We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull Beach, friendly staff, great vacation”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We we're there for a family vacation from the 22 to 29th of June. Overall nice hotel for a 4 star...The hotel grounds are nice and clean and you don't have to walk a lot to get everywhere. The staff is super nice, specially at the Lobby bar and the Playa Restaurant, where they always receive you with a smile and they go out of their way to make you're stay as enjoyable as possible. The pool bar service, could improve a little as there was only one barman, so there was almost always a lineup to get served. Besides that, they we're also very friendly. The hotel has two nice beaches. The one in front of the hotel is a little windy but perfect for someone who likes a beach with little waves. the one to the left of the hotel, Playa Larga, is probably the best beach i've ever seen in a resort. Perfect white sand, mirror like water, and you can walk 200 meters and still have water up to your knees. The bar at playa larga could also improve a little as they we're limited in choice of drinks. For instance, They had no local beer, so you need to pay 1,35 cuc, to have a Corona, and it wasn't always available. Food was great for a 4 star hotel. We met with David the head chef of the hotel, and what a nice guy he was. We saw him at every restaurant we went and you could see thet he really cared about the food quality. We also met Ricardo the hotel manager, who was very attionned, pleaseant,and funny, and was always inquiring if everything was ok. The cleanliness was great everywhere. Overall a good experience, and I would return anytime...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Happytraveller878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with all the travelers of this forum. We are the only resort of the area with 2 different but beauty beaches, one of them including in the top 10 of Cuban beaches. The friendliness and care of our Team is a plus value, we are glad that you appreciated it. We took notes of your suggestions to improve our beach-bar in Playa Larga; we wish to show you the improvements in all the areas during your next visit, so, this is a formal invitation.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,600 - 1,606 of 4,275 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Travelled with my partner to this resort. Our stay at the hotel was very good. Food could have been a bit better. Preferred the choice at lunchtime, rather than poor offering at night. The cook to order was so busy in evening that I gave up. Breakfast especially the omelettes cooked by Ed were really good. Our waitress Mailyne was so friendly and looked after us so well. We booked 2 trips - Santa Clara and Moron. We really wanted to go to Havana, but the cost and distance put us off. That is not to say we won't go back - but to a resort nearer Havana would be our choice. The weather was good, a little bit of rain some days, cleared up quickly, but oh boy, the mosquitos were out in force after the rain stopped. We tried the Trypp Caya Coco, one of the sister hotels for lunch on one of the days and the choice was so much better and bigger. Would recommend a trip to Cuba for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comments that help us to improve our services day by day. We are keen seekers of our guests’ satisfaction, that’s why we encourage you to visit us again to show you more about us. The friendliness of our staff is an added value. Feel free to visit us again.
Regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went to Sol Cayo Coco cause I knew the director there, which is Ricardo and I wasn't disappointed in him, he really made my stay enjoyable. He presented me to the chef, Davide, who cooked for us extra-ordinary meals, if you want something special, you just need to ask him and it's always a pleasure for him. The animation gang was really fun and nice ppl, Dyron and Randy made me dance alot, thank you. Also at the gym, this nice guy, Yas, helps you out with great tricks and encourages you all the way. What I really liked about this hotel was the shows, they never stop and they are always top quality, bravo on that too. There are 2 beaches there, one has lots of waves and windy and the other is paradise. Ricardo even had a bar installed there. All the ppl there were really nice..customer service, Dianelys, who is sooo nice, she will do everything to make your stay enjoyable. they even have a game place, like wii etc..my grandson was there often while we sang and danced..a nice place for family vacation..

Room Tip: all rooms have a great view of the ocean or the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Hello Dear guests,
Thank you for being part of our family; we always welcome our guests with open arms, maybe that’s why we receive so many visitors every year. I must say that all these good comments are a consequence of our staff’s redeeming and it is our motivation to keep improving ourselves. We are glad to know you enjoyed our Entertainment choices and facilities as well as our selection of food. We hope to meet you and your family in the near future.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

we recently stay in the sol cayo, june 7-21 And from the moment we stepped off the shuttle bus we felt like Royalty. The staff are Amazing(I know everyone says this but they are.) The reception staff are polite and helpful, always happy to help. Oscar is the best! he works on the animation team and get to know him it will improve your stay (hint hint).
the food is Fantastic ! (Thanks all the Chefs)
And the waiters and waitresses are just the Best ! especially Junior and Grethel , What can I say The best and quickest service I've ever experienced always with a smile.Thank you both !
Go here you wont be dissatisfied !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jones212676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your review about our resort; you are right, our staff makes this Hotel. We have passed your compliments to all of them. It will be a pleasure to welcome you once again, just let us know your requests and we will do everything to satisfy them.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Another great holiday in Cuba, we have always met some wonderful people here and this year was no exception. The mosquitoes were rampant this visit but they had had a lot of rain two weeks before so ha ho, We felt the food was not quite as good this time but we did not go hungry. I would like to say to anyone visiting the Sol look out for these people they real'y look after you. Start with lobby bar barmen Saul, Youl, Orlando. and toastie man Edel. Buffet restraint Waiters/waitress Yanesie, Meilyn & Remberto. Chef Sergio. Pool Bar Chef Yaitel. waiter Mideal. And lobby bar in the day Yoisy & Osleidy. We will sure be returning again for another great holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms around 2343 or top floor 2418 to 2424
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReturnVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your review about your last visit to our resort. We sorry for your “bad luck” with the mosquitoes; Cuba is a tropical island and usually rains, but there is nothing that we can do to prevent it. Although, we do can improve what is on our hands and we are deeply involved in the advance of our services. We are looking forward to get your 5* perception in the future.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Well we have just got back from the sol and must say great location ,,the beaches were superb one was windy and the other was stunning no wind and very hot .. the rooms are quite good big beds and air con ,, if you're looking for two weeks in the sun and on the beach this holiday is f o r you . On the down side the first week we were there ,,there was a very bad mosquito problem my partner was bitten over a hundred times in the first couple of days !!!!! And you cannot buy repellents there at all so take lots with you .. the food was ok but the same everyday ,, we both suffered with bad bellies and in the toilet quite a lot !!!! The staff were very good Henry was great ,Duane the cocktail man was excellent ,,, Petina and Mariano in the restaurant were lovely people and the gardener can't remember his name but he had gold teeth if that helps lol and he made the ha t s from coconut leaves ,,,, lovely p people all of them ,,so overall had a good holiday first experience of cuba would go back at some point ,,,,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for give us the chance to improve our services taking into account your own experiences. We sorry for your issue with the mosquitoes; sometimes it’s really hard to get the control of the situation when it rains so often. But we never give up when our guest’s satisfaction is on the table. We encourage you to visit us a next time to show you how wonderful could be a stay at Sol Cayo Coco.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Unfortunately when my wife and I arrived our room was not ready apparently, so we waited and sampled the delights of the lobby bar. After an hour and a couple beers and mojitos later, we were finally given our room. The room was a disappointment principally because the so called 'no smoking' room stank of smoke. We complained to the Reception, who quickly and without question transferred us to another room. This room was just what we expected and had a beautiful sea view which if we had ordered it would have cost us an extra 10 CUC per night (about £7). The room was large with 2 three-quarter sized beds pushed together, it had a walk-in shower with reasonable water pressure considering we were on the 4th floor (top), air conditioning, a balcony and above all it was clean.

The hotel has three restaurants:
- 'La Arcade' (near the lobby and Reception): a traditional buffet style, eat all you can eat restaurant with plenty of choice. The food is cooked simply but is fairly bland testing - the fish cooked to order is great. We sat in the patio area outside of the restaurant in the front facing the swimming pool - less chaotic but does not have the advantage of air conditioning and you may have to contend with the mosquitos.
- 'Don Diego': an á la carte restaurant (needs to be booked) only open for evening dining. This restaurant offers more upmarket dining and consequently availability is limited. The menu is good, house wine is available but you can purchase other international wines if you prefer. There is a pianist playing a grand piano for your entertainment and the waiting staff are very attentive to your needs. Recommended, but remember you are dining in Cuba and not Paris.
- 'El Peñón' (on the beach): for snacks and lunch during the day,and also has an á la carte restaurant (needs to be booked) in the evening. The á la carte restaurant serves similar food as La Arcade, but in a quiet atmosphere and the view as at sunset with the waves breaking on the beach is beautiful.

Tips:
- A word about booking the á la carte restaurants. Thomson Cook only include the use of these restaurants once per your 2 week stay; the hotel will allow you to book one of these restaurants once per week of your stay. However, if the hotel is not too busy the hotel will allow you to book these restaurants as many times as there is availability, so speak to the lovely lady who takes the bookings.
- Take the open-top bus further up the coast (westwards) to Sol Cayo Guillermo (another hotel in the same hotel group whose facilities can be used) and/or to Playa Pilar (apparently one of the top 10 beaches in the world). It is certainly an exhilarating experience as you travel 30-40mph on the top deck.

Above all the friendly hotel made our first time in Cuba a very memorable time. Recommended.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank the4poles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your lovely comments about our resort taking into account your experience as senior reviewer in this remarkable site. We also appreciate the tips you have shared with the travel community. I want to apologies for the inconvenience with the 1st room we offered you; but we usually say that the most important is the way we turn a mistake into a great new experience. We will be very happy to welcome you once again.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,780 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,266 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $110 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Coco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing