We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayo Coco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Caribe late March 2013. It was an excellent experience. 25 minutes from the airport. The white sandy beach stretches for miles so you don't have to worry about being among other guests. The water is crystal clear, mirror smooth and you can walk out 200 metres and still only be waist deep. We were in the water till 6pm. Beach is well tended. Credit for an extremely well managed property goes to the Manager, Mr. Valerio Lanzarotti, who can be seen walking around from morning till way after dark. His staff is great - smiling, attentive, always helpful, always working hard to make a guest stay a great experience. Every day we saw outdoor staff working to maintain the facility and the gardens. Our room was clean, quiet, well maintained, and had a spectacular view of the sun rise - the weather was 30+c, cloudless skies for the week. For those complainers who are disappointed and looking for a fantasy, North American vacation, I suggest you try Orlando. For those who complain about the food, I suggest you consider dining with celebrity chefs in Las Vegas. With regard to tipping - While we did tip with pesos or gifts, we never felt obligated to do this in order to receive good service. The service was delivered irrespective of the tip or absence thereof. We did include the less visible staff who are often forgotten - gardeners, public area housekeepers and other maintenance staff. To the complainers in general - This is Cuba. They have limited and restricted access to resources and do the best with what is available. Yes some of the a la carte chefs need skills training, but I guarantee you won't lose weight during your stay at the Caribe. The piles of fresh fruit at the buffet were a real treat - guava, papaya, pineapple - as were the breakfast smoothies. The grilling stations offered a selection of fresh eggs to order at breakfast and meats and fish at other meals. The crepes, pastas and stir fry add to the calorie count. The buffet was very well maintained by dining room staff and, even as seasoned international travelers and very cautious eaters in foreign lands. we dined well on many of the different buffet offerings. Value for money - good. Just how much did you pay for your return flight/hotel/unlimited food/unlimited/bar? We have been coming to Cuba for 10 years and have tried resorts all over the island - without a doubt this is the best beach, best waters and best managed resort we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Pierre L,

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel. We will congratulate the workers you mention because of their good job.
At Memories Caribe Cayo Coco we are committed to enhance and improve staff attitude and quality service.
Your review shows us that we are in the right track and still we have a lot to work to do.
Please, do not hesitate to let us when you are coming back and if we can be of any assistance.

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,917 - 1,923 of 5,019 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I visited Memories Caribe from 12-19 March 2013. We have not taken a land-based package vacation in over twenty years, so we were interested in comparing it to other holidays. To sum it up, you get what you pay for. Travelling to Cayo Coco from Toronto was smooth; the expeditious transfer from the airport, to coach, to hotel, to room, to beach was welcomed after a very early morning start from home.

Room – Large and comfortable with a walk out to a patio as we were on the ground level. We liked that the rooms were arranged in small blocks of up to 20 rooms – it gives the atmosphere of being in a nice neighbourhood rather than a hotel. Our room (1801) was a short walk to both the beach and to the restaurants/pool/administration. Three comments about the room – air conditioning, towels and plumbing. On arrival my wife commented on a musty smell in the room, almost like urine. We contacted the front desk, and spoke to the maid who made sure to mop the floor and change the bedding, which was an improvement. However, when we turned off the air conditioning a few days later the odour disappeared completely! We got two bath towels and a hand towel, plus two beach towels. Beach towels can be exchanged beside the pool; bath towels exchanged if you ask. We also brought two cheap towels just in case, and just used them on the beach. The plumbing – well, it’s Cuba. The sink was backing up, but was fixed very promptly. The shower water gathered on tiles at the opposite end of the tub and flooded the floor in the bathroom and out into the bedroom. THIS NEEDS A PROPER FIX.

Grounds and beach – There is a fantastic beach at Memories Caribe. The colour of the water, the sand, the tides, the snorkeling, the sailboats, and the bar are all great memories. The grounds around the rooms and main buildings are well kept. The staff is all very friendly. We saw several projects underway (e.g. the stage area being reroofed). Only one item I would mention here is that your all inclusive drinks are served in small clear plastic ‘glasses’ – if you are having a few drinks, this means a lot of potential garbage and the wind can blow it around and it ends up in the bushes or ponds. Take your own thermal mug – you will save on waste and keep your drink cold!

Restaurants and bars -The main buffet has numerous choices of fresh food each day, but there is not a lot of variety so you will see the same dishes often. However, we liked the hotplates at the back right where fish and shellfish, or chicken and pork were prepared stir fry style. Combine that with the pasta bar and it was great. I do recommend the fish dishes. Staff in the restaurants are very attentive; but staff in the snack bar by the pool and the lobby bar seemed to be besieged at times! Two ‘a la carte’ evenings are allowed each week, in two nicely appointed restaurants – I was disappointed in them as patrons were expected to dress a little nicer but the food was not noticeably different from the buffet. In fact, it restricts you from the wider choices you would have at the buffet! Managers are constantly present in the main areas and are actively engaged in maintaining standards - thanks to Valerio Lanzerotti for hearing our comments.

Bank, shop and entertainment – Take cash to exchange at the little bank, and make sure to get plenty of coins for tipping. I found that if I got cash from my MasterCard at the bank there was a $6 fee on my account. Shop has good prices on rum and cigars and pay using your credit card for things from the shop. Nightly entertainment was good – our favourites were dancing on the beach and the aqua ballet display in the pool.

We would recommend booking a couple of trips at minimum, just to get variety from the beach and learn a bit about the culture. We went on the ‘Ciego Spectacular’ all day trip visiting a mango swamp in speedboats, a sugar mill with a ride on a train, a crocodile farm, and Cuban music/bicytaxi ride/free time/lunch in Ciego de Avila. Our highlight was the full-day catamaran snorkeling trip with a good lunch, open bar and nice snorkeling (beware of sunburn!).

Room Tip: 220v - bring a converter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Togmeister_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

from the moment we arrived at reception till the time we left for the airport to return to Canada (mar 10 to 24, 2013) the service was excellent. This being our first trip to Cuba we were concerned aboout the food from past Cuba visitors but to our surprise Caribe buffet was incredible. Exceptational service we received at all venues and much appreicated. The beach and aqua colored waters were breathtaking. The staff at the beach bar were very attentive to our needs. Our room clean and comfortable. Our only desire would be to have wifi to stay in touch with family in Cananda. We would recommend this resort to anyone and plan to return in 2014. We made some wonderful Cuban friends we plan on keeping in touch with and seeing again.

Room Tip: deluxe balcony room fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Good evening Keven M,

It’s a pleasure to receive your opinion about your stay in our hotel. It is nice to know that you enjoyed it. We are pleased to receive your polite comments. Thanks a lot for having chosen our resort.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advised us in order to fulfill your needs.
At Memories we try very hard to make everyone feel happy and love caring, it looks we have accomplished that with you.
We thank you for coming here and for giving such a nice opinion about our resort.

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This was my second time at Memories Caribe. I was meaning to put a review last year, but never got around to it. This resort is amazing. The staff that work here really make sure that you enjoy your vacation. They are very friendly and go out of their way to help you out. In particular, Gerald (entertainment staff) is great! Everyday he would walk up and down the beach and ensure that the customers were having fun and get them involved in dance lessons, beach volleyball, aqua fit, etc.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. If you can get a second floor room, but the first floor rooms are great as well.

The food was great. There was always several different option available, making it quite easy to find something that you like. The chefs working at the buffet serve pasta, chicken, beef, pork, seafood .. always plenty of choice!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Happy538,

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel and for having chosen our resort.
We are pleased to receive your polite comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
You’re very welcomed here!!!

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at the Memories Caribe from March 12th to March 19th 2013.

The weather was great, except for a couple of days where it was very windy and somewhat chilly. The beach is SPECTACULAR!! The best I have ever seen! There is a bar right on the beach and the servers are great.

We really liked the fact that, upon arrival, someone from the hotel is waiting at the airport to welcome guests and give them their room number, room key and hotel bracelet. There is no need to stand in line at the hotel to check in.

The hotel is not new, but well maintained for the most part. We paid extra for the Diamond Club and it was worth it because there was a mix-up with our room category. We had booked a junior suite and were put in a regular room. The hotel staff was very upset and quickly remedied the situation. With our Diamond Club reservation, we also did not have to reserve our places at he different À la carte restaurants. Everything was reserved for us upon arrival.

Now, our room was clean, except for the floors: they need a good scrubbing. Sweeping the floors every day is not sufficient. The king sized bed was comfortable, the sheets were clean but the pillows are so thin!! Please, memories, buy new pillows!! In our suite, we had a couch and a char with ottoman but the cushions really need to be replaced; they were stained and had holes burnt into them.

We… well, I should say I was the one who was afraid about the food in Cuba because I am allergic to fish and shellfish and we had heard many awful comments about the quality and quantity of food available in Cuba. Well, the food at the Memories Caribe was FANTASTIC!!! There was something for everybody and it was quite good. Pasta, seafood, grills where they cook chicken, beef and pork to your liking. Generous buffet every meal of the day with fantastic choice. The snack bar is also great for lunch; burgers, hot dogs and pizza are served there. The snack bar is also open 24 hours a day for those late night munchies. Honestly, we preferred the buffet restaurant to the À la carte restaurants.

Many thanks to Ernesto, the food manager. This guy is there seven days a week, from dawn to 10:30 at night!! That guy deserves a raise and at least a week’s paid vacation! He is everywhere and does everything from greeting guests to cleaning tables and everything in between!

Now, if you decide to go to Cayo Coco, I suggest you bring a few things from home because this is, after all, Cuba and some products are not readily available:

-Toilet paper: Toilet paper is RARE. They would leave one roll only, per day, in the room, a small roll.
-Kleenex: They left an individual sized pack of Kleenex in the room when we got there, and never left another.
-Shampoo and conditioner: Good thing we had brought our own because none were given. I also suggest you bring your own bar of soap from home.

All in all, a wonderful trip. Great staff! Many thanks, especially to Ernesto and Alex at the front desk! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Kathleen F,

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel. At Memories Caribe Cayo Coco we are committed to enhance and improve staff attitude and quality service. All comments are always taken into account and we are pleased to receive them all. we are sorry if you had some troubles during your stay. Thank you for your comments, nevertheless we hope to have you back.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

How do we find the right words to describe a vacation we will cherish forever? From the day of arrival to our last, we felt like royalty. Being that this was our first holiday in Cuba (March 10 - March 24, 2013), we were not sure what to expect but it was evident from the beginning it was going to be spectacular. Check in was prompt as was delivery of our luggage. We were a party of 3 couples and were placed in the same building and floor which we appreciated. Any requests made for towels, toilet paper, etc were addressed immediately. Only issue with our room was a coffee pot that took forever to brew. Our room was cleaned perfectly and the decorating surprises each day were such a treat.

The grounds were clean and well groomed. And even were groundskeepers friendly and helpful.

The buffet was incredible with such wonderful varieties of foods to chose from. We were welcomed first evening to Mavis and Delmis's tables and we gravitated to their section for the two weeks. They became our adopted daughters and to say goodbye to them tore at our heart strings. The service at the snack bar was incredible with Louis becoming more than our server. He took time getting to know us as friends more so than customers. His knowledge of Cayo Coco, Cuba and Memories Caribe had us learning so much about this beautiful country we were visiting. We will miss him dearly also. The beach - beautiful and yes, scrambling for beach chairs became an early morning game for us but in my opinion, just proved how many loved those wonderful emerald waters and white sand. Again, we were blessed meeting servers whom we quickly knew would become friends. Santos and Oriel ensured we were attended to at all times. Saying goodbye to these two young men was incredibly hard to do. So because of these 5 young employees of Memories Caribe and countless others we met, we can name this vacation "the time of our lives ".

We so enjoyed visiting the well kept store as well as all vendors located throughout the resort. The variety of tours and entertainment were incredible with the dancers and swimmers being our favorites. The interaction with those performing for the crowds was such a surprise and so enjoyed. It was unfortunate that the theatre was under construction, but upgrades are necessary to keep the resort attractive. Top notch customer service at the bank as well as the front desk.

Our only disappointment was learning there was no wifi to keep in touch with our family. We appreciated the computer room, but it was so difficult to get a chance to use either of the two computers due to lineups or the Internet service not available.

Would we recommend Memories Caribe? Absolutely, in fact we already have sang praises to many. Would we return? Absolutely and pray we can return in 2014 with even more friends joining us.

Room Tip: Loved our deluxe balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Sue M,

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel and for having chosen our resort.
We are pleased to receive your polite comments. It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
You’re very welcomed here!!!

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the Memories Caribe from March 14 to March 21, 2013. We were more than satisfied with the food & beverage choices, quality of service, facilities and overall ambiance of the resort. The room (Terrace 1205) was adequate and very comfortable. The staff were very courteous and attentive. Though we tipped them fairly regularly, the service provided was never in anticipation of it or in anyway proportional to the tips. The common areas were being maintained and cleaned regularly. Rooms were made daily. The buffet layout was fantastic and there were always 3 or 4 chefs whipping up seafood/chicken/beef/pork stir fry, omelet, pasta etc all the time. The pool side restaurant always had snacks available round the clock. Drinks choices were quite amazing and the bartenders were always obliging, whether tipped or not. Plenty of activities for kids and families. The evening shows were always worth waiting for and something to look forward.

Cons -

There were no real issues for us to complain about. A few and far between to mention so that it could be improved upon would be -

1. Availability of bottled water (this could be a Cuban issue rather than the resort one) was limited to a 1.5 ltr bottle for the whole day per room. We drink a lot of water and found this insufficient. Didn't want to try tap water.

2. The flow of water in the washroom shower and sink were quite weak.

3. Check out time should be in line with the flight timings. We had to check out at 12 noon and hang around till 7 PM by the beach and other areas. They did a provide a temp (bad shape) room for shower and change etc for 1/2 hour, which was quite insufficient for two of us.

4. Bed linen and towels look aged and worn out. Need to be changed.

5. A La Carte restaurant close to the beach was a bad experience as we were chased out by mosquitoes and poor service. The Coral restaurant a la carte in contrast was excellent in all respects.

6. Gym is poorly maintained and needs a complete revamp.

I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, pleasant and refreshing trip to Cuba in general and Cayo Coco in particular.

Special shoutout to whoever turned in y reading glasses to the reception after dropping it somewhere in the resort!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raj09K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
12.7 mi away
Iberostar Daiquiri
Iberostar Daiquiri
#2 of 7 in Cayo Guillermo
4,056 reviews
6.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
6,349 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
TRYP Cayo Coco
TRYP Cayo Coco
#7 of 12 in Cayo Coco
5,999 reviews
7 mi away
Pullman Cayo Coco
Pullman Cayo Coco
#2 of 12 in Cayo Coco
1,902 reviews
5.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Mojito
IBEROSTAR Mojito
#8 of 12 in Cayo Coco
3,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Address: Carretera a Cayo Guillermo | Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memories Caribe Beach Resort offers 328 rooms in different categories, including 280 rooms in deluxe category, 48 junior suites and 56 connecting rooms (deluxe category, 4 of them handicapped accessible). For your convenience, our facilities also have rooms for smokers and non-smokers. RESTAURANTS: International buffet "Las Arcadas" (air conditioned), Breakfast, lunch and dinner service; Italian restaurant "Arenas Blancas" (fan aired), Dinner service; Seafood restaurant "El Coral"Dinner service; International restaurant "El Coral" Dinner service. BARS: Lobby bar "Oceano Atlantico" (9:00 to 23:00 hrs)Selection of national and international drinks included Premium beverages offered at an additional cost; Snack bar "La Estrella" (24-hour service) Selection of national and international drinks included; Aqua bar "Los Delfines" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Selection of national and international drinks included; Beach bar "Uva Caleta" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Specialized in Cuban cocktails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4* Hotel Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing