We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !”
Review of Iberostar Mojito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Mojito
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
ns
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the La Laguna from March 1st-8th this is a great spot for a nice relaxing vacation as female travelers we felt very safe here. The beach is beautiful the pool area very clean, food surprisingly good and the service is beyond excellent. this is a perfect resort for families, couples or a friends vacation not so much if you are young and want to party. From what we were told it is going to close for renovation we only hope it will not be closed for long because we can not wait to return. A must to do is go see Freddy in the Cigar Lounge its a nice place to relax after a long day.

Room Tip: block 19-20-21-22 are quiet areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    1,439
    572
    319
    208
See reviews for
953
1,369
122
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were celebrating my parents 60th wedding anniversary and had an age range of 11 to 85 years old, there were activities and facilities for everyone. My mother needs a wheelchair and the resort was easy to navigate. All the staff were extremely helpful, the life guards on the beach helped us with the wheelchair even though we had some strong young men in the group. The staff at the buffet offered to set up a table for all 19 so we could sit together. The beach was one of the most beautiful in the area, clean and swimable, a litte windy but that is beyond anyone's control. The food was tasty and good variety, we had heard it was not good but were pleasantly surprised. Enjoyed fresh coconuts every day. Some of us rented mopeds and went exploring, the mopeds were not in the best condition and one did break down and had to be fixed. La Laguna was under renovations so it was not full to capacity which added to our enjoyment as "a la carte" reservations was available.

Room Tip: All rooms on the main floor have a small deck, rooms on the second or third floors have large window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

March 8th to 15th. (Travelled with Nolitours)(Only 15 min from airport)
After reading previous reviews, was a bit nervous about this place, but it was great. Had sun every day. Average temperature was about 36, on rained one morning for about 10 min, the weather was awesome. We went as a family of 3, taking our little boy who is 7. We also travelled in a group of eight, with another family who had 2 children age 9 and 11.
I will start first off by saying the resort has been recently purchased by the Iberostar chain. The sister resort next door is closed for renovations and will be open in November 2012. This resort has some buildings closed for renovations as well, so only operating at about 50%. The buildings open that we were in, the rooms have been redone and are very clean and bright.
Beach and pools: The beach is great, a little narrow when it is high tide but very clean and the water was extremely warm when we were there. Pools there is one adult on pool with no bar, there are 2 pools in the main area one with a swim up bar and another larger pool with volleyball net, and had bar service, Alex was great passing by every 5 to 10 min to refill drinks. There was also a pool at the kids club. our kids did not use the kids club much but there was lots to do at the club and it was run very well. Lots of activities. All pools were cleaned daily and very nice.
Rooms: Bright, clean very nice. There is no balcony but 2 large windows to slide open for fresh air. Air conditioning worked great. Rooms looked to have been renovated very recent. Water provided in rooms daily but there was no pop, beer, or rum in the room. Beds are comfortable, probably the softest we have had in the south being down 6 times to Cuba and DR. Our maid was very good, cleaned our room early, usually when we were at breakfast or shortly after.
Restaurants: The main buffet was great, for Cuban food it had traste and flavour, They used spices and pepper mixes on food, Pasta bar in place too. The grilled steaked and pork and chicken were done perfectly, The morning buffet was great also lots of variety eggs, omlets, grilled as you wanted, french toast and pancakes as well. Lots of fresh fruit and salads stuff every meal. Deserts were probably the pourest part. The A La Carts you usually had a choice of one per night that you could book for the week, We went to the Cuban twice and had good meals and to the streak house once which was nice as well with the piano playing in the background. Did not go to the seafood restaurant or the VIP either. The Snack bar was open all day they had good pizzas, hot dogs, burgers and fries, vegetable salads and fruit salads. (ketchup was ok but i suggest taking your own and maybe mustard, some people took their own peanut butter and nutella, They have no maple surip for the french toast or pancakes people took that as well.)
Bars: The lobby bar makes the best drinks of all the bars, but the swim up bar and other bar by the stage and pool drinks are ok, just not as tasty. The bar in the Smoke House is also good if you go there to enjoy a cigar. The bar on the beach drinks were ok, but we usually got beer there, very cold beer, nice when you are lounging in the sun.
This resort the people spoke the most english we have ever seen down south, was very nice too see but this still appreciated the ola or gracious or denado. Works did not look for tips but they were graciously accepted.
We were spoiled the first 2 days, we got the the Thurs before March break so basically had the resort to our selves the first 2 days, the people started showing up. One very nice thing was there was no reserving of chairs and could easily get them by the pool or beach. After breakfast we would get ready and start the day by the pool usually between 8:30 and 9 and we would be the first ones there but could get chairs around the pool in the sun or shade all day. The beach was the same. Our bracelits were white and kids grey, we saw some blue ones when at lunch and supper and found out that people who were at the Blau resort 2 down from us on the beach were getting sick so the made a deal to take the customers here just for buffet meals, it was still ok where we were only at probally 40 to 50%. No lines for food or drinks all week.
Entertainment: Was ok great Cuban dance show, also went to the Magic show, first one we have seen at a resort, usually on cruises but not at resorts.
This resort is rated at a 3.5 star, but we would easily rate it 4 maybe even 4.5 star for Cuba, Probably the difference because Iberostar has taken over it. We will be going back to this resort in a year or 2 just to see all the differences that have been made.
Last the grounds crew, always polite, always working to keep everything so clean, also sold hats made form leaves and animal characters made form coconuts. Greatly appreciated and that you gave them.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the pool, because when it opens in full, some rooms could be far from the pool o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank BaillieNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I have been in Cuba more than a 100 times all over the Island but never in this location.We decided with my wife to go in February 8,2012.
It was a perfect location,beatiful weather all the time,the staff great,excellent food and entertainment.
People like: Ariel,Felix,Wilber,Jose,Adrian,Mandy,Hipolito,Yamila to remember a few make this location a great one to come back and I will be back soon.

I recommend this place to all of you. Enjoy

Room Tip: Pick area in front of swimming pool is close to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carlos_Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

My daughter and I have had a really stressful couple of years and were looking for somewhere that was peaceful and relaxing. We stayed at La Laguna from March 2 to 10, 2012 and it really fit the bill. Thanks to the assistance of Anabel in sales we were accommodated in building 22. Our room overlooked the lagoon and we had a partial ocean view. It was spacious, clean and comfortable and we were very happy with the level of service provided by the housekeeping staff. In fact, we were happy with the service throughout the resort, with most staff members being very friendly and helpful. We had heard horror stories about the food in Cuba and as vegetarians we were a little worried about finding enough to eat. We needn't have worried however as the buffet and the two a la carte restaurants we visited catered to vegetarians and the quality and variety of food was quite good. We have no comments about the animacion as we didn't really watch any of the shows. We loved the cigar bar; it has a great, laid back atmosphere and Freddy the bartender is a fund of information on Cuban history. He mixes great drinks as well! The beach is amazing with clear turquoise waters and fine white powder sand. You can walk for quite a distance in either direction. The only complaints we do have would be the weather, as it rained for one day and was windy for the rest of the week, and the snorkeling as there seemed to be very few fish in the area by the hotel's beach. But neither of these have anything to do with the hotel itself. Just a comment about tipping... please do. These lovely people work very hard for very little. If you go into the nearest town (Moron) you will get a better appreciation of their standard of living and how lucky we are.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quieter area ask for a room in one of the blocks by the adult pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roselm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Have returned to La Laguna for the 3rd time. Great place !!!! Wonderful staff from room cleaners to bar stff and servers, to pool and management. Ariel is the go to guy for any issues, any problems. He will look after you. Everyone goes out of way to be helpful. I found the food to be much improved this visit. The resort is undergoing renovations and this may change the ambience. I hope not as I plan to head back next Jan. Please tip to show your appreciation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed march 3 - 10, 2012.

So this was our 3rd time back, and 2nd with our kids. And once again, it was a great experience. The resort in our opinion is very quiet right now, and lacks some of the energy it had on our first trip in 2009, when both sides of this expansive resort was open. But that didnt change our appreciation for the beach, and the pools, and access to food/drinks. And of course, little to no lineups or waits.

If you're bringing kids (ours are 6 and 7), its a perfect place. We give our girls lots of room to roam, play and explore. And this place is prefect for that. This is the more intimate side of the resort, and with less people, lends itself to a small village, where everyone seems to get to know everyone fast. So our kids were always in a friendy environment.

Some hints.......

- the beach is fantastic. Set up your day at one of the beach huts. Bring the usual beach stuff and let the kids play, while you enjoy some drinks and some conversation. Its a great place to walk, and explore the other resorts..... note: there are a couple "hustlers" on the beach. Just learn to deal with them......

- we found the pool bar area was perfect for picking up some hamburgers / fries / pizza etc., and taking it down to the beach for lunch. If you think about it, bring some kinda plastic plates or something to bring the food to the beach. (we used cleaned out toy buckets, since we didnt bring anything).

- the main buffet is good, we brought some hot sauces etc to spice things up. The staff in the buffet and elsewhere are very attentive...... we forgot to write down there names, but i will try to name off a few later.

- the lobby bar is really good, a nice place to wind down the night, or to start your morning, after breakfast, or before heading to the beach.

- we only recently discovered the Cigar Bar. If we didnt have kids, we may have spent more time there. Kids are welcome, but ours go to bed by 8, and the bar seems more intimate and attractive later at night. the much talked about "Freddy", who runs the bar, is truly a great guy. Near perfect English, and a great story teller......I asked him to tell me a slice of Cuban history, Pre Fidel, and he was weaver of words.

- the walk to the beach is not horrible. some reviews on here mention that, and i'm not sure why they say that? Its less than 5 minutes from the main pool area. If you're older or somewhat disabled, the staff will drive you to about 50 from the beach, in one of the golf carts. just ask.

- tipping..... we tended to tip everytime we ate. just a Peso. But if everyone tipped just one peso (and most people don't), the staff would be quite loaded down with coin. we also tryed to spread the tips around, so everytime we went to the bar, we tried to use another bartener. (I'm curious to know if they share the tips? Or pool them?). But that said we didnt tip everytime we were at the bar, or if a waitress served us. Maybe one peso, every 4th or 5th visit to our table. One CUC Peso is approx $1 Cdn, so its nothing really. We tipped the room staff a total of $ 6 peso'd, or about one per day. We also left the last room staffer our travel mugs. We read somewhere on trip advisor about tipping, and warning about over tipping or giving too much, since the resort people do very well. but not all resort staff fare well, grounds people etc., try tipping people you otherwise wouldnt think of (towel booth girls, gardeners etc.,)

- One thing we decided to look into next time is taking a taxi to the airport on departure day. were not sure how much it would be, but we will look into it. You're brought way too early to the airport (which is only 10 minutes away).

- thats all i've got for this time, but here are some names of some of the staff..... Dayami (buffet and pool bar), Alain (bartender at pool bar/lobby), Tamara (waitress)......Jose at the beach bar. Alexie at the front desk was really nice to deal with (i'd tip him once or twice, after making change for me etc., nice guy, with strong english skills). There was two or three really good people in the buffet, one woman of note, big smile, well presented. And a couple guys there as well...... veyr nice people.

We did experience some issues outside the control of the resort, some rain......, delays on our flight back to Toronto.

Joe and Stacey.......

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JoefromStCatharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director Genera... I, General Manager at Iberostar Mojito, responded to this review, June 2, 2016
Dear Guest,
On behalf of all the hotel staff, and particularly the manager we would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing the Hotel.
We would like to clarify though that the hotel chain is concerned to listen to the voice of our customers through internet and dedicated an especial staff to track feedbacks and deliver them to the corresponding Managers by destination and rectify those areas in which we need to work.
Best regard
On Line Reputation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
5.9 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
18.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,968 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,194 reviews
4.6 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Mojito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Mojito

Property: Iberostar Mojito
Address: Ave. Los Hoteles, 69400, Cuba (Formerly Hotel La Laguna)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Mojito 4*
Number of rooms: 690
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Mojito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Krystal Laguna Resort
Nh Krystal Laguna Hotel
Krystal Laguna Cuba
Nh Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Villas Resort
Nh Krystal Cuba
Krystal Laguna Cayo Coco
Nh Krystal Laguna Cuba
Krystal Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing