We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 1st time in Cuba”
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Gerogetown Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful 1st time in Cuba”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We went for our 25th anniversary and first time in Cuba. Returned to Canada November 3rd. Staff is excellent. They were friendly, helpful and attentive. Unlike Barb (posted earlier) below no requests for items, but we brought some items to give out. Food was very good. The rooms are a little tired, but are clean and comfortable. (I note they are renovating some now). Loved the fact that the rooms were separate 4 room unit separated by gardens. Had no bugs or problems with other creatures. Entertainment was great, expecially the Halloween show. We met some great people from both Canada and England and had a great time. We would definitely return again.

Room Tip: Had an outside lagoon room facing East. Nice to sit out at night and enjoy the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are so glad to read that your first time in Cuba has been a success and such an enjoyable experience in Meliá Cayo Coco. Thank you very much for chossing us for your anniversary celebration and for taking the time to post your review, which we have been glad to share with our team. Thank you in advance for announcing your return, you can rest assure that we will be striving in providing you with very enjoyable holiday experiences.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,122
    1,370
    357
    113
    75
See reviews for
532
4,157
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Carrie & Grant

We were first time visitors to the Melia in Cayo Coco - and after this trip we are sure to become repeat customers! Here are some brief comments for other travellers:

a) Customer Service = excellent! Bar staff, servers, room attendants, service crew, and kitchen staff... Had one small hiccup with our air conditioner - fixed within 30 minutes.

b) Food = great! We frequently hear others complain about food in Cuba, but we have no complaints whatsoever. Lots of variety, good taste, no stomach issues at all - be creative and you can design your own meal and food combinations. Our favourite restaurant was the Italian, but we would have been happy to eat at the Buffet all week (some do).

c) Beach = the only drawback in our opinion. The beach is quite small at this resort - but you don't have to walk far for a wider beach with great colours. Another tip - take the bus for a day trip to the other Melia nearby and hang out at that beach for the day - beautiful!!! You can get a wrist band from the front desk, and take advantage of all the services of that resort as well.

d) Entertainment = what a blast! Great crew, great fun, something for every taste. Every night is different - not everyone goes, but those who do are happy they went.

e) Grounds = lush! The landscaping is beautiful for Cuba (other resorts can really suffer from the intense heat). The crew takes great pride in how they maintain the resort.

It's a winner in our opinion!

Room Tip: No need to upgrade to the Lagoon - best location (in our opinion) is in units 89, 87 and 85 by the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
7 Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
What a great review! Thank you so much for such amazing comments. We are so glad to read that your first time with us has been such an enjoyable experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, which we have certainly shared with our team. Thank you in advance for your upcoming visits with us, you can rest assure that we will be striving in providing you with very enjoyable holiday experiences. Please, make sure you let us know your booking details and preferences for us to look after everything with pleasure.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

For our first ever stay in an all inclusive, wow were we spoiled and will for be back. My wife is in wheelchair and we never had an issue getting around at all. The food was fantastic, and so were the people. We met so many great new friends both guests and staff. We highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank jamesbt681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Customer,
We are so glad to read that your first time in an All Inclusive has been such an enjoyable experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, which we have been glad to share with our team. Thank you in advance for your upcoming visits with us, you can rest assure that we will be striving in providing you with very enjoyable holiday experiences.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly food very good. Mosquitos horrendous, crabs and bats unnerving rooms needed refurb . Husband had bad stomach for 9 days cost 130.00 pounds for a few tablets.barbeque lunch area needed a good clean .
Room cleaning not very good same rubbish under table all the two weeks .no air conditioned general areas to sit in , only cool place at night was your bedroom, if the air conditioning was working . Staff continually telling you how poor they are and asking for clothes tectonic be left for them and their families . When it rained water ran down walls in bedroom reported it but nothing done about it. Obviously July not a good month. Beach disappointing lots of rubbish in bushes behind and very narrow with dilapidated sun beds . Nothing on Island only hotels nobody lives there. Would never go again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Dear Barbara M,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on our hotel. We have carefully revised the matters you make reference to in your review and you can rest assure that actions have been taken to rectify wrong doing.
We hope this negative experience does not deter you from staying with us again in the future, when we will be striving in providing you with improved services.
Looking forward to seeing you again in Meliá Cayo Coco,
Francisco Silva
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I should have written this 14 years ago. We have been going since March of 2000, 6 months after it opened. We fell in love the minute we arrived and have never gone any other place since. I myself have travelled with girlfriends, other couples and also all by myself. There is no other place that I would feel safer and have had not one bad experience in my 33 trips back to what we call our Cuban home. I cannot explain the entire staff and all the names as it would take forever. All we can tell you is you are embraced and welcome the minute upon arrival and treated very special by all the staff. Food/rooms/pool/beach etc. as well as the entire environment is just to die for. I could gone on for days about how we love and enjoy our relaxing vactions. My husband and I love children but is nice to have adult only and a 24 hour lobbry bar so you can always get a coffee or whatever you might desire. This hotel is exceptional and I think no one would be disappoined if they went. This year alone I have been there 3 times and am looking forward to my 4th and many more. Please enjoy yourselves if you go. I also must mention everytime we go we keep meeting returning couples. I think this speaks for itself.


Val & George from Canada

Room Tip: All the rooms are excelllent but we like the 8900 block, but once again you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank valerie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Loyal Customers,
What a wonderful review! We enjoy so much reading your comments and compliments! You can rest assure we have shared all your remarks with our team and Area Managers. It is a pleasure for all of us looking after all our customers' needs, especially after our loyal community. Thank you so much for every time you have taken to visit us along all these years, getting to know the positive opinion of such an experience traveler makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction! Your family at Meliá Cayo Coco is already looking forward to seeing you both again and provide you with another wonderful vacation.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks starting on the 11th of October. We got the holiday cheaper because of the planned pool closure on the 15th. We snapped their hands off as we have been to this hotel 7 times now. We had the opportunity to see old friends and catch up with their lives.

As we were returners we were pleasantly surprised to find that we were entitled to have breakfast in the international restaurant with waiter/waitress service. Fantastic. Not only because it was a serene and tranquil environment for us, but obviously less of a problem for the people in the buffet restaurant with less customers using this facility at the same time.

The hotel has changed very little, the odd improvement here and there, but the rooms are perhaps getting a little tired. It claims 5 star but 4 star is more appropriate. I'm fine with that as I know what to expect and absolutely love it.

I have travelled all over the world and can categorically state that the Cuban people are the most sincere and honest people on the planet.

The client base is predominantly English, Canadian and Argentinian. The odd Spaniard, German and French Canadian are scattered here and there. Given the Malvinas/Falklands issue has raised its head again that may worry you. Rest assured that I had a whale of a time with the Argies and yes - we spoke about the islands, maintaining a healthy respect for each other's opinion. My wife and I had some great conversations with the 2 couples we met, although this was in Spanish and neither of us are fluent.

The food, well in my opinion although the food has come on leaps and bounds over the years they still fall short of the word "flavour." The quality is as good as anywhere but you can tell that certain ingredients such as spices and fresh herbs would complete many of their dishes.

Spotless in every way, until you walk up the beach past the complex and are met with bits of rubbish. I know the hotel are not responsible for outside its perimeter but would it hurt to send some staff up there with a couple of black bags ?

All in all - great value. Will go again no doubt, don't know when as there are other places in the world to see first.

Saw loads of birds, Owl, Eagle, Heron, Hummingbird, Flamingo (off site) and in the sea some amazing fish (take some bread).

Room Tip: 2 choices, Lagoon if you like Sunrise/Sunset or fishing, Block 61, 62, 63 if you are a land bird wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank DarrenFergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Loyal Customers,
So glad to read we have, once again, provided you with an enjoyable holiday experience. Thank you very much for your compliments and observations; we know there are many aspects we need to do better, and you opinion is always of paramount help in doing so. Isn't it lovely breakfast at our lagoon restaurant! So peaceful! Every customer who has had the possibility to enjoy it has provided excellent feedback on it. Regarding your comment on rooms, we would like to point out that all our lagoon rooms have been already renovated with new bathroom, furniture and decor; and we have scheduled to start with our standard section next Summer. You are right, they need to be renovated, especially their bathrooms. We have raised your comment on the garbage by the beach to the authorities in charge of it, thank you very much for commenting on it. We hope to see you again so please, send us your preferences and we will be very happy to look after them.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a two week stay, (Oct 10 - 24th) at the Melia Cayo Coco. We had previously stayed here for a week in April of this year and had such a memorable experience that we decided to return for our annual two week fall getaway.
What can I say that hasn't already been said before. The entire staff from the upper management level to wait staff, the entertainment team, housekeeping , gardeners right through to maintenance all work together to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. They are truly the heart and soul of this resort. All are excellent but there were a few that really stood out for their warmth, friendliness and attentiveness to our needs. Violeta was an absolute treasure. I had e-mailed the hotel previous to our stay with a room request and she ensured that our lagoon suite was absolutely perfect in every detail. Yaneisy was a joy to see and we loved our conversations with her. Carlos on the beach greeted us each morning with a big smile and hug and helped to set us up in a nice shady spot. Heckney and Leandro in the beach girl were so friendly and always served us with a smile. I certainly had fun trying out my Spanish with them. Yamil at the beach bar seemed to know our order before we even placed it. Ramon, in the Italian made our dining there extra special with his attention to every detail. Jose, in the billard bar gave us so many laughs each evening and last but not least Adalberto in the lobby bar who'd have our beverage of choice awaiting us as we strolled in mid afternoon from the beach.
Whilst there the pool was closed for maintenance as tanks, pumps and water lines needed to be replaced. We couldn't believe how the maintenance staff as well as beach workers and pool staff all came together to get the job done in a record amount of time so that it actually reopened well before the expected date.
Even though we travelled in low season, we really did not notice any cutbacks in service, amenities or food quality that we have noticed on previous travels to other Cuban resorts during this same time period. The buffet was opened daily for all three meals and it would be really hard to fault the many choices on offer as there was always meat, fish, chicken or pasta that could be made to order as well as a carving station. Plenty of sides were available and they were all at the correct serving temperature. The desserts varied daily and were delicious. The a la cartes were open as well except on the days that staff working there were off. The snack bar this trip also served limited breakfast choices so was a nice alternative to the buffet if one preferred table service.
Our lagoon suite had been recently refurbished and was nicely appointed and very comfy. The A/C worked well. No shortage of towels or face cloths. Absolutely loved the walk in shower.
The beach at high tide did become narrow but it was still beautiful and certainly didn't impede us from taking our daily walks. The fish were often close to shore and it was fun to feed them tidbits of bread from the buffet.
The weather was HOT and really didn't cool off much in the evening. Thankfully most nights there was a welcome breeze so sitting in the lobby bar listening to the live music was not uncomfortable.
In closing we had another wonderful holiday and came back with such great memories that we have decided to re-live the experience and return in the near future to see all our friends who have truly made us feel like we are part of the Melia family.
Thank you to all the Melia Cayo Coco staff for taking such good care of us. We are looking forward to seeing you all again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ronnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Loyal Customer,
WOW, what a fantastic review! We have so much enjoyed reading your comments and compliments! You can rest assure we have shared all your remarks with our team and Area Managers. It is a pleasure for all of us looking after all our customers' needs, especially after our loyal community. Thank you so much for the time you have taken to review us, getting to know the positive opinion of such an experience traveler makes us feel like we are moving on the right direction! Your friends in Meliá Cayo Coco are very much looking forward to seeing you again.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,089 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,196 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing