We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY, WOULD RECOMMEND”
Review of Iberostar Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
St. Albert
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT HOLIDAY, WOULD RECOMMEND”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Decided to try Cayo Coco and read all the reviews about the island and its resorts. The Iberostar Mojito was a great place to spend 2 weeks. Absolutely would recommend the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable. We were in building 20 on the 2nd floor. Very close to everything. Food was one of the highlights of our trip, no shortage and a very good variety for anyone's tastes. Tried both al carte restaurants which were a nice change from the buffet, only for the noise level that sometimes got a bit much in the buffet. Staff was exceptional from the house keeping, bartenders, waiters, waitress, lobby staff to management being on site a lot. Our only minor complaint would have been no hot water for a couple of days but they got it fixed up as soon as they could. The nightly entertainment was just like being at a Vegas Show, for a quarter of the price!! We go to Iberostar Mojitio again and have one of Roberto's Mojito's!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuzzypickles013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Glad to hear you were satisfied with our service. Just in the answer before this one we were talking about food and the inconsistency we have in the supplies many time, but we always do our best with what we have and you liked it. Our dancers work hard everyday since when they are not in the stage during daytime, they are in the Disco training for the night show. Most of them as well as the coreographer are graduated from the prestigious school of dance we have here in Cuba.
One important thing you do not realize here in Cuba is that many times the simplest worker you run into is an engeneer or a master as Roberto
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    1,439
    568
    316
    207
See reviews for
948
1,364
122
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (604)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Really loved this hotel, Most of the staff were so nice. Especially Ariel in the cigar bar. If you go here you must go see him, He makes the best drinks, talks alot, tries to actually get to know you very refreshing.
God love their Disco- great music, friendly staff teaching some dances, lots of alcohol and open late. Went here almost every night, to top it off there's a late night snack bar. Great hot dogs when your drunk.
Food was okay , like all cuba a little bland but still great.
Down side was we had a problem with one of the cleaning ladies taking Tylenol from our room. I mean its not that big of a deal but just made me uncomfortable.
It was only one time it happened, but I would still recommend this hotel if your looking for a great time.
BRING INSECT REPELLENT!!!! lots of tiny mosquitos

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAllie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We have always said that the details we are missing here or there where we need some updating are not very well perceived when you get in touch with our staff warmth, proffesional service and willingness to make your holidays very enjoyable for you. Anyways we keep on working on improvements all the time.
About the food we would like to say that perhaps this is the time in the history of this hotel where we have heard many reviews saying this is the best food we have tried in an all inclusive in Cuba. We could certainly say that most of the problems we have here with the food have to do with the supplies either of food itself or food condiments. Cuba is a poor third world country and the supplies are harder to get, even more with the embargo from the USA. This is not a justification, it is reallity.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were at the Mojito for 15 days - Jan 22 - Feb 05, 2014. No need to attach pics there are tons already posted that pretty much show what to expect. This is our 9th trip to Cuba, first time to Cayo Coco. Our recommendation is to GO - forget what you read and just GO.

Whatever the Mojito's training program is for their staff, from the gardeners to the Front Desk Staff, to the bar staff to the ladies that clean the bathrooms, we badly need in Canada. Each and everyone of them created to the overall guest experience. We couldn't walk by anyone without them saying "Hola", good morning, how is your day, what can we bring you, their attention to detail and service was outstanding. Our drinks never ran dry, we seldom had to wait for our cappuccinos, our room was kept really well, the gardeners went out of their way to present a flower for my hair or just a smile as we walked by. We have never been treated in any place we've ever stayed with such great customer service, in Canada or Abroad. We aren't huge tippers, we are just the average guest enjoying our holiday and chose the Iberostar Mojito as the best "deal" at the time. I work with employees trying to create what seems to come natural to the staff at the Mojito. These people take pride in their work and know that each thing they do contributes to the overall customer experience. Even the security guards took the time to point out to us the various forms of aquatic life in the lagoons. Pretty Cool for sure.

Special mention to Ana, who is a very gracious hostess at the front counter. She always had a smile no matter how sick she was. She went out of her way to make our stay as pleasant as it could be. Alfredo at the El' Caney and on Mondays at the Pool Bar was a hoot, he teased and didn't forget what you drank. Alexander was another favorite. He didn't go by without acknowledging you or giving you a beer, even if you weren't sitting at the pool. Adrian kept the pool and beach games going, even convinced me to join in on the beach, and I'm not what you would consider a "joiner" I'm more a watcher, but I'm sure glad he did, it was a blast. The dude that wears the "ashtray" at the Italian/International a la' carte was pretty cool too. If you see him ask him about the ashtray he wears around his neck, it's pretty funny, and apparently he takes it pretty seriously, he took a great deal of time to explain it was a wine sampler, which made sense, but not as fun to tease him about.

THE BEACH - Outstanding - we made a little home for ourselves on the beach by the nautical club away from the busy of the rest of the area. It was beautiful and we pretty much had it to ourselves. The Ocean is that incredible blue and each day we were visited by a Pelican. We walked from tip to tip of the beach. When the tide was out you could walk easily to Playa Larga, a very sheltered cove with a little beach bar for a cervsa, the other end was past the Colonial, not much to see except walking past the Tryp and Colonial. There were a couple of souvenir shops on the beach itself but no actual beach peddlers which was refreshing for sure. You could go out on a snorkeling trip from the nautical club, the guys will take you out on the hobie cat to the large reef. $20CUC per person - we thought it was well worth it, we were there for 1.5hrs. Mostly it was just fun to play in the ocean.

THE MARKET - very close a 5 min walk. If you aren't going into Moron for your trinkets, this little market has all kinds of stuff. The vendors change out every couple of days, so lots of variety.

THE RESORT -
Midsize - two pools - one large "fun" pool and a much smaller adult pool. We are so not pool people so not much to say. The first week we were there the pool was packed and you couldn't get a chair, the 2nd week was much quieter and there were chairs to spare. However even when it's busy, you just have to ask and one of the staff magically appears with chairs. So no problem.

The gardens were very well kept, the gardeners were busy constantly. The resort itself definitely is in need of a facelift, but on Cuba time. It takes many years to even build a resort in Cuba, supplies, manpower, the weather all come into play. During the time we were there, we saw new signs erected, the fountain fixed, the boardwalk rebuilt, there is constant improvement. The resort itself is only 13 years old but the previous company left it in terrible shape and improvement takes time and money. This place is a jewel in the rough, we kind of liked it that way.

The food is the best we've ever had in Cuba at a resort. It was fresh, tasty and lots available. The a' la cartes were even good. We really enjoyed the ribs at the international and my husband enjoyed his lasagne at the Italian. If I had one complaint about the food is that there wasn't any authentic Cuban food. I love their rice and beans and the way they cook fish however, the guys at the grill did a fantastic job of cooking whatever you wanted. The Pasta Bar was incredible. Again we never go to Cuba for the food, so this time we were very very pleasantly surprised.
cappuccino every morning with fresh baking and donuts....the fresh warm donuts...yum.

The Room, we were a little disappointed not to have a balcony and at first we were put in an older building, however at the time of check in, we were told that we could move in 4 days if we weren't happy with our room. It was on the 3rd level, my husband had just had knee surgery so we definitely had to move. Our next room was perfect - updated - clean and not as many stairs, we did end up with a balcony which was wonderful, however, we spent more time out of our room than in, so the balcony didn't get much use except to hang our wet clothes on. It was quiet and close to the adult pool. They can't change the style of their buildings, they are what they are and if you let a thing like not having a balcony ruin your holiday in Cuba, you should maybe visit a couple of homes while you are there. You may appreciate your room a little more. We had no problem with water pressure or anything broken. The room was excellent.

We aren't "show" people, but we sure did enjoy hanging out at the El' Caney, listening to the live music, and visiting with other guests. It was like walking into someone's rec room. It was casual comfortable and easy. My husband smokes cigars, I don't, and even as a non-smoker I found the place well ventilated and the smoke didn't bother me at all. The Lobby Bar was smokier than the cigar bar.. Special shout out to Norm and Mel.....Yes, water is a beverage!

All in all, it was a 1st class holiday and the Mojito is one of the only places that we would consider coming back to a 2nd time. We had it all, perfect weather, perfect beach, great service, good food and now we are sitting at home -23C, we wish we were back.

Until Next year...............see you soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
It is always very nice to hear when one of our guests enjoys so much the vacation time with us. As you did most of the people who visit us see the glass half full and take the best to enjoy their time. Certainly there are still upgrades to be made in certain areas. This resort is very big and we have made constant repair work, but we know there is still a lot to do. We were saying before that only people who come for the second time at least would realize of the new changes we are constantly making.
Perhaps you missed our Cuban night on the buffet and the Cuban roast pork by the pool area. Then you will have to wait for next year to try them. We need to be more infomative of the activities that are going on.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

So our 3rd time to Mojito, and we brought family members this time. My husband is Cuban, and we have a home in Moron, so to have a little get away we go to Cayo Coco and stay at the resort for a couple of days. This time my brother inlaw and finance flew from Germamy to stay at our house, so we also booked them for 2 nights, and my mother inlaw, and cousins girlfriend. they all loved it! The only bad thing I can say is we had a cold front come into Cuba at that time so it wasnt the best weather.But we live in Canada, so with the extreme cold here, it was better to be there!!! Food was good, and drinks were good, and the staff all remembered us, we hadnt been there since April 2013. The lady who runs the kids club, and again i cant remember her name, remember our son right away, and that made him feel so special, he couldnt wait to go to the kids club, as he spent 2 days there last year with her! I agree the rooms need some attention and you do have to watch where you walk because it is not like Canada, be aware of your surroundings, everything is concrete and tile. They need to continue upgrading and renovating, but This is Cuba, it is Not Americanized and i am for keeping it that way! It's not perfect, but enjoy all it has to offer. I have been to many Islands, and they all have beauty, and you will pay alot more to go to Aruba, Jamaica, ect, but Cuba has its own untouched beauty. I think Iberostar does a great job, with what they have, and we will be there soon again in May! Management please let our lovely Kids Club lady that Jose Gonzalez cant wait to see her again, and please reward her for her great job with our son!! Jodi and Ivan Gonzalez- Alvarez. See you in May!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Your review is lovely. From it we can realize you speak very warmly from your heart. Yes, for sure this is not America. We do keep on make as many improvements as we can and we have your satisfaction as our main goal. We will pass your comments to the club house staff. Do not worry.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S/W Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

my annual guys trip was to Cayo Coco for the 1st time & the Iberostar Mojito had many nice points. Weather was great the whole week, with friendly helpful staff.
The hotel is older and going through renovations as Iberostar took over in the past year or so. In speaking with other guests who have been here before, there saw many improvements from last year. The buffet food always had some great food with a wide selection. At times the same food daily got boring at some stations. Lobster on the buffet 1st night was as a great treat. Fresh warm bread was always available when you wanted it. The rooms are tired but clean. I missed not having a balcony on the 3rd floor. Most rooms did not have one, which seemed strange. The adult pool was great to cool off at or rotate between the beach and pool. The adult pool does need some work to fix most of the under water lights & scrubbing of the tiles. The water always smelled fresh & clean. The cigar bar was a great find 1/2 way through. Overall it is a nice spot with a great beach. I would go back in a year to check on continued renovations. Many of the staff have been there for 10-15yrs & enjoy the changes they see happening.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
You liked it, and that pleases us. Yes, many of our guests when they come for the first time, are not aware of the improvements we have been doing with the passing of time, but you will when you come next time.
Well, the food, apart from the buffet you can try any of the 3 a la carte and of course, the grill. Many times we cannot have great influence in more variety since that depends on the availability of our suppliers which is not always as we would like.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We just came back from this resort on Feb. 4/14 . This was our 19th vacation at various Iberostar resorts. I was very impressed with the service and the courteous staff, that made sure our requests were met. Great entertainment with games and nightly shows. At the beach and pool area they have dance lessons, aqua-gym etc. The food at the buffet and the two a la carte restaurants was very good. A special thanks to Yokady for her excellent service in making our vacation memorable. If you are looking for a great vacation that has good food, beautiful beach,very accommodating, courteous staff, great entertainment, then this is a good place to go .
The only thing I have to say, is that, this is an older resort, and the buildings and walkways need attention, They are aware of this and are working on it.
We will be coming back to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We love to hear you had a great time with us and that you have enjoyed the food, and the entertainment activities and mostly the staff. Yes, as you may have heard and realized we are working hard on renovations about the walkways we recently renewed the walkway for handicapped people to have access to the beach. We have to work according to the priorities and the budget of course, but our guests’ satisfaction is always in our minds and hearts.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sommieres, France
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

We were on a 2 week tour of Cuba with quite a tough program, so our 2 night stay here, after 1 week, came as a welcome break.
Our expectations were not great, coming from a lousy hotel in Trinidad, so it was with baited breath, that we entered the hotel.
First impression: NOISE!
The reception/bar area is very noisy, but then again: it is a big hotel with hundreds og guests.....
Our rooms were newly renovated and to a very high standard. We had seaview from our room.
The restaurant buffet is one of the largest I have ever seen and the quality and selection of food was amazing.
The area around the big pool again very noisy with loud music, but luckily there was a smaller pool, where it was quiet.
Ibetostar took over the hotel a year ago and therefore renovations are still ongoing; when everything is finished, it is going to be an amazing place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lillisan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Well, your stay was short and for sure you did not try many of the services we have available. Yes, the lobby bar gets crowded, but then you have a bar at the adult pool which is quieter and from late afternoon till mid night we also have the cigar bar. Apart from the buffet we have 3 a la carte menus, so there are different choices of food selection. Yes, we are making renovations all over the place and without disturbing our clients ‘rest
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
See you soon!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.9 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,102 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,117 reviews
4.6 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mojito

Property: Iberostar Mojito
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mojito 4*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing