We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff make this Hotel.”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was rather wary after reading on here about how people other than Canadians were treated at the bars by being made to wait. The staff could not have been better not only at the bars but in the restaurants, by the pools and in customer services. A pair of my sandals came unstuck and the customer services arranged to have them glued by one of the maintenance men. Another day I left my sun glasses by the pool and they were safely put on one side for me by the member of staff who cleaned the pools. The restaurant staff were always there to help and I was always served in my turn at the bars.

The food in the International restaurant was superb, the service in the Seafood restaurant was very slow but the food was good. Looking at the speciality restaurants overall the food was very good, my only complaint being the soup was never piping hot. In the self service restaurant you could have a very good meal at breakfast, lunch and dinner just by going to one of the places where they cooked food fresh. The fish and seafood was cooked in front of you and was always done beautifully, the meat part always had plenty of choice; usually there was pork, chicken, steak and at lunch sausage and burgers. Every day you could get a freshly cooked stir fry or pasta. Fruit and salad items were plentiful and fresh. Mornings you could always get freshly cooked eggs, omelettes and pancakes. The restaurant tables always had clean cloths and the floors were clean and swept.

The grounds were kept very clean and all the pool areas were spotless. Both pools and the beach area was lovely and there were plenty of sun beds. The beach was beautiful and it was easy to get a canoe or pedalo. The sea here is crystal clear and it was easy to get down to the beach.

We did not use the day time entertainment as we went on two trips which we booked through Thomas Cook and later found we could have got them cheaper from the guy at the diving centre. We also went out on several other excursions. The two Thomas Cook trips were firstly the catamaran trip on which the lobster and chicken were very dry from over cooking and the snorkelling sights weren't that good, When we landed back we were left waiting with no shade in full sun for nearly an hour for the coach back to our hotel with no apology. This was not worth our money. The other trip was the speedboat and snorkelling which we thoroughly enjoyed.
We went out one day on a horse and carriage (45 mins for 5 pesos a person); although there is not a lot to see the ride was very enjoyable and the driver friendly. Well worth the money. We also went horse riding one morning and this again was good value for money (10 pesos per person). Both these were booked through a lady who came to the hotel in a morning. Another day we went on the local tour bus to Pilar beach (5 pesos each round trip). The beach is beautiful but it would be quite difficult to get down to the beach if you had any disability. The beach is beautiful but you need to pay 2 pesos for a sun bed and unless you do this there is no shelter. Also on the way back when queueing for the bus there is no shelter from the heat.

The evening entertainment when the dancers were performing was first class but we personally do not like the quizzes and the Mr and Miss competitions but a lot of people did.

Before we went, I e mailed the hotel to ask for a quiet room. We were in Room 1067 which was very quiet. It was in building 10 on the top floor, this was ok for us but would not be suitable for anyone who had a problem with stairs. The room was kept clean and the beds were very comfortable, the shower was always hot and we had no problems with any of the other items in the room. The main thing is that the rooms could do with refurbishing as they are quite shabby.

Room Tip: Quiet room building 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank zenith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear zenith1,

Thank you for your time to write your opinion here. Your comments are very useful. We sincerely hope that can visit us once again in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 5,969 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I just spent an amazing week at Tryp hotel, Cayo Coco. July 27-August 3. We had read the usual bad reviews prior to going away (which you will find anywhere you go) but decided to judge for ourselves. We could not have been happier in all aspects. The Staff were all friendly and courteous. No problems with our check in. It was fast and efficient and our room was ready upon arrival and located in the area our travel agent requested. (block 11, quiet pool area).We had no problems with our room. The room is stocked every day with a bottle of mineral water.As for all the bad reviews we read on the food, it could not have been more wrong. The food was in no way bland, and the variety offered was plentiful. The alacarte(s) we went to were great! Romantic ambiance in both the BBQ Grill and Seafood locations .Lots of activities throughout the day if you are looking for something to do in the resort.. We went on the Catarmaran excursion which we enjoyed, including the snorkelling and seafood lunch on board.
Night life at the resort was good. Evening entertainment provided (not forgetting the kids, they started off with fun stuff for them) then continued with a great troupe of dancers. There is also the disco if you so desire. There is an abundance of lounge chairs around the pool, but limited amount of shade umbrellas. There could be more of those, as the pool area is a very open area with limited shade. The grounds keepers were wonderful. Super friendly, always had a happy greeting every time you saw them. We actually had one run up to us and handed us both necklaces he had hand made as a gift!!
We would advise you to bring a bug spray, you do get quite a few bites but that can't be helped.
The only issues we had was the lack of clocks on the resort. We had to go to the reception area to find out the time. An alarm clock or clock in general would have been helpful in the room also.
A list of drinks posted at the bars would have been helpful too. (Cuban specialty drinks)
We will definitely return to Tryp in the future. It was a wonderful week, and we wished we had a few more days to stay there.

Room Tip: We were in block 11 room 1143, which had shade in the afternoon on the balcony. It is a very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CrazyCatLady58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear CrazycatLady58,

It has been very nice to read your comments here and to know that you had amazing time in our Hotel. Thank you for your time and the suggestions. Hope to meet you heer next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the beaches are truly amazing, a trip out in the paddle boat to explore under the ocean is well worth it and something you can do everyday. Paddle boats , kayaks, fishing, glass bottom boat lots to do on beach.The food.......the specialized restaurants are truly excellant, they allow you to book three ahead of time, the other nights you can just go and wait for a cancellation (nearly guaranteed you will get a table). The buffet is hit and miss, the egg station for breakfast is best bet, an omelet and a fresh smoothy and you are set. On the day you can book the sea food lunch for 10 dollars, DO IT! EXCELLANT, other days we just had lunch at buffet, kids grabbed buns, rice, veggies.The rest of the very large buffett was just okay. Now the rooms they are bad, very old, really need upgrading, beds had very thin mattress. Despite that, it was clean, just don't expect a Hampton style room. So overall, great time and great holiday for the money.PS bring your own insulated bubba mug for beer and cold drinks or you just get 4 oz cups

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JimD549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Jim D,

Thank you for your comments. We consider them very helpful. We hope you can visit us once again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First time going to Cuba but I would definitely go back. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and well air conditioned. Also cleaned every day to a high standard and clean towels given every day. The Buffett food is good although quite repetitive. The other restaurants available were great. The international restaurant is amazing. Would highly recommend it. I found all staff to be very friendly and accommodating. They really went out their way for you and were so pleasant! The entertainment is also very good, both throughout the day and in the evenings. The beach is beautiful and would recommend going snorkelling on the glass boat. Was so much fun. Overall I loved this holiday and can't wait to go back. I really didn't want to come home! And Definitely bring lots of mosquito repellent you'll need it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Ashley A,

It is very nice to know that you enjoyed your first time in Cuba, including our Hotel. Thank you for your comments, they are useful and hope to meet you here next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I agree with everything that Linda B from Southampton says about the bar staff they were very rude I was treated like a leper if you were Canadian you would be treated like royalty for the money we paid holiday it was a nightmare. I was treated really bad, I would go to 24 hour bar for a drink I would either be ignored or pointed at aggressively saying drink is for her I will never come to your resort ever again. The only good thing about the holiday was the service from waitresses serving in the buffet area in the mornings and the beach. The Canadians took over the whole resort they were loud, rude and very offensive swearing in front of children that were with myself and other family groups.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
5  Thank catherine_d_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Catherine_d_63,

We sincerely apologies for the inconviniences that you found with the staff attitud. Actually, most of our guests are very pleased with the staff service. We will take into account your comments to continue working to achive our main gold, our guests´ satisfation. Thank you,

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Thank you to all the staff for another wonderful holiday. This was our families 8th time at Tryp Cayo Coco and once again we had a great time. We met some new people from London and Winnipeg as well as a family that we had vacationed with before. The highlight of our trip by far was a sunset glass bottom boat cruise with 13 of our new friends (which we arranged through the dive shop on the beach). We spoke to Freddie who was fantastic with all the details and we couldn't have had asked for a more perfect day with a wonderful crew. The captain jumped in the water and took us on a snorkeling adventure that allowed us to see coral, lots of fish, conk shells, starfish and even a sting ray! The sunset was one of the best ever seen by all.
I'm not going to go into detail about two ignorant 20 year olds who acted like the resort was their personnel amusement park, as obviously they have a lot of growing up to do. The staff handled them much better than I would have and they are lucky that they are literally still alive with the ridiculous reckless behaviour they exhibited.
Overall, the staff are what make this resort so great and I hope the managers recognize some of the outstanding people they have (Mary (kids club), Louisa (buffet), Al (bar between the Italian and Chinese), Ozzy (from the International), Guiarmo (lobby bar), Yunior (snack bar), Santiago (pool bar), Yuliet (lobby bar), Lorenzo (Italian), Julio (who carries equipment all over the resort) and so many more I apologize for not including everyone who makes our stay so wonderful. We'll look forward to seeing everyone again in April when we return to our second home.

Room Tip: Block 7 is great as it's right beside the pool area and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Joanne Q,

Thank you for your comments on this site. It has been very nice to find them and know that you and your family enjoyed once again our Hotel. Hope to meet you here again on April.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Bring mosquito repellent!! You will get bit a lot!! Don't exchange you're money at the airport. They will tell you that it's cheaper but they charge you more ($1.14) Canadian to CUC then the hotel which is ($1.09) CUC. Travelled with 8 people that stayed in 3 rooms. We arrived at 11:00pm and did not properly check in until 3:00pm. First room, toilet didn't flush. Second room, their butt washer (lol) pipe leaked and flooded the washroom. Rooms need serious renovations. All in all the food wasn't that bad, just bring you're own hot sauce for flavour. The MC, Danny was great and hilarious, Staff is very friendly, had a great time! BEAUTIFULLLL BEACH!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NirroS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear NirroS S,

Thank you for your comments here. We offer you apologies for the inconviniences that you have mentioned. Hope that you can comeback.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
5.5 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,279 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $121 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Cancelon, TravelUp and TripOnline SA so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing