We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cayo Coco
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

20 minutes from airport,quick check-in in the bus! Great! Lovely resort,nice gardens,very Clean! Confortable room,NO bed bugs:it is sand flies! Not a big deal,can happen anywhere! Lovely beach,food is good,but a little repetitive and very tasty pastries! A little seafood:Shrimps.clams,mussels....You paid 700$ for the week!...Don't expect lobster! We didn't lose weight at all!Pasta bar,pizza,and always some good meat like turkey or pork(except beef lolll) Great service at the bars! Service could improve at the buffet:Lack of initiative from the servers,we had to ask for everything.Our only big''unsatisfaction'':lack of hot water and pressure in rush hours(5 pm)..Oh and the burgers are discusting! Fat,fat and fat! Yuck! I've eaten better ones in a 3 stars! The pizza is good.There is a ''ranchon'' near the beach that is not bad but should be improved.We liked this resort and could be back.We where in block 10.

Room Tip: Balcony is better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 534Coconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear 534Coconut,

Thanks a lot for letting us know about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is always important and you can be sure we'll take a look to all things we can do to improve our services so in your next visit you can see how things have chenged to offer a better product to our customers. We sincerely hope we will welcome you again right here in the near future.

Up to then, get our best regards.

Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    1,729
    711
    212
    105
See reviews for
1,510
1,644
202
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Up to my expectation and more. Service from Front Desk to Cleaning Crue to Waitress, location, animation, room, facilities, meals all were excellent. Next year I plan to go back to Memories for 2 weeks instead of 1. I would like to salute employees such as Omarito, Yudidh, Felipe (waitress & waitresses) , Ciros (the Janitor), Orlando (Entertainement) and all the others which I forgot the names.

Room Tip: My room which was 1515 was perfect.... I intend to take same room when I go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeannette Yanni... A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Jeannette Yanni... A:

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Memories Caribe Cayo Coco.
At Memories Caribe Cayo Coco we are committed to enhance and improve staff attitude and quality service. Your review shows us that we are in the right track and still we have a lot of work to do.

Your review has been sent to all departments to be read during their daily or weekly meetings. And the workers you mention have already being congratulated for doing a good job and for fulfilling your expectations.

We will wait for your return and will give you a warm welcome.
I suggest you to call us before coming for if we can be of any help for you, or for if you have any request.
See you soon,

Best Regards,
Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Commercial Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from Memories Caribe, the best resort we have ever visited. This was a last minute trip to celebrate our son's 13 birthday. All we wanted was a quiet, family oriented resort so we could spend some time on the beach. We got A LOT more than we expected.

Word spread throughout the staff about our son's birthday and everywhere we went, the staff remembered. Reception wished our son a Happy Birthday, the tour guide on the bus to Moron got everyone to sing, the staff at Arenas Blancas (a la carte) dimmed the lights, brought out a cake and sang. However, the best was when the entertainment staff brought our son on stage after the nightly show and got the entire audience to sing. It turned out to be a week long birthday celebration that our son will tell his grandkids about.

The entertainment staff go out of their way all day to ensure that the visitors are entertained all day long, culminating in a different show each night. In fact, we looked forward to the shows so much that we didn't miss a single one. Orlando will have you in stitches during the pre-show and even went out of his way to acknowledge the only Spaniard in the audience. Viva Espana! Our heartfelt thanks goes out to the entire entertainment staff for making this week so special for our son. Thank you Oscar, Ana, Yamy, Oyarsa, Gerald, Mario, the DJ's and a special thank you to Yandri who was the one who asked the audience to sing for our son. Mil gracias, mi amigo!

I also want to point out that this was our first resort where management was not hiding in their offices. They are constantly walking the grounds, approaching the visitors and asking how their stay is so far. Ernesto Aguilar, the room manager spoke to us several times and pointed out amenities that we were not aware of. He assured us that if there was anything we needed, he was there for us. His professionalism trickles down to all of the staff at Memories Caribe and will have us coming back for years. The entire management team went out of their way to personally say "Good Bye" to all of us as we boarded the bus back to the airport.

The wait staff was superb! Anyone we dealt with treated us with the best service possible. I cannot remember the names of the staff but I must point out a few. Osmany at the Snack Bar will cook up the best pizzas you have ever had in Cuba and will still provide service with a smile despite being on his feet for countless hours. Yosbany at the beach bar made my wife the best pina coladas. Watch how he prepares your drink, he's more rum than pina! But my hat goes off to Ignacio (Nacho), our waiter at the buffet. What a true professional, my drink was never empty! Ignacio always pointed out to the other wait staff tables that needed attention and ensured that his area ran like a well oiled machine. With his drive and enthusiasm, he will become the next manager at Memories Caribe.

I also want to thank out cleaning lady Danay. Our room was impeccable each and every day and she is an artist when it comes to creating figurines out of the towels. She even used my shorts one day to make a figurine which just made my day. Danay is a true "Director of First Impressions" for Memories Caribe due to her attention to detail, ensuring we had everything we needed and her hard work.

I must point out that not everything was perfect. Fellow tourists will often hog the volleyball net at the pool, lay their towels on the best located loungers early in the morning and party in their rooms late at night. Many of these actions are disrespectful towards other tourists and shunned upon by the management team. Security is very quick to shut down unruly patrons to ensure that families are accommodated as well.

Lastly, the Sunwing team was great. From the check-in counter at Toronto and back, we didn't have a single issue. Osly, our Sunwing rep at the resort met with us the first day and explained all of the different tours. We chose the half day Moron trip and it was worth every peso.

The food was excellent, the drinks never stopped flowing, the beach is to die for, and the staff are second to none. My travel agent already knows that when we head back to Cuba in the Spring, we are heading straight to Memories Caribe. Hasta pronto, mis amigos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lagoon and beach, you won't regret it! Especially for all of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Frank L:

It was a pleasure reading your review, thank you for posting your comments regarding your recent experience at our resort.

We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories we try very hard to make everyone feel happy and love caring, it looks we have accomplished that with you.

We will pass along your comments to all the workers you mention and we will congratulate them.

Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advised us in order to fulfill your needs.

Thanks a lot for writing us,
Sincerely,
Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Commercial Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Memories Caribe Cayo Coco
Hotel Map: http://www.resortsmaps.com/map-MemoriesCaribe-CayoCoco.html
Email:
Especialista Comercial (Eynel Manual EMVM. Verdura Morales) esp.comercial @ memoriescaribe.co.cu
Jefe de Recepción (Zuzel García González) jefe.recepcion @ memoriescaribe.co.cu

Here is a simple summary of Memories Caribe but if you have any questions, I will try to answer them. It was my first time to Cayo Coco

The journey takes approximately 20 minute from the airport in air-conditioned bus
Check-in: fast the bus. You get the bracelet, the plan of the hotel and the beach towels are in the room.

Site very clean, staff friendly and always willing to help. Reception staff very courteous. I give it a 10 out of 10 on the service.
Same service with or without tips. The tips are divided among all.

Weather
It was over 25 degrees every day, sunshine, clouds showed up around 4. A sweater or long-sleeved shirt is necessary in the evening.

Room:
We had room 2115 on the 2nd floor in block 21, close to everything, facing the Kids Club, 24 hours snack bar (behind the pool). The location was good but if you want complete tranquility, it is possible that the revelers at the bar 24 hours bother you, but a quick call to reception should do the trick. The shows at the theater end around 11.30. The block with the view of the other side would be pretty quiet. To me, the blocks 20, 21 and 22 are central. The disco is in an enclosed building and conditioning so no noise.
The room is large, has 1 king bed or 2 beds ¾, a large closet with small dresser with 3 drawers and a combination safe at no cost. The bathroom is complete, large and clean, very well lit. There is also a seating area and a large balcony.
The rooms are very clean, towels changed every day. The sheets were changed in the middle of the week.

Restaurants and bars
The buffet is very good but it is the same food every day: beef, chicken and pork on a grill, and fish and seafood on the other. So you must ensure that you vary choice of meat every day if you do not want to get bored with the food.. The breakfast is excellent omelettes on a grill, and eggs cooked to your taste on the other. There is also a station with pancakes and donuts. We went to the International and it was very good. The Italian is not worth the trouble, we did not go to Cuban Restaurant. The Italian restaurant near the beach turns into a restaurant à la carte for lunch, no reservations needed. The snack bar at the pool serves pizza, hot dogs, burgers, fries and ham and cheese sandwich.
The pool bar opens at 10am and stays open all night. The lobby closes at midnight. The piano bar is located near the reception but the piano is too loud, conversation and relaxation impossible. There is a portable bar every 2 days at the pool. The beach bar closes at 5:00. All bars make excellent drinks.

Beach and pool
The pool is very large and extremely clean.
Beautiful beach, but because of Sandy, there was a lot of seaweed that came to settle on the shore, but the water becomes clear within a few feet of the shore. A few small rocks when entering the water, but the beach shoes are not necessary. Many chairs and palapas on the beach as well as pool and bar. We arrived Tuesday, November 20 and the following Sunday, there was almost no algae on the shore. We made our walks about twenty feet from the shore in 2-3 inches of water and sandbars. The next week is going to be very good. My husband has a lot of sand fleas bites on the beach. So, it was the pool from Thursday to Monday. No mosquitoes, but windy. Many vegetation areas, very clean.

Animation
We went to one show only because it's always the same kind of entertainment elsewhere. There is a lot of entertainment during the day at the pool and beach, and animation teams members are very enthusiastic.
Our friends did the catamaran excursion, it includes a lobster dinner and the cost was $ 75, really cheap.

We met with the general manager and he works very hard to bring this hotel to a 5 * resort. The grounds and common areas are very nice, and in my opinion the furniture everywhere needs to be changed. The hotel is a 4 * and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank graydak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear graydak:

It has been a pleasure while reading your comments because you give a detailed explanation of everything you saw while you were here, and that’s good, it is very nice to know that you felt well and that you liked the services and everything.

We are pleased to receive your polite comments. Thanks a lot for having chosen our resort.

We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back, it looks we have accomplished that with you.

I'll pass along your review to all the workers of the hotel so they can notice the great job they are carrying out.

Best regards,
Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Commercial Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

First trip in Cuba and not the last one! I want to thanks all the cuban people, you are so lovely ans adorable. I was in tears when I left... I really enjoy your smill and kindness. I will comme back for sure.

Room Tip: Take a suite, you will enjoy it for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoolaCreation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear HoolaCreation:
We are glad to know that our hotel and its workers fulfilled your expectations and that you had a great time in it.
It was a pleasure reading your review, but most of all the great experience you had at Memories Beach Resort, thank you for sharing it with us.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories we try very hard to make everyone feel happy and love caring, it looks we have accomplished that with you.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advise us in order for us to fulfill your needs.
We will wait for your return and you’ll have a warm welcome.

Best regards,
Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Commercial Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed here for the second time from November 17th - 23rd and it was better than the first time. We were met at the airport with our room cards and all we had to do when we got to the resort was go to our room and our luggage was brought to us.
Lumy & Yenny from Customer Relations looked after us and treated us as if they knew us forever. They both go out of their way to call you or just stop to talk you to make sure your vacation is going good. I really hope their boss knows how lucky he is to have two such wonderful girls working for him that still bring a smile to my face when I think of them.
The staff at reception was great and friendly and always willing to help! The food was good and lots to choose from..the servers in the restaurant were amazing...El Coral restaurant a must!!
It was such a delicious meal book it 2 times if you can you will not be disappointed.
They had a special dinner for second time return guest and it was over the top.
We were seated all around the pool with beautiful lights, live music and to top it there was a water ballet show right there in front of us in the pool while we ate. That meal was really special too... champagne, salad, lobster, rice, veggies and desert!! Thank you Memories you sure did make us feel special that night!!
Our room was always kept spotless for us..the beach was beautiful and we spent most of our time there..there has been allot of work done to this resort since our last visit and I must say its looking really beautiful.
Thank you Lumy, Yenny and all the staff for such a wonderful week ...we are coming back again next year and hopefully we can work it so we can visit twice next year instead of once...we have found our home away from home with Memories Caribe Beach Resort!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear carol t:

We are so glad that you have had a good time at our resort, and that’s so good for us to know that you enjoyed till the last minute.

Thanks a lot for having chosen our resort. It is a privilege to receive you each time you come to Cuba.

We will congratulate the workers you mention because of the service they brought you.

Thanks a lot for posting your opinion about your holidays in our hotel and for having chosen our resort.

It will be a pleasure to receive you once again, and it will be a warm welcome!!!!

Sincerely,
Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Commercial Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I just come back from Cayo Coco!! It was the second time in 3 months and its always a great pleasure to go there!!!

Service to the Buffet is excellent! Yamirika and Ignacio Godoy are the best !! i really enjoyed every moment in the resort!!!

Thanks!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eynel v, Director of Sales at Memories Caribe Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Patrick M:
It was a pleasure reading your review, but most of all the great experience you had at our Resort.
Your review has been sent to all departments to be read during their daily or weekly meetings.
We hope to see you soon over this paradise; at Memories Caribe we are trying to improve every day and keep customer happy and willing to come back.
Let us know in advance when you are planning to return and advice us in order to fulfill your needs.

Best regards,
Eynel Verdura Morales
Sales Commercial Hotel Memories Caribe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Coco
12.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
IBEROSTAR Daiquiri
#2 of 6 in Cayo Guillermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
1048.4 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1064.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memories Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Caribe Beach Resort

Property: Memories Caribe Beach Resort
Address: Carretera a Cayo Guillermo | Jardines del Rey, 67210, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciego de Avila Province > Jardines del Rey Archipelago > Cayo Coco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cayo Coco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cayo Coco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Memories Caribe Beach Resort offers 328 rooms in different categories, including 280 rooms in deluxe category, 48 junior suites and 56 connecting rooms (deluxe category, 4 of them handicapped accessible). For your convenience, our facilities also have rooms for smokers and non-smokers. RESTAURANTS: International buffet "Las Arcadas" (air conditioned), Breakfast, lunch and dinner service; Italian restaurant "Arenas Blancas" (fan aired), Dinner service; Seafood restaurant "El Coral"Dinner service; International restaurant "El Coral" Dinner service. BARS: Lobby bar "Oceano Atlantico" (9:00 to 23:00 hrs)Selection of national and international drinks included Premium beverages offered at an additional cost; Snack bar "La Estrella" (24-hour service) Selection of national and international drinks included; Aqua bar "Los Delfines" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Selection of national and international drinks included; Beach bar "Uva Caleta" (9:00 to 17:00 hrs) Specialized in Cuban cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Memories Caribe Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memories Caribe Beach Resort 4* Hotel Cayo Coco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing