We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1-2 at best!”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Paris, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“1-2 at best!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Never go back. The hotel, the grounds, and especially the food were horrible. When you are paying decent money to go somewhere you would expect one of these. We did a couple of excursions to probably get away from the hotel and food which were pretty good. We went snorkelling and boating. The water was beautiful, the only highlight. Also if you are need of medical attention while you are there, you will be in trouble. That is also a long story involving a scooter that I trashed. I heard the larger cities have more to offer, but there are too many other places that I will go before I head back to Cuba.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadsunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear dadsunited,

We sincerely regret have not been able to satisfy your expectation. Thank you for your comments, we sincerely respect them and will take them into consideration for our job.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,978
    2,298
    875
    438
    340
See reviews for
1,619
2,083
288
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I met at this resort in September 2010 and we are returning in 2 weeks to experience it all again! We both love this place, having stayed several times before and we don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. This hotel has everything you could want; great beach, great food, great atmosphere and great people! We can't wait to be back again!
See you soon!
S & D

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameBinCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear MadameBinCuba,

It is very nice to know that you have enjoyed once again your stay. Thank you for your loyalty and recomendation. Hope to meet you again very soon.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

My family of 6 stayed at Tryp for one week. Stayed in block 6 which was close to everything I can not express enough gratitude for making our stay fantastic! The cleanliness of our rooms was phenomenal and I can honestly say I never saw one bug in my room. Mosquitos were present at night by the show so bring some bug spray.
Our check in took less than 10 minutes and had people helping us get to our rooms within seconds. Our ala Carte reservations were prebooked and I can't thank them enough for this as well. Plenty of chairs by the pool and beach everyday even when it was busy. Food was ok. There was always something available to eat even if you are picky. None of us got sick and we ate a variety of everything which was a bonus.
I must say, this is one of the most beautiful beaches I have been to. The sand is so white and the water is clear for quite a distance. Visited Playa Pilar which was even more breath taking! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will not hesitate to go back!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PhyllisP24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear PhyllisP24,

It is excelent to know that you and your family had a fantastic holiday here. Thank you for your time and for recomending us. Hope to see you again here very soon.
Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Although it's contrary to my instincts, I'll accentuate the positive first: The employees working at the hotel couldn't have been kinder to us. The quality of the servers in both the main buffet and the specialty restaurants was high, even by Canadian or American standards. (Our servers in the main dining room held a special lunch for us on our last day!) By and large, bartenders were attentive, efficient, and made pretty decent drinks. The hotel-sponsored reef snorkeling expedition was very nice and much more affordable than the ones sponsored by the tour operators at the hotel. And while I wouldn't characterize the grounds as particularly lush, but they were well manicured.

The negatives: Our room was spacious but reeked of mildew (and until we realized we should keep the toilet lid down, it had a faint sewage smell). The bed was as hard as a rock and the pillows uncomfortable. It may be a problem with Cuban sanitation in general, but the resort smelled of sewage in three or four of the seven days we were there. Lastly, the quality of the food, especially in the buffet, was mediocre at best. There was a decent variety of food, but all too often it was either overcooked, mushy, or bland. The fruit was shockingly under-ripe. (Um, this is the tropics. Shouldn't I get better fruit in Cuba than in Toronto?) Instead of authentic Cuban cuisine, much of it was just highly processed food.

While I had a decent time overall at the hotel, I wouldn't choose it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davis_cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Davies_cm,

We sincerely thank you for your comments about rooms and food at the Buffet. will be taken advantage of them to continue working for improvements. Hope that you will be coming back someday and will have a different opinion.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHARLOTTETOWN
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sister and I had a wonderful week. The beach is amazing. The resort was very welcoming and staff were very helpful and friendly. There were many fresh items in the buffet to be cooked before your eyes. The entertainment was better some nights than others. THERE WERE NO BUGS!!!

Room Tip: Our room was near the beach and also close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Cynthia M,

Thank you for your time. It is nice to know that you had a great time here. Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I did not stay ay TRYP, but I did spend a few hours on a trip from Sol Cayo Guillermo. We were very impressed with the layout and vibe of the resort. Great pools, including a nice quiet pool. Lovely grounds and facilities. Lovely river running through the resort and passing by a restaurant.
The beach bar was cool and friendly. The ranchon was a blast with some of the friendliest and funniest staff I have ever met.
The tiendas were nicely organized and the burger bar was great. Impressed enough to consider staying there next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Fidel47,

It is very nice to know that your first impression aboutr our Hotel was excelent and that you are thinking into come next holiday here. Thank you for your time to write your comments here and hope to meet you here next year.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

There was what I though at first a down side to this hotel but in the end it turned out FANTASTIC.

My wife & have have just returned from a two week stay to celebrate our 25th anniversary and it could not have been better.

All the staff are fantastic, a big thank you to our maid Maria who is out of this world. Don't believe all that some people have commented in other reviews, they do not expect tips but will take them and you should only give them if you think that person deserves it.

Check in for our whole coach took less than ten minutes and this was not restricted to just us. Our ground floor room was saved and we were given a map of where to go but the porters are only too happy too ferry you around in their golf buggies, cases and all.

First impressions are of how clean not only the hotel is but the whole of Cayo Coco. The rooms are spacious with two large double beds, in & outdoor table and chairs, dresser with large mirror, 32" flat screen tv with lots of channels for all. There is a fridge with fresh bottled water everyday if you want it, free, free safe deposit box lock & key, ironing board and iron as well as a hair dryer. there are two bed side tables and a large wardrobe. There is a small nook with a sink and mirror and a bathroom with bath/shower, WC & bidet (foot wash).

The grounds of the hotel are spread out so if you have trouble walking take a wheelchair if you have one. You can hire one on site but they will gladly relieve you of over £75 for 14 days which is what you could buy one from Asda for but don't expect a sleek modern designed chariot, Cuba is still operating in the dark ages which is more so true of the internet cafe which makes slow seem super sonic. 3 pesos for 30 minutes or 60 for 6 pesos but believe me having all your teeth pulled is a much more a pleasant option. Telling your rep, the hotel or the man behind the door will get you nowhere fast, just like the internet, there is no WI-FI.

The hotel lobby has two levels to it with no lifts, there are two sets of stairs, a long, long ramp or the road trip around. Now remember at the beginning when I said I thought there was a down side, well this is what I meant. Our room was in block 10 right near to the lovely beach but it is far from reception, all the restaurants, entertainment and activities apart from the quiet pool which is right outside, spent all holiday here and it is quiet apart from when parents with young children turn up. Anyway we asked for a move nearer as it was far for me to walk as I decided not to take my chair. We were offered another room which was as far away but over the other side of the complex and did not have a quiet pool so we turned this down and asked again but this time enquired about block 7 which has rooms closest to the main building. We were told that this block was fully booked so decided to stay where we were which turned out to be a good idea as with this being nearest to the entertainment the noise went on far in to the early hours.

The whole complex is well lit but some of the paths could do with a little tlc.

The pools are open 7am till 7pm and you can get a clean beach towel every day if you want from a little hut near the main pool, again this is free.

There is a 24 hour bar and grill with plenty of other snack bars, restaurants and drinks bars all around the site. The food is great, I am fussy but here there is something for everyone with ice-cream being very popular.

There is an on site doctor and small chemist as well as all the other listed amenities and activities, you can even hire a moped, car or horse and cart on site.

There are some small stalls and shops at the hotel but they do not sell much and the prices are the same as they are at the airport so no need to wait to see if you get a better bargain later when your flying home. the hotel also offers good exchange rates and can also give you plenty of change for tipping.

I would have loved to be fit enough to see the real Cuba but the break it's self was magic, I asked if I could get flowers for my wife for our anniversary and was given three price options. The flowers were then presented to my wife at an al a cart restaurant and I could have also had a free bottle of Champagne if wanted. The staff went that extra mile for us buy baking us a special anniversary cake which was delicious and a lovely gesture.

Just when we though things could not get any better every resident at the hotel was given a free 70cl bottle of rum as a thank you for staying there, something I have never experienced before even at hotels with a higher rating.

A truly fantastic hotel in a magical country with the most charming people in the world that I have travelled so far.

P,s Take jungle formula insect repellent for the evening when the mosquitoes are at their liveliest.

The sun burns even when it is overcast so take plenty of sun screen lotion.

Room Tip: Ask for blocks 10,11 or 12 if you like to retire early thus avoiding the entertainment noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Horne65,

It has been very nice to read your comments here. They are very useful. Hope to meet you here again sometime.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,102 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,115 reviews
4.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Property: TRYP Cayo Coco
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com and Prodigios Interactivos SA so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing