We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“honeymoon”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just got back, 29th november 2013 from a 2 week stay here and we personally really enjoyed our time! most of the staff are excellent and very friendly including Hector the rep, very very helpful man and will tell you exactly what the right information is without the sales crap! top class rep! A must is the Havana trip which he can organize for a very reasonable charge, another rep called alex that came with us to havana was spot on and very knowledgeable, As for the food we found it excellent in the buffet restaurant, the best we have had in an all inc hotel (and we have been to many) we had breakfast and dinner in there everyday and couldnt stop having pizza for lunch (i do not like uk pizzas) at the pool or beach bar, our room was just right for us (2nd floor) over looking the crazy golf at the sea, amazing view! amazing place! We will definitely return, very good value for money for this hotel! Mr Halliday

Room Tip: Keep of the ground floor if poss and overlook crazy golf area
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishface2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear customer,

I would like to express our appreciation to your nice words about your stay with us, but mostly about our staff, it is always a pleasure for them to know that our guests recognize their job and efforts.

We are glad to know that you were able to enjoy your vacations with us, and we hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,272)
There are newer reviews for Sol Cayo Coco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,431 - 1,437 of 4,272 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed 8th-22nd November 2013

Great relaxing holiday and first time using Thomas Cook. The flight from Manchester was smooth and on arriving found the airport good and we was quickly at the hotel which is only 15 minutes away. Hector the reps was a real star and is a real treasure working for Thomas cook and I have had many holidays and he is by far the best so far and always helpful to you needs

The Hotel is small and right on the beach where there are 2 great beaches. The main one was deeper water and have larger wave with seaweed which was raked daily and dumped into the corner by the rocks (smelly at times) The second at the playa largo was by far the best and was shallow and you could still swim. There you can walk to the next hotel (typp) Going the other direction from the main beach next was the melia hotel. Getting sun loungers were never a problem on either beach as the beach staff would always get them for you, only problem is they like to place you RIGHT next to someone else like sardines. On playa largo you can go right to the end and get space to yourself.
Hotel was of good standard but the rooms were basic/clean and as many reviewers mentions needs updated. Our room was overlooking the football pitch and was great, I don't think I would have liked to have a room around the pool area as its very noisy. We paid the extra 70 cuc for the coffee making machine but you do have to get your own cups and sugar/water from the restaurants!. and thought it was waste of money.
Food was ok and there are 3 stations cooking fresh food in fish/meats/pasta and a carvery. Thou its basic there was always plenty of choice to find. Staff were all good and friendly. What
I would like to see is the plates being in a hotplates heater and by the time you hot food is cold by the time you get to your table.Special mention to our waiter called Maraiano who was great and always attending our needs. We used the al la carte restaurant once and the food was over cooked and service slow, the piano player there was fantastic and played from memory and its worth going just for the piano player.
Evening entertainment was good and the shows are ok to watch. All bar staff were great and a special mention to Orlando in the pool bar who was fantastic and helpful at all times.

Take plenty of insect repellent and anti histamine cream as I have never been bitten more than ever on this holiday. Don't think they are mosquitos but very small flying things (midges!) or something!.
Did 2 trips, first we did the trip to the state capital and that was a great way to see the real Cuba and then did the catamaran trip around the cayos but the craft was too small for the people on board. Food and drink was good thou.

Also went to the spa trip and the first time was great but booking a returned trip a week later was bad as we booked in the morning only to find that the pool was being drained and we were not told of the cancellation until Hector our rep phoned them (they don't seen to care and not professional, so give them a miss)

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a sea view over looking the football pitch.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GREENCHAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear customer,

On behalf of all our staff at Sol Cayo Coco we appreciate your comments and suggestions to other readers about your stay with us. We want to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer and we hope that after visiting other destinations you can return to our hotel.

Best regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Myself my husband and my 5 year old daughter first visited the sol in January 2013 and we enjoyed it so much we are going back on the 9 January 2014. We found the staff excellent beautifull beaches and clean rooms and we booked again straight away, I don't understand all the bad reviews I think people forget their not paying for 5 star in Las Vegas and it is good value for money as it's the cheapest place to go in Cuba and I think it's paradise, can't wait to go back, if management are reading these reviews could we please request a second floor room again overlooking the pool like last time preferably with a bath for my daughter who hates showers, many thanks the Macphail family. See you soon!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Sharon,
Thank you for your excellent comments on this page about your stay in our hotel. We will consider all your opinions in order to develop the satisfaction of our clients. It is always a pleasure to know your opinions about our hotel in order to improve our services. We will transmit your comments to our staff and I am sure we all will be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Asked for a downstairs room not because we are disabled but because we prefer gardens to a balcony. So they put us in a disabled room that was so damp it felt wet. It smelt of damp and urine. As the bed heated up at night with body heat the urine smell became unbearable. Entertainment is loud and bingo calling on the loud speaker all day became irritating. Buffet overboiled or greasy food. After the first night one of the other guests was shouting in reception about his sexual encounters from the night before and then went and projectile vomited off the balcony!! Luckily moved hotel after 2 days to a dry room! wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cherrypoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for publishing and sharing, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco.

We regret for not fulfilling your expectations in our hotel, we sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we appreciate all your comments, because they contribute to improve our daily work.

Your remarks will be thoroughly analyzed with all our area managers, for them to take the necessary actions to solve the difficulties, Respectfully I think it's somewhat exaggerated your comments for that reason loses accuracy and consistency..

We would like you to give us a new opportunity to be your hosts again, so we will prove, we can fulfill your expectations in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We've been there with our friends for two weeks. That was the best holiday we ever had. Some people complained about their room. That the room is outdated, that the furniture are not moderm, etc.
But you have to know one important thing about Cuba. People are the most important. Cuban people are amazing, so friendly and open. They can make your holiday completely unusual experience. We've been to many places but we never met so many nice and happy people.
Staff was incredibly helpful, great food and lovely Cuban atmosphere.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Magdalena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Magdalena,

Thank you very much for publishing on the trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco,

We are very glad to know that you spent fantastic holidays among us in our hotel.

We appreciate all the complimentary comments about our hotel and the services we offer.

Thank you very much for the intention to come again to stay in our hotel. We appreciate it.

Truly yours,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Another great 2 weeks in this great hotel ....
Animation team and dancers are a credit to the hotel
Yes people may say the hotel needs some refurbishment but it's clean the food is good and plentiful and the beaches are to die for.
A special thanks to Dianelys who always ensures our stay is perfect

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Lisa1968London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for publishing and sharing, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco.

We also thank you for choosing us, and we hope you continue trusting us many more times.

We appreciate all your complimentary comments about our hotel, and we feel very proud to receive these reviews.

All the persons you mentioned will be congratulated on your behalf.

We hope, and wish to seeing you soon in Sol Cayo Coco.

Sincerely,
Luis.
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Arrived and check in was very prompt. Room very tired and in hindsight should have asked for another one at that point.
Beaches beautiful and very clean.
Food hit and miss and often basic things like jacket potatoes cold. Long queues for fresh chicken and fish station but we could always find something to eat, but if your evening meal is an important part of your holiday then this set up isn't for you.
You have to remember this is a poor country and supplies are limited.
Drinks - wish wed known to bring our own insulated mugs for drinks at the beach bar , great idea as the plastic cups used are tiny.
We did not see different coloured bands for return customers but a good tip early on ensured we didn't have to queue for drinks.
In the main service excellent.
A special mention to Hector, the Thomas Cook rep who sorted a new room for us when husband found cockroaches in our room and customer services didn't fumigate the room as promised. Also new room toilet didn't flush and again Hector sorted this for us. Second room was great, overlooking football pitch.
Staff very friendly and helpful, Jessica,Luis A, Michael at pool bar, Elvis, Rudy and dancers all a pleasure to meet.
We took pens, paper, pencil cases but wish we'd taken more.
Apparently you can have extra baggage allowance for a charity parcel and Thomas Cook organise this.
Take packets of tissues, came in very handy!!
Rooms kept clean and towels changed regularly .
No issue with getting beach towels , people reserved sun loungers but did see staff bringing loungers from beach if none left at poolside.
We had a great holiday and met some lovely people especially Lesley and Iain.
Would we go back? Probably not as want to see other places, but who knows!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear guest,

We appreciate you have published on the Trip Advisor, the opinions you have about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco.

We were sad, when we read your comments on your review, which show us your stay among us did not fulfill your expectations. Nevertheless we thank you for being so kind to give us your opinions, which help us to improve our daily work, we appreciate this.

Your remarks on your review has already been analysed with the corresponding area managers in our hotel, for them to take the necessary corrective actions, to avoid other guests would suffer the same inconveniences you had, on the two nights you stayed in our hotel, which did not fulfill your expectations.

We would like to inform you that we have 23% of repeat guests in our hotel, being Sol Palmeras the hotel with the highest occupancy in Cuba, and up now no guest has complaint for the smell of oil, because this smell do not exist, I am sure that to whom you explained did not understand what you said or he explained wrongly.

Sincerely,
Luis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $105 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Coco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing