We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cuba First Timer”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Bishop's Waltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cuba First Timer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately when my wife and I arrived our room was not ready apparently, so we waited and sampled the delights of the lobby bar. After an hour and a couple beers and mojitos later, we were finally given our room. The room was a disappointment principally because the so called 'no smoking' room stank of smoke. We complained to the Reception, who quickly and without question transferred us to another room. This room was just what we expected and had a beautiful sea view which if we had ordered it would have cost us an extra 10 CUC per night (about £7). The room was large with 2 three-quarter sized beds pushed together, it had a walk-in shower with reasonable water pressure considering we were on the 4th floor (top), air conditioning, a balcony and above all it was clean.

The hotel has three restaurants:
- 'La Arcade' (near the lobby and Reception): a traditional buffet style, eat all you can eat restaurant with plenty of choice. The food is cooked simply but is fairly bland testing - the fish cooked to order is great. We sat in the patio area outside of the restaurant in the front facing the swimming pool - less chaotic but does not have the advantage of air conditioning and you may have to contend with the mosquitos.
- 'Don Diego': an á la carte restaurant (needs to be booked) only open for evening dining. This restaurant offers more upmarket dining and consequently availability is limited. The menu is good, house wine is available but you can purchase other international wines if you prefer. There is a pianist playing a grand piano for your entertainment and the waiting staff are very attentive to your needs. Recommended, but remember you are dining in Cuba and not Paris.
- 'El Peñón' (on the beach): for snacks and lunch during the day,and also has an á la carte restaurant (needs to be booked) in the evening. The á la carte restaurant serves similar food as La Arcade, but in a quiet atmosphere and the view as at sunset with the waves breaking on the beach is beautiful.

Tips:
- A word about booking the á la carte restaurants. Thomson Cook only include the use of these restaurants once per your 2 week stay; the hotel will allow you to book one of these restaurants once per week of your stay. However, if the hotel is not too busy the hotel will allow you to book these restaurants as many times as there is availability, so speak to the lovely lady who takes the bookings.
- Take the open-top bus further up the coast (westwards) to Sol Cayo Guillermo (another hotel in the same hotel group whose facilities can be used) and/or to Playa Pilar (apparently one of the top 10 beaches in the world). It is certainly an exhilarating experience as you travel 30-40mph on the top deck.

Above all the friendly hotel made our first time in Cuba a very memorable time. Recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank the4poles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your lovely comments about our resort taking into account your experience as senior reviewer in this remarkable site. We also appreciate the tips you have shared with the travel community. I want to apologies for the inconvenience with the 1st room we offered you; but we usually say that the most important is the way we turn a mistake into a great new experience. We will be very happy to welcome you once again.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,813
    1,363
    550
    238
    150
See reviews for
1,257
1,686
125
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Plenty to do inside the complex for families or couples - Resort very friendly The beaches beautiful - we will definitely be returning. Entertainment at the pool , volleyball , catch the ball with a cone (totally hilarious) dance lessons as well as other activities during the day. - darts, pool, giant chess. My time there was carefree total bliss.

Room Tip: any room would have a nice view - either the pool , gardens or beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainemm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your opinion with the rest of the travelers. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our entertainments activities so much. As you’ve said, there is a lot of relaxing and fun choices inside our resort, but there are other places to visit in the area. We hope you and your family can visit us in the near future to show you more about it.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

After just being at Sol for the two weeks over Christmas and New Years in 2012, we found a deal and took a one week stay. We love Sol and each time we go there, we love it more. The staff is outstanding especially the customer service gang, Argelio, Dianelys, and Sandro. We have made such good friends with the staff who just cannot do enough for you. We have always been welcomed with open arms, and now it's not just a vacation to us, it's going to see our friends! This was our first summer visit to Sol, and the loungers definitely stayed in the shade which in turn, left us with fantastic tans anyway! We wanted to snorkel from the glass bottom boat which wasn't arriving at the hotel this week, so we were offered to go out in the 4 man catamaran's and had an absolute blast out at the reef. It seems like at Sol, if there is anything that isn't going your way, they come up with a solution to keep that holiday smile on your face. People ask us "why don't you try another resort?" and we just wouldn't think of it. This smaller resort gives you personalized service, with the staff getting to know each and every guest, short wait times for anything, and the opportunity to meet other guests from all over the world in a smaller venue. Do we love Sol? Well, we are only back two days now, missing it like crazy once again, and planning our 5th trip which will be for Christmas. Can't wait to see Santa visit all the little kids at the resort on Christmas Day again! Less than 6 months left to go! Woo hoo! The countdown is on.....Please take the time to find my other 2 reviews from past visits!

Room Tip: The rooms with the pool/ocean view are our favorites! After being outside all day, and coming back t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_brohms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guests,
We can’t thank you enough for sharing your comments about your last visit to SCC. We are glad to know that you felt so impressed by our resort; our staff works very hard to make sure that every guest satisfies their expectations and your review give us the motivation to keep working on. We will pass your compliment to them, especially to the Costumer Service Team. It’s always a pleasure to welcome you as VIP members of our family, because, as you’ve said, you are not only our guests but our friends too.
Best wishes,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Sol Cayo Coco 30th May 2013 until 13th June 2013. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff are very attentive, the food in all restaurants was lovely and a wide choice in all. The rooms are kept very clean and tidy. We was in room 2305 which overlooked the pool and the views was lovely, you also had the sun all day. A bottle of fresh drinking water was left daily. You had a fridge in the room, whereas you had somewhere to put cans/bottles of drink if you purchased them. The bar in the lobby was manned 24hrs, so if you fancied a snack in the early hours, this was the place to get it. The bar staff was always laughing, and also very attentive, especially Dioni (Bar Manager), Orlando, and Saul. Customer Service Staff Sandor and Dianelys was absolutely brilliant, and you wanted for nothing, Animation Staff Yunet, Randy and Hari were very sociable and friendly and not pushy, Waitresses in the main restaurant Yoisi and many others was always there for you. Speciality restaurant Don Diego was excellent and the Lobster was delicious and I will also mention Ulycisses (spelt incorrect I know). Also Alfredo at the Beach restaurant was very helpful and always had a smile for you. If you have any complaints, please do not be afraid of mentioning this to Customer Service, as if you do not make people aware they will not be rectified. The beaches are lovely, with plenty of shade, and the sea is crystal clear. It is worth paying 15 CUC each to go on the hobie to snorkel out at the reef the fish are amazing. Mosquitos are about, so please take precautions. We always take a bite stick which you can buy in Boots, or any supermarket, and we swear by it. If you have a narrow lilo, it may be worth taking with you as the plastic sunbeds on the beach are quite hard. The beaches are public beaches, so please be aware that the beaches are used at weekends by the locals, but they don't cause any problems, and they are very friendly. On our return we paid 25 CUC each to have the use of the VIP lounge at the airport. It is air conditioned, the drinks (wine, spirits, beer, soft drinks) and food (toasties) are free. The seating area is very comfy. As this is a 3rd world country, toiletries are in short supply to the locals, so if you can afford it, please take extra with you. The hotel is only 20mins transfer time from the airport, and if you want to get a taxi to the hotel you will be looking at approx. 20 CUC. This was our 3rd time in Cuba and its a lovely country, with lovely people, and yes we will definitely be going back to Cuba again.

Room Tip: Room 2305 was excellent. Overlooking the pool, with sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your great comments about our resort as a way to inform to the travel community about our facilities and services in your own terms. Our staff is our gem and they definitely make your holidays; we will pass your compliments to all the workers that you’ve named. We will be waiting for you as always with open arms…
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Returned a week ago from a two week break with my partner, we are so glad we picked to go here. Its the best holiday we have had to date. We were worried as we have never been in an all inclusive resort and wondered if we'd get bored but there was so much to do there was no time to be bored. We went into the local town moron and had lunch at don pappa, they gave us a massive banquet of lobster, seafood, chicken etc. Was strange because it was in the middle of no where but was lovely. We did the speedboats through the mangroves and held baby aligators and fed the big ones. We also did the glass bottom boat and snorkled at the coral reef-any thing that you want to do i suggested going down onto the beach and booking it there as will be cheaper then the rep. With the dolphins we booked through someone else aswell, which was just as good and a lot cheaper-if you go make sure you do the dolphins as its a brilliant experience. Also theres a bus service which is 5pesos that takes you down to pilar beach, this is near one of the sister hotels so if u dont want to pay for lunch u can go there. This beach is one of the top ten in the world and you will see why, crystal clear water with fish everywhere and the sand is like silk!!
I would reccomend this resort to any one as the location is beautiful and staff become your friends. Want to say thanks to yianni and ari for spending so much time with us! You made our holiday brilliant. They took us to the bat cave which they do on tuesdays, dont worry the bats arent in the same rooms as you they are off in the tunnels because they dont like music! But my partner went in and got some good photos. Also another member of staff who made our stay was orlando, he works behind the lobby bar and he works so hard to make sure you are happy and not waiting at the bar too long, he is always smiling as well!
Have to say we aren't happy we are back in england and we are counting down the days until we can come back!
Lauren and Matt

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lozzi1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for your comments about our resort; it’s great to know that we satisfied your expectations. This hotel offers to our guests so many entertainment choices, in site and also in the near area; you’ve named some of them but this is just the beginning. Everyone can find their own way to relax and enjoy the time. Our staff is always willing to share information and assist our costumers. If we made you feel happy those days, don’t hesitate to book us, we will be glad to welcome you and your partner once again.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Sol for two weeks at the end of April/beginning of May. There were good and not so good aspects to the holiday and hotel, but overall a good experience.

Good points:
Friendly staff, especially the gardeners and bar staff. The gardeners make animals out of leaves and even hats if you ask them.
Two lovely beaches - one with very calm water, the other was more exposed so could be rougher, we preferred this one as we found it better for snorkelling and feeding the fish, there is also a beach bar on this side.
Pool clean and plenty of loungers
Gardens well maintained - we saw frogs, humming birds, crabs etc
Really helpful Thomas Cook rep - Norma
Lots of choice with food from the buffet, I had fresh pancakes for breakfast, salad and grilled fish for lunch and something else from the grill for dinner. The fresh cooked pasta was ok, but sauce a little thin for my taste. I ate Guava and melon everyday - lovely.
I had a fresh coconut water from a coconut with a straw, given to me by a gardner from one of the trees outside the hotel.
A/C in the room good

Not so good points:
Our room was basic but ok, linen however was not ok - the bed sheets had mould stains on and at times had holes in them. The throws and scatter pillow cases smelt bad (one of BO!) before we even used them! I do not think these get washed ever, we took them off the bed and they were not replaced. I think it would be better not to have these if they are not clean.
The beach restaurant food was not good - I saw birds eating off the bread table and the chicken skewers would have been ok if it they were cooked about 3 hours less!
Glasses in the bar in the evening were rinsed through, not washed - I took my own cup with me instead.
I think you would struggle if you are a true vegetarian here - the holiday makers use the serving tongs for one thing and mix with others, regardless of meat/veg/fish... the pasta also is cooked in pans that have contained meat. Not sure about the grill but Ithink meat/fish/veg all gets cooked together.

Other than that, I can't really comment on the entertainment, the shows and disco are not my cup of tea anyway so we didn't go. The cocktails are nice, but not made with fresh ingredients. If you are not a big drinker like me, ask for less alcohol in your drink or you'll get a shock! If you are a big drinker - you're in luck as the drinks are strong!!!

The cayo's are a little isolated, there is nothing close by to walk to (other than a very small market), so if you plan to go out and about, budget for this as it can be pricey. We hired bicycles from the Melia to tour the island which was nice, but make sure you put plenty of mosquito repellent on!

You can take a bus for 5CUC around the island and get off at Pilar beach for a change of scenery.

We took the 3 day trip to Havana by road which was excellent, I wish we had spent half of our holiday there. We stopped off at Santa Clara and other places on the way also.

We also did a catermeran trip, this was a nice day, you can snorkel off the boat and swin to the beach at one point. One poor man was very sea sick as the water was choppy that day!

My boyfriend went diving with the dive school there - ask Norma about this. He has his PADI advanced certificate, but went with a friend who was not certified and this was ok with the school as long as you could prove you could dive. Oh and you sign a waiver!!

Overall it was a nice holiday, the weather was beautiful, the beach beautiful and the staff friendly. I would not got back to the Cayos however, not because it wasn't lovely, but because it was a bit too isolated from the real Cuba and the excersions were pricey. If they sorted out the linen in the rooms there would be a lot less complaints I am sure!!

TIP: If you are buying souveneirs, get them in Havana, they are about 90% cheaper from the market there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveoldstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate your comments as a way to improve our services day by day. It’s a shame we didn’t satisfy your expectations at 100%, but I should say that we are working hard to solve any faults that we could have; besides our staff is always at our guests disposal to assist them. Our resort is located in one of the most beautiful keys of Cuba; to be in a little paradise like this one has a price: the nearest town is at 65 Km away. Although, there are many places to visit in the area such as: a Dolphin Center, a SPA & Talasso-therapy Center, a night club called the Jabalí’s Cave, the Speed Boat Center and others. We hope you can visit us in the future.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was our third time at this hotel, and it was as good as the first time. It was nice to see that some of the staff remembered us, Maelyn in the restaurant, Danielle in customer service and the gardener.
The rooms are spacious and were cleaned every day, each with a king size bed, table and two chairs.
Food was a plenty, with lots of choice, although it would have been nice for the hotel buffet not to have run out of a few things(bacon,turkey,fajitas). The beach restaurant is beautiful with the staff there really nice and willing to have a laugh with you. The Italian restaurant is for a more romantic meal, the food in here is excellent.
The beach BBQ is great, especially Roe(Captain Jack Sparrow) the burgers were my favourite and the kebabs. The pool bar does pizzas, chips and pininis, the pizzas here are the best I've tasted, even better than in the restaurant.
There are two beaches to this hotel, one which is directly in front of the hotel, and one that is just to the left, that you have to access over a wooden bridge, we prefer this beach its so picturesque picture postcard. The hotel could do with opening a full bar offering all drinks and food, there is one there but its hit and miss if there's anyone there and don't stock all drinks.
The towel service was bad this time. They need to make sure that they have plenty of towels and make sure they do get washed. While we was there the first day we could't get our towels as there was none left, the next day the machine had broken so they was none washed, we were OK then until it came to exactly a week later the machine was broken again so no towels, it's lucky we always bring some with us.
We went to Havana again, great trip, a must if you've never been, we also went swimming with the dolphins, fantastic swim.
We would definately return to this hotel, the staff are so friendly.

Room Tip: 2304 has a good pool and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cazDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate a lot your comments as a Senior Reviewer and loyal guest of SCC, every suggestion is taking into account to improve our services everyday. Our family of friends is huge, but every one of our guests is a special friend and we are always happy to welcome you. It’s a must to say that we are very commitment with our guests’ satisfaction, but sometimes things are running out of our hands. Our staff is willing to help our clients, please, let us know your requests and we will find the way.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing