We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful-beautiful-stunning”
Review of Sol Cayo Coco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Cayo Coco
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful-beautiful-stunning”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

i personally cannot pick any faults with this hotel it was absolutly beautiful the staff made the uttermost effort to make us feel so welcome as honeymooners we were presented with champayne flowers on our bed from the maids even the gardeners made us feel welcome specially alex im not much of a drinker kinda stick to what i no with everything having different tastes to english (alot stronger) the manager went out of his way to find me a bottle of something i liked and the bar staff saved this the rest of the trip for me they tended to all needs possible in the best way they could absolutly brilliant :) we only had 1 problem during our stay which was dealt with straightaway we nevr came across any illnesses or anything during our stay as for the beach the are 2 beaches the second beach just outside the gate is absolutly beautiful the white smooth sand just rested under your feet like a carpet beautiful:) lastly the rooms were lovely the maids were so efficiant and there was plenty of frech food cooked evryday lots of choice couldnt have picked a better way to spend our honeymoon thankyou to all the staff will be back next year with our extended family best regards xxxmr and mrs o x

Room Tip: we are glad we picked an higher floor as we had a couple of rain showers something to think about if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gemma0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,872
    1,409
    565
    243
    153
See reviews for
1,292
1,741
136
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Sol Cayo Coco for two weeks from the 6th September in what was our first visit to Cuba.
Upon arrival to Cuba we found our luggage already waiting for us and the air conditioned coach waiting for us.
Transfer to the hotel was 10 minutes and we were greeted with fruit cocktails and salsa music by the staff. Everyone was checked in relatively easily but we did have an hour wait. We didn't mind to much as when Gregorio the manager found us and introduced himself he found us a better room and and had us taken their straight away.
The room was huge, air conditioned and had a sea view (2335) It was cleaned everyday and had separate bathroom and dressing area.
The main beach is fantastic and literally a minutes walk away from the rooms, there are staff there everyday to get you seated for the day and there are plenty of activities on a daily basis on and off the beach.
The beach bar is great for keeping refreshed and they serve decent enough snack food should you need it. The burgers are great and the fries are very moreish.
We didn't spend much time by the pool but there is alot of seating and a great poolside bar. Again there are plenty of activities like water polo and water volleyball which I personally enjoyed as did quite a few others.
The food was surprisingly good, I was apprehensive at first having read other reviews but I can't fault it. There were set items in the Buffett for breakfast lunch and dinner but the best thing was the 3 separate stations that prepared fresh meals for you. Fresh pancakes and smoothies in the morning, fresh meat, seafood, pizza and pasta aswell as themed nights like Mexican etc are all available on a regular basis. The highlight for me in the al a carte restaurant 'don diego'. They have a set menu but the food is amazing and included in your holiday package.

We went on two excursions during our trip- the "now thats what I call Cuba" trip was pretty interesting with trips to the sugar refinery, cigar factory, and speedboat trip through the mangroves. There is an opportunity to grab some very cheap (sometimes free) cigars while your there and the city ciego de avilia has a number of banks where you can withdraw cash which is very handy to know as there are no ATMS in the area.

The second trip was Cayo Mortero which is a very relaxing trip into a remote restaurant in the mangroves where you have a lovely lobster dinner and a fab snorkelling experience.

The weather was outstanding and never dropped below 30 and I was lucky enough to avoid Mosquitos and sand fly bites altogether although I know that other hotel beaches suffered badly.
On the topic of beaches you must visit playa pilar, it's the areas most beautiful beach and sums up a carribean experience, you visit there as part of the cayo mortero trip or you can get a taxi via the hotel.

All in all we had an outstanding trip to the sol cayo coco, the whole staff from cleaners to management cannot do enough to make your stay a good one and they fully deserve all the praise they get on here, they were the difference between a good holiday and a great holiday. I can se why so many people go back and I can safely say I am now on that list too :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MattAmbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

this was our 3rd visit to this hotel we arrived on the 20th sept till the 4th oct it was my birthday when we arrive and i had champagne on arrival with the animation team singing happy birthday followed by a lovely eve meal with a card and flowers check in was very quick as being repeat guests we were told to take a seat and dianyls came over with our wristbands and checked us in a very warm welcome dianyls is a very lovely lady and made sure our holiday run smoothly our hotel room was comfortable and we were all together as i asked for as there were 16 of us friends and family we were in a refurbished room with a walk in shower beds were very comfortable after having our luggage taken to our rooms we went and saw all our cuban friends that we had met previously and they were so pleased to see us we ate in the main buffet most nights although the food was lovely we found that that the desserts were the same for the whole two weeks it would have been nice to see more variety we had an issue with some butter as they has run out of the small packets and gave us butter that was cut up in pieces this was not very nice at all it had a horrible smell as if it was off we did complain to the chef but he wasnt botherd so we took it too the manager gregory and still no response after 3 days of complaints from other people we finally had our pkts of butter apart from this very small issue we all found the food very nice the beach were amazing as ever lovely and warm we hired a glass bottom boat for the day and went snorkling at the coral reef noelvis took us and we saw some amazing fish lovely colours we also did some fishing and caught barracuda and saw some big star fish it was lovely and clear waters my daughter had a fear of swimming with fish so after noelvis took her with him she over come her fear and absolutly loved it so thanku to noelvis for this adventure the animation team were very hard working and made us laugh we did spend a lot of time with these guys around the pool and they ate with us most nights so thanku to delvis, estha,mukka,jumpy,jonny,tuque,millie,orrie,and paris,good job well done the hotel had a disco some night and beach parties other nights the shows were good especally the micheal jackson show so thanks again to dianlys for arranging for us too see this as we missed it last time on our last night the hotel had a pool party this was so much fun we were in the pool till midnight and had pool games the hotel lobby looks very nice has had new furnishings very comfy to sit while havng a drink ot 2 the bar staff in the lobby very friendly remembering our drinks every time we asked for any big thanku eddie nice to see u again and the rest of the bar staff the pool bar was good and they they did lovely burgers and pizza,s thanku to leo and th rest of the guys excellant service from everyone when it was time for us to leave we were all waiting in the lobby for our coach the animation team were there playing music when we had to say our goodbyes it was very sad tears were flowing with some of us as we had had a lovely holiday and we will definatly return again as it is not just the hotel it is the people that work here that make our holiday enjoyable so a big THANKU to u all we will miss u till next time

Room Tip: rooms over the left of the hotel quieter 2nd or 3rd floor rooms lovely views suites are nice but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burgess17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just arrived home after staying 20th Sept to 4th Oct. I was a solo traveller, very last minute booking with Thomas Cook and chose this resort over Cape Verde after comparing the reviews on this site. Let me be honest and say Im a bit of a travel snob having travelled all around the world and prefer to explore somewhere new than keep going back to the same hotel. I was told this hotel is the most re-visited hotel of all Thomas Cook destinations but struggled to see why.

Checking in at the hotel is absolute chaos!! After a 10 hour flight when you're feeling knackered and just want to get to your room, have a shower and relax, you're confronted by the Animation team in the lobby!! You're bombarded with loud music and harrassed by these characters in face paint and dodgy outfits!!

Room 2244 was perfect!! very clean! 2 double beds and a sofa bed, no sea view but very,very quiet and the maid was fantastic

Buffet Restaurant was ok, the waiters were excellent, food was ok but not enough genuine Cuban food! ..buffet's are the same everywhere around the world, head chef is Spanish so expect paella quite a lot! Health Tip!!...watch out when you're at the meat/fish grill.....Im not a chef by any means but even I know you don't handle cooked meat and un cooked meat with the same untensils!!

Reception bar was great, staff excellent, coming from the UK you have to get used to everyone smoking again next to you.

Pool was ok but loungers were a bit dodgy!! cigarette ends everywhere and food left out for sea gulls to fight over.....not hotels fault!! I just had the misfortune to be at hotel the same time as A Brummie Clampett family

beach was clean but very under used

Pool side snack bar, worst customer service staff in the whole hotel!! Staff were miserable but seemed to have their favourites if you tipped them or have stayed at hotel before!! food was shocking!! unless you like burgers and chips

Gym was ok

All in all hotel was average, staff were very good but consensus amongst fellow 1st time Cuba travellers was they wouldn't be returning, very popular with Candian travellers but its only 3 hours away for them, for UK travellers its not worth the 10 hour flight and I preferred Cancun.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, clean, quiet, but don't care about sea view, excellent maid on first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comments, as they will always be taken positively to improve our service. If you were not happy with the welcoming at the hotel we must say that the entertainment team is very friendly and very professional and as you could see we have many repeat customers who appreciate an annual reception like the one you had and it has always been widely accepted, but anyways we’ll take into account their comments. We have professional chefs with 15 years of experience in their work, the customers prefer the ironing cooking and it’s the first time we have a comment like the one you’ve written about that, which is greatly appreciated as we will be much better in this service The customers return to our hotel mostly due our staff including clerks and the pool bar is the most frequented place. Thank you for your comments about our rooms actually hygiene is one of our main premises. We hope to see you one more time.
Best regards,

Gregorio Coca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was my 27th trip to a Melia Hotel in Cuba and it was really enjoyable!
The service, food quality and hygiene were exeptional !. Head Chef Jose Fernandez personally checking that all food from his kitchen was hot and fresh........had not seen this before in a Melia!.What a great team in this resort! from the Manager Gregorio Coca to customer service(Dianelys) to Alexander in buffet.. they were relentless in looking after all of us travellers staying there! Thank you!
As a solo traveller I will return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank foreveryoung66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a poor first impression.The bar and reception areas looked a bit tired ,but once we met the staff and the manager, we found the hotel met all our expectations. You will certainly meet the manager as he is on the go from 1st thing in the morning untill last thing at night speaking to guests. Undoubtedly the friendliest and most afficient staff we have come across in any hotel we have stayed in. Food was very good , freshly cooked at individual chef stations. Rooms are clean , but try to get a recently refurbished room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your wonderful comments. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Hope to see you one more time,

Kind regards,

Gregorio Coca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just arrived home Sept 29 2012 and Sol Cayo Coco met all my expectations.. This was my 13th trip to Cuba in the last 15 years, First time to this resort and I found this hotel to be very good. The food was good !! Lots of selection and the service was great.. This is a very well run hotel and I had a wonderful time. Pool was clean and beaches are lovely.. Staff are very helpful.and pleasant. that makes for a great holiday location..; I would return to this resort. .

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1404. 4th floor close to Lobby. It was private and had a full bath. Very clean ! No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CatHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solcayococo, General Manager at Sol Cayo Coco, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hotel. Your opinion is very important for us. Thank you for your preference and recommend our hotel. We hope you repeat your visit once again,

My best regards,

Gregorio Coca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
6.4 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,119 reviews
18.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
3,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,174 reviews
5.1 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Cayo Coco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Coco

Property: Sol Cayo Coco
Address: Jardines del Rey | Ciego de Avila, 69410, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Cayo Coco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Cayo Coco 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good standard property with an excellent beachfront location. Sol Cayo Coco is the only hotel with access to two different but equally charming beaches, situated amidst gardens and palm grove facing the sea and the white fine sand beach. The hotel is ideal for families with children, couples, honeymooners and weddings. This paradise is the perfect spot to combine great fun with fantastic relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Cayo Coco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Coco Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Hotel Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing