We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vacation”
Review of TRYP Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TRYP Cayo Coco
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
xxxxxx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice vacation”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is a very nice place to go, I went 3 times. What is fabulous is the beach, you can walk and walk. The food is correct, the buffet is various and other restaurants are good too. But do not forget that we are in Cuba, it is not the gastronomy. The rooms are clean, always hot water but the only thing is they need a refresh. It is dark and old. This place is very nice a lot of activities. You can go to relax or doing activities!

I appreciate this hotel, it is for 20 till 70 years old peoples not just for young. I would like to return again.

Room Tip: I prefer close to the beach for walking in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxxxx x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on this site. It is nice to know that you like the Hotel and would like to return. Hope to meet you again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    2,297
    875
    438
    339
See reviews for
1,618
2,081
288
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Tryp for 2 weeks from October 19th. We have been to Cuba before, but at a different resort (guardalavaca). We expected the Tryp to be slightly better as it was a 4 star.
Good Flight, good (short) transfer.
First impressions of the hotel were good, very spacious and well laid out.
Check in was ok, but we just got some rough directions to our room, just a bit of pointing and 'it's over there on the left' for those that have been it was block one! A good trek pulling cases! We weren't told about the slope which goes down to the 24 hour bar, so ended up carrying cases down the steps.
Our apartment was very dated and badly decorated. The shower rail was held up with string, the towel rail was coming off the wall and there were tiny ants all over. There was not enough storage for two of us for two weeks. There was no tea/coffee making facilities either! Air con worked ok and maid kept room clean.
We had a lot of bad weather in the first week, including Sandy and in our opinion, they couldn't cope! There was a pane of glass in the lobby roof that had been previously broken and water just poured through the hole in torrents, closing the lobby bar and the market. 80% of the 24 hour bar was unusable and the other 20% flooded which was daft seeing as though water flowed underneath! All the paths from our apartment flooded, so we waded to the buffet everyday.
Food, there was a variety, but the same every day!
There were black birds flying about nibbling at the food and worst of all sitting on the stand above it.
Service was ok, we tipped, so when it was busy the waiters saved a table for us
A la carte restaurants were good, we went to Italian, oriental & BBQ grill. It's better to get as many of these booked as possible.
Beach was not very good, was not kept clean, had to walk through seaweed and rubbish to find a spot
The main downside of the holiday was the arrogant / ignorant behaviour of the Canadians ! They have no manners, treat the staff badly and had to be heard! Very loud, particularly annoying at meal times.
I'm probably being unfair saying they are all as bad, but that's the way it seemed!
We would visit Cuba again, but would go back to the first hotel, not the Tryp.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nigendeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret have not been able to fulfill your expectations. Unfortunately during your stay there was a very bad weather conditions and the normal operation of the Hotel was affected but we still will continue working hard on improvements to keep offering the quality of services that our guests deserve. May be you can come in the future and experience a nicer holidays.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at the Tryp from September 1st to 8th. Had no complaints. Weather was beautiful.
Flew with Air Canada and everything was top notch. Check in was a breeze.

Room: Clean, excellent maid service, always hot water, no problems with air conditioning.
Stayed in the 7 block. Close to all facilities.
Beach: Beautiful. Crystal clean water and white sand. Walked to Sol hotel. Took 30 minutes.
Pool : Clean and a lot of sun beds. Also visited adult pool which was quieter.
Staff : Friendly and would help you out. Always left a tip for the chambermaid and restaurant
staff.
Food: Ate at 4 ala carte restaurants: International, BBQ, Seafood, and Chinese.
Service was quick and food very tasty.
The buffet restaurant was always clean. Service was excellent. Food was never cold.
Trips: Took a trip to Ciego de Avila. Visited a cigar factory, jewelry shop, and had an hour
free time walking around the town square. Lunch was included at a restaurant. On
the way back to the hotel, visited an alligator sanctuary. Trip was worth the 55 CCP.
Also, took the hop on hop off bus to Pillar Beach in Cayo Guillermo. Visited the Sol
Guillermo hotel on the way back. Had lunch and walked around on the grounds.
Was a very relaxing way to spend the day.

Overall, we had a great relaxing time. Grounds were always clean, safe to walk
anywhere, and beach was amazing. It was well worth the money.

P.S. Met Roberto, the resort manager. Friendly, caring person. If you can't get a
problem resolved, he will do his best to fix it asap for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MontrealHabsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review here. It is very nice to know that you had a great relaxing time in our Hotel. Hope that you can visit us more times in the future. It will be a pleasure to see you again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Tryp with friends from Oct 23-Oct 30. Check in was even smoother than our last visit and we all were taken to our rooms, settled and back to enjoy the buffet by 9pm. We arrived at 8:30.
We had amazing views of the ocean and the flamingo pond; way better than we had hoped.
Once again, the food at the buffet was great, with lots of variety. One of our friends didn't eat meat and never went hungry :-)
What I found amazing was the staff recognized us from June; it was such a nice feeling to walk thru the resort and have staff greet us and welcome us back!
As most of you know, this was the week of Sandy and even thought the storm passed to the south, the weather was pretty bad but the staff went out of their way to keep people's spirits up in spite of the weather.
We got there expecting to find part of the pool closed and the pizza place closed. We found the whole pool was open, but the pizza hut was closed and will be for a while.
There was damage to the shore because of erosion due to storms but the beach is still amazing!
I did have a medical issue while we were there and the medical staff were excellent. The medical room may not look like home, but they have all they need. I needed an iv and didn't even feel the needle going in!!!! I found the Dr. and nurse to be genuinly concerned about my well-being.
For those wondering about insurance, we opted to just pay out of pocket rather than wait to hear back from our insurance company. I needed a shot, iv, and medication and the whole works came to 80 cuc's. We are lucky, our insurance company will pay 75% even though we didn't call first. Check your provider's fine print!!
The staff really are who make this resort. There are other really nice resorts but they don't have the same personal feeling.
I do want to mention a couple of people; Katiuska, Josef, Osvaldo...you all really helped make our holiday perfect once again.
Can't wait to be back in June!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is very nice to know that you had another wonderful vacation in our Hotel. Hope that you are already recovered from your illness. Hope to see you here in June again. Thank you for your time.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is one of those places you dream about when you are at work and wondering where your life is going. A walk up the beach, a look out to the sea, a lounge by the pool, stop and look at a palm tree because in Rochdale, Greater Manchester, England this place might as well be a million miles away...but not too far away that i wont travel the 10.5 hrs on a plane to go again, it really is nice. It seems to me that the Canadians do most of the moaning and cause most of the fuss!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomidatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

we are really happy to know that your thinking on our Hotel even being so long away and that you want to comeback. Hope to meet you here again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I went here with my dad, step mum step brother and partner on October 5th this year for 2 weeks. We went to the hotel expecting thomas cooks 3 star rating and we wasn't disappointed.

Grounds - Absolutely gorgeous, actually a please to walk around on an evening as it is all lit up. The gardeners are out all day and they work very hard to keeps everywhere looking as beautiful as it does.

Pools - The quiet pool area is nice, we spent most of our time here because it is less crowded and away from the hustle and bustle. The larger pools in the centre of the grounds (also where the entertainment is) are very very busy and alot of the younger people stay around there drinking and shouting which was really annoying. However I can say the pools were kept clean.

Rooms - I don't understand why people on here are complaining that the rooms are dated. I mean, who goes on holiday to sit in their rooms? Yes the rooms were a little dated HOWEVER they were spotless, the maids do a brilliant job and sometimes do fancy shapes with the towels!

Food - The food was a little disappointing. There is plenty of choice, but on several occasions we found the meat to be raw and flies were often on the food served in the restaurant. I did suffer with my stomach most of the holiday but it wasn't too bad. My advice would be to eat from the fresh stations (pasta, rice). Some of the canadians i spoke to actually said this was the best food they had tried in cuba so this could just be how all food is in Cuba.

Staff/ tips - All staff were friendly. Some wouldn't really bother until they had recieved a tip from you but when you did tip the service was really good and they would come to serve you at your table!

Beach - OUT OF THIS WORLD!

Overal the hotel was a pleasant experience for a 3 STAR hotel and I believe a holiday is what you make it. If you go here with a realistic expectations you will have a lovely time!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank chloenchris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write your review. We sincerely consider them very helpful and give us opportunities for improvements. Hope to meet you here once again in the future.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

me and my partner stayed at tryp for 2weeks from 21st september and had an amazing time,it was our first time in cuba and we cant wait to go back,first of all the food..there was enough choice for everyone and the staff at buffet were best we've ever known..william our waiter always greeting me with a kiss on the cheek n my partner a hand shake every morning n had us a table straight away,he never ever stud around n always worked so so hard,he's a very hard working polite man n we looked forward in a morning to see him,also fizz and angellica on the omlette station were amazing too,i took them a drink on a morning/afternnon and they were so so greatful,we were very lucky having 6 restaurants in our hotel and 3per week could be used,the chinese restaurant was my personal favourite..delicious and very good stafff,the internatonal was very good to,we has a man with a guiter play music at our table n was amazing(if you dont want to be played music just politley say no and they will leave you alone)the bar n grill did one of the best steaks ive ever had n the italian very highly recommended to,dont understand ppl who fault the food. the trips.....we did jeep safari was very good, the driver was amazing and took some great photos for us,we drove to top of mountains into a familys home and they had all fresh fruits n coconut drinks laid out on our arrival in there back garden over looking the amazing vews..breath taking!! we also did the "its real cuba"trip..we went to moron n visited the cigar factory n sugar cane factory,had a nice meal and had an hours free time to look round but half hour i was back on coach..cuba is a very very poor country and in moron everyones begging n asking u for things n made me scared but..im so so glad we experienced the real cuba as it made us realised how lucky we are!! the speedboat trip was sooo much fun and the spa day was amazing,the cleopatra milk bath n mud wrap was best ever n cant wait to go back :-)) ... all in all this holiday was amazing n highly recommended,we met some amazing ppl whilst on our trip we hope to stay friend wth along time n thats priceless ...plz plz dont listen to bad revews as these ppl clearly lead sad sad lives n take life so much for granted..the beach..ppl ant the resort is all great xx also plz take a minute to get a drink/sandwich for roy the gardener who works near the archery he is an amazing man n works very hard for his wife and 2 daughters n miss him loads xx after all this ive written u wouldnt believe i got over 100 moskito bites allover my body n had to have an injection n had sickness/diorhea 3 days,also therooms are very dated but didnt care as we weren't in them much and few things need updatingin hotel but its an old hotel what do ppl expect !!,these things happen n dint ruin my time in the tryp x pleeez try and enjoy like we did n will again x

Room Tip: email hotel before you go for an upgraded room on level 2 or 3 x
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lynseyandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerTrypCayoCoco, Director General at TRYP Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your first experience in Cuba and to know that it was in our Hotel. Thank you for your time and hope to see you here sometime again.

Best regards,

General Manager
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
5.8 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,102 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,111 reviews
4.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Cayo Coco

Property: TRYP Cayo Coco
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 1300, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TRYP Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star All-Inclusive Tryp Cayo Coco hotel (508 rooms) offers select gastronomic service and an exciting day and night recreation program. The property is located in one of the pristine keys off the coast of the central region of Cuba.Built over a natural lagoon, facing and wide stretch of sugar-white beach. Ideal for families, diving lovers, fishing and nautical activities.Guest Rooms508 rooms: 343 Standard, 57 Standard Ocean View, 102 Standard Superior Ocean View, 6 SuiteDining9 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque, Gourmet), 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Prodigios Interactivos SA and Booking.com so you can book your TRYP Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Tryp Cayo Coco Hotel Ciego De Avila
Tryp Cayo Coco Cuba
Cayo Coco Tryp
Trip Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing