We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Coco
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Melia Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
$121
$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$141
$132
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,514)
Filter reviews
4,514 results
Traveler rating
2,006
1,500
590
253
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,006
1,500
590
253
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegopool barpizzamain beachfishgreat holidayanimation teambuffet restaurantthe thomas cook repchickenspeed boat tripbeach restaurantpoor countrystir frysister hotelwelcome meetingholiday makers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,429 - 1,434 of 4,514 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just returned from two wonderful weeks here. First time to Cuba and so reading some reviews slightly apprehensive about what to expect.
Well what can I say? It was truly a fantastic experience from the moment we checked in to the moment we left!
Check in was fast and efficient, we were met by a Cuban band singing and friendly staff handing out cold drinks.
Room was fab, no idea why people complain about them, they are spacious,plenty of storage space, very clean light and airy and air con that worked perfectly. Bed was the most comfortable we've ever slept in abroad and had great nights sleep every night ( though this could be down to the giant brandys served in the lobby bar!)
Food was delicious, plenty of choice for all meals and lots freshly cooked while you wait! Only did the Don Diego a la carte but we really enjoyed it for a change from the buffet!
The two beaches were fantastic, plenty of loungers and shade.
As others have said though what really makes this place special is the staff, from the maids, bar and restaurant staff, entertainment team and the gardeners they make you feel very welcome and happy to have you there.
We really didn't want to leave this wonderful place and have already booked again for next year!
Can't wait!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your excellent comments on this page about your stay in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to know your opinions about our hotel in order to improve our services. We will transmit your comments to our staff and I am sure we all will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards from your second home.

Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Got back this morning and was heart wrenching to leave! Sol Cayo coco is a very good hotel at a good price, will stay there again as really cannot fault anything!! Staff are wonderful, the beaches are amazing, Hector the rep is extremely helpful, the weather perfect, the manager very approachable and always on hand... am now trying to book for winter hols

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cagsimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you very much for your kind words and we are all very happy you had a great time on your holidays.
The staff and the Management Council of the resort will be expecting your return and be able to welcome you back any time you decide.

Regards from Sol Cayo Coco,

Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for on week starting March 22nd. Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Luis, the manager, went around and asked customers how things were going which was a nice touch. We read previous reviews were the food in general was described as bland. Yes, there were a couple of things that probably needed more flavor, but my wife and I were very satisfied with the buffet and the food in the a la carte restaurants. We could always find food that tasted great. Drinks were great as well. Chefs were also on hand to prepare other things. Waitresses, waiters and bartenders provided excellent service, were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were a little tired as far as decor, but the room and bathroom were clean. The maids always made sure we had clean bed linens and towels. Air conditioning in the room was also very good. The beaches around the hotel were fantastic. Nightly entertainment was good as well. This was a great place to get some well-needed relaxation. Special thanks to Luis and his crew for making this a great vacation for us. This was our first trip to Cayo Coco. It won't be our last!

Room Tip: If you're looking for more of a quiet room, try getting a room facing the soccer pitch (third or fourth floor). One other tip - Safe are located in the room, but you will have to pay two pesos a day to use it.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GulfstreamV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your excellent comments on this page about your stay in our hotel. We will consider all your opinions in order to develop the satisfaction of our clients.
Thank you for your words about my work that gives me much encouragement, along with the staff which is the largest credit the Hotel we make every effort to ensure that guests have a memorable vacation.
It is always a pleasure to know your opinions about our hotel in order to improve our services. We will transmit your comments to our staff and I am sure we all will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@melicuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Thank You for amazing time. Beach is a little to small, but near the hotel there is fantastic public beach, so there is no any complains about that. Perfect food, nice place, friendly stuff :) hope to see you again ;)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Linas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Linas,

Thank you for coming with your family, we feel very proud you had such great time hear and you think to come back in the future, we hope so.

Kind regards from Cuba.

Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Cuba is one of those very few places that remains untainted by runaway commercialism. The culture is unique, the people warm and friendly (and not aggressive), and the variety of bird life is very impressive. This was our second trip to Cuba, the first being to Veradero. The bus ride to the resort was short and check in was fast, friendly and efficient. The place was very well kept and was very clean, although we found the beds kind of hard. The manager is always present and has a reputation for getting things done (Luis) As for the food which Cuba is famous for being maligned for, we have to say that it has greatly improved. When in doubt about something, try a small sample first. I have to say that the quality and variety of cheeses was impressive and their bread was moist and fresh and delicious. The beaches at the resort, while not being quite as pristine as those in Turks and Caicos were nevertheless impressive and we never had a problem finding a shaded palapa (unlike Turks and Caicos) Snorkeling by the resort was OK but their are hundreds of sea urchins in the rocky areas and when we were there, there was a bloom of thimble jelly fish and I contracted a couple of itchy but otherwise innocuous rashes. There is a greater variety of fish to be seen from the bridge that takes you across a mangrove stream to the public beach.
We went on the jeep safari tour where you actually get to drive your own (standard) jeep with a guide leading the way. Driving in Cuba is easy because there is very little car and truck traffic on the roads. Our tour took us across the impressive 16k causeway to a lake where we went on a fast joy ride followed by a quiet sojourn into to some mangroves. After the lake we went to the city of Moron where you can get a taste of authentic Cuba with its old cars, colorful people and buildings. We were allowed about half and hour of free time to walk around a bit. Lunch was at a farm and consisted of delicious barbecued pork, and rice and beans. After that we drove up a high hill to a very impressive viewpoint where we were offered a variety of fruit as snack. A visit to a farm, where I got to ride a very docile bull was followed by a visit to a crocodile sanctuary where you can hold a baby croc and feed full grown ones; impressive!
One of the other neat things about Cuba is that that they have shuttle buses where you pay only one cheap price for the whole day no matter how much you use it. If you stay at Sol Cayo Coco, you also have the privilege of visiting and enjoying the facilities of two other resorts in the area. Not to be missed is a visit to Pilar Beach which rivals some of those in Turks but has enough facilities to make it easy to use with clean washrooms and a restaurant. It can be accessed by a 45 minute shuttle bus ride from the resort and you will see flamingos on the way.
In short, we had an amazing time and there is much more to the country than what I have mentioned. Judging by the number of constructions cranes on the island, great changes could be just around the corner and so if you are thinking of going, do it soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CliveDS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Alberto H, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Clive,

On behalf of all our staff at Sol Cayo Coco we appreciate your comments and suggestions to other readers about your stay with us. We want to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations.

Thank you for your words about my work that gives me much encouragement, along with the staff which is the largest credit the Hotel we make every effort to ensure that guests have a memorable vacation.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer and we hope that after visiting other destinations you can return to our hotel.

Best regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews