stay but they were well organised and we were always given notice. For a hotel that stays open all year this will have to happen and wasn't a problem for us at all.

Towards the end of our stay, we came back to our room to find a complimentary bottle of rum, an invitation to a British night meal and a request to meet with the management who were interested in our views about the hotel and our stay in Cuba. During the British night we were told that they appreciated how far and expensive it can be to visit Cuba and thanked us for not just choosing the hotel but for choosing Cuba itself.

I have never visited a country or a people that have made me feel so welcomed and appreciated. The Cuban people are all very happy, hard working, well educated and very proud of their country and its culture and it was a pleasure to visit. I recommend this hotel, resort and country highly and can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
12  Thank gratedunicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear gratedunicorn,

It has been very nice to read you comments and know that you liked your stay and that you will comeback. Thank you for your time, for recommending us and hope to see you here next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived for two weeks on fri 30 August on the Manchester flight.

A very swift check-in and headed to the bar for a well earned thirst quencher :-)

I hadn't been to Tryp for 2 years and I was a bit worried how things could be. Big mistake on my behalf because the hotel was perfect in every way.

I thought that the food in the buffet had improved since my last visit ( not that the food was ever bad ) everything I tasted was excellent. Ate in the international a few times and as per usual, the food and the service was as good as ever. The beach restaurant, bliss.

I struggle to find the right words to describe my thoughts about the beach so I won't bother :-). The water level was very high this time, never seen it so high before. Still enjoyed it though. Who wouldn't ?

My room was spotless. Probably the best room I've had at the Tryp. If they refurb all the rooms to the same standard that mine was, the hotel would defo need a star rating upgrade. ( but keep the prices decent ok hahaha )

The hotel is really good and I'll continue to visit as long as Thomas cook provide the packages or should I say, IF they start selling the Tryp again in the future. I heard that Thomas cook have pulled the plug this weekend. Let's hope that the Tryp and Thomas cook can iron out their differences and continue to provide us Tryp regulars a service that we all enjoy.




" LONG LIVE THE TRYP "


Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
9  Thank Neil19jan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Neil19jan72,

It is very nice to know that you had another great time in our Hotel. Hope you can comeback some time again. It will be a pleasure to meet you hare again. Thank you.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

has anyone stayed in one of the suites with the jaquizzi have one booked for October and wondering what the room is like is it as shown in the photos . Thanks appreciate any comments. Looking forward to trip to Cuba for our Anniversary and hope the suite is as stated in brochure.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Debbie A,

Thank you for your comments, we would like to clarify the VIP Superior ocean view package is provided in the same standard room with some extra services such as minifridge stocked with beers and softdrinks, bathrobe and slipers, beach towels in room, one lobster dinner included, Breakfast on request in the room, coffee maker in room with coffee service stocked on daily basis, late check out till 3:00pm, plus the ocean view guarantied. Rooms with jacuzzi in the Hotel are suite rooms and has extra suplement over the Superior all inclusive Package to pay at the Hotel Front Desk according with the availability. Hope it clarify you and the rest of the guests that want to book the VIP Superior All inclusive package.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
17.8 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,101 reviews
263.9 mi away
Carrusel Mariposa
Carrusel Mariposa
#58 of 81 in Havana
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Mojito
IBEROSTAR Mojito
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,701 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $121 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing