We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Hamilton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went to Memories, Flamenco April 26th to May 3rd. I would have given it a 5 Star...for the exception of one thing...THE BEACH...We were three senior ladies who prefer the beach to the pool. We go to Cuba for the beaches. We were not able to swim in the ocean because of rocks and coral at the waters edge. Even with our water shoes it was impossilble. But as for everything else, I give it a 5 Star. The food, the staff, the rooms, the pool. the public washrooms....were spotless. The hotel was just opened in January of 2012..and although there was construction going on..you could not hear it. We were in building 2 and it was within easy walking distance to all ammenities. I would highly recommend this hotel..if you are pool people. They built a walkway over the coral and rocks, with three sets of stairs leading into the ocean, but watch out for the last couple of stairs. They are very slippery. Just book it and you will enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guests:

Oh no!! We are so sorry to hear that the beach was not to your liking!! We get so many different opinions concerning our beach, on Trip Advisor and also from our clients here and we are getting many positive comments! Those darn rocks! Rest assured that it will be taken care of very soon. We sincerely hope that this will change your opinion and you will come back to visit us!

We are very proud that you would give us a 5 star status anyways and we will work on the beach in the future so that it is to your liking. We thank you for your honesty and for having taken the time to give us your important opinion.

We would really appreciate to welcome you once again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,705
    1,843
    721
    240
    105
See reviews for
1,987
2,058
164
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,978)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went July 31 to Aug. 7. Okay for Cuba, never a 5* in Cuba, been there about 5 times. You get what you pay for. Food is the same, limited items, no ketchup, peanut butter, lettuce, etc. Rooms were OK. Grounds were nice. No A/C couple of nights for dinner - very uncomfortable to eat. No clean beach towels for two days. Chicken bones found in pool - I never saw them actually cleaning or vacuuming pools. No buns at grill last day for hotdogs or hambergers - they used two slices of bread - no ketchup there either. NO WATER for 4 hours one night - when we had to get ready for dinner - no toilet, couldn't brush teeth or flush toilets! Pool bar closed at 5 pm! Who wants to get out of the pool and walk to the grill just for drink?

SUNWING - sucked - movies were "broken " there and back! I had 2 kids - who couldn't watch the movies on the plane. Plane going was late. NO A/C in airport - you have to sit there for at least 3 hours to wait for your plane to leave - you will SWEAT TO DEATH! even at night (out plane left at 10 pm). Very little bugs - not sure what other reviewers were talking about. Beach was OK - kids fed the fish off dock. Water is nice.

SUNWING REP: sucks. Was not clear at all at briefing. Watch out for the "DIAMOND CLUB" rip off - dont pay for it thinking your getting anything special. Rep did not like confrontation - Cuban of course. If they promise to let you keep your room if you have a late flight - they lie - unless you scream and yell in the lobby - you won't get any customer service. They change their "rule and policies" day to day to suit themselves......

Overall, if you want the best (if there is such a thing in Cuba) pay the top dollar for perhaps the Melia, or Rui or Ibquostar? P.S. NO GYM - even if your agent tells you so.

Will definitely be complaining to TICO, Sunwing and my travel agent......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DFROMMISSISSAUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear clients,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your opinion. We make sure to revise every department frequently to insure that we always give our customers the best service and offers they rightly deserve. Your comments help us do just that.

Unfortunately during the time of your visit, we did have some trouble with the water pipes, which resulted in those 4 hours of no water, which in turn, affected the air conditionning in the buffet for a couple of nights...What bad timing, especially in such hot weather! We are happy though that all our workers concentrated their efforts in reestablishing order in such a short time.

If you have visited Cuba, then you would know that peanut butter does not exist here in the country. Lettuce comes only during the fall season, although we do offer different kinds of lettuces throughout the rest of the year. As for ketchup, we were not aware that it was missing as that is something that is always available here!!

Concerning the late check-out policy, it does not change day to day as you mention. It has always been the same in that you verify with recepction on the morning of your check-out to see if there is availability. Many rooms that leave are already reserved for other guests and we need time to clean them, just like we did with your upon your arrival. Just like in any other hotel, rooms are not always available for late check-outs, whether your scream or not. The same will happen in the Melia or Rui chains.

Nevertheless, we appreciate your comments and will surely take them into consideration to improve our services and products. Thank you again for your comments.

We hope to welcome you once again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I can't believe any of the negative reviews! I had a great time at this resort. The staff are all amazing, especially the lobby bar staff. DJ Yury was great. Sure beach is a little rocky at first but after that beautiful! Pools are nice never had an issue getting a chair with shade. Met lots of great people including Frank, who was a lot of fun. Wish I had got your contact info, just try to stay away from those bathroom floors lol.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank brokenheart3153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear clients:

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel!! Seems you have had a great time, made great friends who liked the bathroom floors? :)

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your opinion with us. It is important for us to continue offering the best service possible to all the customers who visit us and provice unforgettable memories, so you can come back and visit us again!!

We also love our lobby bar, pools and beach, they are part of many other incredible other places we have in the hotel including our 3 a la carte restaurants and snack bar which are also so gorgeous!!!

Thank you once again for your comments. We sincerely hope we get the chance to welcome you once again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Before I begin my review, I would like to say, I have had some not so great travel experiences. So I can not begin to explain how perfect this trip was. I would like to thank everyone at this wonderful resort, who made this trip so amazing for us.

Cecilia- Diamond Club- Cecila, thank you from the bottom of our hearts! You made every detail of this trip so absolutely perfect! From your immediate greeting to us when we stepped of the bus, to every request you fulfilled for us! Your service is first class. You made us feel like royalty for the week, on a much needed vacation for us! From switching our room, at our request, to the wonderful Diamond club dinner, and rose. You were constantly taking notes, from any conversation a guest would have with you, to ensure everyone's needs were met. I have never experienced such superb service anywhere. THANK YOU!!

To the Entertainment staff - Carlos, Alex, Mary, Fermin. You are the best entertainment, I have experienced. You are all so professional, well trained, and the nicest people I have ever come across! Thank you for greeting us everyday before and after each show, for taking the time to get to know us, and for bringing so much fun to our vacation. We wish we would've met you on day one! I usually do not enjoy the entertainment when travelling, however, I must admit, I have never watched such amazing shows! We enjoyed every minute, and miss them, now that we are home.

Orlando- Snack bar waiter and bartender. Thanks for taking care of us, and the delicious, pizza, fries, burgers, and hotdogs. You always made sure we were taken care of and served so quickly! I miss the Rocamar white wine, and I can't get it back at home. Lol!

To the wonderful housekeeping staff, who made sure our room was cleaned, and stocked daily. You did a wonderful job. I look at our pictures of your towel art, and I was excited to return to our room each day, to see what you had made us.

To all the waiters, bartenders, front desk staff, gardeners, and ladies at the giftshop. You were all so welcoming. Every day we enjoyed your "Ola!" and small talk. We will always remember the talent of the wonderful gardeners, who made us grasshoppers, and roses out of palm leaves. You are truely amazing and talented.

To the room division manager (sorry didn't get your name) we enjoyed saying hello to you always and wondered if you ever got a day off as iit seemed like you were always there! Lol

Let me begin my review.......

This was our first trip to Cuba, and I will admit, I was a bit unsure of what to expect. The reviews were very diverse, but our travel agent helped us decide, and we are so glad we booked! Now, I heard previous reviewers complain about 2 things, lack of toilet paper, and the fitness center not being open. Let me clarify both of those before I continue on.
Toilet paper- Folks, this is something we take for granted in Canada, remember, you are in a different country. Some things are more difficult for them to get, and more expensive. We ran out one day, and guess what! We called down to the front desk, and within 5 minutes, another roll was delivered to our door. It's not the end of the world, really!
Fitness Center- It is not open yet, big deal! i don't go on vacation to work out. Again, if you, or your travel agent did your research, which you should before you travel. you would have known. This is not the hotels fault, as everyone should be aware, the resort is still being built. (although you would never know it, because you do not see the construction) Anyway, the hotel was more than accomodating in letting guests use the fitness center at their other resort property, if needed. We never used it.

We booked with Sunwing, and we had no delays, service was great, food and drinks were plenty on the flight, and we were impressed. We were even upgraded to elite class on the way home! Wow!

So we booked diamond club, pool view room. When we arrived at the hotel, after a 20 min or so bus ride from the airport, we were greeted by Cecilia. She walked almost right up to us and called out our name. We were wisked over to her desk with two glasses of champagne waiting for us! Wow, felt special already. Everyone else who had not booked diamond club was waiting in line at the front desk for check in. Cecila gave us an envelope, explaining all the details of the hotel etc, with our pre booked a la carte dinners. She welcomed us and we spoke for a while, then she assured us to get something to eat, check out the resort or go to our room and not to worry about our luggage as she would have it delivered to our room. We headed to our room and it was clean and beautiful! Cecilia also informed us that we had been upgraded to an ocean view...wow! Amazing! We arrived at our room and a couple minutes later our luggage arrived. Service was fast and so friendly!

Pool - beautiful, warm and clean! We were here or in the sea all day, everyday! Enjoyed being in the water. We had a wonderful waiter, who would come by and get us drinks. He was the best! It was fun to make small talk with other guests at the pool, and we noticed everyone was from either Toronto, or Montreal. This was great, because we met new friends, and that was amazing.

Food- We heard the food would be "bland" in Cuba. Again, we were a bit unsure of what to expect. I have to say, we were more than impressed. A la carte dinners were AMAZING, delicious and beautiful presentation, with wonderful service.
Buffet- Amazing made to order crepes and omlettes in the morning, also in the evenings, made to order fried rice and pasta at times. If you like spice, bring hot sauce or something that you prefer. Resorts tend to stay away from using too much seasoning, as they try to cater to tourists, again, this is not the hotel's fault, just an observation in general.

We did notice that outside, flies loved to gather near the food, maybe in the future, they will ensure the food is covered or possibly on ice for everyone's convience. Again, not a big issue, we chose what we prefered and never felt sick or got an upset stomach.

Drinks- Delicious!! Love the white wine, pina colada ( with pineapple juice ) and rum punch....all I can say is yum...yum....yum!!!

Day trips and taxi from the resort- You can book trips for reasonable prices at the desk in the lobby. We chose to hire a taxi and go at our own pace, safety was never an issue, on the resort or off, and all of the locals were very kind people. Note * the hotel is about an hour or so from the main town, so the only people you will see around the resorts are tourists, their isn't much around to walk to. So take advantage of the "real Cuba" book a trip, go into town and shop, and experience the real authentic Cuba. You will meet a wonderful kind, culture of people, who do anything to make your trip memorable. ENJOY!! We went to Moron, and Pillar beach, but we found the resort beach to be just as wonderful!

Internet and phone calls- can be made from the hotel lobby (special area) our cell phones did not work in Cuba, so we made calls from the hotel.

Water sports- So fun, free at the resort, hobby cats, paddle boats, kayaks, so fun!

Flamenco beach- Not far from the resort, delicious lobster and shrimp lunch ( for a decent price ) not affiliated with the hotel.

Cadeca- Money exchange, can be done right in the hotel( front desk) So convienient. We tipped for meals, some drinks, good service, etc. The staff does not give better service to people who tip, they are very fair in provideing outstanding service to all. Please keep in mind, that a peso or two is much appreciated by them. We tipped due to great service, not to get service, and of course, the service is so outstanding, how could we not! We could never go out for dinner at home and just tip a buck or two, however in Cuba, it is well appreciated.

MY BIGGEST REGRET ------ ONLY BOOKING a weeks vacation, I promise never to make that mistake again. Next time a minimum stay of TWO WEEKS, We miss everything about Cuba, and will be returning as soon as possible.

Thank you MEMORIES FLAMENCO FOR OUR TRIP OF A LIFE TIME!!! " TE AMO"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank CanadianGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guests!

What a wonderful review!!! And from a Contributor!!! We are sorry to hear that you had bad experiences in the past and we are proud to have been able to restore your faith in traveling!!!

It was so wonderful to have you at the hotel and also nice to say hello everyday too!!! Julie, the Rooms Division Manager does try to take a day off a week if work permits!!! As for Cecilia, she such a dedicated worker and works magic everytime to make sure that our clients are satisfied, bless her heart!! We will make sure to pass on your message to everyone, you are so generous thank you!!

Thank you for mentionning the spa and gym and you are right. It is mentionned everywhere that they are not yet opened...We are doing our best to offer these services as fast as possible and it sure doesn't stop us from trying to give you the best service ever!! Again mentionned, if there is something you need taken care of at the hotel, just mention it to the front desk or Guest service desk. We concentrate on your needs and what is important to you. Whether it is a special kind of juice to extra toilet paper, you mention it, you got it! As for the flies, we have already taken many measures, although being in the open makes it more of a challenge and the issue is resolved! Food management is important for us for health and of course cleanliness issues.

Dear clients, once again, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for your wonderful review and for letting us know what you really think about our hotel. We make sure to revise every comment we receive in order to stay upbeat with our clients needs and wants.

We wish you the best and sincerely hope to welcome you once again at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went from July 24th to the 31st and completely loved our experience!! We are definitely going back but not sure when. Reviews were very diverse so we didn't know what to expect, so here is an extensive review of what we thought of our experience:
Hotel: not your conventional 5* but it was gorgeous (we passed by a lot of hotels in Cayo Coco/Guillermo, it was definitely the nicest)! the deco was exquisite and beautifully matched the tropical nature and summer vibe. While the rooms were squeaky clean (Thank you Yaniesky), I would rate them 4*, the decoration was nice but not 5*, and some of the electric appliances weren't working in a room. In the other room, there was a long crack on the wall and some electric plugs were popping out, but no biggie, cleanliness and comfort is all we care about. The pools were gorgeous and very clean, but some clients would eat around the pool, dropping in some of their food, so applying the rules should be reinforced by the personnel.
Food: the buffet, snack bar, grill restaurant behind the snack bar and the steakhouse (only a la carte we visited) were very nice but the food is not amazing...it isn't bad either. People need to remember that they're going on vacation and not on a culinary trip, so the harsh complaints are just useless. I managed to enjoy what I ate (go for the fresh food that "naturally" exists in Cuba). Every morning classic breakfast (egg bacon croissant butter), seafood for lunchtime (fresh delicious grilled fish, brochettes, shrimps and a big pot of seafood mix), supper varies. To sum it up, you have to know what to pick but it could get redundant, but worry not about the freshness and cleanliness, I have a really weak stomach and never got sick. Drinks: not a fan of alcohol cocktails but loved the beer, and liked the wines.
Entertaintment/excursions/activities: we very much enjoyed the dance shows (the crew was very talented), but for some reason there are a lot of mosquitoes in the amphitheatre, so bring your mosquito repellent. I hope that in the future there will be more show variety. We didn't do the excursions but we did visit Pilar beach (5 pesos round trip) which is absolutely worth it, a total postal card beach. We also enjoyed the catamaran (30 minutes for free), pedalo (1 hour free) of the hotel.
THE BEACH: totally honest, the beach itself (talking about the sand band) is not bad, but there is a rocky reef between it and the water, which is kind of frustrating and takes off some beauty. However, there is a pier that takes you right into the turquoise clear water and it's magic! bring a mask and tuba for there is interesting wildlife under the bridge. If you really wanna spend some time on a nice beach, go to the neighbouring hotel (memories caribe), 10 pesos round trip in a taxi for 10 minutes, or walk 1 hour to the left on the beach...you won't be disappointed!
The staff: big thanks especially to Yovanny, Maykel and Yanet from the Habib family, but the whole staff really went out of their way to provide excellent service and smiles on our faces. Fermin was a great entertainer (I suggest you do aerobics with him on the beach!). Also, tip generously, it makes a huge difference for them (they work crazy hours for a tiny pay and live minimum 2 hours away from the resort).
Diamond club: get it, it's worth it. We didn't "use" all the advantages but the personalized and fast check-in and 4pm late checkout have their worth of gold.
Disappointments: the beach just a liiiitle bit, the emptiness of the hotel boutique and the crafts shop (we had to go to Memories Caribe which had a great selection), and the facilities that haven't opened yet (gym, tennis, spa).
Overall experience was great, we are coming back!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Habib-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guests:

Great news, you are coming back!! Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments, they help us so much in improving our products and services everyday! We thrive on making our customers happy and giving them a memorable experience!

Concerning the boutique and the craft shop however, unfortunately they are not part of the hotel and the shedules or what they have in store does not belong to us. We would like to see more items also as we are aware that they could be more fully stocked and we have already made the suggestions many times. Our gym, spa and tennis facilities should be open by the end of October as we have always mentionned in the past. We cannot wait to offer the services to our clients! We are also very happy that you enjoyed our Diamond Club services, our staff goes out of their way to make everybody feel special, but the little extras included in the Club are so amazing!

Thank you once again so much for your excellent comments and even more excellent news of your next visit! We look forward to welcoming you once again to Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Travelled to Memories Flamenco, Cayo Coco from July 17-24...We are a couple in our 40's with a 12 year old son. This was our 10th trip to Cuba.

The hotel is beautiful and the long and the short of it is that we wished we had gone for two weeks and we would go back in a second. It's going to be difficult not to write a novel here.

We were booked in a Diamond Club ocean view balcony jr suite. The rooms, being practically brand new, are very nice and fresh. There were two double beds and a third single bed had been setup for our son...not just a cot, but a portable single bed which he found very comfortable. The room also had a sofa, coffee table, chest of drawers, night stand, fridge, safe and flat screen TV. The toilet and tub are in a separate private bathroom with a door, leaving the sink/vanity area accessible while the actual bathroom is being used.

The grounds of this resort are beautiful and as the landscaping matures, it will only get better. (I don't know if it was the same hummingbird I kept seeing, but it let me get within a couple of feet of it....and I didn't have my camera with me!) There are two pools...upper (bigger, deeper, quieter) and lower (more shallow, pool bar, activities). The snack bar is beside both pools and is open 24 hours for food and drink. Burgers, hot dogs, fries, poutine and they will make thin crust pizzas with whatever toppings you like. The pepperoni pizza got a big thumbs up from our son.

There is a club house beside the lower pool where the non-diamond club guests would pick up/exchange beach towels. It looks like they have some board games and books to lend out....there is a ping pong table, bocce ball and some kind of game with a really big target and very large darts. There is also a large chess set. We didn't use any of these things. Truth is, we went to Cuba in July and we expected it to be steaming hot. We weren't disappointed! Our favourite activity aside from being in the pool or ocean, was finding a table with a breeze at the snack bar or in the small open air area between the lobby bar and theatre. By the way...that's the best place to watch the shows from because you can see everything clearly, but you're actually outside the theatre where it's cooler. Our son liked to spend his afternoons/evenings watching the cartoon network in the room.

There are wooden stairs down to the beach....might be a problem for those with mobility issues, but I thought they were very pretty...especially at night lit up as they are. There is coral in front of the hotel and a pier has been provided to go out into the water past the coral where steps lead down to beautiful crystal clear water and soft white sand. I understand that there is a plan to "renovate" the beach. I truly hope the area with the pier and the beach bar is left natural as it is. Use your own or borrow the hotel's snorkeling gear...under the pier it's like a huge salt water aquarium. Take some bread or bananas from the buffet to feed the fish. Go a little farther out and to the left and you'll find all kinds of fish including lion fish and barracuda...sting rays and starfish... I took water shoes and never used them.

If you like to fish...this is a good place to go. My husband is obsessed...and was very happy with what he caught from shore. From the pier itself one night, he caught a 5 lb red snapper, which the snack bar chef then turned into a feast. Another day, fishing from shore at the point past the Diamond Club area of beach, he caught a stingray. He caught a few nice stringers of fish on different occasions...all from shore...and helped feed some Cuban families in the process. He always takes his own fishing gear with him and leaves a lot of it with friends he makes during the week.

Diamond Club Inclusions:

"personalized check in/check out"...we were on the second bus to arrive at the hotel from our flight and there was a line at the front desk. A lady came and handed us registration cards to fill in, and when I mentioned we were Diamond Club, she directed us to another area where we were checked in at a table just outside of the VIP lounge. Check out was at the front desk, but because Diamond Club provides late checkout (4:00pm), it was not busy and check out was very quick.

"distinctive wrist bracelet"...ours was black, other guests had a metallic coloured wrist band.

"exclusive beach area" & "butler service on the beach"...the Diamond Club beach area is to the far left when you arrive at the beach. It's far from the beach bar, but that's okay, because there's always someone there to get a drink if you'd like. By the way...the beach bar, by far, makes the best pina coladas in the hotel! There are future plans to actually build another bar in the Diamond Club area which will be nice. One of the best parts of the Diamond Club beach area is that it has the more comfortable woven loungers, whereas the rest of the beach has the hard plastic ones. (important for old ladies with bad backs such as myself!)

"concierge service"...One day I mentioned to the front desk that my son was dying for a glass of milk. The next day, a large carton of milk was delivered to our room. Another day, I mentioned to the customer service rep that my son likes pineapple juice (which wasn't available at any of the bars or in the gift shop). She went and found a carton of pear nectar for him to try because her son likes it, and the next day, there was a large carton of pineapple juice in our room. She specifically ordered pineapple juice into the hotel just for my son. THAT is customer service!

"private access to Diamond VIP lounge" & "special daily food & beverage amenities in lounge"...we only really used this at check in...it's an air conditioned room stocked with snacks and a self serve bar.

"luxury amenities in room"....there were two bottles of body wash, one bottle of shampoo, one bottle of body lotion, a vanity set (emery boards, Q-tips and cotton swabs), a shaving set (disposable razor and aftershave) and dental kit (1 toothbrush and toothpaste).

"beach towel in room" & "luxury turn down service"...I was really curious to know what this luxury turn down service is...so after a few days I asked. Basically that's what they call it when they come by your room in the evening to take away your dirty beach towels and provide you with fresh ones. That's a great feature that I really appreciated, but it's not what I would call "turn down service".

"bathrobes in rooms"...a nice touch, but it was kind of funny. Two robes that both said they were size XL....they fit my 12 year old.

"selected premium drinks at lobby bar"...I ordered Bailey's on ice a few times. Sometimes they used another brand that they had down on the counter rather than actually giving me Bailey's. I'm no connoisseur and it was good too, so not a big deal for me.

"15% discount on spa treatments"...I didn't actually enquire about this specifically, however you should know that each adult is entitled to a free 20 minute massage. This is booked with the customer service person. Mine was great...almost started snoring.

"guaranteed 4 a la carte reservations"...we were given 3, but we only used one (Cuban). The buffet is just easier when travelling with a child. A nice surprise though to receive a personalized invitation to a special Diamond Club dinner at the Steak House Saturday night with a special menu. It was very nice. I guess if you include that special dinner, we were given 4 a la carte dinners.

Suggestions for the management....there currently isn't enough shade around the upper pool. One day at 11:30 am, we could not find a single shade spot that was unoccupied...and only 3 of the 10 buildings are open. This will only become more of a problem as more rooms are filled up.

The lobby bar needs fans to circulate the air. It is too hot there to sit and enjoy the wonderful entertainment provided.

The first few days, our room was not cleaned until 4:00pm. They were literally cleaning around my sleeping husband and child. I spoke to Jorge (Sunwing rep) about this and it was cleaned earlier for the rest of the duration of our stay. Perhaps there isn't enough staff if they're still cleaning rooms at that time, when a lot of people are having a rest after spending the day in the heat? I'd like to point out that this was adjusted after just mentioning it once...if, as a guest there is something that's not to your satisfaction, tell somebody who can do something about it rather than just coming home and complaining on tripadvisor. In my experience, they are more than willing to accommodate at Memories Flamenco.

My only concern for this new resort is that only 3 of 10 guest building are currently open. I wonder, when all 10 are complete and full at high season, how crowded will it be? I suppose time will tell. We got an incredible deal to go to this 5 star resort in July. I guess my only other concern is that it will become so popular that we will never again be able to afford to go! :o(

Seriously....we would love to go again and take our extended family who has never been to Cuba. We loved it!

Room Tip: Building 2 is close to everything. I would not choose a first floor room as there is no railing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guests:

Wow!!! What an exhaustive review, thank you so much for all the details!! They help us so much in order to always improve our products and services!

We would also like to thank you for taking the time to tell us what you needed while you were on site. As you say, if you mention it on the spot, our first move is to make sure you get what you need as fast as you can! We, like you, encourage our clients to let us know what would make their vacation special!

As for the shade around the pool and beach renovations, you are right, they are scheduled in the near future! We are certainly aware that when all the blocks will be open we will need to cover everyone for the sunrays!

As for the room service, it is done between 09:00 and 05:00. Somedays it is later because of the many in and outs we have during the day and we always try to give the service as early as possible. Thank you for commenting once again, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy to read that there is a possibility that you will visit us again! Even if the hotel at full capacity, you will always be at home here at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stay at the resort from July 17th to 24th and it was awesome! we travell quite a lot and by far this is one of the best resort , Maid respected our stuff but most of all theres always cold beverages being delivered eveyday for in room fridges, entertainments/ entertainers are very very talented, water shoe is recommendable but do not leave them outside porch if you're staying on the first floor (mine dissappear the next morning) .. took the half a day excursion its recommendable if you have kids and my 8 son ,11 , 14 years old daughters enjoyed all the activities , bring some cards or something for the family just incase it rains, it poured once but it was actually nice , it balanced the humidity , Food wise is OK, it becomes repetetive after a while just like the other resorts , we are not very picky eaters so we have no complain about that, DO NOT TIP IN CANADIAN COINS, a girl server actually returned a toonie that was left for her as a gratitut ( thought that was kinnda rude) but other than that , the overall experience is fantastic! Oscar at the dinner buffet ,with the puzzle box was awesome :))) oh snorkel is a must if you like to look at some sea creators ... Thank you Memories for the experience! xoxo, ciao

Room Tip: (I stayed at 1112 and 1114 with connecting doors) I requested to be transferred to the first floor f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Amora999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memoriesflamenco2012, Rooms Division Manager/Quality Control at Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear clients,

Thank you so much for your comments! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are revised by our Quality Control department and they enable us to continue to improve our products and services everyday.

Thank you for mentionning our buildings as more clientes are arriving thinking there are elevators in our hotel which unfortunately doesn't have any. All of our 10 buildings are three floors high so there are some stairs to climb but not all that many. All you have to do is specify when you reserve with your travel agent which floor you would prefer and we will do our best to accomodate you with the availability during your stay!

Thank you once again for your comments! We hope we have the change to welcome you once again to Memories Flamenco Beach Resort, your home in the sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
1.6 mi away
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
2,102 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cayo Coco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 12 in Juan Dolio
189 reviews
5.3 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,115 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Flamenco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

Property: Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
Address: Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Memories Flamenco Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 624
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil oasis of Cayo Coco and find refuge at the stunning Memories Flamenco Resort, exclusive to Sunwing. Resting on a glorious beach that kisses dazzling turquoise waters, this brand new 5-star all inclusive resort is the ideal getaway for families and couples. Stay in this all-suite hotel’s elegant, bright, and spacious rooms that open up to breathtaking views of the tropical gardens or the sea. Dining options are plenty at the many fabulous restaurants serving up a feast of delicious international cuisines. The snack bar will make sure your appetite is kept in check 24 hours a day, while the lively bars will quench your thirst and keep you refreshed day and night. Enjoy an array of fun land and water sports, group activities and live entertainment at this beautiful resort. Water enthusiasts will revel in Cayo Coco’s barrier reef, the second largest in the world, perfect for snorkelling and marine adventures. Shoppers can delight in some shopping at the charming handicraft market, while children can enjoy supervised activities in the Kids Club. The romantic and intimate atmosphere is perfect for romantic getaways, weddings, and honeymoons. Venture off the resort to discover a medley of fun activities and sites by exploring the beautiful lagoons and natural attractions of this picturesque island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Memories Flamenco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing