We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Destination”
Review of IBEROSTAR Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I were there Feb 15 - 22. Our experience overall was very good.
Lis the manager of guest services went out of her way to ensure our Honeymoon was special. Thanks again for your great service for us Lis.
The property was spotless and the grounds staff do a wonderful job of cleanup and attention to detail.
The gym was managed by ILan and was in good repair and the selection was very good considering the resources and availability, hr was an excellent host and was very friendly.
Our room was spotlesly cleaned each day which we appreciated as well.
The pools seemed to be kept very clean which again is important to us.
It was reading week for University students and was quite noisy around there at 2 and 300 in the morning and I would have appreciated more security presence to keep that at a minimum as most of people are there for rest and not to be party animals into the night. I realize it was a minority of inconsiderate and imature individuals making it harder for the rest of us.
All in all a great holiday and would recommend this resort to friends and family
The previous positive reviews say it all so I will not be repetitive.

Room Tip: 20 block was an excellent location close to pool and looby cafe but it was reading week and was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank randy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

It is very nice to hear you enjoyed your honey moon and your time with us. We work for that, to make your holidays a pleasant event. This year unlike before we had very few students since we know from our experience that they misbehave and disturb other guests but it seems to be the few ones did not stay quite either.

Yes, many people enjoy our pools, our workers make a great job there and there are different choices having the adult pool for those who prefer to be quiet far from music

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 3,688 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

just returned from this hotel yesterday and still could not sleep at night because of those itchy bites that covering our bodies. We think that it was fleas in our beds. We were there for 2 weeks and the first 1.5 week we did not have problems, but then we asked our maid to change our bed sheets (they were never changed before) and from that date we were bitten badly every night including my 6 month old baby. The rooms has not been renovated in 12 years (some of the staff told us). Rooms clean, but old and dated, smelled of smoke and mold and very dark at nights. The beds were hard and very uncomfortable, no headboard, drab blankets, little or no art on the concrete walls. Patio door was barely able to open, very unwieldy. No iron and iron board available in the rooms and in the whole hotel. The mini bar were restocked only with a bottle of water per day. As a nursing mother who needs to drink a plenty of water I was really struggling with having a bottle of water per day for 2 adults. When we asked our maid to give us more she said she did not have any bottles left. Our old beach towel was stolen at the pool, and we needed to pay 20 pesos for that to the hotel. We are pretty sure that the lifeguards at the pool took it in order to kick us out from the pool gazebo where they would sit by themselves the whole day. This gazebo had the most shade and was farthest from the DJ stand so it was the best spot for our baby. We used the gazebo for two days and on the third day the towel disappeared from the pool chair when I went to the washroom. Going to the beach with a baby stroller was not easy too. In order to avoid the high beach stairs, we were using the side pathway that is exiting at the beach bar. However after couple days they closed this pathway with the maintenance signs. However no maintenance was done over there during the rest of our vacation and the hotel staff was constantly using this pathway by themselves. No toilet on the beach and my mom saw the poop in the ocean. As the beach is far from the dining areas, it can really benefit from having some food available there. The hotel staff at the beach was constantly collecting empty beach chairs back to their corner in order to receive tips from people who just came back to the beach after lunch for example. It was our first trip to Cuba and we were in all-inclusive in Mexico, Jamaica, Dominican, Turkey, Egypt and Thailand. And only in Cuba we felt that the goal of some of hotel staff to get as much money as possible from hotel guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gulya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

As we have said before Iberostar started here less than three months ago and we have made a lot of renovation before we took over. Yes, we know our rooms are a bit dated. That is true and it is in our budget to start renovating them from this year on. As a matter of facts we have already started in some buildings. This is a tropical country and the resort is surrounded by lush vegetation what makes it worsen. Should you have requested a room change we would have done it with pleasure. We apologize for these issues.
We do not understand what went wrong the sheets. Firstly, bad service from the chambermaid if you had to request to have your bed sheets changed after so long, but the sheets are nicely washed in the laundry. We may think that if your baby was beaten you may have checked the sheets and you do not mention you found any bugs on it. What we do have had before and some people blame the sheets (I am not saying this is the case) is small flying bugs, a lot smaller than mosquitoes which are very disturbing and you can hardly see them. As a matter of facts some people call them “no see them”, here they are called “jején” which are usually avoided with regular mosquito repellent.

For the moment we provide the laundry and ironing service in the hotel laundry place. We apologize again for those problems which did not make of your stay a very enjoyable one, as most of other clients did have as you may have realized from their comments.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations. If you are willing to give us a second try, we will not disappoint you.

Best Regards

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Took my family (including two kids ages 2 and 4) to the Iberostar Mojito (formerly La Laguna) in Cayo Coco last month. This was our first time going to an all-inclusive resort as a family though I've been to others on my own previously.
Having been told about how bad the food was in Cuba in general by many travellers prior to visiting (followed by the world's worst hamburger upon my arrival there mid-afternoon) I was a bit concerned. The buffet is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner but food is available around the clock at the poolside bar. Our family arrived mid-afternoon and having travelled all night and day we did not wish to remain awake until 1830 when the buffet opened for dinner thus the bad burger decision. My concern was put to rest the following morning however when we went for a wonderful breakfast in the dining hall. Admittedly there are a few things on the buffet that were somewhat bland in taste but the majority of the food was excellent. Especially the freshly grilled sea bass I would have each day for lunch. There are half a dozen different freshly squeezed tropical juices available each morning, cappucinos, made to order omelettes, lots of fresh fruit, cereal for the kids...we had no trouble feeding our little picky eaters. Dinner at the buffet was also excellent but even better were the a la carte meals which were provided to the guests at least three different nights of the trip in one of the resort's restaurants free of charge. We had some very decent Spanish Red Wine with most of our lunches and dinners.
I guess my best take on the food situation for future travellers who've not been to Cuba, is to avoid the North American diet...Cubans make Cuban food well and it is delicious! Take advantage of it.

The staff were excellent throughout the entire resort and made guests feel warm and welcome.
We had excellent housekeeping, and were very grateful for this given the spectacular mess our children would make each day. Special kudos to PR Manager Ariel for his extra attention to detail and making our first Cuban experience one to remember.
The beach here is beautiful....pristine white sand beach miles long with hardly anyone on it. Quite a change from the packed beaches of Mexico or Hawaii.
There is a kids club available over by the kiddie pool, and there are some craft like activities to do with resort staff. We chose not to utilize the services but were pleased to have the option if need be. Our kids spent most of the time at the beach or in the larger pools which were very nice. A walk around the resort and beach will provide you with a nice view of crabs, hundreds of jellyfish in the lagoon, mangrove swamp, lots of fish large and small, and local sea birds including a few pelicans. We even saw a kingfisher hunting.

Overall the resort was quiet and calm, and booked far below capacity, not a college spring-break type gong show which was excellent for us family types. This may be a really good window of opportunity to visit having only been re-opened as Iberostar Mojito back November or December.

The room we had was spacious and clean, my only real criticism of the entire trip (other than that awful hamburger) was that our room smelled quite musty, like too many years of damp tropical weather had embedded the smell permanently in the room. It wasn't unbearable however, and if I were to return I might consider bringing some air freshener/febreeze/incense or whatever. TV in the room had English news channels, many Spanish channels and Disney Channel for the kids which seemed to have a mix of English and Spanish shows. Not that you want to spend much time hanging out in the room! Bathroom had an outlet that was dual voltage, others were 220v. I brought a voltage converter but did not need it. However I do recommend you bring a travel outlet adaptor as the majority of the outlets were different than those we have in North America.
Overall impression is that I most definitely would go back to this resort, and recommend it to others, as well as recommending Cuba as a fantastic place to visit in general.

Room Tip: Bottom floors have a small walk-out patio with table and chairs, nice to sit for a morning coffee an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank jefjon1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recent reviews say it all. This place is very nice. Clean, good food, great beach. I really have nothing to complain about. Just wanted to pass on a few points that may help out future visitors. a) there are no irons / iron boards in rooms and there are none available - only option is to pay for the ironing service (the price list and order form are in the closet - reasonable) b) no beer supplied in the room fridge - only water and pop (our pop was only restocked once during our stay) - option was to get a few glasses to go when returning to your room c) as is the norm in Cuba - there are no faceclothes supplied - bring your own if required d) only 2 small bars of soap supplied, we brought one bar and had to use it e) we brought spice, hot sauce and jam but didn't use them as the food is good e) you may want to bring ear plugs - we were in bldg 15 and it was very loud at night due to disco and partying afterward, but the location was great during the day - close to pool, buffet, lobby, etc. f) no umbrellas available - one night that we had an a la carte & it was pouring rain - the transporation cart wasn't charged. We missed the a la carte as it was a fair walk from our room g) there were no bugs at all (nothing crawling in the rooms or in the air). g) water pressure and temperature were perfect everyday (morning or night).

I would definately recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank SunshineMumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our family had an absolutely amazing vacation at the Iberostar Mojito.
To sum it all up:
Food: Very Good. We did not go hungry. We were somewhat disappointed with the Ialian ala carte . The evening was a little chilly, so the wide open location was uncomfortable. The food was so so. I agree with a previous review stating that the buffet Italian was much better. The International was fantastic. Buffet , excellent service , delicious food.
Cigar Lounge: A must !!! Freddie was fun and entertaining. We went there every night. We were dissappointed that the disco was relocated to the cigar lounge and interrupted our fun evening. We left and went to the lobby, which wasn't as much fun (and didn;t have Freddie :( ). Not sure why they didn't use the Disco location for the Disco.
Rooms: Clean, water well stocked, and house keepers very friendly. New towel creation every day!!
Entertainment: Good. Only thing is that we never knew what was happening. A schedule (similar to one posted near the stage) could be included in the envelope given upon arrival. Entertainment staff worked hard to keep everyone informed as to what was going on.
Beach : Beautiful, clean white sand, georgeous ocean, well worth the short walk.
Gounds : Kept very clean. Well maintained. Hard workers !!!
This is a 4-5 star resort . We are so glad we booked here.

Room Tip: Building 20 , third floor. Close to everything , can see the ocean from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank China_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

First time in Cuba and stayed at the Iberostar Mojito (Feb 12-19/13). We were very impressed right from the start of our vacation. The resort was the cleanest I have seen including the rooms. We had been told, and had read reviews stating that you do not go to Cuba for the food; however, we found the food was great with the exception of the beef. Since there were so many choices, this was not a problem. This was the nicest beach I have ever seen, not crowded and plenty of lounge chairs. The service at the Iberostar was wonderful. Hats off to our waiter (Rowland?) in the buffet for going that extra mile. We will. without a doubt, be returning to the Iberostar Mojito and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 21 which was great - away from the noise and very close to the adults pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jstod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to tell you that we really appreciate you have chosen our resort Iberostar Mojito to spend your well-deserved holidays.
We really appreciate you have taken the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Our staff is our best asset and you know they will always walk the extra mile to give the best service possible.
Once again we thank you for your comments which are of great importance to keep on improving our work.
Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just coming back from Cayo Coco Iberostar Mojito.(feb.21 2013)

Very pleased with this hotel,food is very good,plenty of choice,and we could go to the restaurants which were all delicious,the service is great too.Thanks to Joel,Michel Amauri and Iasmin for your excellent service!

The people very nice very polite and very helpful through the whole place.
We found the resort and the beach very secure.

The color of the sea is unbelievable and the beach is light and soft especially in the
Mojito's area.
The animation is great and the people who clean rooms are quite good and nice.

We don't have anything to complain about this place ... everything was great.
We had a couple of days not so hot but the smile of the staff and their kindness made us forget about the bad weather .Thanks to Osvaldo the gardener for his attention.
Thanks to the whole team we'll go back for sure !!!

Room Tip: I'd suggest the 22 area which is quiet and near the quiet pool, so you can read in peace and rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank marie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago_Ortiz, Director General at IBEROSTAR Mojito, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really thank you for having chosen our resort to spend your holidays and we appreciate that you have taken part of your precious time to write a review about your experience with us.

We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your holidays as well as most of our guests did. Finally we have opened another pasta bar in the buffet to avoid the big lines. Pastas are really preferred by many people. Generally speaking most of our guests are satisfied with our food and we know we still have room for improvement but for sure we do the best with what we have. Thank you also for your nice words for the staff who are our best asset. We continue to improve services and facilities and for sure with the passing of time our standards will go up as well as our prestige which should take us to be the preferred hotel in the area. Thank you for your intentions to come back.

Once again, we thank you for your considerations and are looking forward to seeing you sometime in the near future to share and enjoy with the Iberostar Mojito’s team. We will not spare efforts to make your next visit always better than your previous one.

See you soon!

General Manager
Iberostar Mojito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
18.3 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,056 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
0 mi away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#52 of 64 in Varadero
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,350 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,353 reviews
0.6 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Mojito

Address: Ave de Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $120 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IBEROSTAR Mojito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
352 Standard Rooms ( 36 of them are Superior Rooms). 1 buffet (divided into two sections: Lotus and Los Portales), 2 a la carte restaurants with 3 menus (italian, international and gourmet), a snack bar, a grill, a disco, a cigar lounge, 7 bars. It also have an anfitheatre, a mini club, 3 sweet water swimming pools (main, only adults and only children), 3 tennis courts, a gym, a massage saloon and a nautical sports center. Among other services there are: Conference room, wi fi Internet service, shops, beauty parlor , Money exchange, rent- a- car, tourism desk and medical service 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing