We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories Flamenco - Aug 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Orono, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memories Flamenco - Aug 2013”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a wonderful resort with great value. It was very clean and the gardens were amazingly well kept. The most impressive part of our vacation was the staff. Super friendly and they were quick to get personal with jokes or light banter, making us feel like we had been there for months and we're old friends. The night time shows were excellent with wonderful dancers. There were many shady spots with nice breezes when the sun got too hot. Beach and pool chairs were plentiful. Pool was very nice and huge! The beach was different but still very enjoyable.

The rooms were modern and well kept. Mini fridge in your room is restocked daily with beer and pop. Air conditioning worked well and the room was very comfortable. We brought our two teenagers and they supplied us with adjoining rooms.

The food was outstanding and the variety was excellent. However, if you are expecting processed American foods, you'll be disappointed. Almost all the foods were natural and cooked using traditional methods. Fresh doughnuts! Lots of veggies, meats, salads and some of the best tasting fresh breads. Seafood a plenty!

Advise I wish I had listened to : Bring a large thermal glass/cup with you. The drinks are served in small glasses and it's a pain to keep going up to the bars. They'll gladly fill your bubba to the top with your choice of drink, but they only have small cups to offer.

If we go back to Cuba, we won't look at the other hotels. There's really no need. Another bonus was the proximity to the small easy to use airport.

We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 and 2 are right by the pool and open-air theater. They tend to be a little noisier espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memories_Flamenco, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Daniel M,

Thank you for trust in our company Memories beach resorts and thank you for choosing our resort in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco.

We are very happy reading you had wonderful resort and you found our resort wonderful.

We have shared your review with all the Memories flamenco´s family, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your Cuban home,

Jesus Robledo
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    1,843
    721
    240
    105
See reviews for
1,986
2,058
164
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We decided to take a vacation down south this summer with our extended family. In total, 4 adults and 4 kids under the age of 10. We researched several properties, but chose Memories Flamenco based on the following criteria: reviews that we read, its 4-5 star rating and its proximity to the airport. With young kids, we've experienced long bus rides from the airport to the hotel and it isn't fun, so this was the clincher.

We touch-downed in Jardines Del Rey airport and quickly went through customs and were immediately greeted by hotel personnel. A polite and efficient greeting ensued and we were handed our room keys, a la carte restaurant reservations and bracelets before we boarded the hotel shuttle. Our bags were quickly marked with our room numbers and we were on our way before we knew it.

In less than 15 minutes we were disembarking at the resort and being greeted by the entertainment staff, hotel managers, and other guests all singing and dancing the Memories song. In addition a nice little spread of hamburgers, pizza, and drinks was waiting. Nice touch to say the least.

We had decided to take the Diamond club package and as part of this we were quickly met by Omar our concierge. Anything and everything that we needed he was always on call. In fact, he came looking for us several times during the week to make sure that things were OK. Not sure if we would do the Diamond Club package again as the 'perks' weren't that much different from the regular service. Perhaps during the high season this is more evident.

We made it to our bungalow (#4 based on recommendations) and our bags were there within minutes. By now it was close to 11pm and being a little hungry we decided to check out the 24hr snack bar. We had poutine ('putting' on the menu :)), hamburgers and french fries with the kids, before sleepiness set in.

The next day, both the kids and adults began to explore the resort. The pools are spacious, good water levels for all ages, warm and clean. Our kids loved the swim-up-bar pool as they could order non-alcoholic drinks (traffic lights, Shirley temples, strawberry daiquiris) without leaving the pool. This pool even had a mini-waterfall that felt great as a water massage.

The kids club is a nice touch for the kids to enjoy themselves without having to be with parents the whole time on the resort. 9-12 and 2-5 the club is open, and it's on a drop-in basis, with ping-pong, a pool table, air hockey, Lego, art materials and even TV with the cartoon network is available. The resort is small and intimate and more importantly safe enough that our kids were able to come and go as they pleased.

The beach was another favourite part for all of us. We read the reviews and knew that the beach area was rocky, so we brought water shoes; thank goodness we did. The beach overall is beautiful, the water warm, the sand soft and the fish plenty. Our kids loved bringing bread with them to feed the fish and later on even the seagulls. We explored both the Diamond Club beach area and the main area; both were nice with the former being less populated. All in all, you can't go wrong with either side.

The general rule for food in Cuba is: don’t expect much. In fact it's considered to be the worst part of any Cuban vacation. However, food at Memories Flamenco is amazing! From the grilled meats, to the plentiful seafood, the paella at the beach and the poutine and pizza at the snack bar, the food is not what any seasoned Cuban traveler would expect. Spices, garlic marinades, even Sriracha hot sauce was available. Both kids and adults in our group loved the variety in the main buffet and the a la carte restaurants made a point of differentiating themselves. From wait staff that seemed to know what you wanted beforehand to distinctive and beautifully decorated plates. Fave foods included the grilled shrimp, made to order pasta, fried rice, omelettes, mango, pineapple, rice-pudding, and ice-cream.....YUMMY!

Then there was the grill at the beach run by Chef Michael. The paella and fresh grilled fish was simply delicious. So, if you've never made it down to Cuba because of preconceptions around food, Memories Flamenco will definitely change your mind.

Our rooms were clean and well-equipped. Our first night, as we were about to start showers, the pull-up lever on the water spout wouldn't move. After several attempts, I called the lobby and a maintenance man was soon over to fix it. We had a mini-fridge that was stocked everyday with water, beer and pop. However, it was loud and made for a few sleepless hours during the night. The rooms are fine and the maids do a good job of cleaning every day. In fact, the overall look of the establishment is modern and clean, but it lacks in the detailing that you would find in higher end resorts. This is not a criticism of the hard work that the maintenance and cleaning staff put in, but rather some feedback for improvement.

Memories Flamenco is the best resort that my wife and I have visited (10+ over the years), everything from location, food, beach are top notch. However what sets it apart from other resorts are the people. Everyone there wants to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Every day you would hear words to the effect of "your Cuban family" or "your second home"; they truly want to make you feel welcome.

Certain people stood out more than others for us, although everyone we came in contact with was very pleasant. Maria, Darwin, Landy, Rambo, Iris, Jen-Li, Yankee, the entertainment staff worked hard to keep everyone happy. From aerobics to kids events we all enjoyed their good natured humour and endless energy. Our youngest daughter had her birthday during the trip and a quick mention to the staff (thank you Omar) she was made into a star. From birthday wishes, birthday cake and decorations at our a la carte reservation, to even being crowned Miss Memories at the evening show, she was on cloud 9 for the rest of the week.

The restaurant staff was eager to help and was always around without being intrusive. We always sat closest to the salad area in the main buffet for breakfast and lunch. Our waiter, Jorge was a true gentlemen; kind, easy-going and always looking out for our every need. We made a point to sit in the same area for specific meals, that way we would get to know the person helping us and find out if we could help them. Luckily Jorge had a son the same age as my nephew and at the end of the trip we gave Jorge a pair of Nike running shoes, shorts and t-shirt plus a couple of beach toys for his son. Needless to say Jorge was grateful.

At the beach we met Victor. Every day, 6 days a week, Victor ran a marathon as he moved up and down the beach taking orders and bringing drinks to all the guests on the Diamond Club side. He remembered everyone's drink order and was always quick to return. Others that stood out were Maddiel (if you know hockey, he's a dead-ringer for Leaf forward Joffrey Lupul) and Orlando who were always looking for everyone’s vacation well-being. We can't forget Michael the paella chef on the beach. We always ended up there at some point to get the paella, the pork or the fish that were beautifully bbq'd. Must eat for sure!

We were super impressed with the presence of management in all areas of the resort. They were very much involved in ensuring that guests had a great time. Kudos! Hopefully Jesus will read this review and take into consideration the following: the sunset toasts were a great touch, but sadly they didn't occur every day. I would suggest that you make a point of continuing the sunset toasts, as all the guests we shared it with truly enjoyed it.

Before we went, we made a point of bringing down clothing and other items that aren’t easy for Cubans to purchase. In fact after speaking to many of them, in my limited two years of university Spanish, any gifts such as clothing, makeup, and children’s clothing are graciously accepted, and in most cases preferred over tips. We have to remember that Cubans can purchase many of the same items we can, but with an average salary of about $25/month, it's difficult for them to spend money on non-essential items. When we visit again, we will definitely bring more items as gifts.

Memories Flamenco is an excellent resort that is well-deserving of a 5 star rating. We will definitely go back to enjoy the kind, friendly hospitality, the great food, the evening shows and the people that make this resort the best one that we have had the pleasure of going to.

Room Tip: Bungalow 4 close to the beach and far from the nightly entertainment if you want to get rest. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank tkn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memories_Flamenco, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for trust in our company Memories beach resorts and thank you for choosing our resort in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco.

We have shared your review with all the Memories flamenco´s family, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your Cuban home,

Jesus Robledo
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Service is excellent ! On the beach, in the rooms, at the pool, at buffet and restaurants. Customer service called our room almost every day to see if all was alright. Diamond club well worth the money. Nice and clean property. Food is typical of cuba : you are not anxious to go eat but you always find something to fill you up. Rocks at entry of beach are a challenge. You need water shoes to go by for sure. One recommandation for the resort is to add more lights in the alleys to the buildings. It very dark at night. some lamp post are present but not lit. A huge thank you to Omar our concierge for diamond Club your service was perfect and your dedication to make our stay pleasant much appreciated.

Room Tip: Building 4 is away from animation center and disco and close to beach. Perfect. Level 3 is ideal t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephan_Daoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memories_Flamenco, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Stephan,

Thank you for trust in our company Memories beach resorts and thank you for choosing our resort in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco.

We can read that you had Diamond club when you were with us and the service of our concierge Omar was really nice. Thank you!

We have shared your review with all the Memories flamenco´s family, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your Cuban home,

Jesus Robledo
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arrived here for this first time in August 2012 my very first trip to Cuba. Immediately felt at home. Here you will find very attentive staff everywhere you go, always greeting you with a smile. They were always very professional and courteous.
The property was new and still had a lot of final finishing touches to be done. Enjoyed the entire 7 day stay tremendously. I was so surprised to see the high level of professionalism and attention to detail, contrary to what I had heard about cuban resorts. left with a feeling of will it always be like this? or is it because it just opened.

So decided to go back again in February 2013.

The property was better finished more buildings were open, most of the staff we met were still there. Many of them were stand outs in terms of the level of service, Making an effort to greet you by your name. A special shout out to the amazing team who man the lobby bar and snack bars Yusnail, Humberto, Alfredo, Riggler, Jorje, Orlando, Armando, Ninja and Janet who always greet you with a smile.

They are led by a team of very able professional managers who truly believe in leading by example. One such a manager is a special man called Miguel F G . While we were there they were still doing some work on the corals on the beach and Miguel had come to check the workers, he quickly noticed some issues with the machines they were using and the methods they were employing to get the work done. He tried to explain in a few ways to change the way they were doing things, to no avail. within minutes I noticed , Miguel was back on the beach, this time with his swimming trunks. And there he was in the water working with the men. and immediately ordered some refreshments to all the men working in the hot Cuban sun. I was very impressed with how he handles his responsibilities. BRAVO Miguel!!

One positive suggestion.....

IF you can install a couple of fans in the lobby bar as it gets quite muggy and hot at times, this will help the guests and also the staff that work there. just a suggestion.


I would recommend it to my friends and would return October 2013! See you soon....
Cheers!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lovememoriesflamenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memories_Flamenco, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for trust in our company Memories beach resorts and thank you for choosing our resort in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco.

It is really nice how you see that our staff were working hard and thank you for the example of our room division manager, Miguel.

We have shared your review with all the Memories flamenco´s family, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your Cuban home,

Jesus Robledo
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My sister, cousin and I stayed at Memories Flamenco back in June....also joining at this resort is my future wife.... we treated with great service and friendly helpful staff.... the property was clean and loved the layout.... easy to move around.... the food was good at the buffet and the restaurants were very delicious .........I am coming back with my future wife this September ......and we are planning on celebrating our union by having our Destination Wedding at Memories at the end of March ........

Mr Jesus Robledo, Director general I General Manager could you please send me the email for the wedding coordinator .. I think Cecilia ... pls... as I lost my wedding folder on our return to Toronto in June ...

Thank You
Martin Samuels

Room Tip: near the theatre . I think the 200s
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CalienteTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memories_Flamenco, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for trust in our company Memories beach resorts and thank you for choosing our resort in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco.

What a great news to read that you were in our resort and your are planning to have your wedding here. The wedding coordinator email is jefe.rrpp@memoriesflamenco.co.cu

We have shared your review with all the Memories flamenco´s family, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your Cuban home,

Jesus Robledo
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just want to say a very big THANK YOU to the staff, administration and management group in Memories Flamenco for a fantastic time.

We traveled July 29th to August 5th. We were a group of six, my parents, my sister and her husband, my son and I. For my parents it was their third time in Cuba, but first time in Cayo Coco for all of us.

Being my first time in Cuba, it was great experience. Everyone was very professional, friendly and always with a smile on their faces.

The vacation started with a few problems with our rooms, one was with the water dripping from the ceiling and than the door lock that wouldn’t close or open. The front desk were quick in getting this fixed for us. I don’t recall their names, but a big thank you to them again.

Loved my coffee lattes, cappuccinos and café con leche. Being a Colombian who would think I would say loved the Cuban coffee. I did pick some up at the Duty Free to take home.

My son drank more banana milk shakes than he could count fingers on his hands. One suggestion, it would be nice to see a couple of other drinks for the kids.

Enjoyed the la carta, 24 hour snack bar and buffet great selection.

The resort is beautiful, loved the pool and the beach. Every where you looked was very clean very organized. The garden was very well kept. The weather was great.

The entertainment at the buffet and thought the resort was just fantastic. We enjoyed the Cuban singing groups that went around to the tables.

The one thing that impressed me the most was the kindness, the smiles, the attention, the courteous, and the professionalism of all the staff.

To the Snack Bar gentlemen (my friends), Pedro, Leoeorge and Daniel a special thank you for your great service. Hope to see you again and please have my Cuba Libe really when I return.


Adriana & Family

Room Tip: We stayed in building one, on the main floor. We did not find it noisy at all, even though we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memories_Flamenco, Director General at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Adriana B,

Thank you for trust in our company Memories beach resorts and thank you for choosing our resort in Cayo Coco, Memories Flamenco.

We are very happy reading that this was your first experience in Cuba and you will come back.

We have shared your review with all the Memories flamenco´s family, and we would like to have the opportunity to see you again.

Kind regards from your Cuban home,

Jesus Robledo
Director General I General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Caya Coco has 3 resorts: 2 Five stars (One family and one adults only) and 1 Four stars.
We just came back from the 5 Star family resort Memories Flamenco Beach Resort.
They say it's 5 stars, maybe for Cuba, but if you compare to Mexica and even Dominican, this resort is stable 3 stars. The only 5 stars I would rate is the beach of this resort. Amazing!
A la carte restaurants are 2 stars, very-very poor dinners, especially Diamond Club VIP dinner. Buffet is ok, maybe 4 stars, at the dinner they were always out of juice (for the 5! star resort?)
Shows I would rate 3-4 stars. Our room was in the 4th building, last 3 days we had constant water dropping from the ceiling. This resort is only 2 years old, but looks like it's 15 years old.
Kids club was empty. No pool table, no sport bar, not even tennis table. 2 swimming pools are ok, warm water and almost clean. The most uncomfortable pillows I've ever had! Take your pillows from home, really.
I wouldn't recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrakadabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
1.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
189 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,114 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Flamenco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Property: Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Address: Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Memories Flamenco Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil oasis of Cayo Coco and find refuge at the stunning Memories Flamenco Resort, exclusive to Sunwing. Resting on a glorious beach that kisses dazzling turquoise waters, this brand new 5-star all inclusive resort is the ideal getaway for families and couples. Stay in this all-suite hotel’s elegant, bright, and spacious rooms that open up to breathtaking views of the tropical gardens or the sea. Dining options are plenty at the many fabulous restaurants serving up a feast of delicious international cuisines. The snack bar will make sure your appetite is kept in check 24 hours a day, while the lively bars will quench your thirst and keep you refreshed day and night. Enjoy an array of fun land and water sports, group activities and live entertainment at this beautiful resort. Water enthusiasts will revel in Cayo Coco’s barrier reef, the second largest in the world, perfect for snorkelling and marine adventures. Shoppers can delight in some shopping at the charming handicraft market, while children can enjoy supervised activities in the Kids Club. The romantic and intimate atmosphere is perfect for romantic getaways, weddings, and honeymoons. Venture off the resort to discover a medley of fun activities and sites by exploring the beautiful lagoons and natural attractions of this picturesque island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Memories Flamenco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing