We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sol Cayo Coco
Nearby Hotels
Melia Cayo Coco(Cayo Coco)
$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
IBEROSTAR Mojito(Cayo Coco)
$121
$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$141
$132
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$196
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (4,514)
Filter reviews
4,514 results
Traveler rating
2,006
1,500
590
253
165
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,006
1,500
590
253
165
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdon diegopool barpizzamain beachfishgreat holidayanimation teambuffet restaurantthe thomas cook repchickenspeed boat tripbeach restaurantpoor countrystir frysister hotelwelcome meetingholiday makers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,873 - 1,878 of 4,514 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

we flew out to sol cayo coco on 15th feb to 8th march for our silver wedding we had a great time
and met some lovely people the staff are great henry the bellboy always there to help anyone.and andy
estban,roli,and all the staff are great the rooms are clean and well maintained the weather was hot the atmosphere was fantasic.the manager of the hotel is so nice please keep it up u have good staff and a good hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments about Sol Cayo Coco. We always have on mind our guests’ requests, we encourage to all travelers to contact us before visit us to make their holidays even better than they could image.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at the Sol and had a great time. Stunning beach location and a good hotel with a friendly atmosphere. Big shout out to all the friends we met who made this holiday so special and many thanks to the hotel for organising my wife's 50th birthday celebrations.

TIP: Take plenty of sun cream as the shop charged "28 QUID !!!!" for a bottle of 'Nivia'. Would like to put the animation team microphone where the sun don't shine at times but all in all, have no complaints.

Would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a laid-back friendly atmosphere on a stunning beach. 'Cave rave' is a must.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark and gina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,
We want to thank you for your views about our resort; it’s motivating to know that we made memorable your holiday. As you mentioned, if some guests choose us to celebrate their special date they just have to think about all the ways to enjoy the stay, because our Costumer Service Team and our staff will make sure that they have what they deserve: a great moment.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Four Star All Inclusive should include free room safe and might include free coffee maker, but we had to pay for the safe and finally declined the offer to pay for coffee maker and filters. Customer service were not helpful.
Room furnishing was very old and worn, and general building appearance somewhat neglected.
Entertainment was very poor with the same 'dancers' performing similar routines most evenings.
Live music would have made a big difference.

And YES, I have been to A.I. hotel in another area ( VARADERO) and it was VERY good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAMES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear guest,
We are pleased that you have allowed us to know your views about our hotel, but we regret that we never have discussed your perception during your stay as all our staff is always willing to help. We are an All-inclusive 4 stars hotel, the only destination that features two of the best beaches in the world, each with a bar included, with various offers of drinks and snacks. Our hotel is a great destination for sun and beach, with beautiful natural environments and restaurants with the best of International and Caribbean menus. We have tennis field, mini golf, and a variety of nautical activities and facilities to entertain every guest. During the week, our customers enjoy the best of the city's artistic talent, piano concerts, live music and a great day of Cuban culture to complete the guest experiences. We hope you give us a chance to show much more if you decide to return.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

just got home from 2 weeks at the sol cayo coco hotel the 2 weeks flew by , holidays are what you make of the time , here we made loads of friends , atmosphere was good whatever time of day whether round the pool -- bar -- mealtimes -- disco -- rooms are well maintained and yes have hairdryer iron and board in rooms --3 trips and all were memorable .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Olly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for take your time and share your experience at Sol Cayo Coco with all travelers. The holidays are maybe the must expected time of the year for our clients and we are always willing to make them as great as they wished. I would like to say that our resort has several choices to relax and fun; we are located 5 Km near the Talassotherapy Center, 1 Km far from the new Trade Center and next to the coral barrier. Also, there is a local bus to takes you to the Dolphin Center in Cayo Guillermo and Pilar Beach, one of the most attractive beaches in the world.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We travelled to the Sol from 1st - 15th Feb with a 4 mth old, a 7yr old + my parents. We all had a wonderful time. This was our 4th time to Cuba but 1st time to Cayo Coco

On arrival were allocated adjoining rooms overlooking the pool. Although the rooms are outdated + in need of a lick of paint, they were spotlessly clean + functional. We always had hot water in the evenings + were never kept awake by any noise. A few beers in the fridge each day would be a nice touch though.

The weather was perfect after the 1st day with sunshine and 25 - 30c every day.
The grounds + pools were always lovely + clean, the loungers seemed to get snapped up pretty early , normally by 8am but the beach loungers seemed to be available most of the day.
There was an issue with a lack of clean beach towels every day but you could normally change every other day which didn't bother us. However I believe this was not the hotels fault but a problem across the island.

The music + animation team were about ten decibels over what was required in the afternoon but every hotel we have been to seems to have this problem so we used to retreat to the beach.
The pool snack bar was very handy if you fancied a change to the buffet but sit around the perimeter to avoid the birds from adding to the flavour of your food.
Orlando at the pool bar is a top fella + so genuine - nothing is too much trouble for him.

The 2 beaches were both stunning with the beach to the left being a lot more sheltered from the wind + had a little stream connected to it with a bridge over it where the fish + red crabs seemed to gather, my daughter loved playing around this area in particular.

We have previously been to a lot of resorts in the Caribbean but the buffet restaurant at the Sol was of the highest standard of any all inclusive we have been to with a great selection of food. A huge thankyou to Yanitza who greeted us with hugs + kisses every morning + always found us a table outside - She's a diamond.
The breakfast choice was plentiful with fresh eggs + bacon, omelettes + different sausages and also a healthier option.
In the evenings the salads were always fresh, lobster was available most evenings.
The fresh meat station had loads of choice but I recommend going for well done especially the chicken as it could cooked too quickly during busy periods.
There was a stir-fry station every evening which always went down well - very tasty. Masseo made some great pizzas which got me through the difficult 2nd week!
Jessica + Elvis were brilliant in the evenings + always kept the drinks flowing.
We only went to the a-la cartes once but we weren't very impressed so with the buffet being so good it didn't matter to us.

Our daughter (7) enjoyed the kids club + the staff were lovely so it felt very safe as did the whole resort.
The evenings were very low key + mainly centered around the lobby, which had a male vocalist most evenings. This was fine for us as we met quite a few other friends to have a laugh with.
They do seem to have a limited amount of glasses so if you are lucky to get one, hang onto it as all drinks are served in flimsy plastic cups - a bubba keg is a must for the daytime !
Duanne has his own small cocktail bar in the lobby...he makes the best cocktails + Mojitos in the whole of Cuba (my head confirmed that at 7am every day)
The entertainment at the open air theatre after the kids disco was provided by the animation staff so a bit limited but still a laugh.

A must visit is Playa Pillar, which is one of the most beautiful beaches anywhere . A 5cuc open top bus ride from the Sol (about 80 mins).
There is a restaurant just off the beach offering fresh lobster (15cuc) or chicken + pork (5cuc) with Becks or Corona (2cuc).
You can also use the facilities at Sol Guillermo which is 5mins from Playa Pillar.

A new manager appeared for the last few days of our stay + this seemed to perk things up even more + caused a bit of a buzz with some of the guests (you know who you are) - we even got some fluffy towels !!

In summary, the staff make this place great + if your after a great value with superb food, drinks, lovely people + stunning beaches then this is the place for you - If you want luxury fittings, soft fluffy towels, Moet + caviar + your toilet roll folded over fancy then go somewhere else but pay almost double !
We will definitely return to this hotel as long as Thomas Cook do the decent thing + keep prices reasonable.

Feel free to contact me with any questions

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 14Ginola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear guest,
We are really appreciating your comments which give us the chance to improve our resort in a better way. We are happy you loved the Kid’s Club because this is one of our priorities as a family destination and I’m glad to inform that we are facing new good changes in this area. It’s important to notice that we offer to our guests some facilities extra charge that may make better the stay like coffee facilities, mini-bar daily restocked, dinner with lobster and room’s upgrades; in other words, you will get here all what you need.
Best regards,
Ricardo Moreno del Valle
General Manager
director.general.scc@meliacuba.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews