We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Coco
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$122
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TRYP Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
Prestigia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,553)
Filter reviews
4,553 results
Traveler rating
2,020
1,518
594
254
167
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,020
1,518
594
254
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegopool barpizzamain beachfishgreat holidayanimation teambuffet restaurantthe thomas cook repchickenspeed boat tripbeach restaurantpoor countrystir frysister hotelwelcome meetingholiday makers
Filter
Updating list...
1,755 - 1,760 of 4,553 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was our second visit to Sol Cayo Coco this year as we really enjoyed our first visit in February. Although we enjoyed our visit this time it was a different holiday, but with 3 managers this year alone it would explain why the hotel had gone down hill a little, but the new manager seems to be making improvements to restore the good service.

My main concern is around the hygiene as we witnessed one of the waitresses putting ice into drinks with her hands. It was also witnessed that the chef at the pizza station had sneezed into his hands and carried on serving without washing his hands afterwards. We did make a complaint and this was dealt with, but this type of hygiene problem should not exist in the first place.

People going to Cuba should remember this is a 3rd world country and things don't always go to plan. Beach towels can get delayed (we did see new ones being handed out) and sometimes room towels cannot always be replaced when you like. Cayo Coco are protected islands and they cannot do laundry and as such needs to be done off site.

Rooms are basic but nice, although furniture could do with being replaced. Maids do an excellent job in cleaning them on a daily basis.

If you do get a problem I would suggest going to customer service as they go out of the way to rectify.

Majority of staff are excellent, just the odd few let the hotel down, let's hope the new manager weeds them out.

I would recommend booking the VIP lounge on your return. Air conditioned with free food and drink, far cheaper than buying the food in the main lounge.

You will read about people being ill, but with temperatures over 40 degrees you need to drink plenty of fluid during the day (not alcohol). Keep clear of sea food and ice and you should be ok.

We will return to the hotel, and thanks to all the staff for making us welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glover_david3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear guest,
We appreciate your comments as a way to improve our services day by day. It’s a shame we didn’t satisfy your expectations at 100%, but I should say that we are working hard to solve any faults that we could have; besides our staff is always at our guests disposal to assist them.
Our resort is located in one of the most beautiful keys of Cuba; to be in a little paradise like this one has a price: the nearest town is at 65 Km away and mosquitoes can be a problem during raining season. We hope you can visit us in the future, it would be a pleasure to welcome you.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from the Sol, after a fantastic 2 weeks holiday. Myself,husband and 3 daughters stayed here from the 11th of July to 26th July. After reading some reviews before we flew out i was a little bit worried, but don't be, just remember this is Cuba!!

My expectations were not high but i was pleasantly surprised, unlike a lot of the other reviews i thought the food was fantastic and lots of choice, with 2 faddy kids even they managed to eat more than just pizza!! Look after your waiting staff in the buffet and the bars and they look after you! They don't expect tips but 1 or 2 pesos per meal goes a long way, we needed a table for 5 and were looked after every meal a big thank you to Yulka, Blanka, and Alfredo.

The animation team worked really hard to entertain everyone and even if you don't join in it was good fun to watch the pool activities, especially Paris doing his aqua aerobics definitely one for the ladies!!

I found the rooms were clean as were the bedding and towels but all needed upgrading, we had a room over the pool but did not find the noise a problem like some reviews had commented, but the pool party once a fortnight didn't finish until 1am although it was a brilliant night. The room was really close to reception, dinning room and other facilities.

The bad bits, there's not many, you need to bag a sun lounger very early even though the hotel policy is not to reserve them, my husband who is an early riser would be down for 7am and sun beds would have towels on them! We hated having to do this but its the only way to get a bed especially if you wanted shade. The music around the pool at times was really loud not to seem like a party pooper but even my 18 and 20 years old got sick of the same tunes and volume (only the good tunes were put on in an afternoon). The beaches are beautiful, to the left of the hotel through the gate and over the wooden bridge (nicknamed mossie alley) was really pretty and if you walk for about 20 mins down the beach you come to the Tryp hotel, get some passes from reception and you can use their facilities, but be warned the staff are quiet rude after all your not their guests!! The beach in front of the Sol is also nice but the sea was quiet rough but was great for the pedalos that you can hire.

The beach towels allocated were ok but while we were there they ran out of clean ones for about 3 days and ours were pretty grubby by the time we got clean ones, i would take my own because if you loose their's you have to pay 10 peso's per person to replace them!

Mosquitoes god they were bad, take plenty of repellent for evenings and for walking to the beach don't bother with the wrist band you can buy on the plane, my husband and daughter bought them and were eaten alive! They ended up using the spray i had taken!

All in all a very relaxing holiday but plenty to do if you want. If you want to see the real Cuba do some of the trips available they were a lot cheaper with the locals but not insured or book through the travel agent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear guest,
I would like to thank you so much for your review; we appreciate it a lot as a way to inform to all travelers who we are in your owns words. All guests can’t help falling in love with our beaches, and of course, our staff and the rest of our services make their holidays a memorable one. Although, we want to apologize for the issue getting new beach towels, we recently bought about a thousand and we will keep working on it. I would be a pleasure to welcome you and your family in the near future.
Best wishes,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and most of the staff, especially Gladys the maid and Elvis the waiter were amazing. Negatives were the Mosquitos, a major pain and did make our stay a little unpleasant & uncomfortable. Wore 100% deet along with bands bought on the flight across and still got eaten alive.
Unless you were up at 6am to put your towel on a sun bed, you didn't get one. Watched as a family 'reserved 4 sun beds with towels and then proceeded to go on the bus to the beach for the best part of the day. Perhaps a 'if beds have not been utilised an hour after 'reserving', then the towels are removed' Policy should be in place, to allow someone else the chance.
Booked the 3 day Havana trip with Thomas Cook, which is a must. Also booked swimming with dolphins, crocodile park and speed boat with Roberto's brother (sorry forgot his name), who can be found on the beach and cost a fraction of the Thomas Cook price. We were even taken to his house for lunch, cooked by his wife, tremendous hospitality. The rest of our days were spent at he sister hotel, the Tryp, where sun beds were readily available at any time of the day and the activities were more subdued but well organised.

Greeted by a rat on the 2nd floor stairs, on my way to dinner one night. One of the animators was also passing and joked that it was his pet.

On the Positive side, food choice and presentation was fantastic. All chefs and waiting staff were lovely.
Found the animators a bit 'loud and in your face all the time' so perhaps if you want a quiet relaxing holiday, the Tryp is more suitable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pami43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear guest,
We appreciate your comments about our resort as a way to improve our services. We are truly sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us as you expected due to the issues you’ve mention in your comment. We have guests coming every year, most of them repetitive times and they always give us good comments and suggestions about our resort. We’d like to invite you once more as we’re certainly sure those moments will be erased from your memories and you will become one of those who love Sol Cayo Coco.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Been back yet again!! ..such an amazing place with amazing staff that bring us back every time...but new hotels going up all over the place ..so if you want to see this wonderful place in the beauty that i have seen... go soon!!
Don't normally go to the same place so many times but for the money you can not beat it really you cant and the service i would say is totally brilliant... Carlos the assistant manager is very friendly and so helpful always ready to help along with most of his staff...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanVDevonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Hello Dear guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your experiences with the rest of travelers. We are happy to hear that you found our resort as great as always. The holiday is exactly what you make of it and our guests have a lot of entertainment choices in this resort: amazing beaches, daily and evening activities, trips and the best staff. It will be great to welcome you and your partner a next time.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed with my family from July 5th to 19th of July 2013.Rooms very good , maid service good, clean rooms daily, food very good plenty of choice and the waiters were excellent , Ate at both a al a cart restaurants very good.
Staff were excellent all round , made to feel at home . Hotel ground well kept by gardeners . Pools very good , sun beds had to be up early (before 6 am) to reserve some but this is a universal issue in all or most hotels that I have been in ( Turkey, Spain ,Cyprus, etc) but this did not spoil my holiday. Manager was present every day walking every part of his hotel and very pleasant man as were his team . Did enjoy animation team very active if you wanted to be but I have a hectic family and work life so My wife and I wanted to switch off for two weeks re-power our batteries, to which we did.
We did go to Piall beach very nice , the bus ride was amazing and the beach was out of this world . Met some lovely people out there Matt and Liz and Willow and Granny from England.
There was a problem with mosquito's but it did not spoil our holiday.
For what we paid it was cheaper to go to Cuba than to Turkey for my family , then Cuba it was. This is my second time in Cuba and we stayed in Guadalavaca . We will be returning some time soon . Any further questions then please ask. Mr Manager please keep up the good work.

Chris Davies and Family.

Room Tip: We had room 1201 and 1202 just around the corner from reception , good for wheel chair access or baby push chair .
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Dear guest,
We appreciate so much your comments about your last visit to Sol Cayo Coco. We are happy to know that your family enjoyed your holidays with us. There is no better place for children than this one, funny and safety, with training staff. Besides, we can make memorable your special days among friends and a magic atmosphere.
Regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews