We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Choice for Cayo Coco”
Review of IBEROSTAR Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This 4star resort is amazing, it was our first time at this hotel with the Iberostarfamily and I can say that we will come back when they are ready to open the other part (1st half) of the resort.

All staf is so helpful, so sweet and so loyal, remember most of the morning staff need to travel everyday for 2 hours, waking up around 03:00 in the morning to provide the best for the tourist. Giving you so much love knowing they only make 300-350 Cuban Pesos a month and even giving a part of the tips to the children's cancer foundation says a lot about how nice they are.

Iberostar just started with this resort and will make this resort the best there is in all Cuba.
It's a wonderful resort with lots of things to do in and around.
The Show's in the nights are more than amazing, dancers jumping around great singers and a superb band! The whole entertaining team of the resort is great.

People who say something about the food need to travel first 2 weeks in Cuba itself and than come to a resort like this. Because Cuba doesn't have so much to choose in Cuba itself they only have rice with beans and some pork or chicken. At this resort the choice is unlimited from Italian to Mexican and Cuban to French what more do you need?

The bar is 24hours open even at 04:00 you can order a Pizza for free and it's made by hand so no fridge pizza like the NYpizza or Domino's.

FYI
600 meters long private beach
all inclusive (non-motorized) water sports
24 hours free drinks, food, services at many bars
twice a week free a la carte with live music
Shops, barbers, sap, fitness
many different pools
car and scooter rentals
diving, horse riding, touristbus and transfers
and lots more


I want to thank the Iberostar family a for the love, great service and our unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rubin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are very please to hear you loved your stay as well. It is really nice to hear your kind words for the staff and we agree with you. They are the ones who make the difference when they devote to our guests’ satisfaction.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and will be waiting for you next year or whenever you would like to come back. We would not spare efforts so that your next visit would be better than the previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 3,701 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to Mojito twice in 3 months, this time with more family members. Weather was great everyday. A little quiet at the hotel but was very relaxing. As usual the staff, Noel/Ana and the event group were so nice. Check in was quick, rooms were clean and food was good. Can't wait till next time to see my Mojito Familia!!!!! Maria

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
From your words we realize you are a repeat guest and for us, it is great satisfaction that a great percentage of our guests would have either returned or express their willingness to do so. Yes, we always say that our staff is our best asset and we really thank you for your kind words for them. As you may have realized little by little we have been improving the facilities to raise our standards as well.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is not my first time to this resort. We had a wonderful time there, it's just when you know what it used to be like it makes you sad and a bit mad. Iberostar is trying to make it enjoyable and they really working at it. The last "Owners" failed to provide the proper maintenance. Which is clear to see they just run it into the ground. Still Iberostar is working on it and hopefully the energy will return. The staff are always friendly and helpful, the food has improved since Iberostar took it over and as always the rum is excellent. Eventually we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shrekmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We see you have enjoyed your stay and that very shortly you describe your experience as a good one. Well, we work for that, to make your stay very enjoyable and we try to make it better as times passes by.
Our workers are very professional and experienced. That is why we are among the favorite hotels in the area.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

As always, Cubans are such fantastic people. They made us feel very welcome and really appreciate visitors. This hotel is very nice, as are the pools, the rooms, the amenities. The entertainment was totally fantastic, especially their Chicago production and the pool ballet. These performers are awesome. The food was quite good, fresh, plenty. All in all, a very enjoyable trip and we will be going back in the spring 2014.

Room Tip: Not too close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marichette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed very much your first visit to our resort. As you realized we are making changes. Yes, changes for good to make our resort more beautiful and more functional. We know we have big advantages already which are our workers who give their very best every day to make sure you have a great holiday. As we have said before, they are best asset.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We came back on the 25th of November from an absolutely stunning holiday. From Ana and Marielyse at the front desk to Roberto the beach bartender and the two Jose's, it was phenominal. The entertainment was awesome (thanks Adrian, or Robert from Saskatoon) and the food was terrific. Those people who wrote a review giving the food a negative review must have been at a different resort. But it was the staff that will make us return. Although it was fairly windy,the beach was stunning as was the water. Alex the pool waiter made sure our glasses were always full and then some. The 2 Jose's at the hotel bar were just as attentive. Alain the bartender at the snack bar always had a smile and Mojito ready for us.
Thank you again to all the staff that made a fantastic memory for us and see you all soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DarEl2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
It is always so nice to feel that recognition from our guests’ side, since that encourages us to be even better. You are the reason why we are here and we devote to make you happy so that you keep on coming. Managers do not stay in the office in front of the computer all the time. We walk all the service areas and the hotel in general to make sure all is working properly, but we could not do our job well without the help of our workers who as we have said before, are our best asset.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our 4th time back to this great resort for us, and first since Iberostar took over, and the resort, the incredible staff, and beach did not disappoint!!

We traveled out of Toronto on Nov. 16th, with Air Canada Rouge, with all things running smoothly. The great thing about Cayo Coco, and the area resorts, is the short 15 minute bus ride from the airport, so technically out of Toronto, you can be on the beach in about 4 1/2 hours. ( And no, you do not hear, nor rarely even see an air plane coming or going )

So here are my thoughts.......

Overall Atmosphere -

We've always felt this resort had a Village / Small town Vibe. Within a day or two, you feel you know everyone, guests and staff, and this remains true.

(We didn't bring our kids on this trip, but in the past, when they were 6 and 7, we allowed them lots of room to wander, since the resort had that village atmosphere. Like I said by day 2 or 3, most people knew us and our kids).

Its a very flat resort, with great walkways to stroll on at night. On this particular trip, the resort was very quiet, maybe 200 guests, so the nights were very quiet in the lobby bar, which is fine with us, since we can enjoy ourselves, whether slow or busy. The Mojito isnt a Go To Party resort, in my opinion. I think if the resort had maybe 600 or so guests, that would strike a perfect balance, a little bit more energy.

The Mojito is a great resort to bring your kids, in my opinion. And we will be returning in March with them. Partly due to the Beach, which is very safe for young kids to swim.

Staff -

There are hundreds if not thousands of comments regarding the staff. They are all true. I won't get into naming names, but they are all fantastic. From reception thru to bar and restaurant servers, grounds keepers, and beach staff..... all are the nicest people. I wish our spanish was stronger, but the level of English spoken among the staff is quite good.

Food -

We never lose weight while at this resort. There is a large selection of food to have (fresh fruit / breads / cheeses / salads), so technically you could eat something different everyday.

That said, I could see how some people may be disappointed with the Buffet. Not the fresh grilled food but the standard steam tray area. It seemed very limited to us, with a lot of duplication.....like potatoes prepared 3 different ways, or 3 different types of rice. When you only have maybe 10 trays in the "hot station", duplication is a concern. This is why I'm only giving the review a 4 / 5.

Like I said, we found lots of ways to eat, and the grilled fish is incredible. But being a regular on tripadvisor, I know that Food is a major complaint for people.

We actually found ourselves eating healthier on this trip, lots of salads / fruit, which isnt a bad idea considering the level of drink intake!

The food at the pool bar area was really, really good. When in doubt the cheeseburgers and fries here were fantastic. And the wait staff in this area really work hard!

COFFEE.....If there was one thing I'd like to see is, honestly, Canadian style coffee! I'm not asking to change anything but that. Keep everything else traditional Cuban style food, but change the coffee (particularly at the Buffet). This would make a lot of people happy!

Tip # 1..... if You're a beach lover like us, bring tupperware and order at the pool bar and bring the food to the beach to eat.

Rooms / Grounds -

We requested a room in the 2200 area, near the quiet pool, and reception came thru for us. I believe we stayed in 2206, upper floor. Beautiful chalet style, vaulted ceiling with great wood work. Our balcony was amazing, with beautiful curtains to allow the doors to be open, and bugs mostly kept out. Lots of hot water and the maid service was great. AC was TOO Strong!

There are no coffee makers in the room, or on the resort, so if you like to bring your own coffee, bring your own brewer.

The grounds and gardens are really well maintained. The staff do an incredible job. The pool is very clean. As mentioned the walkways are great at night to stroll with a drink, after dinner.

Beach -

We had no issues with getting a Sun Hut, partly due I'm sure to the low number of guests.

We love this beach, its great to play on when the tide goes out. There seems to be a bit more rocks exposed now, but if you go down about 50 meters from the beach bar ( towards Tryp) you get perfect sandy bottom to swim in.

The side of the resort thats closed, has the best stretch of beach, but there is no bar on that side.

Its a great beach for walking on / running on.

Other ideas -

- The Cigar lounge is really nice. It was quiet at night, but it was cool hanging around, meeting people, shooting pool, having a few drinks. If the resort is busier, this place is incredible.

- The Lobby Bar is very intimate. Easy to meet people, and great service.

- We only did one A La Carte and it did not disappoint. And the piano player was great. We didnt have a reservation, but the Manager took care of us. We sat at the bar, had a glass of wine (tipped them very well), and we quickly found ourselves at a table! But its best to reserve.....

- We did the Spa one afternoon with some friends who were at the TRYP. It was actually a lot of fun, well worth the experience. There were 10 of us, so it was like a private party for us, which added to the experience. 10 of us on one bus, and we had the Spa to ourselves.

I think thats all i've got for now...... We'll be seeing you in late March, along with our Kids!!

PS: WOW, almost forgot about the bug bites....it's not like in Canada, when you know mosquitos are out. These little "Buggers" get ya when you're not aware. Many people recommend bug spray, but next time we will bring a wipe on Lotion repellant. We only had maybe 12 bites, but man, they are itchy itchy itchy! There isn't a swarm..... they bugs are completely random. It was really strange, but this is a minor thing, just come prepared with repellant, and be diligent about applying it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JoefromStCatharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
Wonderful to hear you loved your holidays so much. Yes, you have seen it with your own eyes. Our staff will walk the extra mile to make it better for you. You are the most important person in our resort. We have a job because you and many other people come to visit us, so we have to make it right.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just came from two weeks stay in Mojito. We had absolutely fantastic time there. This is not the first time but definitely one of the best. Mojito is improving under the new management of Iberostar. We spoke to Cubans that work in hotel and they all saying only good things about the hotel and its Spanish manager. Food is descent - not a big variety but good quality. Rooms are clean, air conditioning works just fine and surprisingly not noisy. Lobby bar is also great. At this time of the year beach is narrow due to tides. But closer to 10 am tide goes away and you have a wonderful sand. Please keep in mind that this is not a big hotel with a lot of entertainment. I think it is mostly suitable for couples over 30. At least all people we saw there been 30-70 years old. If you want to have younger generation around, go to Trip Cayo Coco. Personally we didn't like Tryp Cayo Coco at this time. Too much noise, too many smoking people. But of course it is up to you. I would give one advice - make sure you are tipping. This is not required but definitely makes your stay even better. Personally we tipped 1 peso every breakfast, lunch and dinner and every night 1 peso in a lobby bar and of course our camarera (room services) every day (1 peso too). You are not going to spend too much but you make Cubans happy and they trying to make you happy too. Every day our waiter was running to us asking what is needed. We've been served immediately. Waitress at dinner time remembers us for many years and meets us as close friends. She knows what we prefer and makes everything ready as soon as we enter the buffet. Those small things make you stay really nice and comfortable.

THIS IS A NOTE TO PET LOWERS: PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE HELP!!!! there is the small Souvenirs Shop right between Mojito and Tryp Cayo Coco. You will find it walking on a beach toward Tryp Cayo Coco hotel. The Cuban guy that works there picking up puppies and kittens from the streets of Moron (the closest Cuban city) and brings them to the island where they have at least some food from tourists. They all very skinny and hungry like crazy. During two weeks of our stay we were bringing them food every day. I would like anyone who reads my review to try to bring at least couple hamburgers, some chicken, fish, butter, milk - whatever you can to feed them. The very last day of our stay the guy brought two more puppies. One of them has a broken leg I think. If you have a heart, you will help them!!! THANK YOU IN ADVANCE!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank designxworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.
We keep on having very nice reviews and we are very happy for that. We see you are repeat guests and that this time has been one of your best. That is also a good piece of news since somehow it means you see some improvement. That is what we are trying to do all the time, improving service and facilities. Thank you for your kinds words for the workers.
Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.
Best Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
18.3 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,101 reviews
188.8 mi away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#43 of 64 in Varadero
21 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Mojito

Address: Ave de Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $121 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Mojito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
352 Standard Rooms ( 36 of them are Superior Rooms). 1 buffet (divided into two sections: Lotus and Los Portales), 2 a la carte restaurants with 3 menus (italian, international and gourmet), a snack bar, a grill, a disco, a cigar lounge, 7 bars. It also have an anfitheatre, a mini club, 3 sweet water swimming pools (main, only adults and only children), 3 tennis courts, a gym, a massage saloon and a nautical sports center. Among other services there are: Conference room, wi fi Internet service, shops, beauty parlor , Money exchange, rent- a- car, tourism desk and medical service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your IBEROSTAR Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing