We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hols” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hols”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just got back from my holidays from tryp coco it's a great hotel staff can't do enough for you on the night one of the bar maids was great would help you all the time her name was Liset only bit of advice take plenty of mosquito repellent the food was great would go back again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Kerri E,

Thank you for your comments about your stay in our Hotel. Sorry for the mosquitoes, the begining of June was really bad but now is much better, still tropical area mosquitoes are always present. Hoe to meet you here next tiem of your trip.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,915
    2,225
    851
    432
    327
See reviews for
1,573
2,013
275
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

we stayed at tryp cayo coco from june 8 to june 15 2013, the bus ride from the airport is less than 10 min so we arrived and checked in no problem our flight left Toronto at 10 am so we still had time to go to the beach which is the most wonderful beach I've ever seen, the water is crystal clear and fish come and swim around, my 3 year old didn't want to come out of the water and is safe because the shore is shallow , you need to walk about 1 km to get into deep water so it is super safe for families with kids, our room was amazing we were on room 544 ocean view 2nd floor, request and do the upgrade here if you can but you also can do it there the staff is efficient specially Mr.Gregorio Coca GM of the hotel, he is there to make sure everything runs smoothly. Breakfast is wonderful, smoothie station, omelet station, pancake French toast station all made fresh in front of you, dinner you got seafood and meat stations, pasta station for the kids, my son loved the spaghetti, all kinds of stews, veggies, etc. a very complete and balanced buffet,
for lunch we always stayed by the beach so we ate at the restaurant there, I like the calamari and fish ,is much smaller place to eat but we couldn't have soo much food, there is also burgers and hotdogs for children. We went for a ride in a catamaran and boat cycle which was included in our package, we like it so much and we will comeback to this resort next year. Thanks to all the staff specially Yamila our dinner waitress a lovely lady who takes pride in her work.

Room Tip: block 5 away from stage close to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ana K,

We are glad to know that you like our Hotel and that you will to come back. Thank you for your comments. Hope to meet you here next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ok if you get a deal for under $600inc.tax Resort is in need of some repair and is dated but air cond. was good in the rooms and lots of hot water always. Pool was large and lots of loungers. Not a huge resort so everything close inc, the beach.Food was repetative but not bad for Cuba. Take bug spray as you cannot buy it there and there are a lot of mosquitos.There was a goat cart that was sad to see as it was giving rides to adults as well as children and at times was stressed and exhausted ,not appropriate for a resort to be making money from this type of thing. For that reason we would not return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsy054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear gypsy054,

Thank you for your comments here. You give us good opportunities for continuing working for improvements. We should say that the goat that you saw in our Hotel is part of the Cuban culture to use them to pull car mainly with children, it is a tradition in the Cuban culture and most of the guests like this option for their children. We will double check about the adults using this option.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just landed back in England this morning & had to comment straight way! Stayed here between 7th June-21st June & had the best holiday. This hotel is paradise! We stayed in Block 10 overlooking the quiet pool but with easy access to the beautiful beach would recommend if you like your peace & quiet. Yes the rooms are rather dated but our maid Judy made sure everything was spotless. We has a few problems with card keys to the room but this was rectified efficiently by reception and the maintenance guy who came to change the lock straight away.
The 1st week there was plenty of Mosquitoes which we was told was more than usual by gardeners & staff but this did not spoil the holiday. They were constantly fogging the area to try and keep it to a minimum but take lots of repellent if you are prone to bites.

Really enjoyed the food and the variety and would recommend to book the different restaurants (especially Italian & International) around the resort for a change of scenery. The drink selection is excellent and the beer is very good. You do tend to wait a long time at the bars especially if you don't tip all the time. I found that the waitress service in the lobby bar the best way to get the nicest cocktails in proper glasses instead of the plastic cups. We had taken Bubba mugs for during the day and were fantastic instead of constantly going back and forth to the bars. The vida loca Nightclub was more aimed towards the younger guests who were there to have a good time.

The staff are amazing across the whole of the hotel and really make the effort to make you feel welcome. A special shout out to these guys:
William in the morning Buffet is very professional and makes sure your glass is always full of orange juice and the tables cleared promptly. Lucas and Yoleidy in the same area of the buffet on a evening are the best comedy duo & agree with previous reviews about them. The lady who organised the horse-riding trip always gave us a hug and made conversation. Derrion in the animation team always had a smile on his face and made you want to join in with the activity's ( hope you enjoy the Toms). Jorge the Thomas Cook Rep was always on hand and full of knowledge of the island.
It was really nice to see the Manager walking around the resort constantly & even eating in the restaurants.

The hotel organised a special British evening to say "thank you" and we even had two bottles of rum left in our room. Would recommend the VIP catamaran trip on a Wednesday, lots of snorkeling, a visit to the beautiful Pilar beach and a gorgeous lobster lunch. For your return flight book the VIP lounge at the airport with Jorge you get Air Conditioned room with sofas, sandwiches, crisps and lots of variety of drinks, while everybody is sat in the greenhouse upstairs.

Amazing holiday can't wait to return in the future, had a tear in my eye with the fantastic send off in the lobby from the animation team!

P.S~ A WARNING TO THOMAS COOK CUSTOMERS DON'T BOTHER PRE-BOOKING THE SEATS FOR BOTH FLIGHTS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY NEVER GOT THE SEATS WE PICKED!!!!!!! (the only negative of the holiday)

Room Tip: Email the hotel a month before you travel to request which block. Block 10 overlooking quiet pool 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tinyturnerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Tinyturnerbird,

It is nice to know that you had an amazing holday in our resort and can not wait to return. Thank you for your comments and hope to meet you again here next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a difference from 4 years a go ... The resort is still beautiful but lacking maintenance big time specialty in the POOL area and every were else , the staff was great , great service, needs More night intertainment for sure better ( SHOWs)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Venilda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Venilda L,

Thank you for your comments. You give us opportunities for improvemennts, we are constantly working on renovation and we are consious we need big changes.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is a perfect example of the lack of business administration knowledge among the managers and the Cuban people/government. While it looked good in pictures and most of the staff (I mean 95%) was great, friendly, accommodating, and understanding, the hotel lacks maintenance and posture. When beer runs out at the bar, they won't bring anymore until ALL the drinks are out. The guy who puts the music equipment by the pool, won't turn the PLAY button on. Activities are limited during the day and the food is not that great. The actual design of the pool and the area by the beach is inviting. There is an unconfirmed rumor that they put cubans in a different building to separate them from foreigners. Mosquitoes were every where, this is actually the part that makes me give it a lower rating. This could be because of low season. All in all, good for a cheap family outing but be ware of the limitations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ODiaz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JustAtraveler7,

Thank you for your comments here. We sincerely respect your opinion and will take advantage of them to keep working on improvements but we should clarify that we do not make any difference between our guests nathionalities to accomodate them. It is true we had an increase of mosquitoes density the first two weeks of June due to the often rains and hight temperatures. Although the Authorities in charge made their best to controll them it was not enough due to this increasement. This is a tropical area and mosquitoes are present always eventhough the measures we take.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was the first time myself and my boyfriend had travelled to the Caribbean. This was a great deal, 2 weeks all inclusive. It was like Heaven on Earth!

The hotel is right on the beach, it is one of the most flawless beaches I have seen. Completely white sand, waters are calm and both beach and waters are clean. You can walk along the beach for a long time, it goes on for about 1 mile or more and it is completely clean and safe to do so.

The entertainment was great for a small team, the dancers were trained and put on beautiful shows for us every night. Steve was a great character and could speak 5 languages all fluently.

This hotel is popular with young crowds, it is very lively and has a great atmosphere. A lot of French Canadians come here, some are very friendly and we made some great friends on this trip.

The food is average, Cuba is a poor country so you can't expect too much. They have a rice and pasta station at dinner which were good options. As well as a grill where they would cook meat and fish for you, ensure the meat is cooked through as it can get busy and often it will be undercooked.

The weather was amazing, only rained at night time and for short periods. There was maybe 1 or 2 days of clouds and was a little chilly where you might need a light cardigan at night time.

We played sports like tennis and basketball as well as going to the gym which has all the basics.
It is a great hotel to explore with huge grounds and very friendly staff.

The bar can get busy, it is good to tip the bar tenders as they will give you priority next time.
You can order snacks at the bar all night, like chips and burgers.

A good place to eat would be at the hut on the beach, order Puntin and calamari which were tasty. Don't bother with the pizza place, the pizza is not great if you are used to Western pizza.

We went on some excursions like the cave party and beach party which was great fun.

The rooms are clean, it is basic. Has 2 double beds and a balcony. Bathroom has a bath tub with shower head and is basic but you shouldn't expect too much for the price and bear in mind Cuba is a poor country.

Cayo Coco is an island off of Cuba and it is completely deserted. Only hotel resorts are in Cayo Coco, so if you want to see the local town you will have to take an excursion, but they are reasonably priced.

The a la carte restaurants are great, we really enjoyed the Chinese, Italian and the Grill. It was a lot better than the buffet.

We loved our holiday here and would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Try to stay on higher floors for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MYLDNTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear MYLDNTRAVEL,

Thank you for writing your comments about your first experience at the Caribbean. We are glad to know that our Hotel is part of your memories already and we sincerely thank your opinion since it give us opportunities to improve the services although you said that you loved your stay. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
17.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
1043.4 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1059.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Property: TRYP Cayo Coco
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing