We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sol Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,577)
Filter reviews
6,577 results
Traveler rating
4,543
1,454
380
120
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,543
1,454
380
120
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon roombilliard barinternational restaurantfishbeach barstandard roomanimation teama la carte restaurantsthomas cookfantastic holidayfood and beverage managerpastaspecial thanksthe main buffet restaurantplenty of sunbedsreturning gueststhe real cuba
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,456 - 3,461 of 6,577 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I have been to various parts of Cuba and this was our first time to Cayo Coco. I agree with some of the other reviews of this spot in many ways. The service here is outstanding! The entire staff really goes the extra mile, with a smile and without expectation of gifts or tips. The manager was visible at different areas of the resort making sure everything was running smoothly. His proffesionalism obvoisly is an example to his co-workers. It is really the sevice that makes this place a 5 star.
The lagoon room was comfortable and clean with appliances (TV, airconditioner, hair dryer) that were releatively new and in good working order. There was a large shower with no bath tub which suited us perfectly. The bed was quite comfortable and we slept well.
The food was good but not as great as some reviews indicated. All of the a la carte restaurants were excellent. The food was well prepared and presented with good service everywhere. We generally preffer the flexibility of dining at the buffet and found it a bit disapointing. There was good variety but it was pretty much the same offerings every day (same pasta,stir-fry, grilled meats). The only thing that changed was the protein at the carving station ie. turkey, ham, roast beef, red snapper, roast pig etc. Perhaps it was just because we were there for two weeks it .
The entertainment was enjoyable, good music excellent dancing etc. This resort is a great place to relax. They don't bombard you with loud irritating music at the pool or beach. The beach is lovely and you can walk in either direction for an hour or so. You need to get your chairs by 8 a.m. if you want shade, that can be a bit of a problem.
The activities are the usual fun and games but the one thing I liked was the arts and crafts classes. I've never seen this anywhere else and it was really enjoyable. The instructor, Richie, was very patient with all of us. He had us follow along with him painting a beach scene or weaving grasshoppers out of palm leaves. If anyone goes here please consider bringing Richie some art supplies like drawing paper, chalk pastels or conte crayons. Apparently these things a hard to come by in Cuba and also costly.
The only excursion we went on was the bus trip to Playa Pilar, gorgeous! Two resorts are planned for this spot in the near future. The water is pristine and you can buy lunch and drinks at a beach restaurant there. When you're a guest at the Melia Cayo Coco you can enjoy the facilities at three other Melia hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The resort is well laid out and everything is a short walk. The lagoon rooms are a little newer and sunrise or sunset is a bonus.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crabbygoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you so much for your fantastic review. I agree with you: our staff is hotel greatest atribute. Thank you for all your compliments about the way they serve you. Please, send us your booking details together with any request you would like us to accommodate for your next stay with us, we would be very glad to look after another relaxing holiday with first rating service.
Best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Love the Melia and Cayo coco

This was our 5th trip to Cuba, first time for Cayo Coco. April 19 to the 26th.

I agree with other reviews that the rooms were old and worn out. They were clean on the surface, but the bathroom really needed a good scrub. I liked that there were no line ups for anything, whether it be booking a la carte, money exchange, checking in and out. Did not experience any bugs, air conditioner or safe problems It was almost perfect.

The beach was beautiful. We liked that you could walk for miles and we did. We went to both sides (in front of the Melia or to the left thru the Sol and over the road or the little walking bridge). The beach was amazing. We did have one day where the tide was quite high splashing up over the loungers and soaking everything especially the ones where people “reserved” their lounger overnight. OK now that brings me to the subject of reserving shade overnight and at 5:00 am in the morning. This was a real problem. We are on holidays and do not want to have to get up at 5:00 am just to get a spot in the shade. We were generally down at the beach by 7:00 and usually found a shaded spot way down from all the action. The pool was worse for shade. Did not go to the pool only to walk thru. Just a note when we left they were in the process of building 6 more palapas. Still not enough but it’s a start.

Reviewers have said that the food was the best in Cuba. I found it to be the same food that we have experienced at other Cuban resorts. Did not find the food any different, same stuff. Not complaining about the food just that it was the same. I like the food.
The grounds were nice and well taken care of. Gardeners were very friendly and made hats and little creatures out of the leaves off the trees. Very cool.

Too sum up. I loved the Melia and would definitely check it out again.

Room Tip: I prefer the standard rooms. The lagoon rooms did not appeal to me, the water was gross looking and smelled
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Customers,
So glad to know you loved your stay with us! Thank you very much for your review, especially for your observations. Yes, as you have stated, we have added some more parasols on the beach and will start with a project to have more shade around our pool area. Please, send us your requests when have rebooked to come back, we would be very glad to look after another enjoyable time in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I travelled along with our cousins. We have been to Cuba many times previously and although we have generally always been happy with the amenities and staff the food has never been very good. It had been almost 4 years since we has last been and I must say a lot has changed - for the better. While not the quality you would find at other 5 star resorts in the south it was much better than we have had previously and we enjoyed every meal. The staff are excellent and could not do enough to ensure their guests needs were met. The beach was amazing, and there was ample seating at the pool - getting a shelter by the pool was very difficult unless one was prepared to be at the pool by 630. I would strongly recommend that the resort get more umbrellas for this area.

All in all this was an excellent vacation and I would have no difficulty recommending this resort. We would definitely go again!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank BWGtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Loyal Customer,
Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to other travellers, and special thanks for your review. Yes, we will be adding more shade to our pool area and the beach have already been favored with new parasols and umbrellas. Do let us know when you are booked to come back to stay with us, we will be looking after your request with pleasure.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just came back from a diving vacation in Melia Cayo Coco and had a great time! First time to this resort but seventh trip to Cuba and this was a shining star for sure. Food at the buffet was excellent as well as all three a la carte restaurants. The staff was friendly and attentive without the big expectation of tips that I have seen elsewhere. The house wine, both red and white, was the best I have had in Cuba.
As for the scuba diving, it was good to very good with some big fish as well as green morays and sting rays. The staff at the shop are outstanding! These folks genuinely want to make sure you have a great time and go out of their way to ensure you do. Dive briefings are complete without being condescending, always review hand signals and always insist on a safety stop. The tanks are 12 litre steel which are about an 85 cubic ft 3000 psi cylinder. These are stubby little guys with great handling in the water and work with DIN or yoke regulators. Another super feature of the shop is that they do a deep dive at 9 AM, a shallow one at 11 AM and another shallow one at 1 PM for the resort course. This means you can get two dives in without getting caught up with the newbees. The deep is 70 to 90 feet and the shallow is 40 to 60 feet.
There are sites with more fish and clearer water on the south coast of Cuba but you can't beet the staff at this scuba shop and the overall value of a dive trip here.
My only negative comment is that they had Bucannero beer on tap and I prefer Crystal.
Barry Inkpen, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room near the dive shop.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BFInkpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you ever so much for your review. We are very glad to know your expectations were met not only regarding diving but also our facilities and services. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again at Meliá Cayo Coco.
With best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

On arrival at the Melia Cayo Coco we were greeted by friendly staff with a welcome cocktail and cold towels to cool down. Check in was quick and simple and a man with a golf cart was available to transport our luggage to our room which was clean and spacious, with a bed bigger than King Size! The pool was large and had plenty of sunbeds. We were fortunate enough to get a double bed cabana by the pool on two occasions, but we did have to get there early in order to reserve it! On one day we had a cabana on the opposite side of the pool but as there is a small stream that runs underneath these this was the only place we ever got bitten by anything. As the day goes on the pool area could use some more shady areas, but the pool bar was close by so we wandered into there for some shade (and cocktails!) if needed.
Pepe did hid daily rounds with a rum cocktail in a fresh coconut and some simple poolside games including lazy darts and throw the dice game! Not too taxing and worked well with the guests chilling out.
The beach also had cabanas and sunbeds and the animations team kept the games going for those guests who wanted to be entertained, including painting, jewellery making, aqua aerobics and dance lessons. On one occasion we went to the beach first thing in the morning and the tide was so far in it was lapping at the legs of the sun bed, so I would recommend going to the beach a little later in the day. The Beach Bar & Restaurant had a great atmosphere in lovely surroundings and the Cuban band that played there at lunchtime every day were very good. We enjoyed it so much we bought their CD! This was transformed into the a la carte Caribbean restaurant in the evening and served great food with a Cuban influence. The second a la carte restaurant is on the lagoon and serves a six course tasting menu. We dined here twice during our stay and had a different menu each time. It was nice to have the chance to taste and enjoy food I would not usually order. The Italian restaurant over the pool bar is the third a la carte and again served top quality food by courteous and friendly waiters. The only point to make about the a la carte restaurants is that the dress code for men is collared shirt & long trousers, although some were allowed to eat wearing Tshirt & shorts. We felt that if there is a set dress code that it should be upheld for everyone.
We celebrated our Silver Wedding Anniversary during our stay, and my Husband was able to organise flowers and Champagne at the table during our meal, then on returning to our room found we had another bottle of champagne and a cake which were complimentary as a surprise for us. Maria Esther, our Cleaner, came every day to clean and change linen, and she also left us swans made from towels, flowers on the bed and tied the net curtains into pretty designs.
The main buffet restaurant provided a wide variety of choice at breakfast lunch and tea, so you could always have a different meal if you chose. The fresh meat counter ensured that your food was cooked fresh and seasoned to taste. At Breakfast Charles cooked a lovely omelette- again to your personal taste. The Piano Bar in the Lobby was a good place to enjoy pre and post dinner drinks. The evening entertainment here varied between piano playing, a professional singer, a saxophone soloist and, our personal favourite The Family, who were a jazz band who added a bit of comedy to their show. We bought their CD too!
The evening shows by the Animation Team were good but became a little repetitive during the second week.
Hector, our Thomas Cook Rep was the most helpful Rep we have ever had on holiday. I would recommend booking some trips so that you see some of the real culture of the area and not just the resort. Following a cancelled return flight from Havana he had compensation already sorted out before we had returned to the resort. Thoroughly enjoyed overnight stay in Havana and a trip to Tropicana is a MUST! Ciego de Avila is an interesting local city to visit with mixed architecture and coloured buildings. Travelling over the Causeway between islands is an experience (especially on the open top double decker bus) as it is just a road in the middle of the sea! Pilar beach is on Cayo Guillermo (about an hour away) and is stunning with white sand and clear water just like in the brochures.
I would thoroughly recommend this resort & hotel to anyone wanting to travel to this location, and after speaking to other tourists on trips it is by far the best hotel on the island of Cayo Coco.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TracyB1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Customers,
Thank you so much for your detailed review, especially for taking the time to mention some names to acknowledge those who provide great customer service. Thank you for recommending us on this review. Looking forward to seeing you again,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews