We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Trip”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Overall my wife and I had a great trip.
We knew going in that the rooms were dated but were kept clean by the maid. This has been our 6th time to Cuba and by far the best food that we have ever had. We only ate at the buffet 1 time and I have never seen a buffet with 4 differnet cooking stations cooking stir fry, pasta, seafood and a station with steak, chicken and pork chops. The other nights we dined at the Italian twice, the oriental twice and the internation twice where we had the best lobster ever for 15 cuban pesos. All the a-la-cartes that we ate in were fantastic. The pool was very large for a smaller resort but was cold and the ocean was of course beautiful. This resort is 20 years old but is kepted in decent shape and yes some of the rooms are getting remodeled. Alberto Jerez was the Manager there till Friday November 23rd and this gentleman was everywhere walking around checking things out. On the first full day we were there we saw him at least 10 times and throughout the week he was always around talking to us and almost everyone. They sure will miss him there as he has now gone to a different resort. I would not pay $1200.00 for this resort but if you get a great deal go for it you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Go with the mind set that the rooms are very dated and bring some Lysol spray and wipes and the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MATTYGAZOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and comments. We are always glad knowing when our guests enjoyed their holidays. Our Hotel management will continue working hard to improve the Hotel services and locations. Hope to meet you here next time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,981
    2,302
    883
    441
    340
See reviews for
1,625
2,089
291
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This hotel should definitely be closed for a period of time with some major renovations needed. It was definitely not worth the money and we were extremely disappointed.
The hotel is extremely outdated which is noticed in the main areas and in the rooms. The tub needed to be replaced, the toilets did not work properly, the floors and furniture in the room were very worn.
All of the towels, beach and room, were also very worn and most had stains on them too. We had upgraded to VIP before our trip and our robes were also stained. The fridge was stocked daily however it was filthy and we had to ask for it to be cleaned out. It appeared that something had exploded in the fridge and no one had bothered to clean it.
The food was terrible. I even found a large chunk of plastic in my breakfast sausage when eating it. The food was also always cold, waiters were terrible, had to clear our own tables, get our own drinks, etc. However, the a la carte restaurants were very good.
Entertainment was not the greatest. Daytime activities were poorly advertised and the night life was non existent. Night shows also terrible. We only watched 3 and stopped watching the rest of the week.
Beach was nice, watch for the jellyfish though :)
The pool itself was good but the pool area is a safety hazard, there are literally potholes in the pathways when walking. (around the entire resort). The grounds were also not well maintained and there was garbage everywhere.
Guest services was not at all helpful and we didnt find the staff as friendly as we have at other resorts.

Room Tip: Our ocean view was gorgeous! We were told we had one of the nicest rooms which I found to be a bit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We are sincerely impressed with your comments since you almost did not find positive points here. On your contrary, most of our guest are happy with the Hotel services in overall although we know we have a lot of things to improve, but in your case we sincerely regret that we did not know about your dissatisfaction before leaving the Hotel. It would have been very nice for us to know your opinion during your stay. We do offer you apologies for the expectations that were not fulfill and hope that may be a new visit in the future might change your opinion. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I will start by saying that we did lots of research on this hotel before we booked so knew about an element of issues that we encountered...however I find myself wondering about some of the reviews written on here and questioning if this standard is just acceptable to some travellers!

I must stress that we had a fabulous holiday and the cayo,s are simply stunning....my review will cover the resort as well as excursions we did. I will leave out the inadequate service provided by Thomas Cook and stick to facts re the resort.

On arrival and following a 23 hour delay we queued for an hour to check in...our rooms were not available for another 2and a half hours.. How was this possible when we were scheduled to arrive the day before? And we were told by the way there is no water throughout the resort....no flushing loos no showers etc!! Ok we eventually get our rooms ( 2 couples) in the area that we
requested..
.our rooms were disgusting...electric sockets hanging off the wall, water running down the wall over the electric box pooling on the floor...damp black Walls, dirty floor tiles covered in paint drips, and the bathroom was so old and mildew the taps were caked in limescale and mold. The wardrobes stank and subsequently so will your clothes.
Yes of course we raised these issues with guest relations...3 times and still no joy, it was only when my husband collared Alberto in the canteen (yes canteen) that maintenance turned up, only to glue the socket back to the wall (still sparks flying mind you) and put the air con on full blast to stop the water running! So turn off the air con and drip drip starts again!
No we didn't want to move as friends of ours had moved THREE times and still had a sub standard room! We saw the renovated rooms and they were just as poor with new floor tiles and curtains and a lick of paint....so it was a case of ALL the rooms are this poor!

The water finally came back on ..cold obviously..but we showered and headed out for drinks and dinner..... . Now, from research and extensive scrolling through forums we knew it was plastic 6 oz cups for drinks during the day poolside ( the kind you get at office water coolers) so we bought bubba mugs to overcome that...BUT..they ran out of glasses at night by 7.30pm and would serve drinks in plastic cups... This was a major issue in the lobby bar where there was also not enough seating for half the guests, and no glasses. Put 4 ice cubes in a plastic cup then your chosen drink and I,m sure you can do the math! Slurp slurp...back to the bar! So get your first drink in the bar downstairs hopefully in a glass and hang on to it! Things did improve slightly when my husband spoke to Alberto and more glasses appeared the next night....not enough...but more.

FOOD....well breakfast was good with egg stations fresh bread and a good selection but the food is always cold! We tried the A La Carte restaurants but they were freezing cold as the air con was on full blast and the food was poor and cold! We asked in the Italian to turn the air con off...people were shivering and the waitress said.. no not possible it's controlled by the hotel....sorry, no it's not...we again asked and insisted that they turn it off which they did, to a rapturous round of applause from all the diners...WE are the guests, and we should be listened to!
The BBQ grill was the best meal, the others were all poor and the Cuban was like a bush tucker trial...sorry but true! Don't expect hot food in the restaurants or standards like Mexico.

The buffet was so noisy and like a canteen, thankfully there were rice and pasta stations as all the other food was Luke warm at best! Service however very good, though they do run out of wine all the time ( again a word with Alberto) and they don't replenish dishes after 9pm....no ice cream at this dinner sitting unless you made nuisance of yourself...again .

Hot dogs and burgers by the beach were great and served with a smile by Miguel. The beach restaurant was chaotic, dirty, food cold and service poor.
Dont expect chicken breast...you won't get one....it's all massive tough drumsticks and wings, rabbit and pork.
We had nice rolls in the 24 hour bar around 4pm ish....the sun is gone about 4pm this time of year.

Beach was lovely and yes there are some high tides leaving very little sand but still lovely and they work hard to clear up the seaweed and drinking cups left all over the beach.
A trip up to Pillar beach is a must do...stunning and a lovely bar serving delicious HOT food.

Jeep safari also a fantastic day out, so much to see and a fab driver in Julius!
Speed boats we did twice it was that good and even got a separate guide to take us four off on our own...superb and well organised with great snorkelling too!

Lennys bar was also a fab afternoon out with a lovely lobster
Lunch and entertainment from the Cuban band there...they were so funny and friendly and made our day with music and laughter!

To summarise, this is a run down hotel with cracked tiles and dirty broken fixtures every where...noisy, no where to sit and chat at night as the music is TOO LOUD, poor food very poor rooms but with great staff who deserved every tip the got from CANADIANS.....as they have no manners at all and couldn't even say please or thank you!! Canadians please have some manners and respect....really!! The cayos are gorgeous and we had a great time despite the disappointing hotel.
Final word...lots of riff raff at this hotel British and Canadian!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trayandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion. We do sincerely offer you apologies for the inconveniences you faced during your stay here. We thank you for your comments which becomes in opportunities for improvements for us.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury in Lancashire, England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just returned from our wonderful trip to the Caya Cocas Cuba , today. The place is gorgeous. Wonderful beach, great food and drinks, lovely gardens, average but fun entertainment, and great pools !!! The staff were excellent too but like others reviewers say, tips ARE expected. We certainly felt we had to tip for a better service. BUT the whole place is overshadowed by dreadful , substandard rooms. So many people who arrived on the same day 14 days ago had awful accommodation and many had leaks ,no air conditioning, no flushing loos,and no hot water till they either moved or got the problem fixed. We decided to keep our room when I asked for the toilet seat to be replaced..it was dreadful !..and I went around the place with the packet of wipes I usually take with me , just in case. Tryp was the only room I have ever had to use them in. ! The room was musty but with a bit of airing the smell disappeared but I noticed the smell had got on all the clothes in the wardrobe and everything needed washing on our arrival home. The broken tiles in and around block three and the big chips out of the stairs were dangerous and a tripping hazard too. BUT the VIEW from the room was absolutely amazing. Right over the flamingo pool and the beautiful blue ocean beyond. Such a beautiful room to be in if only it had been comfortable, clean..especially around the toilet...and the shower head , vanity and bath had not been rusty and stained. Yes, we needed to spend some time in our room , to rest in the late afternoon, and in the night time , so we do expect a certain standard of hygiene and comfort and sadly this did not happen.
To sum it up, its a lovely, lovely place and we loved Cuba and the trips we took during our two weeks there , but the accommodation needs sorting now and to travel almost ten hours for a sub standard room is certainly not something we would like to repeat.I spoke to the General Manager who did indeed take an interest in what I had to say and explained that some lower ground rooms are in the process of being renovated and hopefully the new batch of clients in the future will enjoy the accommodation much better than we did.

Room Tip: Stay clear of block 3 . Great view BUT....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Once again we offer you apologies for the inconveniences that you faced in the rooms during your stay. Hope that you can come in the future to experience the new changes we are doing. Thank you for your time to write this opinion here.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Check in was fast and efficient and thye staff were friendly. The rooms were okay a bit damp smelling but I think this was due to the hurrican that passed through a couple of days before we arrived as the smell much improved after the first day. The rooms are tired looking and the bathrooms are something out of the 1950.s. Darkgreen tiles and the grouting was a bit black and the poralain at the bottom of the bath was completly scrubbed away, but other than that the shower was powerful and the telly worked well and the beds were reaqlly comfortable. T%his was a big hotel with a large noisy pool where everything went on a a nice quiet pool which was a good size with a good sized chacuzzi. We had a really good time at this hotel, but be warned alot of tipping is required and we noticed that in the resturant the staff would save tables by putting cig packets or bags on chairs to save them for their favorite holiday makers and ashamed to say we made sure we left a pesos breakfrast, lunch and dinner, also asked the staff about their families, so show interest and leave a tip and a table will always ne saved for you. The lobby bar was awful, the staff woulod lokk at you and turn away and fiddle with bottles you need money in your hand to get served there, we just went elsewhere as the other bars were much friendlier. Even the money exchange and the shop has a saucer for tips. But just ignore a lot of it and enjoy yourself. The entertainment was okay, same ole same ole. The food was not too bad at all. I am gluten free and always found something to eat.I would go there again because it was good value for money, the safe is free and there is an iron, ironing board and umbrella in the room. And two big bottles of shower gel and one large shampoo was supplied. We had a great time there just do not expect luxury, but we did not pay alot for this holiday and we had a real bargain.This is Melia Hotel group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raesalauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. we are glad know that you had a great time here although you got bad comments regarding some points. We will take your comments as opportunities for continue working hard. We know there are always chances for improvements. Hope that you will be back.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at Tryp in November 2012. Having been to Cuba more than a dozen times, this resort was by far the worst. The rooms (building 3) were terrible including black mould and holes in the ceiling, painted over damaged tub and sink, old and damaged room fixtures and decor. The floor tiles were mould and mildew stained and it appears that nothing as been changed since this resort opened. Many of the tiles in the common areas were broken or missing causing further hazards. Water issues also experienced (none in main washrooms on one day). Although it appears they are starting to renovate, I would highly recommend avoiding this resort, especially if it is a first trip to Cuba. Location-wise, it is a nice size resort with a nice beach and substantial pool areas. The service was descent and the food average to less-than-average in comparison to other resorts visited. Many other, much better resorts available for the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edcon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We sincerely regret that we have not been able to fulfill your expectations. We are conscious we have rooms issues and you saw we are working on renovations doing our best but also in public areas we are doing renovations jobs. Hope for the future you can come back and experience the changes. Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

well what can i say, take no notice to boring moaning people. your holiday all depends on what you make it. we as a family of 9 all loved every bit of our holiday. the Cuban people are one of the nicest we have ever met, from the cleaners, gardeners to the barmen.
food: cannot complain one bit, there was always something nice to try, fresh cooked meat stations.
drinks: unlimited amounts
pool: lovely
beach: fantastic, have not seen anything as nice
trips: see Freddy from dive centre, we hired are own boat for the day, wow what a fantastic day
would go back to this place at a drop of a hat
we also did the catamaran, trip to aligator farm, speed boats though mangroves, site see around Moron, and eat at a locals house, all great experiences
please if you are looking for a great holiday, the Tryp is the place to go

Room Tip: block 7 overlooks main pool, great views and close to bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your time and recommendation, we are glad to know that you had a fantastic holidays here. Hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.5 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,121 reviews
17.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,245 reviews
4.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Property: TRYP Cayo Coco
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and TravelUp so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing