We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Iberostar Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Myself and 2 friends travelled Feb 20th - 27th. Online check in with WestJet was fast and easy.

No flight delays, no complaints about the plane.

Check in at the hotel was quick and easy.

We were in block 18, which was great. It was close to the pool, buffet and bars. The rooms were clean, although a little bare. The beds are pretty uncomfortable, but never had an issue falling asleep after a day and night of beer and sun.

We didn't have any issues with running out of hot water, or blackouts.

I left my safe open for a full day once by accident and found nothing missing or disturbed.

The food was good compared to other experiences I've had in Cuba. Always something to eat, never went hungry.
The drinks were great, not watered down at all, and they even had random "top shelf" brands if you ask for them by name.

I assume the entertainment was good, although we didn't watch any shows, it was always a full house by the stage.

The beach was a bit of a walk away, but we didn't have a problem with that at all, it was a nice walk.

The grounds were well taken care of, and the pool was cleaned daily.

Security was a bit of a downer, I think they need to keep in mind, they aren't running a 5 star resort, they will get springbreakers, and they are pumping them full of alcohol day and night, what do they expect will happen?
Other than that, the staff was great and always friendly.

I would return to this resort tomorrow if I could!

Room Tip: Block 18 is close to everything, but you will get a bit of noise from the snack bar 'bar' at...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tinaweena197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

DearGuest,

We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

Like other guests, you give an overall description of the different facilities and service at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and be sure we effort ourselves to raise our standards and give a better service. Unlike other years, this time we did not have big amount of students for March break since we know they really get mad when on drinks. We have received many comments about the rooms not been dated but as said before we already started to work on this issue and they are getting very pretty.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,669)
There are newer reviews for Iberostar Mojito
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 3,669 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was at Iberostar Mojito from Marck 5-12, 2013. I would not recommend this resort. We had no hot water for two days, it did finally get fix after 4 complaints but it is not right. The rooms were very old and tired. The beds were very hard and the the lay out of the room is not family friendly. The rooms were not very clean and our room was infested with bees and nothing was done about it. The fridge was never restocked and there wasn't even anything to drink in it when we go there. The staff were wonderful and were always willing to help most of the time. As for the food, I know Cuba is not known for their food but the food at this resort was awful. It was always cold, not many choices. I did like that there was alot for childern to do and the beach was great though. I would not recommend the resort though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank candy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

We apologize for the inconvenience we occasionally had with the hot water due to a failure in equipment, on our records this happened for a few hours and in only one building. Yes, we know our rooms are a bit dated and we have already started the updating process in many buildings and will continue till we finish the whole room area. It should have been clean though since that is something which has nothing to do with investment but with service.

That the food was always cold and there were no choices, well, we invite you to read most of the other guest comments previous or following yours. Thank you for your comments about the staff and for the children’s facilities.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and 4 year old stayed at Iberostar Mojito for a week at the beginning of March 2013. It was my 4th trip to Cuba and first to Cayo Coco.

After staying here, I have realized that the star system in Cuba really doesn't matter. Because Cuba is the way it is, all of the resorts will have the same standard-issue sheets, food, and (seemingly watered-down) alcohol. There is no milk -- not the kind that Canadians would recognize -- anywhere in Cuba so don't ask or look for it (milk is rationed out by the government and given to families with children). If you're used to all-inclusives and like them, this one is pretty good. If you have travelled to other parts of the Caribbean that have more European influence, you likely won't like this resort (or probably any other in Cuba). That being said, I don't think Cuba is capable of a true 4 or 5 star resort.

So, as for the resort, we found it to be pretty clean by Cuban standards. We think the beach in Varadero is nicer than the one on Cayo Coco. The service was overall pretty friendly and prompt. As for the food, it really depends on your taste. I'm a foodie so I didn't really like much of the food (we would never advise anyone to travel to Cuba for the food). My husband and I both got sick while there but I can't say if it is the result of the food or something else. In our opinion, the only food worth eating at the resort is at the International restaurant.

And, in the event this is read by the management, you seriously need to invest in (if you can) new pillows, bedsheets, and bathroom towels. The ones we had have definitely seen better days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiddyUpEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

DearGuest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

Even when we do not agree completely or partially with some of your statements your opinion is valid and helps us to continue to improve our weakest areas and standards. We do have milk, and good quality one, perhaps not the kind you like the most. It is served in restaurant, usually for breakfast, as well as in most bars. We know we cannot cater for everybody’s taste but generally speaking most of our guests have found the food nice and with plenty of choices. There is still room for improvement, which is right. Alcohol watered-down, definitively not here.

We will double check for the discarding process in the chambermaid department since there is new linen and pillows available. This is a human-service mistake we should correct and we apologize for this inconvenience. Thank you for your comments about the staff.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Paid $1,150 and booked 3 wks in advance with Sunwing. Flew from western Canada
I wouldn’t say that this is particularly couple or family oriented resort but it definitely wasn’t party spot. Higher quality overall but not the singles/party atmosphere you’d find like in the Varadero region.
Food:
Excellent and many different selections, easily as good as mid-tier Canadian restaurants. If you are at any of the order to cook meat or pasta stations expect huge wait times. Stick with the buffet items if you want to get in and out fast. The water is safe to drink at the restaurants though I wouldn’t risk drinking from the room washroom tap.
3 Allah cartes (lol) best to avoid the Italian one. You are better off getting pasta at the buffet. Plus the Italian one is in between the pool and snack bar and regular bar and there are no walls but lots of drunken foot traffic. You have to book these all in advance and can only do so in the mornings from like 9-11.
Rooms:
Go for the ground levels (there are no elevators) you get your own patio area. If noise bothers you, look at the map before and choose a building in the outer perimeter. The central pools and snack bar and regular bar area open all night and when the ‘disco’ closes at 2 am, and this will be where everyone goes. Noise will emanate towards the central buildings till a minimum of 330 am and often till 5 am.
Some 3rd floors have an ‘ocean’ view, but if you want to see the ocean, go to the beach. It’s fantastic, known as the best in all of Cayo Coco.
Rooms are large, fully A/C’d and powerful at that. Big washrooms, great hot and cold water pressure. Fresh towels every day. Electronic safe, a bar fridge and a TV with many English stations.
Activities:
Do the Cave Disco night excursion and do so on the Tuesday and not the Thursday. The day-long Catamaran cruise is great as well and includes 2 snorkeling opportunities as well as an onboard lobster lunch (no butter sauce unfortunately)
The gym has brand new and high end cardio equipment, the same we had in our office gym that just opened up late last year! Not much in terms of weight equipment or machines.
Hotel Shops:
As of March 3rd, it was cheaper to buy booze and cigars at the hotel boutique than it was at the duty free at the Cuban airport and the savings were significant. The selection might be smaller but if you see something you like there, grab it right then.
Money Changing:
Do it at the airport, its closest to the exchange rate while the hotel gave us 90 pesos for 100 CAD, at the airport it is closer to 99 pesos.

Cautionary Notes:
The ‘Dancers’ that perform in all the evening shows are brought it from the outside and I don’t believe they are actual hotel employees. A few of them will come to the disco’s and interact with the guests. There was more than one occasion where some of the women were about to go back to the rooms with male guests and the issue of “payment” came up right before they were to exit the disco. Some of the males kept eyes on the more drunken, unescorted, female guests. One guy actually told me he was challenged to a fight later in the night by one of the dancers simply because he had warned one of the female guests in his party to be careful around this particular dancer, known to make advances towards female guests. I’m sure these were isolated incidents and for the most part everyone’s behavior is above board but I would be remiss if I didn’t report on what I saw and heard.

Room Tip: Ground floors are best, there are no elevators either
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sullythemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

We have realized you had a great experience and thank you for sharing it. As we have said before we have a new chef who has been working hardly to make excellent dishes with what we have. About the pasta bar, we have already opened a second one to avoid big lines as it used to be before. Yes, most guests prefer the pasta bar at the buffet rather than the Italian menu which we will study to improve it. Our gym is certainly the best well equipped between Cayo Coco and Cayo Guillermo hotels.
You are right to say the dancers are not direct employees from the hotel and we pay for them to their company. We will keep an eye on this kind of misbehavior you came across with while at the Disco since as you have said yourself theirs is far from most of our workers behavior and professionalism.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just Returned from Cuba one our first trip and the experience was one of amazement. Everyone seems to knock Cuban food but I can honestly say I haven't eaten that well at ANY canadian hotel before. Seafood... OUTSTANDING!!!! The diverse buffet that rarely repeated was unbelievable and the A' La' Carte's something from a dream. The "learning curve" of traveling to cuba unfortunately didn't set in until later on into our trip I.E. hours to avoid the beach as to avoid sand flea bites... TIP morning and afternoon by the beach is OK but as the temperaturee cools off move up to the pools for the rest of the afternoon (wished someone told us that) Cayo Coco is quite secluded so theres not much for "local viewing" unless you want to travel to Moron (approx 1.5hrs away) But for us that was just fine. It was quiet, relaxing, the staff cater to your every whim, I've never had service this good. Guillermo and Gabriel at the snack bar were especially amazing at fixing drinks and always had a smile or laugh for you. The nightly shows were amazing and very entertaing. Although We dont have children it appears that the resort is very children friendly and loved watching the performers getting the kids involved in activities. Without letting this review get too long winded I'll just say this. If you want a wonderfully relaxing getaway you CAN'T do any better than the Iberostar Mojito. Mucho Gracias and we will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

We are glad to hear you are among the numerous clients who enjoyed their stay and we are proud to hear you will be coming back as well. Thank you also for your nice words for the staff. Yes, apart from what we call mini disco with the children at nights, we also have our children’s club with a pool and various games during the day and with a very professional staff working there. We have to say that our new chef has managed to make excellent dishes despite here in Cuba we, sometimes lack different kind of products, spices among them. We do keep on working to improve our services and facilities on a daily basis.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Iberostar Mojito Feb 20-27/13.I will not try to duplicate previous reviews. The airport at Cayo Coco is small but very efficient.Bus ride 15-20 minutes to the hotel.Purchase CAD$ to CUC is the same rate at the airport or hotel - you will loose 7-8% .Use CUC for tipping.We stayed around the adult pool and yes only adults -this is enforced.There is no bar around this pool but Alex will look after you.The lunch grill food at the main pool was very good and the best selection we have seen for a all inclusive. The wife says white wine from Spain served everywhere is very good-The a la cartes excellent ! The beach is awsome,the water warm shallow walk towards the point there is a beautiful cove.We enjoyed the catamaran full day excursion which included a lobster lunch and all alcholic beverages for $162.00 total for 2-the snorkling was amazing. Dark rum one litre bottle 8 CUC or white rum 5 CUC Havana Club-same price at the Iberostar store as the airport duty free.Note-there was a group of nine young males from Niagara region that went overboard with drinking and total jerk behaviour ,an embarassment to us Canadians. The resort reacted and did not tolerate this and put a complete stop to them day 3.Yeah! We totally recommend this hotel. Thanks to Sunwing and Iberostar! Dave & Donna Carlisle Ont

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Rebels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

You have made a quick description of the hotel services to contribute to the knowledge of upcoming guests. Thank you. We are glad to hear you did enjoy the hotel and that you will recommend it to other guests. As you may have realized with the passing of times we get mostly very good reviews and we will to continue to work till we see they are all good because we would not like to lose any clients and expect to become the best and preferred hotel in the area.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Travelled to the Mojito Feb 27-Mar 9th, 2013 with 7 adults and 3 children under 6.

Most reviews as mentioned below are pretty accurate. I will highlight our thoughts and some tips

Resort
Close to Airport this is a big bonus - 10 min drive
Currency exchange right on sight and they have lots of ones for tips
Internet - Obsolete (no cards were available during our stay) So if you require the internet keep this in mind
Check in and Check out went very smooth. Not the most friendly staff at the front desk. Surprising because everyone else is extremely friendly. Only issue was we waited for someone to take us to our room but ended up walking
Resort is very large. Walk to the beach is a bit of a hike especially if you need to eat or use the washrooms. Would recommend putting some washrooms closer in the future. Not extremely stroller friendly but we managed.
Grounds are immaculate
This hotel is going through changes and you can see little improvements every day

Rooms
Basic
Large
Very Clean
No bugs
Linens very dated - but they are changing them. I got brand new everything second last day it was wonderful - I heard flat screens are next on the upgrade. People complain about the TV's but do you really watch for that long??
Very Safe - Accidently left my safe open all day passport full of cash, ipad, ipod, camera, cell phone all out. Nothing was touched
Yes - there is some Adult TV that comes on Channel 14 after 11pm each night yikes parents beware :)
Air conditioning works very well. We had to turn it off as the weather was chilly a few days

Pools
Great - there are 3
Kiddies pool was never used by anyone. We hung out there on the windy days. laid our towels down and put on our own music it was very nice. kids enjoyed it too.
You do need to get there early to save a chair. As there are "those people" that need to reserve 5 chairs in the shade at the pool and the beach. Seriously!
The adult pool was warmer and very quiet

Animation crew
Always had something for everyone. Never pushy and always so very friendly.

Kids Club
This was wonderful. They had a number of various activities you could come and go as the kids required. The women who runs it is the most patient and caring person there. She loves the kids and knew every child’s name even if she saw them only once. Tip her well she is worth every cent.

Food
Was surprising very good. I am not sure what people expect at large resorts. There is going to be good and bad you just need to be creative. There was something for everyone you just have to have an open mind. I am pretty selective but I had no complaints. One thing is they could use a few more blenders in the morning and an additional station for pasta in the evenings.
Pizza soooo good. Never tried the other snack by the pool but my friends had nothing bad to say.
Coffee was sometimes good and sometimes not the best. Just go to another place and grab a fresh one.
Food seemed to get better every day. The choices seemed to be more as the week went by
Breads/ Desserts were amazing

Restaurants
International was the best
Gourmet a close second
Italian not good at all.
Note: all restaurants are open air so bring a jacket or wrap they are chilly
Cigar bar - nice for a drink at any time during the day or night. Cleanest washrooms ever in this bar
Disco - fun place for a few drinks and a couple dances. Didn't spend a lot of time there.
Buffet - has the a/c pumping out all day every day. Really cold at night we found. Bring something to cover up.

Beach
Amazing
Best sand along the strip and the widest beach as well
The wind was pretty high most days so that made for lots of waves.


Staff
Just about everyone is very friendly and loves to chat if you’re willing. They love children.
Noe at the Buffet is the hardest working manager I saw there. That man does everything and always is smiling
Noel in Guest relations was very helpful, friendly and talking with him was a highlight of our trip.
Maria our maid was excellent. You needed something she was able to help us out.
Bartenders and Waiters always smiling

We attended the GM's Cocktail hour. It was interesting to see the people that make this hotel special.

There was a gas leak the first night there, the staff did a great job to keep everyone safe, but no real plan on how they would proceed if the leak couldn't be fixed. Asked for blankets so we could sit by the pool with the kids but there were none available? Thought this was weird as they didn't know if it would take 1 hour or 10. That was the only concern we had.

We were really happy with our stay and can't wait to come back and see all the changes.

Last note remember Feb/Mar are still their winter.....bring some extra-long sleeves, pants and jackets/sweaters. We found it pretty chilly and should have been a bit better prepared. Not the fault of the resort

Room Tip: Building 20 close to Buffet, Lounge bars and entertainment
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank YYCTravelgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

You have made a holistic approach of what our resort is all about and of your own experience as our guest which should be useful for next coming clients. Please notice that we did know what to do with the situation of the gas escape. We were a few minutes away from evacuating the whole area and proceed with the emergency plan, but fortunately it was not necessary. Once again we keep on receiving nice comments about our staff and that makes us very proud.
They make the difference when walking that extra mile to make our guests happy despite a little problem here or there as we said before. It is true not of all them act the same but those who are behind will have to improve their performance otherwise will not be able to continue with us.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.9 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,136 reviews
18.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,257 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mojito

Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $102 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mojito 4*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing