We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“...welcome back in paradise...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melia Cayo Coco
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Cleebronn, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“...welcome back in paradise...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

In ocotber my parents and I had our second visit at this wonderfull place - Melia Cayo Coco. Its a long trip from Franfurt, Germany to Cayo Coco but this is worth it!

We stayed in a Bungalow room on the Lagoon. The view and the sunsets were fantastic! It is worth paying the extra!

The food at the buffet was again amazing and very well presented!beds and shade at the beach are always available!the rooms were always clean and the staff let no wish open.the gardeners,the waiters,the maid service,the bellboys,the people at the reception...and everybody else: Thank you again for the best two weeks of the year!We can't wait to stay a third time with you!

We definitly have to say: Melia Cayo Coco you can be proud of you staff!!! They are brilliant!

We can recommend this hotel to everybody who is looking for two weeks in paradise!

We are looking forward to our third visit!

Hans&Petra and Nadine

Room Tip: A room in a bungalow on the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Loyal Customers,
Thank you very much for posting your review on your recent stay with us. There is a long way from Germany to the cayos, especially when there are no direct flights; so, we must thank you twice for choosing Meliá Cayo Coco for your holidays. Our special appreciation for recommending our hotel to everyone, our staff will provide them with the best of our services.
Looking forward to meeting you,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,930
    1,309
    347
    106
    72
See reviews for
503
3,967
102
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atherton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have just arrived back this morning and felt i had to post this review right away, as we have had such a fantastic holiday. the 4 of us have had the best time ever thanks to the hard work of all the staff. For 4 days we where indoors becouse of the storms created by the hurricane this did not spoil our holiday one bit thanks to entertainment team who never tired of keeping us amused, special thanks to pepe, this man is a star and kept us laughing for the whole to weeks. allso the cuban band ernesto and the rest of the boys kept everyone in good spirits with there lively cuban music and we became good freinds with them over the 2 weeks annd will keep in touch with them untill we return next year. allso juan the waiter in the carribean restaurant see the vidio i have posted he is hillarious with pepe. there are so many i would like to thank i could go on for ever. I could not fault a thing about this resort the food is some of the best i have had at an all inclusive hotel. we stayed here 4 years ago but it has improved dramaticly since our last visit, the current mannager seems to have things running perfectly and saw him constantly checking everrything to make sure things are being done right and this is certanly improving this resort. i would recomend this hotel to anyone and intend to return as soon as we can .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank stehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Loyal Customers,
Yes!!! You are right when mention Pepe on your review as an outstanding entertainner. We are very greatful for his performance and every praise our guests have for him, is forwarded to his area manager and to him. Our special appreciation for sharing your comments on this site, and thank you very much for recommending our hotel to everyone, we will certainly do our very best to not dissappoint them.
Looking forward to meeting you,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the bottom line. Cuba doesn’t have a great reputation. We went there with low expectation. We wanted a vacation that wouldn’t cost a fortune. We had a great time. Here is what is important while travelling. We don’t want to be sick. We want to eat well. We want a clean place to stay. We want great service with fun activities. This hotel had it all. There were little things here and there that could be better but really, it’s not enough to complain about it. If you are a complainer, then pay 4000$ and stay at a super luxurious hotel with the other snobby rich people. This hotel is for the friendly traveller and for your 800$ or 900 $ budget, you can’t get better than this hotel.
Enjoy
David

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank davidblain87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again in the future, and if posible, we would like to count on your more detailed opinion to improve our services. With very best regards,
Santiago Innerarity
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I are in our early thirty's and we stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco Oct 8 - 15, 2012.

Here's what we have to say:

BEACH - Great stretch of beach with soft white sand. There's always a hut available and beach chairs. You don't need to be up super early to reserve your spot. During our stay, we had strong winds so the tides were high and that resulted in more seaweed than usual along the shoreline. When this occured, the shoreline was very short. Nevertheless that never stopped
us from enjoying the beautiful waters. We also ventured out to Playa Pillar. There were six departures every day from the hotel on a local bus. It's about a 1hr drive and $5CUC per person. What a gorgeous beach with miles of soft powdery sand and clear, turquoise, shallow waters. There was also two security guards every day on the beach at each end. There were no solicitors/vendors whatsoever anywhere on the property aside from a couple days where it was organized by the hotel.

ROOM- We had a standard room with two double beds pushed together. There are extra pillows and blankets in the closet. The room is quite spacious and is equipped with the usual toiletries.
There's a mini fridge that's restocked daily with water and pop. We also received a welcome bottle of rum. There are no ocean view rooms at this resort but there are lagoon villas which are approx. $69CUC extra per night. There's also A/C that works great. The room is very clean and well maintained. Also there were no issues with water pressure or temperatures; hot water all the time, anytime.

SERVICE- What can I say..EXCELLENT!! Everyone is willing to go above and beyond to make you happy. Staff are always smiling and pleasant to talk to. Yadira, one of the managers at the
buffet restaurant went out of her way to talk to us and ask us how we're enjoying our stay and if there's anything we think they could improve on. We made two service calls to reception and they were addressed immediately. Their response time is impecable.

ENTERTAINMENT - There were nightly, themed shows. Disco nights was sometimes held in the Disco room or outside by the pool. On two occassions, it was by the pool so many ppl got into the pool. The night we arrived, there was a v-ball game taking place in the pool with music going and a projector screen with music videos playing..it was awesome! At times, the entertainers found it difficult to gather ppl to go to the disco. On Sat night, it was the most lively at the disco. There were also various activities throughout the day. We thoroughly enjoyed playing pool vball everyday at 4pm. Thanks to Alex for making the vball games very enjoyable.

STAFF - EXCELLENT! Thanks to Yadira (buffet restaurant manager), Aylec (animation team), Alex (animation team), Eliedy (animation team), Jorge El NeNe (dinner pasta station chef),
Grimmy and Yordany's (nightly lobby bartenders), and Leandro (pool bartender). They made our stay very enjoyable and memorable, one we will never forget. They are very genuine and kind hearted. Melia Cayo Coco is extremely lucky to have them as their staff.

FOOD - The buffet restaurant was fantastic! There were endless options for every appetite during every meal. Specifically the grill station offered all kinds of seafood even lobster, along with many beef, chicken and pork variations. However, we did not enjoy the food at the Italian
a la carte and did not particularily like the menus for the International or Caribbean a la cartes so we decided not to try it as we knew we'd always find something we liked at the buffet.

We would go back to this resort in a heart beat. One word of advice, if you have any toiletries, old shoes/clothing, gum, etc...you should consider taking it with you as the staff really need and appreciate it very very much.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6322. Great room and location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Iqbal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your detailed review on your recent stay with us. We are in agreement with you, we have a wonderful staff which provides high Customer Service and we are proud of them all. We will be conveying your praises to them. Do let us know when you have made your next booking for us to look after any request you may have, with pleasure.
With warmest regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

First time at this resort. It was an awesome one week stay, October 6th to October 13th,2011. We had a few hiccups, but when we did report it at the front desk they made sure it was taken care of in no time. Amazing customer service. The food was good at the buffet and we tried one a la carte . We went to the International Restaurant Arena Real, and the service was excellent, the food and the wine that the somellier recommended were delicious. The beaches were beautiful and the pool area was nice as well. We will go back here again. Really had a good time here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loekie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are quite glad to know your first experience in Cuba was so positive than you have already decided to come back. We do hope you let us know when you have made your next booking for us to look after another enjoyable stay in Meliá Cayo Coco.
With best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester- England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Short reveiw as everyone seems to have said everything. This was our first visit to CUBA and so 1st to Melia, but we will be back next year and booking now for October 2013.
We met some lovely people and made great friends. Wee Tracey and Colin get in touch ! you know who you are ! xxx
PARADISE
Had my camera stolen 1st day, but this was rare, don't let it put you off, so no photos to share with you :(

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are lovely, but the Hotel is so good you hardly spend any time there, so don't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 01Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience in our hotel by posting this review. We would also like to thank you in advance for already choosing Meliá Cayo Coco for your holiday in October 2013 and do look forward to seeing you again.
With warmest regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at the Melia Cayo Coco. 4th-18th Oct. Our first time in Cuba and what an experience. Excellent beaches, great variety of food for all tastes and wonderful staff. The rooms are basic but spacious and all amenities in working order. Had one problem with toilet not flushing which was fixed within minutes of calling reception, not a service response we have experienced in western european hotels.
Take the trip to Havana and include the Tropicana, it is a must. Amazing experience, vibrant and colourful and a taste of the real Cuba. We loved it and met some great people to finish off the rum into the early morning!
The catamaran trip is good fun and the reef good for snorkling. We loved Pillar beach with crystal waters and laid back ambiance, all included in the trip
Remember tipping is not obligatory and we saw no difference in the service which was excellent whether you tipped or not, but we did tip across the staff group. Remember the staff have a tough life. They travel from Moran daily 60 k too and from work. Long hot shifts But everyone greeted us with a friendly "Hola" from the gardeners to the beach bar staff and the animation staff who brought us the wonderful coconuts with rum and pineapple as an appetizer before lunch. The staff appreciate small gifts. We brought tooth brushes, razors and toiletries. Leave any clothes you may not want as they are greatly appreciated.
An excellent all round experience and exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: 8421 was an excellent location for us. Higher floor which we requested and in a block close to beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCay0C0c0, General Manager at Melia Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for posting your recent holiday experience on this site. We are very glad to know we highly contributed to make the most from your first vacation in Cuba, and do hope you choose our hotel once again for your next break.
With best regards,
Freddy Andersen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
19.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
1042.1 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1058.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Peter's Bay
Saint Peter's Bay
#5 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cayo Coco

Property: Melia Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Ávila, 69400, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cayo Coco 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beachfront in Cayo Coco, habitat of a large colony of pink flamingos. Five-Star All Inclusive Resort with 250 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Its superior suites and rooms are built on stilts over a natural seawater lagoon. Recommended for couples, weddings, and honeymoons. 250 Guest rooms: 168 Standard, 62 Standard Superior Lagoon, 6 Junior Suite, 2 Junior Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 12 Suite Deluxe Lagoon, 4 Dining Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, Barbeque), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melia Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Cayo Coco Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing