We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, fun and more fun!”
Review of Soggy Dollar Bar

Soggy Dollar Bar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch
Fairfield County, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Fun, fun and more fun!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

If you get a chance to go here, be sure to! It's just a really fun place with great people. The painkillers are the absolute best and the food is good too! Not to be missed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MomCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    989
    306
    97
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I've said it before, and I will say it again- Best Beach Bar EVER!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

There is nothing to say about the Soggy Dollar Bar but that it is my family's favorite place on earth. Great drinks, great people, beautiful White Bay. We dream about an afternoon of fun at soggy dollar bar all year long! Everyone should experience at least once! Can get a little rowdy- but also many people just go to sit back in a chair and chill. The food is actually really quite good as well- although it can be a little slow. Who cares- have a painkiller!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JML88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a fun bar!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

It is a fun beach bar. The food looked great but I was there to hang out, sip cocktails and people watch. I would definitely recommend this BVI popular institution!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank locogringocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Painkiller in the Caribbean!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This is one of my favorite places in the Caribbean (along with the The Baths in Virgin Gorda). I have been here at least three times and it never gets old. The food and the painkillers are great (Foxy's also has great food and make your own drinks). Not only is the beach great here but you can do some snorkeling from the beach (there is no dock so you have to swim in anyway) and there are also beach activities available on site. This is not that far of a trip when staying on the U.S.V.I's (St. John's in particular).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kreynolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE..........”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had so much fun there. We were there for 1 week. The bar is known by sailors and day boaters and just a fun spot to spend the afternoon. There is no dock so everyone has to swim ashore, thus the name soggy dollar! You meet different people all day and every day since people just sail in for a couple of hours and leave. The bartender Mic is awesome! He serves hundreds a day and always smiles and keeps everyone happy!!! The ladies pitch in to help during the lunch crowd by taking orders and making drinks at the other end of the bar. it is an open bar, you are in the middle of the sand with the most beautiful beach and water you will ever find. The staff had the entire area set up to make everyone happy and comfortable. The staff is spot on perfect in every way. We will be back again and again.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebSweeney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soggy Dollar Bar also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Soggy Dollar Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing