We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are so happy and helpful, such a beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff are so happy and helpful, such a beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

After coming back from the sol cayo coco, I can only wish I was back there again,
The staff are so lovely and will do anything they can do to make you feel comfortable and happy.
I enjoyed the food, I felt there was a wide choice and could choose different food every time, loved that the chefs would cook in front of you the meat or fish you would like, there was one day they ran out if chicken for my partner but they couldn't have done anymore to put things right and go out of there way to be helpful, I loved the bread too, cooked fresh everyday,
The rooms were cleaned lovely everyday, some ppl say the rooms smelt damp when they walked into the room, but this is only because the air conditioning works so well and keeps the room cool and condensation is seen on the sliding doors, but I would prefer a slight smell than to be hot and stuffy with mosquitoes in my room, have to note the air conditioning didnt make a loud noise and was easy to sleep through.
The two beaches are so lovely and both have beach bars on, the hamburgers are delicious in them, the locals can use both beaches at the weekends but we found that not a problem, there aren't over crowded at all.
The bar staff and waitresses are all so kind, I adored Yoisi in the lobby bar, such a happy kind lady.
The exclusions were amazing, we went on the three day coach trip to Havana, had such a great time, drove speedboats and went on a catamaran for the day,
The pilar beach is also def worth a visit,
Deanna M

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deannamontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Hello Dear Deanna,
We want to thank you for sharing your experiences with the rest of travelers. We are happy to hear that you loved your holidays with us; after all those days are exactly what you make of it and our guests have a lot of entertainment choices in this resort: amazing beaches, daily and evening activities, trips and the best staff. It will be great to welcome you and your partner a next time.
Greetings,
Luis A. Heras
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    1,362
    550
    238
    150
See reviews for
1,257
1,685
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband & I were on honeymoon at the sol cayo coco & it was lovely (5/9/13 - 19/5/13) Guests were greeted with singing, dancing and welcome drinks. We checked in to our room and soon after received a bottle of champagne & chocolates. The room was clean & tidy. The restaurant had a choice of food as did the snack bar and the beach grill. The staff were wonderful. Dianalyn in customer services was lovely. The entertainment staff were great and the evening shows were amazing. Our tour reps Hector & Norma were always around from advice and what activities would best suit us. Overall... A wonderful holiday. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhopinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guests,
We appreciate so much your comments about your last visit to Sol Cayo Coco. As you have said, this could be the right place to celebrate the special days among friends and a magic atmosphere. We are looking forward to welcome you in the future.
Best regards,
Luis A. Heras
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our 5th holiday to this amazing hotel on 09.08.13 - 23.08.13 and we were not disappointed at all. I felt a bit apprehensive about it as many of the staff have changed however i needn't have the new staff are just as amazing.

Flight.... We had met people on facebook before we travelled and by coinsidence we were all sat together. The flight went well and my little girl slept the whole way only waking for the ice cream, lol.

Jardines Del Rey Airport.......As we were at the back of the plane we were the last ones in the queue at the airport... but not for long an employee from the airport asked us to follow him, where he took us to the front of the queue stright through passport control, collected all of our bags for us and took us straight to the bus.. Excellent service. We were quite shocked.

Coach Transfer.... Very comfortable, air conditioned and sold drinks.

Reception Welcome..... Very unusual as normally all the staff are there to greet you but not this time for some reason? maybe because we were abit early i dont know?? However did get drinks on arrival and very quick check in. We were in our rooms changing into swim wear within 10 minutes of arriving at hotel.

Entertainment Staff....... All the staff at this hotel are amazing especially Yordanis, Toqui and Henry. Thanks to Yunet who took special care of my daughter who is 6 who didnt want to leave her side. All of the entertainment team are absolutley fabulous and fantastic especially with children, Yordi, Toqui, Yianni, Yordanys, Paris, Yunet, Randy and his sister (forgotten her name) Rudy, O'Reilly, Omelio, Hector, Ariana and anyone else i have forgotten - Also the new entertainment team boss is lovely.

Bar Staff...... Big shout out to Yoel, Orlando, and all of the others on the lobby bar. You do a great job also the waiters around the pool...

Waiting on staff...... Yulka and Blanca are some of the hotels best members of staff however whilst we were there yulka got suspended because she was too friendly to clients.. NOTE TO MANAGER ---- the reason why you have repeat guests is because of the friendliness of the Staff - it has nothing to do with you who out of 14 days there spoke to us once - however when the ex manager came over from his new hotel for the evening he remembered us and came and sat and had a drink with us. New Manager Luis needs to get some people skills and spend time with clients instead of walking round nit picking on things you think are wrong and always being on staffs backs about anything and everything
back to waiting on staff - on an evening we would sit outside and this was nice as a cool breeze. served by eric and ernesto. excellent service

Restaurant...... Always something fresh to eat from pastas, pizzas, cooked meats, fresh meat, seafood, Fried rice. yes there may have been some of a wait but you can see it being cooked and know its fresh. - Chefs Eldys who makes the most amazing pancakes, Alexander who was Mia my little girls favourite to make pizzas, Disney who cooked the fresh meat, and the egg and omelette man whose name escapes me.... again all excellent service

Rooms.... 2 queen size beds and a day bed so plenty of room. All very clean and always fresh towels available if required. the only downside was we were overlooking the pool which is what i requested however there is now a pool party 1 a fortnight and a singer by the pool every night until 11pm hence an early night is out of the question....

Pools... All pools and pool side were always spotless. 4 pools to choose from but now Mia can swim we tried to sit around the big pool. There was problems the 1st week trying to get a bed where people were awakening at 5 am to reserve beds, but the 2nd week you could get one even at 9/10am .

Weather - this was between 44 and 52 every day - it was far too hot to enjoy so i wouldnt go at this time again as we normally go in september and we will hopefully be back next year - work leave permitting.

I cant say anything bad about this hotel everything and everyone is perfect xxxx

Room Tip: Rooms around the golf course are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank JodieNeilMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guests,
Can we say THANK YOU in big letters? Your words are really motivating to keep improving our work, besides; we appreciate a lot each detail you’ve shared with the travel community. Our two beaches and our friendly staff really make us, but that is just the beginning… Family’s packages; appeals to fish, diving and birds-watching lovers; a daily Entertainment Program; facilities to Honeymooners, Weddings and disable persons; a variety of trips to know more about the Cuban life’s style, culture and history, as well as nature beauties; are some reasons to become a Sol Cayo Coco’s loyal guest; don’t you think? We will pass your compliments to all our staff, thanks again. It will be our pleasure to welcome your family once again.
Luis A. Heras
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was our second trip to the Sol Cayo Coco, and it did not disappoint. We went for two weeks, Aug.31-Sept.14th. and had a wonderful time. Our room was overlooking the mini golfcourse and a view of the ocean. Our housekeeper Glydys was excellent. Two beautiful beaches with crystal, warm waters and the beach attendants were there to assist you in getting a nice shady spot and lounge chair. The buffet had a nice assortment of food, so you had many choices, and would not go hungry. This is a compact hotel, that is why we would recommend it to anyone with mobility issues, like myself. Everything was within easy walking distance and great hospitality. Can't comment on the nightly entertainment as we did not go to any of the shows. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and we'll be heading back next spring for sure. Just go...you will love it there.

Room Tip: Our room 2223...first floor.... had sun in the morning and was facing the mini golf and partial vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you so much for your review; we appreciate it a lot as a way to inform to all travelers who we are in your owns words. All guests can’t help falling in love with our beaches, and of course, our staff and the rest of our services make their holidays a memorable one. It would be a pleasure to welcome you once again next spring.
Best wishes,
Luis Alberto Heras
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend (both 21) have just returned from this hotel and we had a great time overall. The beaches are beautiful, weather was lovely (typical Caribbean with thunderstorms but mostly sun and always warm) and the food & drinks were nice so we were happy. We also went on the speedboat trip with snorkelling and it was really fun, the thomas cook rep Hector was very helpful. We had a lovely relaxing time and the staff are so efficient, they can't do enough for you! Massive thanks to Yodanys and Jessica, our waitor and waitress who both looked after us throughout. The cocktail bar on a night was also amazing, I'm missing the piña coladas and lemon daiquiris already! Thank you to Hermes for those! The entertainment was decent as well, we enjoyed the magic show on our last night. You can always get a sunbed in which ever area you prefer which is great and we visited sister hotels Tryp & Sol Guillermero as well as Pillar beach - well worth a visit for a change of scenery. For these reasons ive given the overall review very good as our holiday was ...

However .. the hotel wasn't very good, I'd give it an average at best as it is in need of an update, the rooms are tired and smell damp. We overlooked the pool so it was loud especially on a night, this made the sleep quality pretty poor. The doors had a gap underneath allowing us to hear everyone's conversations as they walked past on a night or morning so getting woken up constantly throughout the night and then early the next day was pretty frustrating. The Mosquitos were awful as well, I always get bitten and prepare in advance with repellent, bands, plug ins etc but in one day I was bitten 18 times, take repel55 (strong DEET) with you, when I wore that on a night it worked, but through the day at the nicer beach to the right of the hotel if you forget repellent or use a lower protection you end up covered in bites. Not the hotels fault but just to warn travellers. There were also quite a few big groups of rowdy loud guests, whereas we were both expecting a quiet couples holiday.

We had a great time regardless of the mentioned issues and if the manager aims to meet all of the problems then they could get the hotel up to 4 star standards, but at the moment it isn't and I've been to Cuba previously - Playa Pesquero twice which was far superior to this hotel. I could easily have done another week and I'm sad to be home so thank you for that Sol Cayo Coco, but we probably wouldn't return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisHeras, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guests,
We appreciate a lot your comments as a way to improve our services day by day. Although, it’s a shame we didn’t satisfy your expectations at 100%, but we are working hard to solve any faults that we could have. Our staff is always at our guests’ disposal to assist them, don’t hesitate to contact us regarding room allocation or anything.
Our resort is located in one of the most beautiful keys of Cuba; to be in a little paradise like this one has a price: the nearest town is at 65 Km away and mosquitoes can be a problem during raining season. We hope you can visit us in the future; it would be a pleasure to welcome you.
Best regards,
Luis A. Heras
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Flight-GOOD. Transfers-GOOD. Welcoming staff - with a cool drink and a very wide smile-GREAT. Receptionist very helpful-GREAT. General Manager - Made himself known.

Booked in, received our key card, went to our 1st room. Dissapointment was written all over my husbands face as we looked around the room, it was smelly,dirty,dated on the ground floor at the end of the corridor. Went back to the reception desk and spoke to the lady about this. Offered another room no problem. 2nd room-same as previous however was on the 2nd floor @ beginning of a corridor. HESITATION- as I/We have NEVER COMPLAINED OR FELT SO DEFLATED!!! Back to reception (same lady) Offered another room (3rd room) which was far better than the others with a lovely sea view, and off we went to get our cases and unpack. (Talking to the other guests at the front desk que they had the same issues).

Weather was typical cuban weather- Hot Sunny Rain Nice. We both enjoyed the lovely, beach, scenery,wildlife, food, staff.

The company of other guests (which we have made some nice friends) made it even better.

We are regular visitors to these parts of the world (10 times different places/resorts) and we have NEVER /EVER been bitten so many times (30+) legs, arms, face, feet, back, hands,hips as here, not always by Mosquitos,

I was Bitten in the uncomfortable (hard, felt the springs in my hips and back) bed most nights, despite having the cotton sheet over me, (Germoline from home- sorted them out after applying this fora few days but still others appeared). Bites evident on everyone you spoke to.

A TIP FROM WAITER - PUT A PIECE OF FRESH MINT BEHIND YOUR EARS - MOSQUITOS DONT LIKE IT AND WILL LEAVE YOU ALONE, (TRY ANYTHING TO HELP)!!!!! DID NOT WORK.

Rooms cleaned daily-Towels changed at our request, beds also. Wardrobe and set of draws inside were damp/dirty and smelly are in need of an update, (but will not get one following talking to Loui- General Manager about some of my issues). We had cigarettes(which we had purchased from the plane for a friend, as we dont smoke) taken from my holdall and i put a lock back on it. Another guest had an item taken but later returned to them (following talking to Loui the general manager, whom is very nice and approachable,he lets his presence known to everyone which was nice).

Dinning room- Enclosed with glass doors and windows/cool inside. Outdoor one too. However/Unavoidable the birds still found a way in and flew around whilst you had your meals. The food was typical All Inclusive- Wide selection Hot/Cold buffet, Freshly Cooked Meat/Poultry/Fish/Pasta/Pizza etc. We enjoyed everything that we chose and we saw it cooked in front of us (reassuring). Pizza Nice, Pancakes Nicer. Drinks!! Be careful. My husband witnessed BEER that was left by a guest taken away from the table with the used plates/glasses/cutlery and being poured into another glass and offered to another guest!! We never had a beer in there again. Glasses had a certain odour. Staff friendly, even more so on your last day.

Pool areas - large areas, different levels, snacks/drinks bar, clean, tidy. Plenty of sunbeds-no problem with (get up early and put the towel on the sunbed people). There was always sunbeds available by any of the pools.

Beach-Plenty of sunbeds also (no cushions) on the nice, relaxing, lovely to walk along, plenty of activity (if you wanted to join in/participate) fishing, sun seeking, topless if you choose friendly beach. Hot but had a nice cool/conistant breeze, shaded in places, beach bar/resteraunt where you could go for your drinks. Enjoyable.

Mini Bar in your room- YOU DONT HAVE ONE. If you require any pop/beer for your room/fridge you have to order this and pay for it, it is not included in the package. Not a problem if you know about it before you book, We have always had our mini-bar included in the price and restocked daily if needed.

I have never written a review before but always read them and go away with an open/broad mind as of what other guests/holiday makers have experienced, I was aware of the issue with the mosquitos at the resort before i went, i have only ever been bitten once before and that was in Mexico (just the one) I have had around 30 bites from this stay and i will not be going back again for any more.

Room Tip: The sea view room had an amazing view of the whole length of the beach and it was spacious!!!!! (Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for taking part of your time sharing, on the Trip Advisor, your opinions about your stay at Sol Cayo Coco.

We regret we did not fulfill your expectations, we sincerely apologize for this.

All your remarks are appreciated by us, they will be thoroughly analyzed, because they help us to improve our daily work with the actions we take to solve the difficulties and avoid similar remarks.

We apologise for what you expressed on your review, that someone had taken something of your belongings.

We kindly ask you to give us another opportunity so you can forget this bad experience.
Truly yours,
Luis.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I would highly recommended the sol cayo coco as a place to stay in Cuba! Stunning place to spend your holiday! Rooms can be doing with a lick of paint but apart from that, there is nothing to fault what so ever! After all, you are only looking for a place to sleep! They are kept very clean and the maids makesure that this happens! They leave you a bottle of water in your room every day! Pool is kept very clean and is fab! The bar staff, restaurant staff particularly Mike, and entertainment team do their best to make your stay a great one! We were welcomed straight away with a cocktail and smiles! The staff put on beach party's and pool party's at night which were a great laugh! The beaches are fantastic! Complete and utter paradise! A trip to pilar beach is a must!!
We 23rd August and came home 7th September! From what I seem before I went, people were saying that it rained alot! We only got rain about 3 times or a max of 20 mins! The heat is unreal and plenty of sun cream is needed as its very very hot and sunny! Few thunderstorms during the night but this didn't matter as we were sleeping! You couldn't tell the next day either! The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous with the gardens! Again, the place is kept spik and span! Overall, gutted to be home and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Sarah,

On behalf of all our staff at Sol Cayo Coco we appreciate your comments and suggestions to other readers about your stay with us. We want to thank you and your family for choosing our hotel for your vacations. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed so much of what we have to offer and we hope that after visiting other destinations you can return to our hotel.

Best regards,
Luis.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Prodigios Interactivos SA so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing