We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel needs to up it's game”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Sol and had a good holiday. Some points made in previous posts are spot on, ie no glasses, food hit and miss on main courses although starters and sweets were ok and SOME staff, not all, not as friendly as we have become accustomed to on our many visits to Cuba. All that said our room was good, overlooking the crazy golf with a seaview, it was always cleaned to a good standard with towels and sheets changed as required not stained or ripped. I think rooms must differ as previous posts have mentioned a bath? We had a great bathroom more like a wetroom, no bath. The a la Cartes were not worth the visit as no atmosphere and the one on the beach was very blowy, I dont think they should allow meals there at night when the wind is up or they need to invest in some sort of blinds or windbreaks as you couldn't enjoy your meal. The grounds were beautiful as were the beaches both left and right and the pool and poolside very clean and well kept. Only watched one show which was Michael Jackson and that was very good . There were some singers in the main lobby bar who were good but just to 'cruise ship' for me I prefered the cuban bands they were fab. We visited Cayo Guillermo and Pillar with the beach at CG as good as Pillar, It was good to be able to use all inc at the Sol on CG and the Trypp CC where we had our lunch, both were very good. The icing on the cake was a trip to Havana organised by Roberto and Maru on the beach, although a long trip - 6 hours with a couple of stops - it was well worth it. We stayed overnight in an apartment and Maru never left our side he was our driver and tour guide and our chef cooking us a lovely meal at night and then took us out to the hotel Nacional for some entertainment. This hotel has the potential to be very good with its stunning grounds and surroundings but all of the negatives have been mentioned in many posts before and still nothing seems to change. We filled in our questionaire on leaving and had an email acknowledging this but only time will tell whether they take heed, it will be ashame if they don't.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the golf course, good rooms and bathrooms with seaview
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank galesworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,272)
There are newer reviews for Sol Cayo Coco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,759 - 1,765 of 4,272 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had a great time at the Sol Cayo Coco. OK the rooms could do with a bit of an update and a lick of paint, but I don't think it matters as it was kept spotlessly clean by our maid (who was a gem). My partner has walking difficulties and walks with a stick and sometimes found it awkward to get up and down the stairs to our room (she doesn't drink). The beds were really comfy and we slept well. The complex itself was very good, the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you. In the restaurant there was always something there to take your fancy. The entertainment was OK didn't go to the animation shows as it was a bit of a trek for my partner, although I heard that the shows were excellent. The place was always clean and tidy. Overall had a great time and would recommend it to anyone. Hope to go back there next year.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonniePortSeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

You're reading the reviews - why are they so mixed? its like two poor then one good one? Should you book?? Well I really think it depends on the price and what you expect, reading a review further down (anthonycleo) at £720 each you really have yourselves a bargain and you have excellent value for money and hence a pretty good review. At £720 you'd be lucky to get a week anywhere else in Caribbean! Naturally if you pay a lot you would be expecting more. We paid £850 and felt this was a good deal, we had a great holiday despite a few hotel let downs.

If you have already booked don't worry it's not all that bad!

I agree pretty much with the next few reviews and hence don't see the point in going over the same stuff; lack of glasses, toilet paper, tired hotel etc but it's not quite as bad as it sounds and although the food is bland there is a reasonably good choice and grill station where food cooked in front of you, so you can choose what you wish and how is cooked etc.

I must however say that, whether we tipped or not, the staff were all fantastic and really cannot fault them. Also the Sol by far has the nicest strip of beach. Nice guests staying here too- met lots great people!!!

So as it's my review I'll just add a couple of extra tips to hopefully help you! If you have not already booked I would prob not recommend the hotel, if you can get the Tryp or Melia for around same price I would book there. (went in Tryp for lunch and just seemed that bit better, met people at Melia and they were happy there too) If you like to drink G&T bring some T!

Room tip - complain if you not happy with your room and you may get moved. Block 2 is nice and quiet ask for overlooking golf course.

Trips - we came to chill and as we have been Havana & done Dolphins and other trips before so we did not really do anything! We heard the Mangroves trip on speedboat was great but many trips seemed a bit pricey. Partner went fishing. We took a taxi as previously posted on Trip advisor (by bicycleman? lives in Canada) to Playa Prohibida (cost 8) for the lobster lunch at Lennys lobster place which was spot on and believe it or not bicycleman was there too! We did Playa Pillar too - not really sure what all the fuss was about this beach though? With an hour and half each way although it made a change and we stopped off for lunch at the other Sol.

Personally I preferred Varadero, Cuba is a lovely place with great people. I would recommend Cuba but not particularly this hotel. Sorry :(

Happy to answer any questions.

Room Tip: Room tip - complain if you not happy with your room and you may get moved. Block 2 is nice and quiet...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahnphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

February 28th, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your reviews, we would like to say that the hotel also has two beautiful beaches, not just one, and now we have a bar on every beach, which offer refreshing drinks and snacks, if you want to spend a day at the beach with all the hand, is the ideal place. As you said, our staff makes the difference and Sol Cayo Coco is not just beach, sun and friendly people.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sol Cayo Coco 5-19 Oct 12. Can only say that it was one of the best holidays we have ever been on. What made it so was the friendliness of all the staff and how welcome they made us feel throughout.

Special mention to Duanne at the lobby cocktail bar, you're a top guy and we hope you and your family are well.

Both beaches are great, spent most of our first week on the one to the left, but strong winds the second week brought up lots of seaweed, so had to move to the other one.

Food was generally varied and there was always a good choice. The fresh cooking points were great and an alternative to the buffet food.

Went on the speedboat excursion and my son and I had a great time driving through the lagoons and then some snorkelling in between.

Would definitely love to go back in the future to catch up with new found friends.

Top tip: take your own thermos with you. The hotel only provides small plastic cups for drinks, both daytime and evening. The bar staff will happily fill these up with any kind of drink.

Thanks Sol Cayo Coco!! :)

Steve, Uli & Max

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had looked forward to our annual holiday for months, and were really ready for some rest and relaxation, especially as we have stayed in 2 other Cuban resorts, in 4* hotels and thought we knew what to expect. Sol Cayo Coco was a major disappointment!
The bedroom decor was 'tired' to put it politely and on arrival, I had to get our towels changed before we could use them, as they were so badly stained.
Our bed sheets were either torn or had holes in them, there was very limited storage space in the bedrooms and the shower was little more than a dribble.
The food was grim - very little variety and bland and tasteless, and that was after the usual hunt for a table. We did not feel the size of the dining room was adequate for the size of the hotel.
The coffee machines in the dining room ran out on the Sunday morning of our first weekend and were still empty the following Friday. When we questioned 'Why?', we were told that coffee had to be imported and this took time. Surely Sol hotels should be keeping adequate stock levels to ensure that customers have the basic of amenities?
I understand that glasses of drink are dangerous around the pool, but was absolutely fed to the back teeth of drinking cocktails out of plastic cups in the evening - and especially from the Cocktail bar. We also found it difficult to understand the complete lack of blenders, used to make cocktails in every other hotel we have stayed in.
The waiters in the lobby bar seemed to pick and choose who they wanted to serve and even when drinks were ordered at the bar, they delivered them to the wrong table. When we complained, they retrieved them from the people who had sniffed and tasted them and served them to us!!
On a good note, the beach on the left of the hotel was idyllic and the sea was clear, warm and beautiful.
We were so dissatisfied with this hotel, we paid considerably more and had a fabulous week in a 5* hotel on an adjacent island.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shiners123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo M, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

February 28th, 2013
Dear guest,
We welcome your comments, but we want to give our opinion, for both meals and rooms differ in their level of acceptance. In terms of variety of meals we offer in each and every service over 100 varieties of dishes to suit all tastes, including baby food. The rooms are simple, but comfortable and clean with light decor due to warm weather we have in the Caribbean. You made reference to Long Beach, one of the best in the destination, and now we have opened a new bar on the beach with fresh drinks, cocktails and snacks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Anticipating a pleasant 4star experience having stayed in many Sol hotels in Spain and the wonderful brochure pictures/description we were extremely disappointed with the condition of the hotel, basic amenities and openly disrespectful attitude of some but not all of the staff.

Our room- generally shabby in appearance which we can cope with as basic requirements met but towels and sheets were shabby with tears in both and clear stains (albeit washed) on sheets.
Exterior toilets and lobby bar toilets-we always took our room toilet paper with us as early in day and late in day there was no paper available. In one toilet in block with sauna, which was always out of order, there was a broken holder and never any paper. From Wed until we left on the Fri the lobby toilets and water at sinks were out of use due to holes in the ceilings.
The lobby bar staff working area was dirty and the floor which the large drinks cabinet was sat on was very dirty with clear definition between what was mopped and what hadnt been for many months.

Buffet Restaurant-a canteen atmosphere, frantic but it was clean and the food very nicely presented, however it tasted of nothing including lovely looking fresh fruit and fresh tuna, prawns etc, meat very chewy and tough. No hot drinks for half of our week long stay.
Beach restaurant-lovely location but the windows were filthy and unable to see through. The fresh fish and chicken wasn't and was dry and crispy as if re-heated from day before.

Staff-the bar staff at the pool were efficient and always actively serving people, but entertainment staff, gardeners and some kitchen staff at lobby bar enjoyed beers and spirits, some quite openly drinking and others being more subtle about it. The snack bar was well used but unfortunately they didnt clear up promptly which attracted black jack-daw type birds which were a constant pest. Tap water is not drinkable, yet fresh water was difficult to obtain if you wanted more than the bottle left each day in your room, so we were told by staff to bring that bottle down for refill from the soft drinks machine operated by bar staff behind the bar. We personally found some staff disrespectful ie blatantly readjusting themselves in the lobby bar area early morning as if they had just got out of their beds and other personal habits which would usually be done privately and not in full hearing and view of clients.
Staff in buffet restaurant worked hard to ensure people were well stocked with whatever drink they wanted and the majority were well presented.

All Inc Drinks-no real fruit juice to mix with your spirits. When I asked for a named whisky or vodka on display in the lobby bar I was told there was a charge but they didn't have a price list for me. When I asked for Cava on the first and second night they said they didn't have any. I spoke to customer services who said the hotel did have it and when I returned to the lobby bar to tell them what I had been told, the waiter wanted 8 CUC for it. Eventually after 3 days I got a result from Orlando at the pool bar who couldn't understand why we had not been provided with Cava which is part of the AI package.
No gin and no tonic for 6 of our 7 day stay.

There is a distinct lack of leadership visibility around the hotel, which will be the reason for the issues we found with many of the staff.
We left after a week and transferred the Melia Guillermo. . .chalk and cheese comes to mind.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChorleyNalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Cuba, we are a well traveled family of 4. Two adults and two children aged 12 & 9. In the main reviews for this hotel are positive ones and i have to agree, for the money we paid ( £720 each ) for a 14 night all inclusive flying from Manchester, England.. We had a good flight, quick transfer to hotel and with four staff checking visitors in, we were in our room within 50 mins of landing. We had two spacious rooms side by side in the quietest part of the hotel with free air con. Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels and you can request fresh sheets daily if you want, Hot water in showers if you want it, fridge in room and water in a bottle provided daily. The hotel complex is well laid out and we never experienced a problem with sunbeds, food or the beach. Three of us were ill after three days but this was colds and our 9 yr old had tonsilitus not really caused by the hotel, but the down side being it cost £200 to see a doctor & nurse plus medicines, The hotel staff in general were exceptional, we only found the staff in the lobby bar a bit off except when Yoshi from the buffet restaurant was working there, for some reason staff here didn't want to serve, so we would pop to the pool bar to see Orlando ( excellent ) for drinks and go back to the lobby area. Staff in restaurant again first class nothing too much trouble, Elvis ( yes Elvis ) being without doubt incredible at his job, others who served us well, Eric & Yoshi. All areas were spotless, beaches were lovely, beach to the left as everyone says is the best, sea in our second week being so calm, we would take cake out to feed the fish and see how many would come to us, ( counted 50 at one time ). Very laid back hotel, nothing to do near by but lovely beach walks. Not much entertainment for our children but we were there in school time. Weather our first week was not great but can't blame the hotel. For us we found trips very expensive, everything was around £60 each when there are four of you £240 for a few hours out being too much.but again not the Hotel's fault, we hired a taxi one day 80 peso's ( £57 ) for the day, we went to Crocodile farm ( very good ) and a sugar cane factory ( also very good ) plus the city of Moron, nothing special and we didn't stop there long but good to drive over the causeway and see a bit of Cuba. Entry fees to both of above 3 peso's each ( £2 ). My wife and daughter went horse back riding for an hour one morning, 10 peso's each and we did a pony a trap ride around our part of the island for 45 mins 20 peso's ( £15 ). We had a very good second week after getting over our ill's and the weather second week was fantastic, overall no problems and would say if looking for a beautiful beach location Cayo Coco is great value, the choice of food at meal times also very good, first night there and i had smoked salmon, crab & shrimp, although my wife doesn't like smoked salmon, what i'm trying to say is go with an open mind, take no expectations, there were a couple of nights there was no Gordons and also no tonic but this is Cuba third world country, hey when you've traveled India then have a moan, we've stayed in really top hotels but paid top hotel price's we've stayed in lower end hotels because we wanted to see the country not the pool. We found this to be the best hotel in this area unless you wanted to pay £400 more next door at the Melia. People were coming to our hotel from the Tryp and Guillermo to eat at lunch because they said the food was better at our hotel. Read between the lines and remember you only get what you pay for, we all like different things and for the priced we paid overall the Sol Cayo Coco did not let us down.

Room Tip: If you like sleep quality ask for a room overlooking the football pitch
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthonycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $105 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Coco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Evoline ltd and TravelUp so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing