We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time had by all even the teenagers!!!”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Just got back on Wednesday, had a great time . I went with my husband and 15 year old son he had a ball, he met loads of great teenagers who all hung out together in the evenings. The hotel seems to get a lot of repeat customers which just shows how good it is. The beach is beautiful can get a bit windy sometimes, its red hot there so dont worry whatever the weather forcast says before you go its all lies!!!!! although take a couple of jumpers because the first 4 nights that we were there, were freezing!!! we only had the thin tops we wore for the plane. but after that the nights became very hot (weird)!!!
We stayed in room 1106 which was a ground floor and in our oppinion the best located for everything, nearest to the gate leading to the wonky bridge and quiet beach right by the lower quieter pool and near to the lane that leads down to the main beach. the room smelt really damp when we got there but a bottle of talc sprinkled on the floor and in the beds soon sorted that out!!!!!! the room had a good hair dryer, iron and ironing board so don t take these you deffinately wont need yours. theres a fridge and tv. there wernt any mozzies at all but venture onto the grass areas at you peril!!!! there are fleas that live in there and they bite........ we will deffinately bee going back next easter as this seems to be the best time to go. Oh yer the fishing is great thats what my husband went for, off the rocks at the hotel and also deep sea fishing also off the bridge at the location where the speed boat trips take place. You have to go on the speed boats What Laugh!!!! £94. for 3 adults a great afternoon out of the hotel. overall The best fishing, best beaches, best tan!!!! most relaxing place to be xxx ps the food is lovely something for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamboSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,789 - 2,795 of 4,347 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

Much like many we were a little nervous about going here after reading some reviews. Friends that we went with had been before so all faith was put in them.
That was well deserved. It is a fantastic hotel that yes is a little tired (soon to be rectified) but the staff and location more than made up for that. Besides why would you go to Cuba if you are going to sit in your room or the hotel all day?
First off the food is lovely with such a wide variety every day wand many things being cooked to order. Believe me I am fussy and I did not struggle to find things that I liked. The added bonus was no upset tummies. Yolka who serves outside with the evening meal is a very good girl and makes you feel very welcome.
We found the pool area a little noisy so spent all days bar excursions down on the beach. The beach really is so lovely. There are pedaloes, catamarans and canoes all included. Michael will take you out on the catamarans and show you a fantastic time. Anything motorised you must pay for. The beach was great and provided very good quality burgers most days. Please note that the burgers are pork so taste rather different but still lovely. That is for the british woman who was vile to the poor chef.
The excursions through Thomas Cook are great but a little pricy. I do recomend going to see the Dolphins. It was an amazing day. Michael (from the beach) hired a car and drove us down there where we had a great time swimming with them. He then drove us to Trinidad where we had lunch. It was great to see Cuba properly and not from a coach with 50 other people. It also worked out cheaper.
Finally the bars in the main hotel were great. The cocktail bar was great fun and perhaps we were lucky not to come out blinded from some of the concoctions.
Now girls - Yoel who works in the main bar has a smile that would even brighten up a British winter. Gosh he made evening viewing most lovely for me. If you are going soon please say hello to him from the English ginger girl who loved her beer. Oh and pictures of him would be highly appreciated.
All in all you will have a lovely time whilst having great value for money

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GingerKake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I was a little cautious about this hotel after reading some of the reviews on here, but after having just got back from there I can say that ALL the negative comments that have been written about this hotel are unfounded.

The thing that you have to understand is that Cuba is a third world country. Their economy is in tatters after the fall of the former soviet union to which they were very dependant on. Tourism is main industry of Cuba now. They built all of the hotel resorts on the Cayos, all you will find on Cayo Coco is hotel resorts, nothing else. No locals, except for the people that work at the hotels are on the island. This is the reason that people are moaning that there is nothing to do outside of the hotel. The truth is there is PLENTY to do outside, you just have to make use of the excursions that they organise! If you are planning on going to Cayo Coco, then unless you are happy sitting by the beach or pool all day every day (which if you are I suggest Center Parcs would be more suitable!) then you have to do some excursions. And contrary to what some people have said, they ARE worth the money. We went on four excursions, paying a total of about 450 CUC for the both of us. The exchange rate when we went was about 1.3CUC = £1. If you don't go on any excursions, you won't get to see the real Cuba.

The food I thought was really very good, the buffet restaurant has loads of different choices on offer at all meals, there are 2 grill stations, one of which will grill you a piece of meat from about 5 or six choices, the other has pasta and omelettes. Then there loads of salads, vegetables, side dishes, cold meats, fries, all sorts of things. There is no shortage of variety. As well as the main resteraunt, there are pizzas, burgers and hot dogs availiable at any time at the pool bar and beach bar, and there are two small "A la carte" resteraunts. You have to make reservations to eat there, but trust me, they are excellent. Really great atmosphere, and fantastic food. You would be paying about £70+ for a similar meal, service and atmosphere in the UK.

I read a review where the reviewer said there is only one bar. Not true. There are five. There is the main lobby bar, which I guess is what that reviewer was talking about. The lobby bar is open 24/7. But then there is a cocktail bar, also in th lobby, there is the pool bar, and the beach bar, where you can get food from too, and also there is a bar in the discotheque. All (except the cocktail bar, obviously!) serve beer, wine, spirits, cocktails, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and soft drinks, and you can get sandwiches from the lobby bar, any time of day or night. The drinks are served in small plastic cups, but there are plenty of waiters around to keep them refilled!

There activities going on all day everyday, there are 2 shows on every night, one for the kids, and one for the rest of us, there is some form of entertainment in the lobby bar every night, from singers, piano players, to karaoke and even a barrel organ accompanied by percussionists! The organ does sound terrible though, in my opinion! Then the discotheque is open every night from 11pm to 2am. I can't comment on kids activities, as we don't have any, but there is plenty going on for the adults.

All in all, we thougholy enjoyed our holiday here at Sol Cayo Coco. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, and there are plenty of staff around. Yes, tipping all the time can be quite tiresome, but that's because we're not used to doing it here in the UK. There are lots of countries where tipping is expected, it's not just Cuba! Yes, the hotel needs a bit of a facelift. But the rooms are large, clean and functional. every room has a TV, fridge, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, safe and coffee maker, and we had no problems with anything in our room. Although I know some people have had problems with some things in their rooms, fridge not working, or toilet not flushing or whatever, but it happens. Things break. It happens in every hotel in the world, not just this one, you can't mark the hotel down because things break. It 's what they do about it that counts. At this hotel, they will either fix it or give you another room. Simple.

I would highly recommend this hotel. It's cheap enough, has good food, friendly staff, wide range of activities, and the weather was beautiful while we were there. We couldn't ask for more. Please don't be put off by the negative comments you have read about this hotel, it really is excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jscho84233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My boyfriend and I wanted a cheap break, but a hot destination and knew that the carribean was our only option during the winter period. I had always wanted to go to Cuba, however I should have investigated before hand!
The arrival was fine, overall impression of the hotel at night time looked quite nice, until you saw the bar area, which was like a noisy cafe! I was hoping that there was more than one bar, not to be unfortunately! We were welcomed with drinks on arrival and some food, then taken up to our room which was okay, for the price we paid for the holiday. It was very clean, which was the main thing, but quite tatty and rather dated. They are refurbing the hotel though, so in saying that it's kind of unfair as this issue is being addressed.
Basically, there is nothing to do in Cayo Coco, NOTHING! You cant walk anywhere, you cant eat anywhere but the hotel and this really affected the holiday as you felt like you were in an open prison. There are no shops or restaurants, be prepared!
The beaches are beautiful and really make up for the lack of things to do. I was more than happy to read a book all day by the pool, or at the beach, however my boyfriend was scratching the walls after day 3. You can go on trips through the reps, or your holiday company which can be expensive. I suggest if you want to see Havana, book a destination nearer as you have no choice but to fly, or suffer a 7/8 hour car journey to get there. If you do book through the hotel, be prepared...its very expensive and then you are tied into what they have organised for you.
The hotel staff were all very friendly but you are constantly tipping all the time, it became a bit of a joke in the end. However if you want to get served and a slightly better service, I would reccomend it. Sadly it makes a difference!
The food was okay, after about 5 nights of the buffet I was pretty much ready to go on a hunger strike as it starts getting a bit canteen like in there. They have 2 restaurants within the resort, they both made a nice change.....not bad either, just a different surrounding made the food taste better!
They have entertainment every night, we went to a couple of things but it's more for children.
The alcohol is all local branded, not a problem for us, but might be for some people.
When we went, it did feel a bit like big brother, as you are stuck on the resort, you are also stuck with others in the same position, be prepared, there are no escape routes!
Overall, we paid a very good price therefore this was taken into consideration when writing this review. If you have a small budget and arent expecting a 4* hotel, be realistic when booking and you cant be dissapointed. It wasnt horrific, it was great for a very cheap, far away holiday....and a great tan was had by both of us, wasnt the end of the world!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Have just returned from the Sol and wanted to share my thoughts on our holiday there. Like many people, I read some of the reviews and was filled with some trepidation. However, despite a few minor gripes, we couldn't have been happier with our choice.

Yes, the decor in the room and in some parts of the hotel was a bit tired, but there is a major refit planned, starting next month so it was easy to contend with that. Around the complex there are a number of striking murals which are beautiful and the layout of the hotel complex itself is well designed so everything is within a relatively short stroll. The gardens are lovely and lighting at night make the views as pretty and atmospheric as they are during daylight hours.

Some of the equipment in our room didn't work (coffee maker, fridge, safe) but as there were all inclusive facilities you didn't really need to prepare food and drinks yourself anyway. We had neither a sea view or pool view from our room which was a shame, but the view we did have was pleasant. We never experienced any particular difficulties with our room or bathroom; on the one occasion when the toilet flush became faulty it was repaired within half an hour which we were very impressed by.

As for the food and drinks, these were plentiful and varied enough over the two weeks we stayed there. Pastas and pizzas cooked while you wait and the fried chicken while you waited was some of the best I've tasted, ever. Drinks were small, but staff were at hand to give you refills as and when you wanted them. The two restaurants you could book into made for a nice change and were atmospheric and had helpful, attentive staff on hand and atmospheric music too.

If I was to complain about anything it would be about music- it was everywhere at times. Cuba is noted for it's love of music and on occasions, it was coming at you from several directions, different tunes/songs simultaneously fighting against one another, usually loud and in the case of the pool area extremely repetitive; which could be annoying at times if you just wanted to chill out and planned to spend most of your day sunbathing there. The pool area was lovely, the pool itself isn't a heated pool but given the climate in Cuba there really isn't a need for it- most of the time it came as quite a relief to take a dip to cool down!

We aren't normally the type that go for the in-hotel entertainment; however, what we did see was that the entertainment staff were very hardworking and talented. Irrespective of the type/quality of the entertainment, like the music, this too could be way too loud and intrusive at times, especially the perfomances in the amphitheatre on an evening. Sometimes peformances there lasted until around midnight which could be frustrating if you wanted to turn in ealier or if you had children you wanted settled down for the night.

We went on a number of excursions while we were there which gave us a bit more of a view of Cuba than you'd get if you just stayed within the hotel complex- given that the hotel is on an island along with other similar hotel complexes and no actual towns. You really need to venture out over the causeway to get any idea of Cuba itself as lovely as the complex is, it doesn't encapsulate Cuba fully.

The complex as a whole does have some endearing unique qualities; the daily market selling local crafts, the weekly visit from the living sculpture artistes that pose in the restaurant, the pelicans that come to the beach, the wooden decked causeways to the beach, all spring to mind.

Overall we enjoyed our stay there tremendously and would recommend this hotel and Cuba to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LilacBlossom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

My husband and I decided on this hotel because it offers a mini-club for children under 4, our son being 2 years old. We thought he could spend a few hours at the club, playing with little friends while we enjoy some time alone. The three times we went to enroll him, there was nobody at the mini-club and we were told that it happens when there's not that many children ... so much for that. The beach was very windy (red flags - no swimming) and rocky. We had access to antoher beach not far but there were almost no chairs available and 2-3 palapas for shade, that's it. In our room, the toilet did not flush properly and there was almost no water pressure. The room was generally clean but very worn-out and there was NO room for our clother except for 5-6 hangers and 1 shelf (we had 3 suitcases full of clothes and toys). We were right next to the pool and the lobby but also to the theater where the evening show took place. We couldn't sleep until 11:30pm the first night. Also, we were close to the pool but had to go around little bridges and paths to get to it, which was very unpractical and franckly not very safe with a 2 year-old in tow (only ropes on the sides of the bridge that went over the pool). My biggest negative point is the fact that the only buffet opened at 7:30 am for breakfast, 1pm for lunch and 7:30 for supper. With children, I don't find that's very convenient. The only supper we had at the buffet was not very good even for Cuba and I had to wait about 15 minutes in line to get a cold plate of pasta! The was not a very wide variety for breakfast either. We had lunch at the food-bar by the pool and all they offered was hamburgers, hot-dogs and pizza.

The morning after our arrival, we asked to be transfered to the Tryp Cayo Coco hotel and only had to pay 100$ canadian for transfer fees. It wasn't that great a hotel either and the buffet hours were almost as bad as the Sol but there was more variety and the beach was wonderful!

The Sol is closing in May for 6 months for major renovations. I strongly believe that travel agents should not send their clients to that hotel before the renos are done or the hotel should cut the price in half!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

I just came back from the Sol with my husband and toddler son. Both flights there and back were difficult with Canjet Airlines aircrafts being so cramped and my husband being over 6 feet tall. Try to get the bulkhead or exit row if possible.
Bus ride to hotel was no more then 15 minutes, thank God as both flights there and back were late evening and my son was tired and cranky.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were approached immediately, signed up and brought to our room which was ground floor facing the grill and pool at an angle, and the ocean at the other angle. We had two double beds side by side and a crib for our son. The hotel is not very big which is perfect when traveling with young children, short walking distance to everything. While my son was napping, my husband and I sat outside on the terrace and left the patio door slightly open so we could hear him call out to us. I just had to walk a few feet to get drinks and snacks and would bring them back to our terrace... it was perfect! There was no DVD player in the room but we had a portable player and brought some of my son's Baby Einstein DVD's which was great. The cartoon and Disney channel are in Spanish. The only english channel was CNN.

The first couple of times we used the toilet, it was hard to flush and by the next day, it stopped working completely. We called customer service and they fixed it the next day (the third day) and gave us a bottle of rhum as well as filled our mini fridge with soft drinks and beer. (They usually only give you a bottle of water). Also, being on the ground floor, there were ants in the room... but at least it wasn't roaches or other insects...! I complained about the ants and they came and cleaned the entire room and filled the tiny crack on the outside wall where the ants seemed to be coming in from.

The pool was great, very clean, water not too cold, and the beaches were fantastic. The beach facing our room was very agitated, yellow flag 2 days out of 7 and red flag the other 5 days. Some people were still swimming but we couldn't go there with our toddler son, so we took a little walk to the beach on the other side of the hotel which is in a bay and very calm, no waves whatsoever. Our son had a blast playing in the sand and enjoying the calm, low tide waters. There were no seaweed, no rocks and very little seachells... perfect for walking without fear of hurting your feet. I used the beach and pool restrooms and I was surprised to see how clean and nice they looked. There was always toilet paper when I went. On the day of our departure, I used the lobby restroom for the first time and also found it very nice and clean.

The food was excellent! I have been to various parts in Mexico and Dominican Republic, and the food at the Sol Cayo Coco was as good, if not better then everywhere else I have been... and I'm talking 4-5 stars here, not 3 star hotels. People who say the food in Cuba is crap must have stayed at a 3-4 star in Varadero. There is NO WAY anyone could complain about the food at this hotel. The pool and beach grills served tasty burgers and pizza, and the buffet restaurant was offering different choices everyday, plus a pasta and grill with fresh fish and meat chops available every lunch and dinner. The fresh bread and cheeses were excellent as well as the ice cream bar, also available every lunch and dinner. The cakes were not the best, and the only fruits my son liked were the bananas. He wasn't a big fan of the other tropical fruits offered. I didn't like the red wine but the white one was good. Soft drinks and water are always available as well as orange and pineaple juice. No apple juice though... I wasn't sure about the milk there so I brought powdered formula for our son which he drank with room temperature water. They don't have microwaves. We didn't go to the A la Carte restaurants because we didn't want to have to pay 10 pesos for evening babysitting just to have a quiet dinner, but they seemed like great restaurants, especially the italian one... very nice romantic decor with a piano player.

We didn't do any excursions (Cayo Coco is not the place if you are big excursion people - go to Holguin, Santa Clara or even Varadero instead). The excursions they offered were pricy and not worth it, except for maybe the snorkling and catamaran. People who went horseback riding and bicycle riding said they were going around the village for an hour and saw nothing but hotels and empty land. The nearest real town is about an hour away so make sure you pack EVERYTHING you might need, especially medical and beauty supplies. There is none of that in the hotel boutique. They only sell t-shirts, swimming equipment, cheap perfumes and souvenirs.

I saw 2 night shows, they were entertaining but very average. I've seen much better elsewhere... but they do work hard and the hosts and dancers are always smiling. We didn't go to the disco either (obviously) but people who went seemed to have enjoyed themselves.

Finally, the weather... it's always breezy in Cayo Coco because it's such a small island. Even in end of March, you need long sleeves after sundown, especially if you plan to walk on the beach, it's VERY windy. In the daytime, the average temperature last week was around 25-26 degrees celcius, which was perfect for us and our baby. It was sunny everyday except for Tuesday, it was cloudy (but no rain). We sent our son to the Baby Club all morning while we played miniature golf and enjoyed some alone time as a couple.

All in all, we had a great family trip and I loved the hotel, amenities and service. They are closing from May to November for renovations and I would love to return next year and see the changes!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MontrealGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
18.9 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,054 reviews
0 mi away
Carrusel Mariposa
Carrusel Mariposa
#57 of 80 in Havana
38 reviews
0 mi away
Starfish Las Palmas
Starfish Las Palmas
#52 of 64 in Varadero
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,339 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $114 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Coco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing