We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel is excellent, I visited here for 1 week 7th - 14th June 2013 with my partner. The staff are great, so friendly and attentive. the food was lovely with a great variety every day including, omelettes, fish, buffet area, grill area, sushi, pastas, pizza station and much more. The pool was very clean and a good size and the 2 beaches were amazing, very beautiful! I don't understand how anybody can complain about this hotel it really is a little gem of the cayos. Would certainly recommend for old and young, couples and family with children. Every person we met at the hotel did not have a bad thing to say about it. I am 23 and my boyfriend is 26 and we found it to be a great mix of relaxation and fun. Hope this helps x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank emmam130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you so much for your comments that help us to inform the travel community about our services. It’s a pleasure and an honor to know that you enjoyed our hotel and the friendliness of our staff. You are invited to visit us again; using your own words: this amazing resort welcomes you.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,362
    550
    238
    150
See reviews for
1,257
1,686
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Repentigny, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We we're there for a family vacation from the 22 to 29th of June. Overall nice hotel for a 4 star...The hotel grounds are nice and clean and you don't have to walk a lot to get everywhere. The staff is super nice, specially at the Lobby bar and the Playa Restaurant, where they always receive you with a smile and they go out of their way to make you're stay as enjoyable as possible. The pool bar service, could improve a little as there was only one barman, so there was almost always a lineup to get served. Besides that, they we're also very friendly. The hotel has two nice beaches. The one in front of the hotel is a little windy but perfect for someone who likes a beach with little waves. the one to the left of the hotel, Playa Larga, is probably the best beach i've ever seen in a resort. Perfect white sand, mirror like water, and you can walk 200 meters and still have water up to your knees. The bar at playa larga could also improve a little as they we're limited in choice of drinks. For instance, They had no local beer, so you need to pay 1,35 cuc, to have a Corona, and it wasn't always available. Food was great for a 4 star hotel. We met with David the head chef of the hotel, and what a nice guy he was. We saw him at every restaurant we went and you could see thet he really cared about the food quality. We also met Ricardo the hotel manager, who was very attionned, pleaseant,and funny, and was always inquiring if everything was ok. The cleanliness was great everywhere. Overall a good experience, and I would return anytime...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytraveller878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with all the travelers of this forum. We are the only resort of the area with 2 different but beauty beaches, one of them including in the top 10 of Cuban beaches. The friendliness and care of our Team is a plus value, we are glad that you appreciated it. We took notes of your suggestions to improve our beach-bar in Playa Larga; we wish to show you the improvements in all the areas during your next visit, so, this is a formal invitation.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Travelled with my partner to this resort. Our stay at the hotel was very good. Food could have been a bit better. Preferred the choice at lunchtime, rather than poor offering at night. The cook to order was so busy in evening that I gave up. Breakfast especially the omelettes cooked by Ed were really good. Our waitress Mailyne was so friendly and looked after us so well. We booked 2 trips - Santa Clara and Moron. We really wanted to go to Havana, but the cost and distance put us off. That is not to say we won't go back - but to a resort nearer Havana would be our choice. The weather was good, a little bit of rain some days, cleared up quickly, but oh boy, the mosquitos were out in force after the rain stopped. We tried the Trypp Caya Coco, one of the sister hotels for lunch on one of the days and the choice was so much better and bigger. Would recommend a trip to Cuba for anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments that help us to improve our services day by day. We are keen seekers of our guests’ satisfaction, that’s why we encourage you to visit us again to show you more about us. The friendliness of our staff is an added value. Feel free to visit us again.
Regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went to Sol Cayo Coco cause I knew the director there, which is Ricardo and I wasn't disappointed in him, he really made my stay enjoyable. He presented me to the chef, Davide, who cooked for us extra-ordinary meals, if you want something special, you just need to ask him and it's always a pleasure for him. The animation gang was really fun and nice ppl, Dyron and Randy made me dance alot, thank you. Also at the gym, this nice guy, Yas, helps you out with great tricks and encourages you all the way. What I really liked about this hotel was the shows, they never stop and they are always top quality, bravo on that too. There are 2 beaches there, one has lots of waves and windy and the other is paradise. Ricardo even had a bar installed there. All the ppl there were really nice..customer service, Dianelys, who is sooo nice, she will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. they even have a game place, like wii etc..my grandson was there often while we sang and danced..a nice place for family vacation..

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view of the ocean or the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Hello Dear guests,
Thank you for being part of our family; we always welcome our guests with open arms, maybe that’s why we receive so many visitors every year. I must say that all these good comments are a consequence of our staff’s redeeming and it is our motivation to keep improving ourselves. We are glad to know you enjoyed our Entertainment choices and facilities as well as our selection of food. We hope to meet you and your family in the near future.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

we recently stay in the sol cayo, june 7-21 And from the moment we stepped off the shuttle bus we felt like Royalty. The staff are Amazing(I know everyone says this but they are.) The reception staff are polite and helpful, always happy to help. Oscar is the best! he works on the animation team and get to know him it will improve your stay (hint hint).
the food is Fantastic ! (Thanks all the Chefs)
And the waiters and waitresses are just the Best ! especially Junior and Grethel , What can I say The best and quickest service I've ever experienced always with a smile.Thank you both !
Go here you wont be dissatisfied !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones212676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your review about our resort; you are right, our staff makes this Hotel. We have passed your compliments to all of them. It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again, just let us know your requests and we will do everything to satisfy them.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Another great holiday in Cuba, we have always met some wonderful people here and this year was no exception. The mosquitoes were rampant this visit but they had had a lot of rain two weeks before so ha ho, We felt the food was not quite as good this time but we did not go hungry. I would like to say to anyone visiting the Sol look out for these people they real'y look after you. Start with lobby bar barmen Saul, Youl, Orlando. and toastie man Edel. Buffet restraint Waiters/waitress Yanesie, Meilyn & Remberto. Chef Sergio. Pool Bar Chef Yaitel. waiter Mideal. And lobby bar in the day Yoisy & Osleidy. We will sure be returning again for another great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms around 2343 or top floor 2418 to 2424
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReturnVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about your last visit to our resort. We sorry for your “bad luck” with the mosquitoes; Cuba is a tropical island and usually rains, but there is nothing that we can do to prevent it. Although, we do can improve what is on our hands and we are deeply involved in the advance of our services. We are looking forward to get your 5* perception in the future.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Well we have just got back from the sol and must say great location ,,the beaches were superb one was windy and the other was stunning no wind and very hot .. the rooms are quite good big beds and air con ,, if you're looking for two weeks in the sun and on the beach this holiday is f o r you . On the down side the first week we were there ,,there was a very bad mosquito problem my partner was bitten over a hundred times in the first couple of days !!!!! And you cannot buy repellents there at all so take lots with you .. the food was ok but the same everyday ,, we both suffered with bad bellies and in the toilet quite a lot !!!! The staff were very good Henry was great ,Duane the cocktail man was excellent ,,, Petina and Mariano in the restaurant were lovely people and the gardener can't remember his name but he had gold teeth if that helps lol and he made the ha t s from coconut leaves ,,,, lovely p people all of them ,,so overall had a good holiday first experience of cuba would go back at some point ,,,,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for give us the chance to improve our services taking into account your own experiences. We sorry for your issue with the mosquitoes; sometimes it’s really hard to get the control of the situation when it rains so often. But we never give up when our guest’s satisfaction is on the table. We encourage you to visit us a next time to show you how wonderful could be a stay at Sol Cayo Coco.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing