We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first sight ........”
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at MCC from 2nd to 16th December for the 1st time. This hotel was simply wonderful. We arrived to a champagne and cold towel welcome, check in was quick and easy. We had booked a standard room & this was twice the size of other hotels we have stayed in. Very clean and 2 huge beds. People who nit pick about the rooms really need to go and pay for a 5 star luxury resort !! The food here is the best we have experienced (both very well travelled) The choice is amazing, fillet steak, king prawns, huge variety of fresh fish and meats all cooked to order on the grill...Fernando is outstanding on the grill in the evenings. We tried the 3 other restaurants and they are all different and of a high standard, you really should try them all. The breakfast and lunch services are also fantastic with chef's cooking to order or a huge selection of freshly cooked dishes. The bar's, service and quality & choice of drinks is by far the best we have ever come across.
The grounds are outstanding and the gardeners work so hard and always have a smile and time to have a chat and make you feel so welcome. The beach is beautiful & when the fresh coconuts come along filled with rum and fruit juice you really do feel like you are in paradise. The pool is huge and very spacious, you don't even have to get up to get a drink as the bar staff often come around and take your orders.
The staff really are a huge part of this hotels success, we found everyone to be welcoming and friendly and if they could do anything to make your holiday a little more special, you only had to ask. There are too many names to mention, but we would like the Manager to be assured he has a wonderful team of people in every area of this hotel.
We totally fell in love with the MCC experience and can see why people go back here year after year. We are planning to be back the same time this year & would like to thank each and every one of you for a truly amazing holiday.
Maria & Russell Simpson (Sunny UK !!)

Room Tip: The standard rooms are very big and the garden view rooms are nice and quiet. (we stayed in 9121) wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Year from Meliá Cayo Coco!
We are so happy to read your first time with us was a very good holiday experience you are already looking forward to repeating! Thank you very much for all your compliments which I have been very glad to share with my team, especially with Fernando and those who always stand out when serving you. Yes, room 9121 is very comfortable: on top floor, close to the pool and the beach, nice view. We have plans to provide our standard accommodation with new bathrooms, and although this will take some time, will make a huge difference. Thank you for your fantastic review y dear Customers. Please, send us your booking details and preferences for your next year stay, we will be very glad to look after your second time with us.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,742 - 2,748 of 6,259 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is an awesome place, I have stayed here 12 times in the past 7 years, the service is the very best, the food is great, the accommodations are smaller so you can actually meet some people, the staff....they are fabulous!!! Everyone knows me now so it is my second home. Their beach is top notch, white sand, bluegreen water...fabulous! If u love to lie on the beach and sip on beer or cocktails, take a dip in the ocean or sit in the many lounge areas and meet some new friends I highly recommend this place. There are some trips to nearby towns to explore ( you must leave the compound of the resort to experience the "true Cuba") , you can go snorkeling, scuba diving but just soaking in the tranquility and relaxation is so worth it. Ya Melia Cayo Coco!!

Room Tip: This is a smaller resort so it is only minutes from anything you may need. Second floor rooms usuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takemeanywhere623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Year from your Second Home, my dear Loyal Customers!
WOW! The most romantic experience of a life time! We are so glad we have been able to provide you with such great memories and positive experiences. I get compliments all the time about my magnificent team, but every compliment is unique and makes me feel prouder every time I read those praises about them. Thank you so much for reviewing us, thank you for so many times you have stayed with us and for the upcoming visits; we will make sure you are never disappointed from choosing us.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having been told how lovely Cayo Coco is, we decided to go for Xmas. This resort is spacious and clean and hard to criticise. The journey from the Airport is only about 15 mins and the Check in was excellent. The only criticism was the bathroom in our room could have been updated as the shower was not the best, we also found every morning the toilet would not flush due to lack of water. We are not lovers of Buffets so ate in the Restaurants most nights which were all good especialy the International. Saying that the Buffet is probably one of the better ones we have experienced. The beach is lovely and cleaned every day you can walk for miles which we did most mornings. Loved the BBQ at lunchtime at the Carribean Restaurant , Mandy you cook the best ribs! Evening entertainment was OK but have seen better but saying that the team showed great enthusiasm. We had a great time but would probably not return the only reason we felt the resort was cut off from the real Cuba unless you take a trip out to Moron about an hour away. Saying that never say never it was a good resort just in the wrong place for our taste.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginger57London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Happy New Year from Meliá Cayo Coco!
Thank you very much for your lovely review my dear customer! We are very glad to know you have encountered our offer one of the best you have ever experienced. Yes, bathrooms in our standard accommodation are in need of reform and so we will do as soon as we can during 2014-2015. In the meantime, we are taking steps forward to improve preventive maintenance in rooms which makes possible all equipment is in good working conditions in spite of having old tiles and non modernized bathrooms. Improvements are already noticeable, and we keep going on. Thank you for our compliments and please, if you change your mind and ever decide to return to Meliá Cayo Coco, send a note with your preferences, we will be too happy to assist.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I love to visit the Melia Cayo Coco. Each time I go I love it more. The staff make you feel like family. It is a very welcoming resort. The Melia is always making improvements so that the guests will always enjoy their stay. The resort is beautiful!!! The weather is perfect. I can't wait to return!!! I highly recommend the Melia for fun, relaxation, excellent food, atmosphere and the most loving staff.

Room Tip: I love to stay on the Lagoon but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank mrskgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear Loyal Customer,
I have so much enjoyed reading all your comments on your most recent stay in our hotel. We get so many compliments on our staff every day and I am so proud of it! Thank you very much for posting your experience on this site, we are very glad to know you have encountered our changes as improvements and have enjoyed them all. We are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future so please, drop us a note with your requests, as we will be delighted in looking after them.
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just returned from one week at the Melia Cayo Coco, what a great resort! Our first time in Cayo Coco, seventh time to Cuba.. A quick twenty minute ride from the airport. Stayed in the Lagoon room, well worth the little extra. Balcony (right on the water) gorgeous view, morning sunrises and evening sunsets. Exceptionally clean and spacious room, updated bathroom. The room was cleaned promptly and efficiently every morning, clean towels, fridge restocked. . The resort is very quiet with a relaxed and happy atmosphere. Outstanding staff, very friendly, positive and professional. Enjoyed the option of having our meals outside. The food was excellent, everything fresh and so much to choose from! (excellent buffet) Beach grill" restaurant" was a nice option for lunch on the beach, and fun! Experienced all the dining choices, all excellent .Beautiful beach, lots of chairs. Dec. is a windy month so a bit of seaweed but it was cleaned up every day (tractor). Lovely pool area, again no shortage of chairs. Entertainment was good every evening, we especially enjoyed the Cuban music throughout the week and the aquatic show on Christmas Eve Many activities if you choose to participate. We appreciated the quietness of the resort , no loud music on the beach or pool . The pool area had Cuban music playing softly in the background. .Check out was just as efficient as the check in. Absolutely lovely resort!

Room Tip: The Lagoon rooms, great views, spacious and updated. No bugs from water (salt water fed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7maureen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Customer,
So glad to know your first time in Cayo Coco has been a success after staying with us! You have stayed in Cuba so many times before so know what to expect and what can be offered in our country. Thank you very much for providing details on what highlighted for you. We do hope to be your choice many times in the future so please, email us your preferences and we will be looking after them with pleasure.
Happy New Year from Meliá Cayo Coco!
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After returning from my recent holiday at the Melia Cayo Coco, it didn't disappoint in any way, the staff do everything to make your holiday amazing
Special mention to the animation team lead by Elain, as ever the daily team do a fantastic job with Pepe and his coconuts, Ismary and Geiny,
The shows are fantastic and the dancers work so hard to put on the show for the holiday makers with Susel Eric and Roberto
Arley is a great waiter in the buffet restaurant and Ramon in the Italian
Jose the batman in the lobby bar, liven in the pool bar and Joseph in what should be renames Orlando's bar
Overall the staff are a credit to the Melia Cayo Coco and I look forward to my return
My advice is to book it you won't be disappointed and I bet you return

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Loyal Customer,
We enjoy so much reading your comments and compliments! You can rest assure we have shared all your remarks with our team and Area Managers, to congratulate those who served and entertainned you in such a magnificent way. It is a pleasure for all of us looking after all our customers' needs, especially after our loyal community. Thank you so much for every time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction! Your family at Meliá Cayo Coco is already looking forward to seeing you again. Happy New Year!
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three weeks and it was AMAZING, hotel was more like paridise than i expected, staff were fantastic and never seem to stop working to make your holiday one to remember. wild life is amazing there are the most beautiful birds i have ever seen eating out of your hand, we stayed in suit which is on stilts looking out over the water i was feeding fish every day. it is an adult only hotel which makes it ideal for couples or if you want to chill out, entertainment is better than i expected and the food is fantastic, there is a lobster bar on the beach its a must if you like sea food, rooms are spotless and bars filled up every day also flowers and fresh fruit in your room, bar staff are great and love to get into the banter with you we had so much fun i cant wait for march when we will be going back, i would like to say thank you to all staff and would recomend this hotel to all x x

Room Tip: all rooms are great, but if you can upgrade to a suite you will love it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Customer,
Great to know we have provided you with a positive holiday experience and our special appreciation for recommending us on this site. We are very happy to read you have encountered our staff to be very hard working and provided you with outstanding service. Aren't our Suites lovely! Thank yu for all your remarks. We truly hope to welcome you back in the future so please, make sure you send us an email with your booking details and preferences for us to look after another amazing time in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,275 reviews
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
21.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa Pilar
Iberostar Playa Pilar
#1 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $214 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing