We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit what a let down”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Firstly to certain people/person who wrote on ere all u did was moan every day u should ave gone back to the states.I was very surprised at all the changes but i could not fault the staff with the exception of one female animation team member all she needed was a sign round her neck and a mattress strapped to her back she let the whole team down trust me. My partner and i ave been ere 3times now and found the food very poor got fed up with under cooked bacon and beef every night so much for a top chef. Did not matter if we complained it never changed. Beach guys and bar really good but never open ibm the evening unless a party taking place.Sun beds on beach very poor while pool area had better quality must ave been for the benidorm lot No we will not return if you want screaming louts free and easy girls then this is cubas version of benidorm enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blueice48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,272)
There are newer reviews for Sol Cayo Coco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,875 - 1,881 of 4,272 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I travelled to this resort on my own as a single gal to get away for a week and I had an absolutely amazing time! From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, I found not one thing to complain about!

Rooms:
I stayed in room 2107, with a patio overlooking the pool. The room was so centrally located it took me only 5 min to get everywhere I needed to get to - lobby bar, pool, beach, buffet. All within a moment's walk. The room itself was very nice, with two beds all to myself (woo hoo!), two showerheads (a rain one overhead and a handheld) and a TV that had Harry Potter in Spanish one late night (such a funny treat!)

Buffet:
Sure, you're gonna hear people who say the food is crap. Me, I'm not a picky eater at all, so I was able to find plenty eat - and plenty of yummy things I wouldn't normally choose at home. The prawns were amazing and I loved all the garlicky food!

Staff:
The staff was so amazing and welcoming! The front desk staff were always there when I had a question or needed my currency exchanged, my fave men at the bar (especially the amazing Ed!) were always there with a drink and knew what I wanted depending on the time of day - and though I didn't personally speak with him, I did see the manager Gregorio at all hours of the day, checking up on things and just making sure the resort was running well and the guests were happy!

Excusrsions:
I did two - the Bat Cave Disco and the Catamaran tour. Stupid me booked the Catamaran tour then the Disco, not remembering till it was too late (ie at dinner the night of the disco!) that I'd be out late partying then up early - but I survived! ;) Both trips were a blast - loved the creativeness of the disco, even if it did get a bit hot later in the night while everyone was dancing up a storm! And I adored the catamaran - two stops for snorkeling plus a stop for free time at Pilar Beach. Would do them both again for sure!

I would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone - I took a day walk over to the Tryp and was shocked when I saw what little sand was available to their guests. To me, having a wide beach big enough that I don't have to sit under the shade but also close enough that I don't have to walk 10 min to the water is key - and the Sol has that! :)

Even if you're travelling solo, as I was, this is a great resort! It's smaller, but has such a friendly atmosphere and you get to know all the other guests really well! I'll definitely be coming back - I've shown my parents my photos already and my mom wants to come with me next time! :)

Till next time, Cayo Coco! xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank martinigoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here last year for exactly the same 2 weeks as this year and I have to say.......no regrets. The food was great with lots to choose from and although a few people I spoke to complained, I couldn't understand why from the amount of choice there was!! One of reasons we wanted to come back was because of the stunning public beach to the left of the hotel, which was used by the locals at the weekend. It did not disappoint, but due to the few days of rain we had, didn't manage to stay on it everyday cos the mozzies were on the rampage!
We upgraded to the suite after a couple of days and it was well worth it......the jacuzzi was a little slice of heaven for my partner as he seemed to use it more than me! But the free bottle of Havana Club rum was all good for me! Included in the upgrade was a lobster meal, but I wouldn't recommend it. it is prepared and served in the Don Diego restaurant, and as a person that likes fish properly cooked, I don't like it cremated in a black shell!
We had a couple of nights in the Don Diego, but to be fair the buffet seemed to be better.

Overall we had a really good time spent at the Sol, but I thought I would mention the reason we won't be returning next year............ noise and atmosphere!

Cuba is still regarded with most people as a place to go if u want a peaceful and relaxing vibe, the main reason we go, so it was a real shame that the hotel was very busy and loud with large speakers booming out the animation team everyday. The kind of stuff you expect with Haven or Butlins! After chatting to another couple that have been regulars, it appears that Thomas Cook have requested more entertainment at this hotel.......SO WRONG!

It was such a shame to see how this hotel had lost some of the intimacy that it had last year with less people and a more relaxed atmosphere, but I guess thats what commercialism does around the world, and I had kinda hoped Cayo Coco would be protected, but it seems nowhere is untouchable!

Lastly....thanks to Gregory and his staff for going out of their way to help my partner's incident when we first arrived with a case of mistaken identity of suitcases, it saved us from a lot of potential stress.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Travelled to the Sol Cayo Coco for our 13th Time and was as good as always.
Flight time was 8 Hour 40 mins and no delays, Met at airport by our family and got his taxi to the Hotel arrived at 3.00pm (Cuba Time) and just relaxed and enjoyed a beer, did not need a wristband as been so many times.

Food
Good and a lot of variety, better than normal and they do try to cater for everyone.
Hotel had 350 clients and this was enough for this time of year, Buffet staff Yulka, Blanca, Mikael,Hector and many more all of you are so freindly and accomodate for all of you dining needs. A bit disappointed with the Ranchon (Cuban Beach resturant) not open and was told it was due to be refurbished although was also told that there was a change in place as so many people had previously commented on a requirement of mexican or Indian food... come on this is Cuba and they dont do spices aswell as who eats this at lunch time... Please sort this out and open a BBQ with Chicken and Pork and return it to as it was....Great sea veiws and a place to get out of the sun.. and good food also.

Rooms
Good and clean, Beds very comfortable and Air Conditioned (a god send) as it was very Hot and Humid night and day.. loved it though.

Beaches
Beautiful and clean, quite and relaxing yes there is music during the day but cannot fault, sea calm and clear, warm and safe. Lifeguards on duty during the day and Santos and his team will always assure you are safe.

Had our Cuban family (Roberto (Red Bull taxis) and wife and his Mum, dad and Grandma also Santos and family) so 7 of them stayed for 4 nights (6 days) and they enjoyed themselves as they cannot afford to stay at a hotel and we love to see them enjoy a holiday just the same as we do. Grandma's first every time at a Hotel (86 Years old) so this was nice to see her enjoy herself.

My Wifes birthday while we where there and took over the quite beach and had a cuban party, Pork, shrimps, Lobster and many drinks the twins and one supplied the music and had a great time about 30 of us, nice for the beach gardeners to enjoy a party time.... 90 tins of cristal and 4 liters of rum later everybody wanted to come and enjoy... Thank you to all of you... especailly Roberto Santos Toqui for arranging it still makes her cry....and everyone who attended.

Back again in May 2013 for 2 weddings Toqui and Lou Lou and our best friends too.. so cannot wait.
The Staff make your Holiday and to all the people who complain... Get a LIFE... what do you want for £800.00 each All Inclusive in the Carib... Spain is more expensive..
People say the Cubans are well off... NO they are not... one guest ask me "when did the hotel give you your red shorts" errr not they did not I brought them all out for the Nautical guys as well as there White rash Vests....most of the Fishing rods and reels, hooks and line is all supplied by me...so please don't think they have everything... go to there town Moron and see....

any questions please send through

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank stuartaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

i personally cannot pick any faults with this hotel it was absolutly beautiful the staff made the uttermost effort to make us feel so welcome as honeymooners we were presented with champayne flowers on our bed from the maids even the gardeners made us feel welcome specially alex im not much of a drinker kinda stick to what i no with everything having different tastes to english (alot stronger) the manager went out of his way to find me a bottle of something i liked and the bar staff saved this the rest of the trip for me they tended to all needs possible in the best way they could absolutly brilliant :) we only had 1 problem during our stay which was dealt with straightaway we nevr came across any illnesses or anything during our stay as for the beach the are 2 beaches the second beach just outside the gate is absolutly beautiful the white smooth sand just rested under your feet like a carpet beautiful:) lastly the rooms were lovely the maids were so efficiant and there was plenty of frech food cooked evryday lots of choice couldnt have picked a better way to spend our honeymoon thankyou to all the staff will be back next year with our extended family best regards xxxmr and mrs o x

Room Tip: we are glad we picked an higher floor as we had a couple of rain showers something to think about if...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gemma0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Sol Cayo Coco for two weeks from the 6th September in what was our first visit to Cuba.
Upon arrival to Cuba we found our luggage already waiting for us and the air conditioned coach waiting for us.
Transfer to the hotel was 10 minutes and we were greeted with fruit cocktails and salsa music by the staff. Everyone was checked in relatively easily but we did have an hour wait. We didn't mind to much as when Gregorio the manager found us and introduced himself he found us a better room and and had us taken their straight away.
The room was huge, air conditioned and had a sea view (2335) It was cleaned everyday and had separate bathroom and dressing area.
The main beach is fantastic and literally a minutes walk away from the rooms, there are staff there everyday to get you seated for the day and there are plenty of activities on a daily basis on and off the beach.
The beach bar is great for keeping refreshed and they serve decent enough snack food should you need it. The burgers are great and the fries are very moreish.
We didn't spend much time by the pool but there is alot of seating and a great poolside bar. Again there are plenty of activities like water polo and water volleyball which I personally enjoyed as did quite a few others.
The food was surprisingly good, I was apprehensive at first having read other reviews but I can't fault it. There were set items in the Buffett for breakfast lunch and dinner but the best thing was the 3 separate stations that prepared fresh meals for you. Fresh pancakes and smoothies in the morning, fresh meat, seafood, pizza and pasta aswell as themed nights like Mexican etc are all available on a regular basis. The highlight for me in the al a carte restaurant 'don diego'. They have a set menu but the food is amazing and included in your holiday package.

We went on two excursions during our trip- the "now thats what I call Cuba" trip was pretty interesting with trips to the sugar refinery, cigar factory, and speedboat trip through the mangroves. There is an opportunity to grab some very cheap (sometimes free) cigars while your there and the city ciego de avilia has a number of banks where you can withdraw cash which is very handy to know as there are no ATMS in the area.

The second trip was Cayo Mortero which is a very relaxing trip into a remote restaurant in the mangroves where you have a lovely lobster dinner and a fab snorkelling experience.

The weather was outstanding and never dropped below 30 and I was lucky enough to avoid Mosquitos and sand fly bites altogether although I know that other hotel beaches suffered badly.
On the topic of beaches you must visit playa pilar, it's the areas most beautiful beach and sums up a carribean experience, you visit there as part of the cayo mortero trip or you can get a taxi via the hotel.

All in all we had an outstanding trip to the sol cayo coco, the whole staff from cleaners to management cannot do enough to make your stay a good one and they fully deserve all the praise they get on here, they were the difference between a good holiday and a great holiday. I can se why so many people go back and I can safely say I am now on that list too :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MattAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

this was our 3rd visit to this hotel we arrived on the 20th sept till the 4th oct it was my birthday when we arrive and i had champagne on arrival with the animation team singing happy birthday followed by a lovely eve meal with a card and flowers check in was very quick as being repeat guests we were told to take a seat and dianyls came over with our wristbands and checked us in a very warm welcome dianyls is a very lovely lady and made sure our holiday run smoothly our hotel room was comfortable and we were all together as i asked for as there were 16 of us friends and family we were in a refurbished room with a walk in shower beds were very comfortable after having our luggage taken to our rooms we went and saw all our cuban friends that we had met previously and they were so pleased to see us we ate in the main buffet most nights although the food was lovely we found that that the desserts were the same for the whole two weeks it would have been nice to see more variety we had an issue with some butter as they has run out of the small packets and gave us butter that was cut up in pieces this was not very nice at all it had a horrible smell as if it was off we did complain to the chef but he wasnt botherd so we took it too the manager gregory and still no response after 3 days of complaints from other people we finally had our pkts of butter apart from this very small issue we all found the food very nice the beach were amazing as ever lovely and warm we hired a glass bottom boat for the day and went snorkling at the coral reef noelvis took us and we saw some amazing fish lovely colours we also did some fishing and caught barracuda and saw some big star fish it was lovely and clear waters my daughter had a fear of swimming with fish so after noelvis took her with him she over come her fear and absolutly loved it so thanku to noelvis for this adventure the animation team were very hard working and made us laugh we did spend a lot of time with these guys around the pool and they ate with us most nights so thanku to delvis, estha,mukka,jumpy,jonny,tuque,millie,orrie,and paris,good job well done the hotel had a disco some night and beach parties other nights the shows were good especally the micheal jackson show so thanks again to dianlys for arranging for us too see this as we missed it last time on our last night the hotel had a pool party this was so much fun we were in the pool till midnight and had pool games the hotel lobby looks very nice has had new furnishings very comfy to sit while havng a drink ot 2 the bar staff in the lobby very friendly remembering our drinks every time we asked for any big thanku eddie nice to see u again and the rest of the bar staff the pool bar was good and they they did lovely burgers and pizza,s thanku to leo and th rest of the guys excellant service from everyone when it was time for us to leave we were all waiting in the lobby for our coach the animation team were there playing music when we had to say our goodbyes it was very sad tears were flowing with some of us as we had had a lovely holiday and we will definatly return again as it is not just the hotel it is the people that work here that make our holiday enjoyable so a big THANKU to u all we will miss u till next time

Room Tip: rooms over the left of the hotel quieter 2nd or 3rd floor rooms lovely views suites are nice but you...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burgess17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,770 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,257 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range: $104 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Coco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing