We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! 2nd visit and it just gets better!”
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant! 2nd visit and it just gets better!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel last year and found it excellent value for money. 4 of us returned this year and I got married there- I arranged this directly with the hotel and got an automatic upgrade to the honeymoon suite on the Lagoon included in the package. My now husband was clueless until the very last minute and the wedding coordinator was brilliant at keeping all the arrangements secret. Nothing was too much trouble. There are a few people on here that don't rate this place- obviously you can't please all the people all of the time however when you see how many people return again and again it certainly ticks all the boxes for a chill out holiday. All inclusive can involve queues, watered down drinks, cheap wine and rubbish service- not here the staff are absolutely brilliant. You can dine on lobster, prawns, steak, whole fish, fresh cooked pasta whatever you want cooked to order- a fine dining restaurant or burger and chips- they cater for all tastes.
Thank you again for a wonderful holiday and a perfect wedding, see you next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yvette2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,128
    1,370
    357
    113
    75
See reviews for
533
4,162
105
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The reason for the title is the fact that we have been to Melia more times than there are days in the month!!! and that's in six years. Every visit, third time this year, we see improvements being made, mostly in response to clients comments. Six more cabanas around the pool, six more to the East on the beach and twelve more to the West. Work in progress is the expansion of the pool deck in front of the Italian restauraunt, Pool Bar area. The stream is being filled in in that area to make room for more lounges and cabanas. Always improving. workers no problem.
Most people mention the staff, we are sorry to say that Yunet and Happy have left the animation team, replaced by Dalita and Yuvanio, a great couple. Pedro has joined as number two boss of the animation team. Ailec is away with a broken leg. An exciting group of people that do a fantastic job. The waitstaff have a few additions to add to an already friendly efficient group. The dancers have lost Raulito, who also worked in the buffet, and added Yarita and Joanne, plus two males (sorry lost notes on their names) all led very proffesionaly by Yadira the choreographer. The lobby bar has added a gem, Lisdy, who just bubbles with enthusiasm.
Yes there were 'mossies' for the first nine of eleven days, some poeple were bitten ( they missed us) and the resort air sprayed early mornings and had walkers spraying the bushes. Management did everything possible to reduce the annoyance, but nature has a way of winning. The entertainment, activities, food and staff are the best in the 'Cayos'. Seven weeks and we will be back again, cannot give a better endorsement than that.
See you there. Cuban Bob

Room Tip: We are usually located in a lagoon room, 1000, 2000, 3000, 4000 & 5000. The first closest to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
12 Thank PapaBob892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Perfect honeymoon location, you can have a beach/pool holiday or choose to venture out on all the excursions or get involved with all of the activities on site- you cannot get bored here! The staff are the most wonderful and kindest people that we have meet! Especially emielady! Bring toys for the staffs children, they were so grateful! We booked through Thomas cook, Maria the rep was nice and informative, but wasn't happy with Thomas cook as they didn't give us our prepaid extra leg room seats which we had booked for the way home - even with the email confirmation in my hand! But other than that we wouldn't change a thing! The room are a bit tired, but we didn't go to cuba to stay in a room so we weren't fussed! The sports bar is great fun, they have archery and shooting tournaments with pool tables, etc. the excursions are really really expensive- a lot more than we had prepared for! The a la carte were nice, especially the Italian! Very good! As it was our honeymoon, we were treated to breakfast in bed for one morning and a private dinner in the gazebo overlooking the pool, if you are invited to one- you have to go, it's very romantic and beautiful! There are crabs and Mosquitos everywhere!! If you get a bus to pilar beach you will see the most beautiful beach in the world, white powdery sand and clear water! We found the souvenir shops on site very expensive, so we would recommend a walk or taxi down the road to a blue building where independent sellers sell lovely wooden animals, clothes, drums, all sorts, and there is no price on anything, so a little deal may have to done, we aren't hagglers and got some really good deals! The maid take a lot of pride in their work with towel art everyday! Some free activities that they had was aquafit, painting, making grasshoppers out of palm tree leaves, dance lessons, Spanish lessons, beauty day (manicure and pedicures), bingo, volleyball, and lots more! The bar and restaurant staff are very polite and friendly! At the bar they have a great selection of cocktails, and named brands like Tia Maria and jack Daniels - no premium price! The evening entertainment is very good, a band or musician plays in the lobby and a night show with dancers and a disco after. The part that we really loved about this hotel is that it's adult only and there are so many different areas with so much going on, so everyone isn't at the same place at the same time!
If we were fortunate again to have the opportunity to visit cuba again- this would definitely be the place to go!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mazinvik_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Couple,
We are so glad to know you had a honeymoon in Paradise! Thank you very much for all your compliments, we truly appreciate you have taken your time to share your romantic experience with future customers and do hope to accommodate you again in the near future. An anniversary celebration would be my suggestion, and we will be very glad to prepare everything. Just email us your booking details for us to look after the arrangements.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week break at the Melia (31/5 to 14/6) and what an amazing holiday. From arrival at the hotel being greeted with a drink and a cold flannel to departure being waved off by the whole animation team it was truly one of the best holidays of my life. I have swam with dolphins, drank pina colada out of a coconut, held a crocodile, snorkelled a shipwreck, visited a top 10 beach in the world, jumped into natural waterfalls, drove a speedboat in the mangroves, saw all manner of wildlife and saw some amazing lightening too!!
So a bit more detail for you....
Room - we had a superior lagoon room which is on the quieter part of the lagoon very spacious, very clean maid service was excellent with the usual towel animals etc when you got back to the room. Wasn't too far from anywhere and we fed the fish from our balcony everyday which was great!
BUffet Restaurant - very good. Very clean. Food choice was a bit repetitve towards the end of the holiday but at the end of the day if you have something different each night you're not going to be having the same things are you?! I have to say aswell that some of the female staff were quite miserable they seemed to look striaght through us most of the time whether it was because we were 2 women together I'm not sure but the male waiters were very friendly and remembered you from the previous days and knew what drinks you wanted.
A la carte restaurants - were ok but nothing special although service was very good. My personal opinion is that I like the a la cartes to be a bit different from the buffet but i found everything you had in the a la cartes you could get in the buffet. Something like asian or speciality seafood would be great. We tried all of them but only once didn't go back. International was very good - I had my 40th birthday meal in there, Very attentive, very good food but customer services cocked up my surprise that had been arranged.
Pool Bar/Restaurant - for drinks very good theres an outside shaded area and a covered "inside" waiters very friendly. Note if you're in a rush (ie before a coach comes for a trip or whatever) do not order food from this place. It takes ages!
Pool - larger than I expected very clean and its true to get shaded area you have to grab a couple of beds early. Its also very muggy around the pool area no breeze at all we spent most of our chilling out days on the beach
Beach - Why people moan about this beach is beyond me??!! For me the fact that its about 4 steps from your sunbed to the sea is the best bit!! Beach is continually cleaned throughout the day and when you do go for a dip its all sand not pebbly at all. Lots of fish in the shallows - i fed them a few times which was an experience! BUt if you are a bit wary then stamp your feet or move your hands in the water and they'll go away when they realise you have nothing for them!! A nice walk to the left past the Sol and over the car park will take you to a lovely beach thats a big bay and you can go out quite a bit and still touch the floor. A nice walk to the right is just that a lovely walk no other hotels (yet - one is being built) just a lobster shack that we didn't manage to sample but others said was great.
Yamil in the beach bar was very friendly could get busy at times with a queue but at the end of the day your in cuba and on holiday so who cares!
Other bars - lobby bar where people seemed to sit before/after dinner. Staff very friendly. Our favourite bar however was the billiard bar. Orlando should be employee of the year. Extremely friendly nothing was too much trouble he really did make a difference to our holiday. I personally think that this bar should be bigger as it proved very popular on nights where the entertainment wasn't great.
Entertainment - was ok. What you'd expect from a holiday hotel in Cuba! Nothing amazing or modern but there are other places to chill if you didn't fancy what was on.
Trips - if you only do one trip do the overnight Discover Cuba. Amazing 2 days i would rather do this than the Havana trip. Also did the adults only catamaran - you visit 2 snorkelling sites (1 a shipwreck) have lunch (chicken prawns and lobster) and then spend a couple of hours at pillar beach. Jeep adventure was also great - you get a taster of lots of things and cuba.
Overall a fabulous holiday would go again tomorrow if I could!! I tipped when I felt it was deserved NOT expected and it didn't affect the service we received. The mosquitos were everywhere and you really do need to use repellent. I started anti histamines 2 weeks before I went and all the time I was there and none of them went bad - which is a first for me

Couple of Tips - !) Buy one of those cooler cups you get in campshops to take they fill them at the bar with some ice and your drink will stay cooler for longer than a few seconds! 2) If you arrnage ANYTHING with customer services on the day of the surprise or whatever go and check the arrangements with them otherwise be prepared for disappointment. 3) if you're in a rush DON'T order food at the Pool Bar 4) Lobby bar has the best coffee by a mile.5) When you travel home keep some mosquito repellent in your hand luggage - trust me you will need it at the airport at check in they're bloody everywhere!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are very glad to ready you had a fabulous time with us and do hope to see you both again. We appreciate your observations on Pool Bar slow service, and Customer Service faults on looking after your special celebration (although we would like to have more details on the events). Your comments have been raised to the area managers in charge to make sure they do not happen again to future customers. We hope you choose us again in the future, please, send us your preferences and special requests. This time we will make sure everything is arranged so that you will have a truly amazing holiday in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

we have just come back after two weeks in melia cayo coco, and what a great holiday it was, the hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were always happy and smiling and so willing to help. even with the smallest thing , if there was a problem they were straight on the phone and it was sorted before you got back to the room. the food was something else and it didn't matter where you ate it was all fantastic and the service was the best. our room was about 20 feet from the beach and not too much farther from the main complex, the room itself was very nice with a big bed and everything you would of wanted including ironing board and umberella for those showers you get this time of year.the towels were changed every day and were always arranged with flowers on the beds. the beach is only a narrow strip of white sand,but for us lazy people was great as you can fall off your sunbed and your in the sea, which was lovely and warm with fish that swim around your legs.
the now cuba trip was very interesting and a real insite to the real cuba and was quite well priced , the speedboad was great and the steam train too.
the only thing we had a problem with was the mosquitoes, the arm bands they sell on the plane are not good enough on there own. you need the strongest repellent you can get. we found the stuff the doctor will sell you worked really well if you get allergic reactions, like my husband, and his treatment was spot on too. we took jungle insect repellent with us from the uk but didn't always work very well. make sure you put it on mornings and night and if you are sat by the pool or on the beech take it with you and keep putting it on. we were told they had had a lot of rain, more than normal , the weeks before we got there which had brought the mosquitoes out. the hotel spays for bugs twice a day and you will see a plane fly over spraying too but because of all the wildlife that lives there they a limited to what they can do.
the entertainment was good with live music and a show every night, check in was the best i've ever done and the bags got to our room just after we did. the welcome was good and when we left all of the entertainment team were there to say goodbuy.

Room Tip: no rooms have sea views because of the trees unless you go to the lagoon rooms, but beware of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry44_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very glad to read you truly enjoyed your stay with us and do hope you come back for a repeated experience. Just email us your requests and we will be more than happy to look after another wonderful time in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful 2weeks in this amazing hotel. We had upgraded to a lagoon room, which is well worth doing. After a long day by the pool or the beach it was lovely sitting by the lagoon watching the sunset.
The food was amazing, didn't have a bad meal throughout the whole 2weeks. The staff were really friendly from the gardeners all the way up to the waiters. The grounds off the hotel were well kept and what a good job the gardeners do. The one recommendation I would say is to take plenty of insect replicant and take lots off it!!!
The only down side is there is not enough shade by the pool area and the only shade area that is available is taken so early unless your an early riser then you will get some shade, but if your not then be prepared to sit in the sun all day. But other that I can't fault this hotel and yes I would recommend it to friends and family and we would come back to this hotel as I very much like the idea of not having any children to share my holiday with.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bongo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your lovely review, especially for recommending our hotel to other readers from this site. We will be more than glad in accommodating all your requests so as your next stay with us, which you have already announced here, is as enjoyable or even more than this one. Do email us with your preferences, we will do the rest to provide you with an amazing holiday experience.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great staff, clean place, very good variety of food, beautiful beaches and a very quiet and calming place to stay. We did the full day catamaran cruise which we strongly recommend. We were about 15 people on the cruise so it was not crowded. We are seriously thinking about going back there for our next trip in the South.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to the beach as it is not a huge place and all of them are close to the buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay in our hotel. We are very glad to know it was very much enjoyed and you are looking forward to a returning visit. Do email us with your requests for us to look after everything with pleasure.
With warmest regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing