We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We travelled to this resort from February 10-17. Right from when we landed we were having a great time! We had wonderful service at the airport with one gentleman in particular helping us with everything. We travelled with 4 adults and 5 children two of which are 1.

When we got to the hotel we headed to our rooms with the assistance of one of the bell boys. Or room was very clean towels were there.

The food was very good just a little repetitive after the week. The menu did not vary much from day to day but the fresh chicken, pasta bar, omelette station, and fish station were always winners with our group. We did bring peanut butter, hot sauce and ketchup and were glad we did. They have ketchup but it is just a little more like BBQ sauce. We left our unused peanut butter and hot sauce there for someone else to enjoy.

The beach is unbelievable! The pool is very nice! We found with both areas no problem finding loungers though sometimes hard finding some in the shade.

Or only real complaint about the trip was the kids club. Well the girls who worked it were amazing when they were there it was hard to find them there even during the posted hours and sometimes it would take a couple trips to the front to get someone there. This is not a staff issue but a management issue. They have these people doing pool entertainment among other things so it is hard for the to be everywhere at once.

We did come across some very rude pele that should be ashamed of there Behavior just ignore them and don't let it ruin the amazing atmosphere this hotel has. The people who work here are amazing and I am sorry I can not remember all of there names but a few amazing ones are Orlando from the pool bar. Dianne and Oyessa from the kids club. Thank you everyone who made our vacation a spectacular one and we will be back!!!

One more thing I went to the spa during the week and had a pedicure, facial, and massage for $39!!!! The pedicure I could have done with out it was nothing more then a polish change really. But the massage itself was MORE then with the money!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Showmanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Showmanmom:

It has been a pleasure to read your comment about your stay in our hotel.
It is very good to know that you and your children had a very good time here and that all the workers treated you very well, as you deserve, all of them have already been congratulated for having brought you such a good service.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future and that your stay be as nice as this one, or better.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advise us in order to fulfill your needs.

Best Regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,866
    1,793
    723
    220
    106
See reviews for
1,536
1,713
208
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Cuba (twice to Holguin, once to Varadero). This resort is clean, beaches wonderful, the food the best we've had so far and we can't say enough about the staff. Everyone (from front desk, to cleaning & grounds staff) was friendly and helpful. Best we've encountered so far.
We found the Diamond Club worth the little extra we paid for it. Check in at the airport before loading on the bus was a bonus. The "reserved" beach was less crowded in the morning but by afternoon I doubt all those bathers were DC (nobody checking). Servers on the beach were all but non existent. But it wasn't a long hike to the bar - so not a problem for us. We found the DC exclusive lounge handy as well. Usually quiet; snacks and a good variety of drinks on hand to help yourself. Good lighting too for card games.
Only two areas we felt could use improvement. Clean beach towels (hard to come by) and a better selection of international alcohol and wines would be nice.
Overall, absolutely worth the money.

Room Tip: We were in the 1100 series and we were close to the buffet but perhaps the furthest from the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loxtbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear loxtbet:

It’s a pleasure to receive your opinion about your stay in our hotel. It is nice to know that you enjoyed it. We are pleased to receive your polite comments. Thanks a lot for having chosen our resort.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
All comments are always taken into account and we are pleased to receive them all.

Best regards,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed February 9-16th, 2013

The good:
The food was good with lots of variety and flavour. Probably the best in all four resorts we have been at in Cuba.
The pool was very nice and clean.
The service at the buffet and a la Carte and front desk was good.
The room we had was spacious and cleaned every day.
Check in was done at the airport as you boarded the plane and you got to go straight to your room after a welcoming super sweet cocktail and your luggage was delivered to your room within 15 minutes of your arrival.

The Bad:
When we booked online we requested a king bed and no ground floor. We got the bed but a ground floor and nothing available on a second floor.
The pool bar was very hard to get service. They should have a bartender on the pool side as well as the smack bar side.
The beach was great but beware of the fleas, they are everywhere on the resort.
They never have enough food at the snack bar for the clouds they get. So get there early if you want food.
They do need more staff.

Would I go back? NO. For the price we paid it was not worth that. We love Cuba and would go back but to Varadero. I usually say it is Cuba after all but this resort needs a lot to be worth what they charge for a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bellefemme77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear bellefemme77:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Memories Cayo Coco. Memories values every guest's point of view and respects them. You can be sure that I will pass along your comments to all our staff. As a company we are committed to improve our facilities and grounds, so we are working hard to improve our service and attitude. We are very sorry for the problem you had with your room and we tried to do everything we could but it was not possible due to a fully booked hotel.
We hope to welcome you anytime in the fufure and that your stay be a very nice one.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from two weeks at Memories Caribe from Feb 5-19. This was our 14th trip to Cuba in a little over ten years and I have to say this is the best resort ever!!
We flew Sunwing Elite plus and the service was friendly. The food was tasty. The little extra leg room was appreciated but the seats were very narrow.
I was very impressed with the arrival at the airport in Cayo Coco. Clearing customs was quick, the sunwing rep was waiting outside to give us our bracelet, registration documents and most important door keys and a map. It was the easiest registration ever. On the bus we could buy two beers for $5 Cdn. Great way to start a vacation.
We were greeted at the resort by music and told to go to our rooms to await our luggage. I had contacted the resort to ask for a lower level room, central with a king size bed. 2101 fulfilled our requirements perfectly Thank you Lumys for arranging this. We were too impatient to wait for our luggage in our room but it was waiting for us when we returned.
The beach was the best we have ever seen (except for Pilar Beach more on that later). There were always shady or sunny spots depending upon which you preferred. The guys on the beach could always find you a spot that met your needs. They took the time to move your chairs to the desired position, clean them off and arrange your towel for you.
The food was the best we have ever had in Cuba. There was a good variety in the buffet. We could always find something to eat there. The vegetable selection was amazing! Corn, squash, spinach, green beans and carrots for example. The fruit was fresh, especially if you liked papaya, pineapple,star fruit and guava. There were chefs who cooked food to order, (fish, chicken pork and beef ) The food in the a la cartes was also very superior. You could always get food at the snack bar cooked fresh. In the mornings there was often fruit,cheese, meats and breads.

The staff were great. They were friendly, willing to give spanish lessons if you were curious about how to say something in spanish. We got our drinks promptly with a smile. I wish I could have gotten everybody's name to thank them.

I mentioned Pilar beach earlier, We took the local bus to Pilar beach one day and also went as an excursion. Wow is it ever amazing. Soft soft white sand with islands off shore. Awesome for a Canadian in February. Should mention that for both beaches, we could walk out hundreds of metres, without getting too deep. We had lunch both times at the restaurant. Lobster lunch when we went on our own was 15 CUC each. The excursion lunch would have cost 18 CUC and had more shrimp than either of us could eat. Awesome trip either way you did it. The local bus was 5 CUC for all day and you could get off and on at Pilar beach or any of the resorts at Cayo Coco or Cayo Guillermo.
The animation team worked very hard daytime and nighttime to provide quality entertainment. At the the risk of sounding repetitive, it was was the best entertainment we had seen in years. Even though we were we were there for two weeks, we were not bored.
If you are travelling with children or grandchildren you will be pleasantly surprised at how much there is to entertain them.
There is so much more that I could talk about such as the trip to Moron was interesting,the snorkelling off the glass bottom boat was fun. The biggest thing for me was the fact that we could relax on the beach. We don't travel with cell phones or use the internet while we are away, so Cuba is perfect for this.

Would we go back!! Definitely

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cubavacationlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director General at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Cubavacationlover,

Thank you very much for uploading your comments after experiencing holidays at our hotel. We really appreciate your kind words. It makes us happy to hear you consider our hotel the best palce to stay and even more to know you're already thinking to come back to our resort which you can consider your second home, or your home away from home. We'll share your opinion with our whole staff and they'll be pleased to know that with the great effort of the whole team, we were beyond your expectations. Please, don't hesitate to contact us in advance for your next visit to our sunny Caribbean spot.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked a junior suite at this resort through Sunwing. We stayed here in 2011 as well, before the name change. The airport and security was very quick and we were met at the bus with envelopes containing our room keys, information and a map showing our room location. Not sure if this was Sunwing or the resort but it made check in painless. Very quick trip from the airport to the hotel.
On arriving at our room we found the AC not working. The breaker kept tripping. There was a maintenance man there within 10 minutes and after about 20 minutes determined that the compressor was shot and it couldn't be fixed that day. Another 30 minutes and we were in a new room (same type just a few doors down) with all our baggage moved for us. Other minor room problems (plugged toilet, lock on patio door) were also solved within an hour of reporting it. Another couple with us had a room in one of the multi-unit buildings and there room was in great shape. Seems they are renovating rooms as they are available. The junior suites (sort of a duplex design) are in need of a refresh (some paint and new grout etc.) but otherwise in good shape.
Service was very good in all areas. The staff were friendly and efficient without the need for tips but each tip was received gratefully.

A breakdown of the areas we used ...

Buffet: surprisingly very good. Take the time to line up at one of the three grills for some fantastic fish, chicken, calamari or pasta. The fresh bread was incredible but there was a line up since you had to slice your own. Always a large selection and

Beach: One of the best I've ever seen. Lots of chairs and places for shade or full sun. The water was cool but refreshing and the crystal clear water and fine white sand made for a great swim.

Pool: Didn't spend a lot of time here but the layout was very good and bar service exceptional.

Snack Bar: This place was open whenver I went by. Best capacinos in Cuba. And now that they know how to make them, really good tequila paralyzers. Usually servers burger, dogs, pizza, fries, poutine and other daily specials.

Store: Prices are pretty much the same as the airport but as in much of Cuba the selection is not great. Other vendors were set up near the beach with a limited selection of clothing, carvings and jewellry.

A la Carte: We went to the International and the Italian. Neither were dissappointing. Some complained the servings were too small but I disagree. Service was great and the quality was good for most dishes. As usual in Cuba or most other resorts south of the US, beef is always a bad choice. The cuts are far different from ours and it seems they only butcher the old dairy cows. Go with something they excel in like the fish, pork or chicken.

Entertainment: Never stayed up long enough to see the evening shows. Watching them practice it seemed like the usual theme dance nights along with a weekly karaoke and contest night. Entertainment at the beach and pool was also typical but fun if you're into the volleyball, aerobics and dance lessons. The staff were enthusiastic but didn't pester you. Thee were also piano players in the lobby bar, guitarists and vocalists wandering through the restaurants etc. Very tastefull and not obnoxious at all.

Bars: The beach bar was always busy but service was as prompt as possible. Lobby bar the same. Snack bar and pool bar also but the staff were very quick and line up times were short. Drinks were good and not watered down ( I can vouch for that! ) ran out of Orange juice at one point but otherwise no issues.

Accessability: I didn't notice a ramp into the pool, only steps but other than that all areas and all ground floor rooms are on one level for those with mobility issues.

Smoking: All indoor areas are smoke free. That includes the indoor portion of the buffet, all the A la Carte's and the lobby bar indoor area. Smoking only in outdoor areas.

Extras: One person who travelled with us was sick one night with heat exhaustion. On site doctor and nurse showed up and treated her with IV fluids, gravol and electrolite drinks. They made several follow up visits to make sure she was responding to treatment. Total cost was $110 payable at the front desk. Very inexpensive for the care she was given and also very effective.

Excursions: We only went for the 7 hour fishing ( great time but only small fish ) and took the bus to Pilar beach. Both were excellent and Pilar beach has a restaurant were we enjoyed a lobster lunch for $15. The bus is very busy so I recommend an early departure to try and avoid the crowds.

In summary, even though I try to move my vacations around, I would go back if I returned to Cayo Coco. There was nothing here that detracted from a great vacation. No worries!

Room Tip: Juior suite of you can get it. The outdoor shower is very refreshing on a hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director General at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear dlink,

Thanks a lot for taking some of your time to post your comments about your recent experience at our resort. As you say, the hotel is been renovated and we’re doing so as fast as we can so all our customers can enjoy an even better holiday. We are glad to know you’re thinking about returning to our hotel once you’re back to Cayo Coco. It is very important to us and makes us feel we are on the right track. Hopefully we’ll welcome you again and we’ll appreciate you get in touch with us before arriving so we can know to prepare all those details we have for our returning guests.
Up to then, we wish you all the best.

Sincerely,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

our family was at the memories Caribe beach resort from feb 07 to 14.it was butiful place , the weather was excellent, the staff was so friendly and helpful. the entertainment was rely good. with the food we wasn't happy but we have the took with the manager and the cook in the buffet. am sure will be ok from now on. Thanks to all the staff at the resort and specially to Mr Helmers Gutiereez and Yosvel Ovliz .They was very friendly and professional. Thank you .

Room Tip: # 20 was the best ,close to everithing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 441Any
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director General at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 441Any,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel on the Trip Advisor. We’ll forward your comments to the staff, especially to the ones you mention and they will be glad to know their names are published on this site. We hope we can count on your visit on the near future and we hope you get in touch with us in advance. That will be really appreciated.
Until we meet again, get our very best regards.
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

An overall nice resort, food not bad( we always got pasta and freshly cooked meat)... if you get any pizza at the snack bar consider yourself lucky!! The beach was beautiful and the drinks were very tasty. A little problem with fresh towels in the room but all we had to do was ask the cleaning ladies for an exchange and we got fresh ones. The night shows were great, especially the water show! Get to the beach early if you want shade. And like most reviews.... bring some bugspray, the bugs weren't too bad, but they'll get yah somehow!

There are tons of kids here so if you want a vacation without kids everywhere, this is not the resort for you, it didn't bother us though.

We had a few days of rain, and really cloudy windy days, not the best but we had a great time anyway!

One of the smoothest check in's of life!!! checked in before boarding the bus.... all resorts should do this!!!!!!! what a fantastic way to start your vacation! make sure you check the map of the resort out with your room circled on the bus so you have a general idea of where your headed, the resort layout is a little confussing at first, and they pretty much send you on your way and bring your bags to you in about 5-10 minutes.

Room Tip: we had a room by the tennis courts, very quiet! Although you won't really be able to pick your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nmmd33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director General at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello nmmd33
Thanks a lot for posting your comments. This is very important for us. As you mention, we are a family friendly resort with a very nice beach area for the whole family. We are working every day to keep improving our customers’ satisfaction; that’s our main goal and the only way to go ahead. We’ll be sharing your opinion with our colleagues at the front desk and they will be happy to know you appreciate the check in initiative.
Best wishes,
Valerio Lanzarotti
General Manager Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cayo Coco hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Coco
Hotel Playa Coco
#10 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memories Flamenco Beach Resort
6.6 mi away
Melia Cayo Coco
Melia Cayo Coco
#1 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Cayo Coco All Inclusive Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Melia Jardines del Rey
Melia Jardines del Rey
#9 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sol Cayo Coco
Sol Cayo Coco
#3 of 12 in Cayo Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Property: Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Address: Carretera a Cayo Guillermo | Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memories Caribe Beach Resort offers 328 rooms in different categories, including 280 rooms in deluxe category, 48 junior suites and 56 connecting rooms (deluxe category, 4 of them handicapped accessible). For your convenience, our facilities also have rooms for smokers and non-smokers. RESTAURANTS: International buffet "Las Arcadas" (air conditioned), Breakfast, lunch and dinner service; Italian restaurant "Arenas Blancas" (fan aired), Dinner service; Seafood restaurant "El Coral"Dinner service; International restaurant "El Coral" Dinner service. BARS: Lobby bar "Oceano Atlantico" (9:00 to 23:00 hrs)Selection of national and international drinks included Premium beverages offered at an additional cost; Snack bar "La Estrella" (24-hour service) Selection of national and international drinks included; Aqua bar "Los Delfines" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Selection of national and international drinks included; Beach bar "Uva Caleta" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Specialized in Cuban cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Memories Caribe Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4* Hotel Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing