We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely clean resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely clean resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Having been told how lovely Cayo Coco is, we decided to go for Xmas. This resort is spacious and clean and hard to criticise. The journey from the Airport is only about 15 mins and the Check in was excellent. The only criticism was the bathroom in our room could have been updated as the shower was not the best, we also found every morning the toilet would not flush due to lack of water. We are not lovers of Buffets so ate in the Restaurants most nights which were all good especialy the International. Saying that the Buffet is probably one of the better ones we have experienced. The beach is lovely and cleaned every day you can walk for miles which we did most mornings. Loved the BBQ at lunchtime at the Carribean Restaurant , Mandy you cook the best ribs! Evening entertainment was OK but have seen better but saying that the team showed great enthusiasm. We had a great time but would probably not return the only reason we felt the resort was cut off from the real Cuba unless you take a trip out to Moron about an hour away. Saying that never say never it was a good resort just in the wrong place for our taste.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginger57London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Happy New Year from Meliá Cayo Coco!
Thank you very much for your lovely review my dear customer! We are very glad to know you have encountered our offer one of the best you have ever experienced. Yes, bathrooms in our standard accommodation are in need of reform and so we will do as soon as we can during 2014-2015. In the meantime, we are taking steps forward to improve preventive maintenance in rooms which makes possible all equipment is in good working conditions in spite of having old tiles and non modernized bathrooms. Improvements are already noticeable, and we keep going on. Thank you for our compliments and please, if you change your mind and ever decide to return to Meliá Cayo Coco, send a note with your preferences, we will be too happy to assist.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,006
    1,327
    348
    110
    74
See reviews for
516
4,033
102
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I love to visit the Melia Cayo Coco. Each time I go I love it more. The staff make you feel like family. It is a very welcoming resort. The Melia is always making improvements so that the guests will always enjoy their stay. The resort is beautiful!!! The weather is perfect. I can't wait to return!!! I highly recommend the Melia for fun, relaxation, excellent food, atmosphere and the most loving staff.

Room Tip: I love to stay on the Lagoon but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank mrskgagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Loyal Customer,
I have so much enjoyed reading all your comments on your most recent stay in our hotel. We get so many compliments on our staff every day and I am so proud of it! Thank you very much for posting your experience on this site, we are very glad to know you have encountered our changes as improvements and have enjoyed them all. We are already looking forward to welcome you back in the near future so please, drop us a note with your requests, as we will be delighted in looking after them.
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtice, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just returned from one week at the Melia Cayo Coco, what a great resort! Our first time in Cayo Coco, seventh time to Cuba.. A quick twenty minute ride from the airport. Stayed in the Lagoon room, well worth the little extra. Balcony (right on the water) gorgeous view, morning sunrises and evening sunsets. Exceptionally clean and spacious room, updated bathroom. The room was cleaned promptly and efficiently every morning, clean towels, fridge restocked. . The resort is very quiet with a relaxed and happy atmosphere. Outstanding staff, very friendly, positive and professional. Enjoyed the option of having our meals outside. The food was excellent, everything fresh and so much to choose from! (excellent buffet) Beach grill" restaurant" was a nice option for lunch on the beach, and fun! Experienced all the dining choices, all excellent .Beautiful beach, lots of chairs. Dec. is a windy month so a bit of seaweed but it was cleaned up every day (tractor). Lovely pool area, again no shortage of chairs. Entertainment was good every evening, we especially enjoyed the Cuban music throughout the week and the aquatic show on Christmas Eve Many activities if you choose to participate. We appreciated the quietness of the resort , no loud music on the beach or pool . The pool area had Cuban music playing softly in the background. .Check out was just as efficient as the check in. Absolutely lovely resort!

Room Tip: The Lagoon rooms, great views, spacious and updated. No bugs from water (salt water fed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 7maureen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Customer,
So glad to know your first time in Cayo Coco has been a success after staying with us! You have stayed in Cuba so many times before so know what to expect and what can be offered in our country. Thank you very much for providing details on what highlighted for you. We do hope to be your choice many times in the future so please, email us your preferences and we will be looking after them with pleasure.
Happy New Year from Meliá Cayo Coco!
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

After returning from my recent holiday at the Melia Cayo Coco, it didn't disappoint in any way, the staff do everything to make your holiday amazing
Special mention to the animation team lead by Elain, as ever the daily team do a fantastic job with Pepe and his coconuts, Ismary and Geiny,
The shows are fantastic and the dancers work so hard to put on the show for the holiday makers with Susel Eric and Roberto
Arley is a great waiter in the buffet restaurant and Ramon in the Italian
Jose the batman in the lobby bar, liven in the pool bar and Joseph in what should be renames Orlando's bar
Overall the staff are a credit to the Melia Cayo Coco and I look forward to my return
My advice is to book it you won't be disappointed and I bet you return

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Loyal Customer,
We enjoy so much reading your comments and compliments! You can rest assure we have shared all your remarks with our team and Area Managers, to congratulate those who served and entertainned you in such a magnificent way. It is a pleasure for all of us looking after all our customers' needs, especially after our loyal community. Thank you so much for every time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of our customers makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction! Your family at Meliá Cayo Coco is already looking forward to seeing you again. Happy New Year!
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three weeks and it was AMAZING, hotel was more like paridise than i expected, staff were fantastic and never seem to stop working to make your holiday one to remember. wild life is amazing there are the most beautiful birds i have ever seen eating out of your hand, we stayed in suit which is on stilts looking out over the water i was feeding fish every day. it is an adult only hotel which makes it ideal for couples or if you want to chill out, entertainment is better than i expected and the food is fantastic, there is a lobster bar on the beach its a must if you like sea food, rooms are spotless and bars filled up every day also flowers and fresh fruit in your room, bar staff are great and love to get into the banter with you we had so much fun i cant wait for march when we will be going back, i would like to say thank you to all staff and would recomend this hotel to all x x

Room Tip: all rooms are great, but if you can upgrade to a suite you will love it .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paula p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Customer,
Great to know we have provided you with a positive holiday experience and our special appreciation for recommending us on this site. We are very happy to read you have encountered our staff to be very hard working and provided you with outstanding service. Aren't our Suites lovely! Thank yu for all your remarks. We truly hope to welcome you back in the future so please, make sure you send us an email with your booking details and preferences for us to look after another amazing time in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

my boyfriend and i spent 7 days(21st Dec.-28nd Dec.) in this amazing resort. first time to Cuba cause cannot stand canadian winter anymore lol. we serached all resorts in all islands of cuba and finally decided to go Melia Cayo Coco. it was an absolutly correct decision.
1. the room be cleaned twice per day, morning and night, to make sure every time you open your door will find a comfortable, clean room, and fullfilled fridge.
2.food was amazing. there are 1 buffet resturant and 3 particular resturants. some bbq meat doesnt have flavor but it can be acceptable.
3.all staff here is extremly nice, polite and warm-hearted. a gardener worked every morning down there our resident(8521), doesnt speak english well but he was impressed me cause he looked for fresh coconut troller everywhere just because my offhand said. don't know his name there was no name tag on him but still want to thank him.
4.no too much young people there. most of people above 40 years old. so if you supposed to find a place where energetic and youthful, like DJ club or hot gals, Melia is not for you.
5.be generours for your maid, waiter and any staff there. they work 6 days per week only have 1 day off could be with famliy, earn 25 CUC every month ( around C$30). most of them living in the tough life that we even not seen before. leave your small things, shampoo, towel, pen and so on when you gonna leaving, they will appreaciate.


wonderful trip and we will be back for sure!

Room Tip: 8251 is a good one, closed to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bloomseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are so glad to read you feel you made the right decision when choosing us for your first holiday experience in Cuba. And we are so happy to know it has been a success! Thank you so much for all your compliments, which I have been very glad to share with my team and area managers. Felipe and Borge are the names of the two gardeners we have in that area. We have already passed your remarks to them with great pleasure. Thank you very much! We would like to take this opportunity to wish you and every reader from this site a very Happy New Year from Meliá Cayo Coco!
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my first trip to Cuba and I am so glad my friend and I decided on Melia (because of the adults only). Right from the moment of check-in everyone I spoke to was very friendly and helpful, wanting to make sure you had everything you needed or wanted. Our room was clean and comfortable with 2 queen size beds and although a little dated as someone else mentioned, everything worked. I especially enjoyed the coffee that was left in the room each day, it was so good. The buffet is excellent with a lot of choices. The main courses if you choose are cooked in front of you, from pasta to chicken to seafood, although there are numerous dishes to choose from already cooked. The wait staff throughout the facility are very attentive and friendly catering to your every need. The international and Italian restaurants were also excellent. I never made it to the BBQ restaurant but was told it was also very good. During the day you can join in for dance lessons at the pool or on the beach, all provided by the entertainment staff so you can strut your stuff at night in the lounge while the bands play. We had a great time here and there is no reason not too as if you don't like something the staff will go out of their way to fix whatever is not to your liking. You can just sit back and relax or join in and fill your days and evenings with games, dancing and socializing. Kudos to all the staff including the wait staff, bartenders, entertainment, groundskeepers, and room cleaning staff, you all do an excellent job of making a vacation a memorable one. A special thanks to Emileidy(entertainment), Ricardo, Geney, Jordan and Livan(bar staff) for making our stay so great. Salute.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim13973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are so glad to read it has been such an enjoyable holiday! Thank you very much for taking the time to review it, especially for mentioning those who outstand out for you. As we have previously stated here, we will start with our standard accommodation refurbishment in 2014 so we will be able to offer you better facilities in the future. We will be delighted in providing you with another wonderful holiday experience so please, choose us once again and do contact us to look after your requests to make sure you have another great time in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,805 reviews
19.3 mi away
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Melia Cayo Guillermo
#3 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelsClick so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing