We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grat atmoshere”

Ivan's Stress-Free Bar and Camp Ground
Ranked #16 of 24 Restaurants in Jost Van Dyke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Stress Free, Family friendly, relaxing little haven.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Grat atmoshere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We called in reservations and food arrived really promptly. We had the garlic shrimp, very delicious. The atmosphere is very good. Outside with waves crashing on shore and the starry sky.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    40
    24
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“True to it's name, Stress-free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

From the hustle and bustle (if you can it that) of the main White Bay. Ivan's is just a short walk over the rocky trail. When the cruise ships come into the harbor, they drop hoards and hoards of people on the beach, but for some reason they masses of cruise people don't make the trek to Ivan's. Hence the stress free.
The bar was fun, with the normal cold beverages being shaken and poured and the snacks warm and tasty. There was hammocks strung up to sway in and bask in the sun and lots of unspoiled beach. While others are climbing on top of each other to get themselves on the local webcam, Ivan's remains the essence of mellow beach bar.
We did not make it there, but I was told that Ivan's also provides a wonderful beach Barbecue every now and then. Next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellybike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sad not to have Ivan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

BBQ as fair, the atmosphere was much less fun. We heard rumor that Ivan is ill, so we asked family member and she said No that is a rumor, but elsewhere we heard he is aging and may have Parkinson's. Since he is not there we were told neither is the honor bar and service was slow at the bar, often had to go and find a bartender. It was very run down...I know that is how it is portrayed but this was a lonely run down. Wish I would have been there 10 years ago to experience the awesomeness we read about. Peace Ivan bless you for all the memories you have created.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishinflwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“They were closed but made me a drink anyway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Ivan’s in October and they were closed for the season and doing renovations however, they opened the bar and made us the best rum punch we had in the islands. Our bartender was the artist who paints (can’t remember his name. Sorry). He told us he wasn’t a bartender but you could have fooled me because he made great drinks. The atmosphere and décor is very unique and worth the swim up just to check it out!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandGirl365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Leave your shoes on the boat, prepare to quench your thirst!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Try the Stress Free Cocktail! Drinks are strong, and made with island love. This place is a gem. Jost Van Dyke is one of the coolest places I've ever been to, and this island bar is a must-visit. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattheweilers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivan's Stress-Free Bar and Camp Ground also viewed

Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
Jost Van Dyke, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Ivan's Stress-Free Bar and Camp Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing