We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our honeymoon to the sol cayo coco”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Bingley
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“our honeymoon to the sol cayo coco”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

An absolute brilliant place to enjoy a holiday, My wife and I arrived here on our honeymoon, and I have to say from the second we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us, we received drinks as soon as we got there which was a god send as it was so hot, the cases were left for the hotel staff to take to our room, we had bottled water in our room everyday, also as the hotel knew we were on honeymoon they had champagne and chocolates waiting in our room for us on arrival which was a lovely touch.The htel was clean, extremely friendly staff, good meals, well laid out grounds, perfect access to a wonderful beach, all in all a perfect hotel to spend a perfect occasion.

Room Tip: we had a sea view with it being our honeymoon and it didn't disappoint , unlike some hotels that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phillufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
We can’t thank you enough for your review and photos of SCC. This is an ideal resort for families, but we also have packages for Weddings and Honeymooners. If some guest wants to have a memorable celebration, this is the right place; our staff knows the way to make them feel special. If you decide to have another wonderful holiday, we will be at your disposal for any request you may have.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
Director General
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,874
    1,409
    565
    243
    153
See reviews for
1,293
1,741
136
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've stayed in Cayo Coco for three nights after having been in Casas for 10 days.
The service (room, breakfast, lunch, dinner, etc.) is very good. Nice staff, good food. You can book a la carte dinner for two different locations and use the hotel Melia Cayo Coco which is 2 minutes walking away. Walking up the beach leads you to a lonely Caribbean beautiful white beach.
There weren't many children there in the end of April which made it a good couple holiday.

We've got a seaview room even though we hadn't booked one. The room is very comfortable and has got a very good AC, which you can barely hear at night.

After travelling for 10 days without internet, TV, and phone the BBC news and internet in the hotel lobby were a good change.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhiHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your useful advices for all Sol Cayo Coco future visitors. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our Ocean View Room and services. I should say that our guests can upgrade their rooms once their arrive asking in the Front Desk, we have Ocean View Rooms, Superior Ocean View Rooms and Suites.
It would be very nice if we could welcome you again.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
Director General
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Wow what another great holiday x sept 8th 2012 until sept 22nd x from the.minute we stepped off the coach we were welcomed by our cuban families. We enjoyed every single minute and my daughter and I cried when we were leaving x I celebrated my 30 th bday and our 4th wedding anniversary there x we have already booked for 9th Aug 2013 and we are counting the seconds down x can not wait to see our family again Yordanis who used to do kids club x henry- bell boy x toqui x yulka x blanca x yoel x yompi x muca x esther x yianni x dianelys x mily x Jessica x and many more...... we love this place soo much and cant wait to return xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodieNeilMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate so much your comments about your last visit to Sol Cayo Coco. As you have said, this could be the right place to celebrate the special days among friends and a magic atmosphere. We are looking forward to welcome you in your “second home” this August.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice beach (especially nice at low tide). Nice pool area. Good food and good service. The resort is well maintained. Not as nice as the Melia Cayo Coco; however, the Sol Cayo Coco is a very nice place. Good family resort.

See Video on You Tube Channel: nwaynesworld

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwaynesworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate a lot your comments as a Top Contributor with the travel community. Definitely, our strong points are the ones which make us a “family resort”: 2 lovely beaches 1 ideal for children, a staff who knows how to make feel special our guests and facilities such as: Baby and Mini Club, a unique Game Room, a mini-golf course, a pool with a children’s section and more… We will be happy to welcome you soon.
Greetings,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

As of April 2013 there is no more designated smoking in the Cayo Coco airport .Also as of April 2013 any beer or liquor cannot be brought on in your carry on luggage ,only on your checked luggage ,we lost 4 bottles to the lovely airport staff .You may buy your liquor in the duty free area then put in your carry on which is kind of stupid but that's the rules .Cuba and the Sol Cayo Coco gret as always .Monte Sherry

Room Tip: The least stairs the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank montesherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hello,
We want to thank you for sharing your experiences with the rest of travelers. We are happy to hear that you found our resort as great as always. Please, let us know the date of your next visit to welcome you as we wish.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

From the time we arrived till the time we left this holiday was perfect, staff were very attentive and polite. Rooms were cleaned everyday, I always left a tip but usually soaps, smelly's which seemed to be appreciated more. Lots and lots of food choice, from the main restaurant to the little side bars and good waiter service to the beach which was a very very short walk from the main hotel. The weather was beautiful every day of the two weeks we were there with only one cloudy day but we still sat out on the beach. I really can't fault a thing, perfect holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,
We can’t thank you enough for your review; the satisfaction of our guests’ expectations is the best reward to us. We shared your comments with our team as a motivation to keep improving our services. Contact us for your next holiday; we are going to be delighted to meet you again.
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all!

I've been going to Sol for years and I have seen the improvement, changes and renovations. I could tell you that Ricardo, the new manager does an excellent job. He makes sure that everything is ok at all times.

FOOD - One of the best food I've ever ate in Cuba. There is always something to eat whether you're at the buffet, snack bar or at the specialities restaurant. If you can't live without sauce, I suggest you bring your Ketchup, mustard, hot sauce etc. You can also bring nutella, jam, peanut butter and maple syrup since they will be a good use for breakfast! Food got better this time compared to the others! I think the new manager made a lot of effort to fix this situation. The meat station where you could get fresh chicken, pork, seafood & etc. There was also a pasta station where you could create your own. At night, starting from 11pm - 7am, you have ham & cheese sandwiches which are pretty good if you are hungry.

ROOMS - For a 4* resort, I find it to be perfectly fine. You have a large shower, everything works perfectly, one king bed or two double that you can push in together, a huge couch, drawers and a large tv! The safe costs money now but there is no need for one...it is pretty safe. I had the room right up the buffet...pretty nice but if you are planning to sleep in or early, forget it!

ENTERTAINMENT - Can't go wrong with it..there is always something to do either it's a the pool, beach, night or at the disco! On tuesdays, you can pay 25CUC to go to the disco in the cave which is awesome! You get unlimited drinks. The nigh shows are the best especially the Micheal Jackson & Lion king ones! Even if I've seen them many times, I never get bored.

SERVICE - Top notch! I have nothing to say! Everyone is so polite & helpful. Especially Dianlys, Orlando, Luis, Jendy, Saul, Duanne, Yulka, Elvis & many more. Thanks for always making me feel at home when I visit you!

LOCATION - It is the only resort in cayo coco where you have access to two beaches on the resort. The left one (playa larga) is a public beach which is more quiet during the week but busy on weekends since cubans comes and enjoy the sun..on the right side it's a public beach, both are good but I prefer the one on the left side...it is only 15 mins away from the airport which is very good. You are about 20mins from the Tryp if you walk on the beach!

Will definitely see you guys soon and looking forward to e-mail Ricardo with my room request!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Insanexvi3tgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are also very blessed to be able to count on you as another loyal member of our big family. We have passed your compliments and recommendations to the members of the staff. We are working on fixing the areas of improvements. We hope we can see you and your family soon in your HOME AWAY FROM HOME.
Best wishes,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,121 reviews
18.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,189 reviews
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing